Reading Reviews for Love Stories
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sirius black's lover My Little Runaway

20th February 2010:
Really good fanfic! I loved reading about Andromeda, and how she coped with her ridiculous family. more soon please?

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad you like Andromeda, I adore her! I'll do my best to update soon.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Laugharama_llama My Little Runaway

20th February 2010:
Hellohello!

Haha, yes this was a much happier fic than the last one you requested :)

What I'm really enjoying about this story is the way you're straying away from the general fluff cliches and really making this your own. It's very refreshing :D

The way you're developing this is also wonderful! Each chapter has it's ups and downs but little by little, I feel things coming together. And again about the subtle important details - lovelovelove!

Great job! FAVORITES! :)

Author's Response: Yay! Favorites! Woot!

It is much happier, isn't it? haha..ahhh, murder...anyway, I'm glad you think my story is creative and detailed and you like it so much! Thanks so much for the reviews! They really made my day!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Laugharama_llama Sweet Sixteen

20th February 2010:
:O :(

Those were my only reactions throughout the whole chapter. You did such a good job conveying all the emotions throughout the story! It just feel so heart-wrenching and sad for Andromeda.

Haha, not much else to say! I will have more and better feedback at the end of the story :)

Author's Response: :) : /

I'm glad you empathize with Andromeda. Thanks so much for the review! Don't be too sad!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Laugharama_llama Almost Grown

20th February 2010:
Hello! I'm here with your review from the forum!

First off, I just wanted to say how much I loved your story summary and banner!! The banner was adorable and I'm actually wondering who you used as the red head? As for the summary - it completely pulled me in! It made me smile and gave me a really good idea of what I was getting into (without giving anything away, of course) :D

So I actually wrote that first paragraph before I read the story, to make sure I wouldn't forget it, hahaha. But anyway, that was wonderful!! Honestly, when I finished I thought, 'I hope there's more!' And I checked the chapters to see how many there were :D

I completely love the way you've set this story up. The idea of Andromeda being disgusted by all the pureblood madness yet still maintaining her proud and slightly haughty demeanor was great characterization. I love how you slid in a little Ted Tonks intro, and the part where Arthur was fascinated by the record player was adorable.

Ah, I have figured out how to word what I'm saying! I love how you weave in all these little details and ideas, while setting up the story. I think it just shows how good of a writer you are, that you can subtly sneak in important facts whilst maintaining the bigger picture :D

This was my favorite line: Were not breaking any rules, Black! She heard someone in the back spit.
Do you see me handing out detentions? She retorted.
Haha, I just thought it was hilarious! I even mouthed it a little with the attitude I imagined her giving. It was a great, 'wow, you're stupid.' moment, which I love :D

Katrina

Author's Response: Hello and thanks so much for the review!

First of all: the redhead is Christina Hendricks of Firefly and Mad Men fame. She's perfect isn't she? And, I'm glad you enjoyed the summary, too! I'm also glad that you enjoyed the story so much that you wanted to continue reading!

I really like this chapter, too. So, I appreciate hearing that, and I'm glad you liked the way I introduced the characters. That's a very nice compliment! *blushes*

And Andromeda and her attitude...Andromeda is love. She is one of my favorites to write, and I'm glad you enjoy her as much as I do!

Thanks again!

--FannyPrice


 Report Review

Review #5, by MrsKatieGrint My Little Runaway

17th February 2010:
Aww... This was really great. I enjoyed every word of it! Amazing! Really, keep up the awesome awesome job! :D

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much for the review! Hopefully the muse will strike me and I'll be able to update soon! Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #6, by MrsKatieGrint You're sixteen, beautiful, and you're mine.

17th February 2010:
Haha Ted seem to strike me as that kind of teenager too. :) This was so cute, and so cliche, but I think some of the best stories are like this one! Ah... I love this chapter.

Author's Response: Ted's adorable isn't he? I think cliches work well sometimes, too! I'm glad you liked this chapter, too. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by MrsKatieGrint Sweet Sixteen

17th February 2010:
Wow.. This was really detailed. But in a good way. :) You have everything perfected in this chapter! I love love love it! :D

Author's Response: Wow! I'm really happy that you loved this chapter and the details. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by MrsKatieGrint Almost Grown

17th February 2010:
Great start. Your characters are well formed. And the emotion is perfect here. It was a little short but great all together! :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed the first chapter!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Sirius Black's secret Lover My Little Runaway

5th February 2010:
Aw I love this! It sounds very accurate, good details:)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! And, I'm glad you like my details so much.

