Reading Reviews for Morbus
  
39 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Livi_777 Harvey Fielding

3rd May 2012:
Hi!
First off, what an idea!! I've never come across anything like this before and I love it so much! Though this first chapter is a little gruesome (though I actually think it's necessary because you needed to highlight how terrible the disease is) I think this could be a very very interesting story.
I'm incredibly impressed that you have had the courage to defy cliche and put a Weasley Potter in Hufflepuff, because it's not very often you find someone doing that!
There were a few errors but Ive glanced down your reviews and I think others have pointed out all the ones that I spotted.
Otherwise, I really enjoyed it!
Livi x

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it :) Unfortunately this story has been Abandoned, though I may go back to it eventually. The feedback is still much appreciated though!

I'm a bit confused though, because I did not put any of the Weasley-Potters in Hufflepuff. And you are the second person to say this! Are you getting Lucy mixed up with Lily? If I remember correctly James is in Gryffindor, Albus is in Slytherin, and Lily is in Ravenclaw. The only one mentioned to be in Hufflepuff is Lucy, Percy's daughter. I wonder why people keep making this mistake!

Once again, thank you for the lovely review!

Bri, xx


 Report Review

Review #2, by charlottetrips Harvey Fielding

14th April 2012:
This is interesting. It isn't a type of story or plot I've seen around here. Most NextGens focus on some type of love story of one of the numerous children, especially with Rose and Scorpius, who apparently is the fanon idea of a canon pairing.

It's quite a morbid story to start out with, a teen being sick and almost dying in the first chapter. Plus the whole graphic scene and the description of the disease. I would see if there was a way to format the chapter so that the newspaper article stood out as such but otherwise, it was pretty official. Though panicked.

Cho Chang also seemed to lose it a little but I understand in the aftermath of having one of the children in a coma and about to die and the rest at risk.

Rose having bruises...dun dun dun.

As an aside, I like that you've made one of the Weasley-Potters a Hufflepuff! :)

xChar

Author's Response: Thank you for the review :) I have not worked on this story in a very long time but it's still nice to get some feedback! I'm glad you found it interesting and unique.

And haha, I think you may have read the names wrong! None of the Weasley-Potters are in Hufflepuff. James is in Gryffindor, Albus is in Slytherin and Lily is in Ravenclaw. I think you may be thinking of Lucy (Percy's daughter). :)

Thanks once again! The review is much appreciated!

Bri xx


 Report Review

Review #3, by Ashley Kay Harvey Fielding

15th January 2011:
I'm liking the plot to this already. But please don't stop writing/positng Masquerade.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it. :) However, don't worry about Masquerade. I'm gonna focus solely on Masq and put Morbus on hiatus until it's finished. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by kittikatlova Delirium

29th December 2009:
Awesome! Its getting into the thick of things, and so mysterious. I think it is nice that Rose offered to help. It makes sense since she already beat the disease. Shouldnt the teachers be wearing the necklaces too then? Seems like it. I love it, and cant wait to find out what happens next. I hope nothing happens to Neville out there trying to get help. Wonderful!

Author's Response: Glad you like it :) Thank you for reading, and for the wonderful feedback!

~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #5, by I am Lily_hear me roar Harvey Fielding

25th December 2009:
This situation is quite literally my worst nightmare. Yet I have to read the next chapter. What is wrong with me?!? Lol you have brought out the more pensive side of me. Awesome chapter!
~Lily :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading! :) Glad you like it.

~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #6, by kandekisses Delirium

20th December 2009:
Awww poor Zabini. This disease is crazy! I'm really pretty scared over here lol.

I loved how you thought of the necklaces and the separate dormitories. Very nicely done. I wonder how the Morbus came in contact with Hogwarts in the first place. This story is definitely a mystery to me.

Once again, this idea is very original. &Your doing a fantastic job in writing it. I'd love to see what happens next. So please stop by my thread when the next chapter is up!

Author's Response: Again, thank you :) I'm glad you enjoyed it.

~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #7, by Alassie Delirium

20th December 2009:
Hello! You requested that I focus solely on this chapter, so here I am hoping to satisfy your request. My reviews usually arent that long, but I will try and do quite a bit of detail since you requested it.
Well, this story is certainly new and interesting, even by HPFF standards, and that is very difficult to achieve, considering the vast amount of work on this site. I have never seen something involving the idea of a disease running rampant.
You had a lot of creative and logical ideas in this chapter. Many people wouldn't have thought of separating the kids (as much sense as it seems to make) or having meals in the room alone.
Its interesting that a professor was next to succumb to the disease. I'm glad that you didn't make them essentially invincible, instead they are just as vulnerable as anyone else.
I really enjoyed this.
10/10
Alassie

Author's Response: Thank you! Your feedback is MUCH appreciated. :)

~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #8, by kandekisses Stranded

20th December 2009:
Okay so Rose is infected? But why is she recovering? Not that thats a bad thing lol. But I wonder what these dreams/hallucinations mean. &Also that bit of latin.

