Reading Reviews for Bright-Eyed and Bushy-Tailed
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by cherry Bright-Eyed and Bushy-Tailed

6th December 2009:
This was so cute 'tail'!! :)

Author's Response: Haha!! Thank you!! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Steph. Bright-Eyed and Bushy-Tailed

29th October 2009:
Oh my, how embarrasing. xD

I really loved this. I thought Minnie was the PERFECT Longbottom daughter, without being an exact replica of Neville. She's a hardworker, though she's more magically able than her father. She's shy and quiet, too. And, although squirrels are often overlooked, I think it really suits her.

I love how the Transfiguration teacher described her as a squirrel, and then it turns out her animagus is one, too. And even though she thought it'd suck, it worked to her advantage. I love how you described the animagus transformation, and you didn't just say "Her animagus is a squirrel!" but you let us see how confused she was, and how she figured out what she was gradually.

Excellent. Loved it.
10/10 (:

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really enjoyed writing Minnie, because she does have the streak of awkwardness coming from Neville. I am really glad that you enjoyed this story. It was just much fun to write something silly, and I'm glad I gave you a laugh! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by saltyavocado Bright-Eyed and Bushy-Tailed

23rd September 2009:
Aww, what a cute story! I wonder how a squirrel would fight off a dementor though... isn't a person's animagi also their patronus? No matter. Still liked the story.

Author's Response: I don't think it is. A person's patronus can change depending on their situation. Tonks's changed when she was in love with Remus, and I doubt that her Animagus form would've been a werewolf. Thank you so much for your review, though! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by FluffyBunny Bright-Eyed and Bushy-Tailed

11th September 2009:
Uh-oh! I love it! Shes got the tail still on her? Thats one of those glorious Lara-Moments. The moments when something improtant is up and you ask someone you fancy something and then you've got chocolate in your face or spinach between your teeth! :)
I don't feel so alone anymore! I am just wondering how is she going to talk herself out of it?! xD
Lara
10

Author's Response: Yup! I thought it was a nice little touch to keep it from getting too gooey, y'know? I just love to torment my characters, haha.

Oh, she'll figure out a way! Thank you so much for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by the wise man Bright-Eyed and Bushy-Tailed

8th September 2009:
sweet, funny, cute. my kind of story, can you make a sequel?

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's actually just going to stay as a one-shot, although if I write more about the Next-Gen, I'm keeping her character. I have a bunch of other silly one-shots, if you'd like to check them out :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Drekavac Bright-Eyed and Bushy-Tailed

4th September 2009:
Oh...it's so sweet! Like it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by RonsGirlFriday Bright-Eyed and Bushy-Tailed

1st September 2009:
This is an amazingly cute piece. Minnie has exactly the kind of personality I would anticipate in a child of Neville's, but without being a carbon copy of Neville -- I liked how you made her brainy and responsible, like she clearly got the hardworking gene from her dad, but she's actually more capable than Neville was at her age.

Her Animagus form really seemed suited to her personality, and even while it seemed like a lame animal, I liked how she found that it worked to her advantage, The end was awesome and charming.

Overall, a really fun, cleverly written one-shot. :-)

Author's Response: I've read all your reviews that you've left at this point, and I absolutely love them. I mean, I enjoyed writing the story "Good Books" but I didn't anticipate such a great prize for it. Anyway, response time. Ah! I'm really glad you liked Millie. I think I'll probably include her if I ever get around to writing a novel-length Next-Gen. She was fun to write about.

Thank you so much for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by mrsphantom Bright-Eyed and Bushy-Tailed

25th August 2009:
oh that would be so embarrassing! but very funny and cute. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Ava Pearce Bright-Eyed and Bushy-Tailed

7th August 2009:
hahahaha lol this is sooo funny lol
10/10
awesome
luv ya,
Ava
xoxo

Author's Response: Haha! Thank you for your review! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by CrazyForYou Bright-Eyed and Bushy-Tailed

27th July 2009:
Hey!!!

Very cute story! I like the basic overview of Minnie Longbottom, I just wish there was more characterization of the various characters. However, this is a very sweet one-shot, with a cute/happy/funny ending.

I didn't notice any glaring mistakes, so good job!

The only criticism I have - and this would more apply to a longer story, is to work on characterization and making sure all the characters have depth. Other than that, I think you understand the basics of cute humor and weaving together a strong plot.

Great job!

~CrazyForYou

Author's Response: I probably could have been a little more descriptive but I guess I just wanted it to be a silly piece without going into too much detail. I'm very glad that you liked it, though! Thanks for the nice review :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Jellyman Bright-Eyed and Bushy-Tailed

25th July 2009:
I can't seem to stop myself from reading - your stuff is so good! This was gorgeous; I loved, loved, loved Minnie, she was brilliant! And what was particuarly hilarious was when she almost was eaten by a owl (which was kind of ironic, since she wanted to be an eagle, haha). Brilliant job :)

Author's Response: Hahaha! I'm glad you liked this one, too! I've only just started getting into Next Gen, but I think with anything I write, I'm going to stick to the same characters. This is probably the silliest thing I've ever written.

 Report Review

Review #12, by madelgranger Bright-Eyed and Bushy-Tailed

21st July 2009:
haha, that was so cute! seriously. love. honestly, I don't have much more to say, besides are you planning on getting a banner for it? because I feel like this story would lend itself to a really awesome banner. anyways. seriously. this is just made of awesome. insta-favorite! thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Well, thank you so much! I did request a banner, so I'm hoping she'll have it ready soon. Thank you for your lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by californialove Bright-Eyed and Bushy-Tailed

21st July 2009:
Hello! I'm here with your review from the HPFF forums!

I gotta say, this story is really cute! I loved it! You are a very talented author to be able to do this after saying your area of writing is in the exact opposite of this story's polarity! This story is pretty much everything I expected a light fluffy story to be. It was an easy read, it was fun, and the climax surprised me and made me go, "Awww!"

Minnie's character I really enjoyed because she's the kinda character who's in the background, but made the effort to move herself to the foreground. It's really admirable. :] In a way, it reminded me of Neville, because he was the shy guy who like rose up to meet the contenders.

Jeepers! Sorry this review is so short! I hope it was enough to help you out with your endeavors! ^^;

8/10

Author's Response: Not short at all! Perfectly lovely!

Wow..thank you so much! I've written humor before, but nothing totally silly like this. I really appreciated the positive feedback on this. I might have to give silliness another shot and brighten up my Author's Page a bit.

Yes, I wanted that to shine through. She is her father's daughter for sure :)

No, it really did! It was very encouraging for me. I'm always nervous trying new things, but I was excited to share this one. Thanks again for coming to review! I really appreciate it :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Pookha Bright-Eyed and Bushy-Tailed

19th July 2009:
I saw your posting about your summary for this story. I think your summary is fine. It actually drove me to the story to read it. It's full of sly humour and the kind of 'everyone misunderstands everyone else' type of plot that I find intriguing.

You capture the awkwardness of the adolescent dating scene very nicely; a scene that could only be complicated by being a witch or wizard.

I love the title and the ending.

I needed a good laugh today and I'm glad that I came to read your story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I usually feel like I'm so dreadful at summaries, so I wanted to get some help with this one. This is the second positive I've got on it, so I think I'll keep it now.

Thanks so much for reading! I'm really glad you enjoyed it :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login