 Report Review

Review #10, by flying_rabbit My Little Runaway

1st February 2010:
So Sirius wasn't the first in the family to run away, then? That's not such an odd idea, actually; after all, Andromeda won't have been his favourite cousin for nothing, so he could've easily been inspired by her, or something :) Andromeda, in turn, would have been glad to find that Sirius didn't become completely contaminated by their family's ideas; too bad the same didn't go for Regulus :( The parchment she gave them was pretty cool, and it really shows her fondness of Astronomy :D
I feel quite ashamed right now that I know about the ancient Greek mythology and the Perseus and Andromeda story, but I never really thought about the link with Andromeda as tied up by her family, waiting for some Pureblood to come for her, only to be saved by Ted... woops :S
Sirius is quite clever for such a small boy :) And it's nice that he already wants to come with her and escape from the madness that is their family at such a young age :) Narcissa, on the other hand, seems rather well-taught. But I'm glad that she didn't tell her parents or whatever she would've done. And Andromeda has finally escaped from there :D Hopefully she'll be much happier now, but that won't be too hard, considering where she's coming from. By the way, will Ted's parents make an appearance in the story? I'm sure that they, as Muggles, must have some opinion about Andromeda, her parentage and the fact that she's dating their son, or wouldn't they? (not necessarily a bad one, but Ted must have told them stories about her and her family, I reckon)
Anyway, can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Hello again! Yep, in my head Sirius wasn't the first to run away. And I do try to establish why Andromeda was Sirius' favorite cousin and his inspiration. And I think Andromeda probably would have been completely heart-broken when Sirius was sent to Azkaban, and overjoyed when he was cleared. And, of course, brilliant as he was at Hogwarts, I figured Sirius the little boy would be clever, impertinent, and curious. :)

Narcissa is really well-taught, but her not telling her parents was little bit of foreshadowing for the end of DH. ;)

Yeah, as soon as I realized that most of the characters in JKR's world are named after mythology/astronomy, I went and looked it up. I never knew about Perseus and Andromeda before then.

I haven't decided if Ted's parents are going to make a direct appearance or not. We'll see...

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by flying_rabbit You're sixteen, beautiful, and you're mine.

1st February 2010:
You made Ted quite believable as that kind of teenager :D
The break up in the beginning was very sad D: It must've really hurt Andromeda to go through with it. The Black family must be confusing for outsiders, I can imagine that. But I think it's great that Ted doesn't give up and even dares to come to her house, even though his friends probably knew all too well what kind of family the Black's are!

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks for the review and i'm so glad that you liked Ted! I adore him (personally). I think that he is so nice and loving that evil and prejudiced must be really kind of difficult for him to wrap his head around as a young adult. Poor bloke. Knock back a couple of butterbeers with the mates after a rough breakup, and the next thing you know...:). I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks again!

-FannyPrice


 Report Review

Review #12, by flying_rabbit Sweet Sixteen

1st February 2010:
I forgot to mention this last chapter, but the Molly/Arthur thing there is pretty sweet :) You really made Molly into a little girl who's crushing on her older brothers' best friend, and although that's quite far away from how she's portrayed in the books, it's really nice.
But this was a sad chapter :( I feel bad for Andromeda that she's under so much pressure to marry a wealthy, important Pureblood son. I don't think it's very surprising that she seeks comfort in someone who's as far away from that ideal as possible. Bellatrix is an awful sister; is she in love with Rodolphus, or something, and jealous that her mother wants him to marry her sister? (well, she probably is, considering she's getting married to him later, but that could have been because they had to...) Anyway, their mother and aunt are very scary. I can imagine why Sirius and Regulus would hide behind the sofa! Sweet sixteen indeed...

Author's Response: Hello! Ha ha, yeah...Molly is pretty adorable, isn't she? Her characterization at this point was taken from the beginning of PoA when she is giggling with Ginny and Hermione about a love potion she brewed as a girl. :) If you notice, she's clutching her Potion's book to her chest. ;) But, she'll definitely grow into a Molly much closer to the one we meet in the books as the story progresses.

I always feel in that old families like this, boys are cherished because they extend the lineage, but girls are sold for power plays. It's terrible to think about, especially sine were talking the 1960s at this point but imagine this was the last generation where this was really prominent--hence the amount of rebels. I think bella is definitely jealous. I don't neccessarily think she loves rodolphus as much as she doesn't like her sister getting something that Bella would consider a victory or a boon over her. I feel that their mother, while proud of Bella's zealousness, thinks that Andromeda would make for a more complacent, and therefore better wife. So she's favored in these situations; however...they have no idea whats in store for them...

