Reading Reviews for Just a Little Tipsy
  
39 Reviews Found

Review #1, by rozen_maiden Just a Little Tipsy

27th July 2013:
Aw, Liz, how have I not read this! This was amazing, beautiful and so sweet!! Draco and Hermione were perfectly in canon and ... it was perfect!!! Thanks for the gorgeous read, I'm going to look at more of your stories now :)
kisses, Mahalia xx

 Report Review

Review #2, by Lily Evans Just a Little Tipsy

27th November 2012:
I loved this :) You wrote Draco and Hermione so well and kept both of them in character. I loved at the beginning how ashamed Hermione was to be drunk. That was very Hermione-like.

I also loved Ginny and Harry in this! I love Ginny's comment as Hermione left to her office: "Is that a spider web in your hair?"

The kiss at the end was very sweet. I was glad by the response of Draco when Hermione asked if that kiss was meant for her to hate him again.

Very well done! :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by Phoenix_Feather123 Just a Little Tipsy

3rd November 2012:
Here I am from the review swap!
I thought this was a nice little story, and I would never think of hermione, being 'tipsy'

I thought this was nice. Keep writing

 Report Review

Review #4, by Ginger Lust Just a Little Tipsy

14th August 2012:
Very nice piece. Like everyone else said, would have enjoyed more. But you write well so the story was very entertaining.
Good job.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing. I was wondering about a sequel, but I think I'll leave this as it is for now. :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by justonemorefic Just a Little Tipsy

13th August 2012:
Hee, since gubby spazzed a bit at your return, I wanted to read something of yours, and then I realized I already have! One of the few Dramiones in my favs, I remember it being so charming and funny and not too outrageous and outrageous in the best possible way when it was. Never left a review though, booo me.

Drunken endeavors are the best, especially in encounters between society's post-war scum and newly promoted Ministry officials. Oh my God, just be wise in your desires! Drunk Hermione knows she's hot stuff, obv.

(and I'm just giggling in between at all the snarky bits of downtrodden Draco, because indeed, the downtrodden are the best. also YES ALLEYWAY HIDING. MY GUILTY PLEASURE.)

Id never guess that after my promotion I would end up lying on the cold, empty street of Diagon Alley, watching the stars, that are not visible might I add, with Draco Malfoy. / And they say alcohol is bad. See, it connects people, even old enemies. It makes the best plot too, Hermy dear.

WHAT'S WITH THE HAIR. WHAT'S WITH THE HAIR. omg Draco you can't just ASK that.

heee, I think what I always loved the most is that they are just so utterly pathetic when they're cute. her getting drunk, putting up posters with Malfoy who was obviously very miserable because of this, being kissed by the same Malfoy, and mostly banging her head against the ground and losing a bunch of always needed brain-cells. and even worse, Malfoy being nice and trying to give her a handbag that is in desperate need of a new clasp, and all the downtrodden ♥

Okay that's enough quoting your whole fic back at you. I totally entirely forgot I get attacked by feels right in the middle for Draco. You make his change and the Malfoy prejudice so easy to sympathize with - mostly due to the charms of your Draco.

AND ALSO WHY I LOVE HIM. SHE GETS HIM A JOB; HE IMMEDIATELY INSULTS HER. Oh heavens, you become head of a mediocre department and you go walking around like the Minister of Magic. never change, Draco.

I am left grinning so madly ♥ I love this oneshot as much as ever, eeek! Hope I didn't scare you off with my um, liberal use of caps. How would you recc your other stories, when I come traipsing by your page again?

Author's Response: Oh my, you didn't scare me with caps, I LOVE reviews like this! They make me bounce and giggle stupidly to myself. Thank you!

While I am a huge Ron/Hermione shipper, long before it was canon (but let's face it, it was always canon), but I tend to dip into Dramione sometime. This was written for a challenge and it got much bigger than I originally planned.

I like writing Draco, but I'm always so harsh on him. I think he would be sort of downtrodden, but maybe not to the extent, which I've shown here. :D And yes, alleyways hiding is my favorite! It's always so exciting!

Haha, I don't mind you quoting. It's so lovely to see what parts you liked. The hair part came about out of the blue. Typical of Draco to ask, he probably woke up every morning an hour early to smooth down his sleek hair. And I'm just so, so glad you liked my Malfoy. I always get so scared writing him, but it's interesting, because he's really complex.

Thank you for your every word. It made my morning so much happier. Liberal use of caps is totally fine, I always abuse the caps when I get excited or when I like something. And it would be so great if you ever stumbled by my page. I totally fell in love with your reviews now. I guess I'm quite proud of The Edge of Night (a Remus/Narcissa, little dark and fairy-taleish) and When They Were Here (Marauders, Harry and a bit of Ginny, and one tree where they all meet at different points in time), as far as one-shots go. And I'd be thrilled if you gave another chance to Memory Dust, since it's my little baby. I lost many readers after my long absence, so it's a little sad, but okay, I guess. :) I'm glad to be writing it again.

