Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Some Little Mermaid
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by water_lilies Some Little Mermaid

2nd September 2016:
This is such a sweet story! It really is one my favorite one-shots. It is beautifully written and the emotions are truly palpable. It was great seeing not only their love but also their doubt and pain because it made it more believable; it must not be easy to marry a mute person - in James' case - and someone for whom you wish you could do something you can't physically do - in Lia's case.

I love how there is no spoken dialogue in the story, just what is said through sign language; it really sets the tone and helps carry the plot.

I've never read a story like this before and it truly makes me want to know more about them. I really wish you would write a novel or a short story based on James and Lia's story :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the story. I really wanted to see how a story without dialogue could impact a reader, so I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed it!

Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #2, by HermioneeeGrangerrr Some Little Mermaid

7th September 2013:
Awww. Great writing.

 Report Review

Review #3, by xl Lily lx Some Little Mermaid

2nd September 2011:
Aww! So sweet! I love it!

 Report Review

Review #4, by SunSation Gal 07 Some Little Mermaid

5th August 2011:
awww, this was so sweet! and trying to find something to review for the tag your in thread was not easy :P loved it Drue :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Crescent Moon  Some Little Mermaid

20th July 2011:
I love this one shot. It's so sweet. I've never seen a story like this before but I really enjoyed it. It's really well written XD

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. I've still considered writing the novel length prequel, but I currently can't decide. We will see what I feel like doing after The Seer.

Thank you for taking the time to go and read my other works! It really makes me happy.

Thank you! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Dagmar Beck Some Little Mermaid

23rd November 2010:
I would enjoy a longer version of this story. It doesn't need to be a novel it could be a short story collection. A series of snap shot would be just as enjoyable.

 Report Review

Review #7, by You Know Who Some Little Mermaid

25th December 2009:
aww, can you do a sequel? please?

 Report Review

Review #8, by The Pheonix Quill Some Little Mermaid

8th September 2009:
You should definitely make this into a novel! I'd like to read about how they fell in love. Very well written! keep it up

 Report Review

Review #9, by Laugharama_llama Some Little Mermaid

19th August 2009:
:( This was so bittersweet!! I don't have anything else to say for this other than absolutely beautiful.

Author's Response: Awww, thank you so much for the review! It means a lot to me.

-Drue


 Report Review

Review #10, by onestop_hpfan18 Some Little Mermaid

3rd August 2009:
Hey, Leslie here to review as requested, and I'm so sorry it took me so long; my laptop crashed on me a couple weeks ago and I just got it back on Friday. Anyway, on with the review shall we :D

Characterization: I think you did a marvelous job with James II's characterization, and I can easily see James as being the one to stand up for someone who is getting picked on because I always pictured him as being caring and nice while at the same time still being a practical jokester. And I really liked the relationship between him and Lia that you created, it's nice to read something different for a change, especially when it's written as lovely as this.

Flow: I had no trouble at all following along with what was happening as it flowed seamlessly, and you stayed on topic, too. I don't think you strayed at all from the plot. It's well-written and intriguing with each sentence.

Overall, great job! I really did enjoy this one-shot, and make sure you stop by my review thread when you've posted the novel length fic that goes with this. 10/10

Author's Response: Awww! YAY! Leslie, thank you so much! You truly made my day. For some reason or other, this one-shot did worry me, and I'm not so sure why, but you really boosted my confidence with it.

Thank you sooo much! xD

-Drue


 Report Review

Review #11, by celticbard Some Little Mermaid

22nd July 2009:
Hi Drue!
It's celticbard from TGS, here to review as requested. ^_^

First off, I love the originality of this piece. It's not every day one comes across an OC with a legitimate disability. Furthermore, you handle Lia quite perfectly. It's obvious that she wishes she could speak but she also seems ok with herself. Her confidence rings true, as does her complete understanding of James as a person...which brings me to my second point. ;) I thought the romance was wonderfully written. Really, you did an excellent job. James obviously loves Lia, but he is realistic about their relationship. And even though he adores her, he doesn't have her on a pedestal, which is quite refreshing to read.

Other than that, you seemed to have some problems with tense in this piece. The first half-the back story-is told in the past tense. Then, you switch to the present tense during the wedding scene, but jump back to the past tense after a few paragraphs. I think this story would work well using the past tense for the flash back and the present tense for the wedding. However, the past tense throughout works just as well. ;)

I really liked this piece, Drue. It was so nice to read something uplifting and sweet for a change. As always, feel free to drop by my queue and request another review. I hope you have a great week! Take care!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Ack thanks so much, dear!

