Reading Reviews for A Kind Word
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by katienicoleweasley A Kind Word

9th June 2010:
okay, i LOVE your writting(: i love that you write about Quirrel, how awesome and unique(: i have not yet read consumed, though you have already finished it i shall definatly read it soon! top of my list!! keep up the amazingg work(:

Author's Response: Hi katienicoleweasley!
Thank you so very much for the thoughtful review! It was wonderful hearing from you. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed this little one-shot--it's quite a departure from my usual style. Thanks again!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #2, by WeasleyTwins A Kind Word

7th September 2009:
Hello, hello! I'm here to review for TGS's Frantic Frenzy!

Bahaha, this was too rich! Yes, I'm completely aware that this is supposed to be sad, but I couldn't help but giggle. All I picture is geeky Quirrell from the first HP movie moaning around, complaining about his state of distress. I love how you address the reader directly; I felt like Quirrell was trying to escape out of my computer and make me say 'a kind word' to him. [Yes, I know it's 2:15 in the morning and I should hurry and finish before I scare you].

This was just so different and great. Fanfiction doesn't see much of Quirrell, so you bringing him out of the depths of his tragic ending was lovely.

Great!

Shelby

Author's Response: Hey Shelby!
Yay! Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm so very glad you enjoyed this one-shot, even though it starred a rather geeky Quirrell. (And you're absolutely right, he is very geeky, haha)

And I'm happy to hear that you liked the conversational style. I'd never written anything like this before, so I didn't now if it would turn out as a complete mess. ;)

Thanks again, Shelby! You're an awesome reviewer. I hope you have a great week!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #3, by Alopex A Kind Word

6th September 2009:
Wow, Quirrel! Maybe there should be more Quirrel stories. Quirrel stories like this one, anyhow. This is such a unique idea for this challenge. I like it a lot! I can't believe you chose to write about Quirrel! How creative. I never would have considered him as a ghost, but there's nothing to say he didn't become one, so why not?

Before posting my own story for this challenge, I posted a question in the forums, and someone mentioned one of the stories already posted employed a similar style. This is that story! The style is similar, in that it is basically conversational, though the subjects are rather different. I know I had fun writing mine, but I had more fun reading yours. In reading, there's no plan in my head to detract from enjoying the conversation. I can just drift along and listen (or read, I suppose) without knowing what's coming up. This story was very short, but I so enjoyed it.

Quirrel! Haha. I loved it. He was a sympathetic character here. No doubt, I felt a bit sorry for him, though he was annoying too. That self-pitying isn't attractive in a ghost or a person.

Author's Response: Hi Alopex!
Gosh, thanks a million for the lovely review! It was wonderful hearing from you, especially since I didn't think this story would get any attention. Quirrell isn't a very popular character, as you know. ;)

Having said that, I don't know why I chose to write about Quirrell. He always fascinated me as a character, I suppose, and I feel as though JKR got tired of him as a villain and just dropped him after the first book. ^_^ So yes, in my opinion, Quirrell needs more attention in the fandom. I'm glad you think so too!

Oh, now I definitely have to check out your challenge fic. I honestly don't think I pulled off this conversational style well and I would love to see how you interpreted it instead. :)

Thanks again for taking the time to read and review, Alopex. I simply love your feedback! I hope you have a great week.

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #4, by Silent_Fire A Kind Word

24th August 2009:
Professor Quirrell wasn't always a servant of the Dark Lord, and “A Kind Word” is a well-formulated presentation of that raw idea. Readers learn about his life and death but don't get as much of a feel for him as they could. It'd be wonderfully better if celticbard spent a little bit of extra time cooking more of the theme. (6/10 -- Hopefully Readers Get to See a Polished Version of This Story Sometime in the Future!)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! I really do appreciate your concern and helpful criticism. I hope you have a pleasant week!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #5, by Daanana A Kind Word

13th August 2009:
I actually like Quirrell. I mean, he's a sad - sad, sad, sad in every meaning of the word - character and he's pretty pathetic and not interesting at all (let's be honest, he isn't) but the voice you gave him is so.. I can't even explain. You had me hooked from the start. Great opening line by the way. I was like, 'Whut, you talkin' to me?'

9/10

Author's Response: Hi Daanana!
Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review! I'm so glad you enjoyed this little one-shot.

And you are quite right about Quirrell. He is a very pathetic character. I always felt somewhat sorry for him, though. JKR just seemed to drop his confrontation with Harry.

Thanks again! I hope you have a great week!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #6, by Bella_Portia A Kind Word

9th August 2009:
I thought this was terrific. It was tightly written, it captured a distinct voice. It drew me in completely. The progression of Quirrell's monologue, from the slightly self-pitying remarks to the "climactic" telling of how he died to the coda where he recalls "the girl" and begs for a kind word, was -- as I said, terrific. It can surely stand on its own for readers unfamilliar with Consumed.

But for myself as a reader of Consumed, this piece certainly filled out the character of Quirrell; and this enhanced my enjoyment of this story.

Kudos, kudos.

Author's Response: Hi Bella Portia!
Oh! I'm absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed this. I was SO unsure about this piece. It's quite different from my normal style and since Quirrell isn't a popular character, I wasn't sure how readers would react to him. Thank you so much for the thoughtful review, Bella. It means the world to me! I hope you have a great week. ^_^

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #7, by JLHufflepuff A Kind Word

8th August 2009:
Poor Quirrell is so uninteresting that even in ghost form he holds not interest! :( Your characterization is completely amazing in this!