Again, thank you SO much. You're amazing, absolutely amazing.


 Report Review

Review #6, by A. Just a Little Tipsy

27th February 2011:
Well done, though kind of leaves me hanging. Could easily use another chapter or two!

 Report Review

Review #7, by BP Just a Little Tipsy

18th February 2011:
Ooh! I enjoyed this extremely long one-shot. You kept it simple and not too full of emotions, which I liked :) I was just slightly sad about Draco's sad portrayal and his near rock-bottom reputation he had. Poor Draco :(

 Report Review

Review #8, by Erised Just a Little Tipsy

13th April 2010:
Hi Liz! It's Jenny from TGS' review thread :)

As an avid lover of Dramione, I did enjoy this one-shot rather a lot! Your pace is perfect, and I didn't feel as if Draco was completely OOC and would never do what he did. His actions were justified, which is always good to see as it makes the story much more realistic, and your descriptions meant that I could always visualise the characters and what they were doing. The Halloween party was what I could visualise the clearest - lovely work!

In a way I think that this could almost be expanded on in the middle more to better explain how the characters, particularly Draco, feel about certain events happening. Draco's emotions could have been expanded on the tiniest bit more through Hermione's eyes, but of course that is my personal preference :)

Great story. 10/10 :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by chiQs09_II Just a Little Tipsy

11th October 2009:
Hi Liz! It's me. See, as promised, here's my review. Better late then never. Though I'm not sure you still remember that you asked me to review this story. ^_^

Anyway, I love this story. I laughed a few times and even had a moment when I got all teary. That was the part towards the end, when Draco said that Hermione shouldn't say that word again, you know, Mudblood. He really meant it, which proves that he has grown up and changed. And he thanked her with a kiss.
You managed to write Hermione so in canon that even when she was drunk, she was believable. I like her encounter with Draco at Knockturn Alley, and them hanging up posters there, their conversation about the past and what a nasty boy Draco was as a child, and him protecting her from Skeeter, and them kissing that awkwardly that their teeth bump, and Hermione falling on her head. That must hurt, but it made me laugh.

I love this one: "Let's forget Granger. Why I'm Geraldine Hayworth and you're Mitharai Dormens. Lovely to see you!" And then Draco's response, "Why do I have to have such a ridiculous name?" That's exactly how I'd imagine him drunk. At least he was playful.
What a prejudiced boss is that Eustace that he rejected Draco's job application because of his name? Good thing Hermione talked some senses into that man.

The only criticism I have to make is maybe regarding some sentence structures. (God, not that I am good at it.) This for example:
Passing the crooked street [...], Malfoy said...
Going weak in the knees, Hermione felt...
With lead in her legs, Hermione found...
Screwing up her face, she gasped...
Fighting free from Malfoy's grasp, Hermione emerged...

You used these prepositional phrases at almost every beginning of a paragraph repeatedly in a row, so that it sounded like er...a rhyme? Maybe mix it up a little, like "Hermione, going weak in her legs [...], felt..." and then every third paragraph start it with a prepositional phrase.
Just that...

Anyway, thanks for sharing. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #10, by BlondeSlytherin Just a Little Tipsy

11th August 2009:
This a good, well written story. I enjoyed reading it. I like this idea. I also like how they don't shag or fall in love in two minutes. It's just a simple, uncliche story. 8/10

 Report Review

Review #11, by jenkent Just a Little Tipsy

5th August 2009:
Very cute. The ending seemed a bit abrupt though. A few sentence structure/missing word problems, but nice idea. Keep the ideas flowing. 8/10~Jen

 Report Review

Review #12, by spreaddapoo93 Just a Little Tipsy

27th July 2009:
Aaaaw!!! Sweet one-shot! I loved it :)
I love how you put such an abrupt end to it, like there's so much more that could happen, but it's all sort of unknown... Great use of words, a few typos, but not much of a biggie. :)
REally enjoyed this one!!!

Author's Response: I have a thing for abrupt, open endings, I guess. :DThanks so much for this lovely review. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by nancy Just a Little Tipsy

27th July 2009:
it's a really sweet story.
i mean generally dramione's one shot are about high tension and all that but this one was really really sweet!!
keep it up:-)

Author's Response: Yeah, i tried to let go of the drama and hate and passion, and do it in a sort of nice, humorous and light-hearted way. Thanks for noticing that. :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by a potter po Just a Little Tipsy

26th July 2009:
I like this one shot because of the depth you've written into Draco Malfoy's character - it's not often he gets written beyond being superficial in one shots, especially Dramione stories! But I didn't like the fact that he kissed her at the end, I thought that didn't fit with his new character, given that he is somber and it'd be presumptious of him to just kiss Hermione Granger like that. But otherwise I really like it! Oh and your banner is really beautiful.