Yeah, and Walburga is definitely scary. I think her mom was more angry, betrayed, and fearful that everything she plotted would be ruined.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #13, by flying_rabbit Almost Grown

1st February 2010:
Hi again :)
This really seems like an original story :) Andromeda definitely has some interesting thoughts going through her head. She seems quite nice; slightly prejudiced, yes, but that's how she was brought up, of course. But it's pretty clear that she's not like Bellatrix, especially if she feels ashamed when realising how much fear her sister strikes in others :) And it's nice that Ted was so accepting, while many others weren't :)

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks for the review! I thought it was important for Ted to be accepting and open. You're right about Andromeda, she's prejudiced because thats the way she was taught so she is more closed off than zealous, essentially. And if she's closed off and Tedy's unaccepting than what would ever become of them? I think he really showed her a different way of being (honest, kind and fun) that she was really unused to seeing. And yeah, she's definitiely not like Bellatrix. i'm glad you think its original! Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Harry and Ginny My Little Runaway

1st February 2010:
wow! fantastic chapter this one. i liked how u wrote Andromeda's escape. will u update soon please?^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Hello!

Finally, my review response thing is working again and I'm so excited to be responding to your review. The first review you left me for this story was the first review i've ever received on this site? Thanks so much for that review, this one, and all the others. i'll try my best to update soon, and I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter!

-FannyPrice


 Report Review

Review #15, by BelleNuit You're sixteen, beautiful, and you're mine.

3rd January 2010:
I love this, after reading the first two I just had to review! I love how every character is so true to who they are, Arthurs interest in muggle contraptions, Bellatrix is cruel and vindictive, and Sirius is so darn cute! The whole thing feels is so retro, and so sad and so sweet at the same time; especially Ted and Andromeda who are just lovely together. Amazing job, please keep writing!

Author's Response: Ahhh, thanks so much. I like how you described it as retro! That's a great way to describe it. I'm also glad you like my characterizations. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Cherry Bear You're sixteen, beautiful, and you're mine.

11th December 2009:
I promised you I'd get around to reading your other stories, and here I am. I actually read this one right after Gain/Loss, but I was a bit rushed for time and I didn't want to have to rush my review. So, here I am, a bit late, and very appreciative of your response to your review. It always makes me so happy to see responses to my reviews, and especially to let you know that you're very welcome! I've considered starting a review thread, so thank you for the compliment. I'm very glad I made your horrible day better too! :)

Okay, on to this story. It rocks, seriously. It's a pretty sharp contrast to Gain/Loss, but I can see that your writing style is just as amazing, as well as your characterization. I especially adored how you managed to weave two characters stories together - even though they're two characters that I'm pretty sure not a lot of people associate together. I might be mistaken, but I think that Molly was actually older than Andromeda (feel free to doubt me on that fact). Either way, it doesn't really make much a difference; I still love this story.

I really enjoyed the first chapter particularly. It was so easy to imagine Arthur's obsession with Muggle artifacts tracing back to Hogwarts, and I could practically see the scene playing out in my head - the music drifting down the corridors, the couples dancing giddily, Molly vying for the attention of her older brothers' friend. I also enjoyed that small detail about their reactions - how they were scared at first, believing her to be Bellatrix, but then they relaxed. Once again, you manage to give a completely enlightening portrayal of a character in a few words. We know so much about your Bellatrix in that first chapter already, yet she's not even truly been in the story yet. It's an amazing talent, that ;D

Andromeda is particularly spectacular in this story; her indecision is so poignant and realistic. You can tell how shocked she is by her family's reaction, while at the same time, she almost expected it, but didn't want to actually believe it. You can also tell how torn she is between emotional obligation and familial obligation. I've always been curious about what sort of obstacles Andromeda would have to overcome in order to be with Ted, a Muggleborn, and I'm really happy that you're offering your insight into this.

And then, this chapter - I could gush on forever about this chapter. Ted is absolutely adorable and cliche in an utterly good way. I swear, whenever I picture this story in my mind, I picture it in black and white. I feel like Andromeda should be wearing a poodle skirt and sipping a milkshake with Ted at a diner, and it makes me love the story even more. I've never heard the song he sings, but I can practically imagine how it goes, and I nearly melted out of disbelief and adoration when I read that he was singing it to her. It really shows how utterly devoted he is to her, even when she's rejected him.