Author's Response: Hi Jessi!
Wow, you're a reviewing machine! Thank you so much for taking the time to read this fic and review. Your feedback never fails to make my day. ^_^

And yes, I completely agree. Poor boring Quirrell indeed. :(

Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #8, by Pretty Purple Pelican A Kind Word

27th July 2009:
It was very sweet! It kind of reminded me of those monologues where the actor speaks to the audience. Just one quick note, Quirrell's first name is actually Quirinus. I never knew that he taught Muggle Studies before, though. What an interesting fact, hah. Nice job! :)

Author's Response: Hiya Pelican!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review! I'm so glad you enjoyed this little one-shot.

I have heard two different things as far as Quirrell's first name goes. When I first started writing "Consumed" over a year ago, the Lexicon said that it was either Slatero or Quirinus. The film used to bill Quirrell as Slatero Quirrell and most fanfics used that first name. Quirinus is the name given on a trading card. The last time I checked (yesterday) the Lexicon had dropped Slatero and now only mentions Quirinus, although it still isn't confirmed as canon. Since I used Slatero for "Consumed", I decided I might as well stick with it. ;) Haha, sorry for rambling! I sound like such a nerd.

Thanks again for the lovely review! I hope you have a great weekend. ^_^

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #9, by TallestTower A Kind Word

25th July 2009:
Hi.
I loved the style in which this was written. The fact he was having a conversation with someone, and the mystery of who that person is makes the story flow really well and is a great idea. Ack - it's brilliant. Congrats!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, TallestTower! It was wonderful hearing from you. ^_^ I really appreciate your thoughtful, kind comments. Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #10, by Violet Gryfindor A Kind Word

24th July 2009:
Gosh, this is sad! Poor Quirrell - he made a fatal, dreadful mistake, but he's not a bad person, only weak. It's not fair that he's forgotten in the series (which was a good point to make - he vanishes after the first book), since it was Voldemort who seduced him as he'd seduced so many others. I really like the idea of Quirrell as an invisible ghost, as he was such an invisible person while alive.

The first person voice here is brilliant. I felt like he was talking to me, which at once made it disturbing and made it easier to feel sympathy for him. He doesn't sound pathetic, only extremely sad and filled with regret. (Is it bad that I just wanted to give him a hug by the end?) The style had a great conversational feel to it with the pauses and the way he spoke - it suited the canon Quirrell and the way you've set him up in Consumed.

This is no less fantastic than I expected from you, Lee Anne. Amazing writing! :D

Author's Response: Hi Susan!
Gosh, I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed this. Your opinion really means a lot to me, especially since I know you are familiar with "Consumed".

Honestly, I was worried that this one-shot would skew Quirrell's characterization. I've gotten used to writing him from Freddy's POV. It was quite a challenge tackling him in the first person. ;)

And I'm so glad you enjoyed the conversational style of this piece. I was rather nervous experimenting with it as it is quite different from my usual style.

Again, thanks from the awesome feedback! Your comments never fail to put a smile on my face. ^_^ Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #11, by Misty_Rey A Kind Word

24th July 2009:
This has to be one of the most refreshing one-shots I've read in a long time. Everything about it was so creative yet simple, from the character you chose to centre the story on to the plot to the style you wrote this in, it was all just a breath of fresh air. I was engaged the entire time I was reading this story. It's always wonderful to see authors take risks with their writing and when the risk pays off, the result is just a joy to read, which was what this was. It was melancholy without ever going over-the-top into angst. The emotion was there but you made sure to keep it subtle, which suited the tone, plot and pacing of the story. I was very impressed with the flow of the story, it felt very natural and not at all forced, like having a proper conversation. I imagine it must have been tricky to write Quirrell as a character, much less a dead one, but you pulled it off, characterising him very well without falling into the trap of overdoing what we know of him from the first HP book. Again, subtlety was key here. Before I go, I just have to mention one more time, I absolutely love the style of writing you employed here, breaking the fourth wall so to speak and having the character have a proper conversation with the reader. This really shows incredible creativity on your part, great job! A well-deserved 10/10!

~Misty

Author's Response: *blushes* Wow! I really don't know what to say, Misty, except thank you. Your review really made my weekend. ^_^ I cannot possibly express my gratitude properly.

I am so happy to hear that you liked this piece. I really felt like I was taking a gamble with it, since it is so different from my usual style.

As far as writing Quirrell goes, I've always been fascinated with him as a character, so that certainly made it somewhat easier. Also, JKR doesn't give us much to go on canon-wise, which pretty much gave me free rein. ;)

Again, thanks for the wonderful review! It really means so much to me. Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #12, by redherring A Kind Word

24th July 2009:
Wow, that was brilliant! I loved the way you wrote it, as though he was having an actual conversation - I thought it worked really well. I also loved that you chose to write about Quirrel at all - him being a ghost is just a brilliant idea (having never read Consumed I don't know if that's what that is about, but either way it's a great idea :D) 10/10.

Author's Response: Thanks a million, redherring! It was wonderful hearing from you, as always. I'm so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed this. I've never written a piece like this before, so I was not sure how it would be received. ;)

Again, thanks for everything! I hope you have a great week!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #13, by long_live_luna_bellatrix A Kind Word

24th July 2009:
This was a cool story! The way you wrote it, with Quirrel talking to us, was a nice change and you did it beautifully. Your writing style was great.

I just started reading Consumed, and since I haven't read too much yet, I think that this is too much of a tie in. You emphasized the 'girl' too much and made it sound like a companion one shot. People who haven't read Consumed might not like it as much.

Great job, though. Your writing is amazing!

Author's Response: Hi Luna Bellatrix!
Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review! Your feedback really means a lot to me and I appreciate your thoughtful comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed this one-shot, even though it did involve some elements of "Consumed". I hope you have a lovely week! ^_^ Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login