Yes, I did struggle with the tenses. I would be writing and then think "oh wait, is that right?" Now I know that I should definitely go over it.

Thanks so much again! I'm really glad you enjoyed it and I hope you will give the novel your opinion too when it comes out! xD

-Drue


 Report Review

Review #12, by collette michelle Some Little Mermaid

14th July 2009:
Oh, Drue! You are so amazing. I loved this, I really did. It was beautifully written. You can really tell that James has such a deep love for Lai. And Lai, she seems so sweet. I found my self signing (albeit, horrible and slow) along with some of the parts.

I really hope you do expand on this, I for one would read it. And that's good enough reason if you ask me! ;] Ha, only joking, love. But, I would read it. You have left me very curious to learn more about this adorable pairing. Please do write more, please! (And if you do, let me know when it is up. I am horrible a remembering to check for these things...)

xx.
Collette

Author's Response: Collette! Eep, thank you! You wouldn't believe how thrilled I was to see your review!

It really made me so happy. I'm so glad you enjoyed it! I hope you will like the novel too. xD

-Drue


 Report Review

Review #13, by Tinkerbell01 Some Little Mermaid

13th July 2009:
Hey Drue! OMGosh! This is amazing! Your descriptions on how James feels for Lia are amazing. You don't find many people out there that would marry a mute person, but James does feel like he'd be that type of person.

Now, not to get you all worked up, but I'd be careful with writing this novel. There is another story similar to the one you might have planned out already. I think at some point you told me you might have read her story, I'm not sure. But the girl in her story was born at the age of 11 or something, so yours might be very different.

I don't think I saw any mistakes at all dear! James' characterization is spot on from what I can tell! He seems like the kinda guy I'd wanna hang out with! ^_^ Flow is perfect. You don't stray off topic and you keep the readers attention!

Wonderfully done dear! -huggles-

Can't wait for the novel!

*favorites*

ILY Drueee!

Author's Response: Alicia! THANKS! Hehe, I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

Thanks for the ever so sweet review!

ILY!

xx.
Drue


 Report Review

Review #14, by green angel Some Little Mermaid

13th July 2009:
i love it!
please hurry with the novel i would love to read it!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I am! I'm working on is as we speak. You can expect it sometime around the beginning of August. :D

-Drue


 Report Review

Review #15, by Canary in the Mine Some Little Mermaid

13th July 2009:
Okay, I love this so much, that you BETTER make this into a novel. My eyes are tearing for some reason. I think that while this was somewhat fluffy, I think that this has that sort of feel like 'The Wedding' by Nicholas Sparks. It was sweet and I adore the narration. James is just amazing. Your characterization of him was wonderful to read. I loved how it was in his point of view and all, learning to see what he sees, the way he sees it. I loved Lia. She had a small part, but her name is enough. My family calls me Lia all the time, so reading her as a character is just wonderful.

I loved what you did here. The challenge was supposed to be silent, and you just totally did it in an amazing way. Lia was a mute. I would have never thought of it like that, you know. This was creative and special. I loved the feel of this, while I was reading. It was almost light and happy and then, in the end, there's this sort of deep romance and emotion that just makes me want to cry. But I've always been a softie.

I loved how simple it seemed, James' narration. It was as if he were explaining his life to someone, but in a different way I suppose. I loved the scene with James and his father, Harry. It made me smile and all.

Overall, this was a wonderful peice. The emotion, plot, flow, and characterization was just amazing and mind-blowing. I'd love to see you turn this into a novel. To actually go into depth of the entire relationship and all that. It'd be just an amazing companion to this one-shot (:

10/10

Author's Response: Malia! Oh my gosh, thank you! Thank you, thank you! I really needed this CC, and this made me feel so much more confident about this story.

Malia, thanks! Wow you really deserved Featured Reviewer at TGS! Look at how much you helped me!

Eep, ILY, dear! Thank you again! Thanks a million!

xx.
Drue


 Report Review

Review #16, by harrypotterhugefanforever Some Little Mermaid

13th July 2009:
Oh Drue, you made me cry.

Poor Lia and poor James. It was so sweet and I could see it happening.

10/10

Author's Response: Amy! Thanks! You're such an amazing fan. You're always here for me and my stories.

Thank you!

-Drue


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login