Although I do love Andromeda, I think I love how you developed Ted's character even more. The fact that he was working at an ice cream parlor made me want to squeal happily, because it's just so cute and so typically...Pleasantville (I'm not sure if you've seen that movie, but it reminds me of that for some reason). I also love his relationship with Gideon, Fabian, and Arthur. He's so obviously a reckless teenage boy who believes himself in love, and it makes me want to die of happiness. I especially loved the inclusion of small details about his friends, because I could so vividly see their relationship - Arthur offering up his flying car for the adventure, the two brothers rushing Ted, Ted persistently singing to Andromeda even as the spells shot at him.

I think that's pretty much all I can think of. I really enjoyed this story, and I hope you continue it. If you do, I'm really hoping you'll branch out and focus more on Molly, because it seems more of Andromeda like that, and I'd love to see more of Molly and Arthur too. We so rarely get any insight into their relationship, and so far what you've given us here is adorable and so fitting to how they act in the books.

Update soon, mmkay? (: And keep a smile on your face, even when you're having a bad day - it'll make you feel better (or, at least, this works for me).

Cherry Bear

Author's Response: Yay! Another review from you! They really are the best.

First of all, thanks for the compliment. I’m so glad you like this one; I haven’t gotten a lot of feedback for it, so I really do appreciate it. I also believed Molly was older than Andromeda. Just to make sure I got my canonization correct, before I wrote this story, I looked up their ages on HP encyclopedia. According to that, Arthur was born in 1945, and Molly was born in 1950. Now, Andromeda was blasted off the family tree, so we don’t actually know her birthdate. However, Bellatrix was born in 48-51, Narcissa 54 or 55 (it varies depending on site). Anywho, instead of making her the middle sister (canon wrist slap!), I made Andromeda the eldest sister. Eh, I, too, like it this way.

Thanks! The first chapter of this story was certainly my most inspired piece. However, after this review, I’ve been pretty motivated to go on. And, yeah, about Bellatrix. I’m pretty sure someone as scary as her had always been pretty nasty.

I tried really hard to give this story an old movie kind of vibe, and I’m glad you picked up on that and enjoyed it. I always find myself drawn to the minor characters in JKR’s world, and since I found out Tonk’s mum was a Black, I’ve been fascinated. I supposed that just because Andromeda went against her family wishes doesn’t mean that she didn’t love her family, and that would be so hard and so painful to have them treat you like that just because you want something different. I tried to convey that in the second chapter.

Ted is beyond adorable, isn’t he? I have seen Pleasantville, and I do get how this reflects that. When I think of Ted, I kind of think of a cross between Ron Howard and Richard Dreyfuss in American Graffiti. From that small glimpse of him in the book, he just seemed like such a nice guy, maybe not the brightest but certainly intelligent, a little silly, and devoted to his family. I was really sad when he died. Poor Ted, and poor Andromeda on that note!

The integration of Arthur, Gideon and Fabian as his friends is one way for me to keep the two stories weaved together. Hogwarts and the Wizarding world is pretty small, and I think they all must have known each other, even if they weren’t the closest of friends—like Molly and Andromeda. I feel like after the first war and the death of the Prewett brothers, the friendship btw. the boys may have dropped off a bit b/c everyone had their own lives to pick up and carry on with. Sad, but real, I think.

There will be one more chapter focused on Andromeda before I move into Molly and Arthur. So stay tuned. ;) Thanks again for the lovely review! I'll try to keep smiling!


 Report Review

Review #17, by therealmagicpeach_ You're sixteen, beautiful, and you're mine.

17th September 2009:
e i love it.
i love how i KNOW its all silly and cute; but thats how he was because he was only a teenager and thats how he was yeah i love it! write more!

Author's Response: Thanks! I think we could all use a little fluff sometimes.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Harry and Ginny You're sixteen, beautiful, and you're mine.

10th September 2009:
Ted is so sweet that despite she breaking up with him (reluctantly), he went and sang their song. they deserve being happy. will u update soon please?^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: I'll try my best to update ASAP. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Harry and Ginny Sweet Sixteen

15th August 2009:
poor Andromeda. i think she should run away like Sirius did, or will do when he's 16. will u update soon please?^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Thanks for your reviews. I really appreciate the feedback.

 Report Review

Review #20, by ginny_roxmysox Almost Grown

11th August 2009:
aww i loved this!! such a creative idea, wonderful description, and great dialogue :)
update soon!!

Author's Response: Thanks. I really appreciate your review. Hopefully, I'll get the next chapter up once the queue reopens.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Harry and Ginny Almost Grown

31st July 2009:
great start 4 the 1st chapter. will u update soon please?^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login