Author's Response: To be quite frank, I didn't really like it either. It was, after all, written for a challenge, a fic exchange, where my recipient required it to be fluff and a kiss! Surely you can imagine how hard it was for me to write something that would be half-believable and still meet the requirements. In the end I settled for that, and the last kiss came as a sort of funny thing. Maybe Draco viewed it as a better way than actually saying thank you to Hermione and maybe he only wanted to make her mad. Maybe he wanted to go against all the Mudblood things he believed in the past despite himself. So...yeah. :D I understand your concern.

Still thanks for your honesty and such a nice review. I liked writing Draco for a change. And I adore the banner, too. niika's done a wonderful job, blurring out the title as if you really were tipsy, looking at it! :D


 Report Review

Review #15, by Ireland Just a Little Tipsy

26th July 2009:
I loved this story! I loved that Draco was so willing to let go of the past and yet he was still strong but had kindness!! I loved it! Thanks

Author's Response: Thank YOU for this nice review. :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by WitnesstoitAll Just a Little Tipsy

24th July 2009:
Hi! I'm here with this shiny new review.

All in all, this was a solid and well-written story. I usually have a problem reading Dramione fics, and am usually unjustly harsh on them. That being said, I liked this story. It eloquently contained all the necessary facets of a plot. Despite its legnth, it was a quick read. The writing style allowed it to be an easy read too.

I like the characterization of Draco and Ginny a lot. I am very fussy with Hermione characteriztion, so holding my own opinion at bay, I think that her characterization is consistent throughout this entire peice. It all flows together well and Hermione is the same person throughout the story.

I loved the "go easy on the champagne" line. too wonderful
-witness

Author's Response: Oh, I feel flattered that despite your dislike of Dramiones you liked this one. I was challeneged to write this one, so I at least tried to do it in the most believable way. I'm glad my writing didn't put you to sleep. Thank you for everything, honestly. This is a very nice review and I really appreciate it.

Ah, I'm glad you liked the last line. :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by bubbly Just a Little Tipsy

23rd July 2009:
aww that was really great! this one shot had just the right amount of everything.

Author's Response: Thank you. :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by hpfan45 Just a Little Tipsy

22nd July 2009:
Hey!
i read this story DAYS ago and meant to review but i was on my itouch and hate typing on it so i was like 'when i got home' and totally forgot until your title catched my eye on the forums and seemed too familiar!

anyways first i want to say i am no a dramione fan. never was because i have a horrible curse where i give one chance and its complete rubbish. this story i gave a chance and it was COMPLETE genius.

honestly this i could see happening, it was cute and innocent yet moving at the same time. i usually dislike one-shots also (what's the point reading it if its one chapter?) but i LOVE LOVE this so much and your a great writer if you can make me change to read some dramione. hahahah

becca xx

Author's Response: Wow, it feels great to know I made you like something you generally dislike. And I also appreciate you came back to review this story, that's so sweet of you. Just thank you so so much for this. You made my day. :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Jellyman Just a Little Tipsy

22nd July 2009:
Wow, cute story! I really enjoyed it, everyone was so in-character, you portrayed them very well! The last line was perfect, thank you for writing such a great piece! Well done :D 10/10

Author's Response: This was my goal...keeping them in-character and making the story believable. Thank you for mentioning it, you're so nice.

 Report Review

Review #20, by taintedgreenlove Just a Little Tipsy

21st July 2009:
hahahah I loved this it was cute [:
Well thought out! and deffinetly great grammar etc.
I plan to add this to my favorites cause i likee it alot!
xxJess

Author's Response: I'm happy you enjoyed it. Thank you so much. :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by becky Just a Little Tipsy

21st July 2009:
I loved it! Draco is a still vulnerable but completely believable. You have a fluid style that drew me into the story immediately. Please make this one a long one!

Author's Response: Oh I don't know! I don't think I would have enough plot for that, really. This sort of has an open ending and I like those. Thank you so much for your review, though. :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by xx__trustme Just a Little Tipsy

20th July 2009:
oh great job! this was such a well-crafted one-shot! their relationship wasn't rushed in this, and it was a refreshing view on it! I really liked how it was more of a crush than one true love thing.

keep them coming!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this review. :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by sm Just a Little Tipsy

20th July 2009:
I liked this story with Hermione showing Draco some compassion and his Malfoy-ish way of showing his gratitude.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, i was trying to convey that. :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Rose Just a Little Tipsy

19th July 2009:
I wish you would continue this as a longer story. It would be fun to follow them through his first day at the Minestry at least.

Author's Response: I might think about it. :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by xsuperrkareuhh_ Just a Little Tipsy

19th July 2009:
verrry nice. :)
i loooved it. XD

Author's Response: Thanks. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>