The idea of a new dark wizard or the death eaters coming back is definitely a interesting one. Yay! So there goes Scorpius, it was a pretty smart idea to have him being one of Albus's friends. It doesn't seem as though they have animosity towards each other.

Hmm.. very nicely done!

Author's Response: Once again, thanks :) It's much appreciated.

~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #9, by kandekisses Harvey Fielding

20th December 2009:
Hello.. I know you said you really just want a review on the last chapter but I decided to read all of it to fully understand. &I thought, hey why not review them all?

I have to say that the plot is epic! Really, in-genius idea. It seems as though a lot is going to happen in the story. I really liked how you described the characters, and showed the different houses that they are in. Now this Morbus disease seems very serious. Kind of like the plague. I couldn't imagine, I feel so bad for Harvey =(

If you don't mind me asking, how did you come up with the name Morbus? It really does fit nicely.

Author's Response: Thank you so much :)

The name: Morbus literally means 'disease' in Latin ^^

~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #10, by spam_up_sam Delirium

20th December 2009:
I don't like it, I absolutely love this. I know it's only three chapters in but you've created a brilliant atmosphere so far, really brilliant. This was my favourite chapter so far, I could imagine vividly the scene with the crazed hallucinating Zabini.
Great chapter =]
spam_up_sam

Author's Response: Thanks so much!! You're feedback is MUCH appreciated! :)
~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #11, by spam_up_sam Harvey Fielding

20th December 2009:
Interesting =] I have seen a plot along these line in the Marauders section but I like yours best
Really well written, love how you've wrote Rose too
I'm really excited about this actually, off to the next chapter for me
spam_up_sam

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading&reviewing! I'm so glad you liked it!!
~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #12, by marciabarcia Delirium

19th December 2009:
That's 2 dead in Hogwarts and y is Healer Perez not being affected by this??? Did she have it and SURVIVE like Rose?

xoxo
~Marcia

Author's Response: No, Healer Perez never had it :) Remember, she's taken quite a lot of precautionary measures to keep herself from being exposed.
Thanks so much for all the reviews!
~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #13, by marciabarcia Stranded

19th December 2009:
Is she going to live through it??? I don't want Rose to die :(

xoxo
~Marcia

Author's Response: Once again, thanks for reading&reviewing ^_^
~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #14, by marciabarcia Harvey Fielding

19th December 2009:
Oh gosh Rose has Morbus!

xoxo
~Marcia

Author's Response: Thanks for reading&reviewing ^^
~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #15, by Catriona7 Delirium

19th December 2009:
This story is kinda freaking me out - in a good way!

Can't wait to see the development of your characters. And hopefully get some Rosie and Scorpius in there. !

Lovee

Author's Response: Thanks for reading&reviewing :) Glad you liked it!
~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #16, by LadyBones Delirium

19th December 2009:
I kind of feel like a twist is coming but we haven't gotten to it yet... :). Looking forward for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading&reviewing :)
~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #17, by LadyBones Stranded

19th December 2009:
This chapter was better than the first, I think. I am officially hooked now. I do wish the chapters were slightly longer, but otherwise I think you're doing a fantastic job.

I liked how you introduced hispanic characters :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading&reviewing :) It's much appreciated.
~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #18, by dracos_hotter Delirium

19th December 2009:
Moving slowly? Are you mad? It's got THREE CHAPTERS. If this is moving slowly, my lord I'm a snail.

In three chapters, you set the scene, play the tune.

So no, it's not going slowly.

It's all going swimmingly, unless you're in the story. In which case, sucks for you.

A delight.

xE

Author's Response: Thanks :D Just making sure, is all.
~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #19, by RupertsPheonix Delirium

19th December 2009:
Great cliffhanger to the end of the chapter. I've just started reading, and I really like the story thus far.

Is there going to be any Scorpius/Rose interaction further than his explaining the train situation? Will he fall sick?

Great job so far! Update soon?

--Kate/RP

Author's Response: Thank you for reading&reviewing :)
As for all your questions... You'll just have to wait and see ^^
~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #20, by Crystle Harvey Fielding

6th November 2009:
Oh my, very exciting chapter. Morbis, sounds awful.

How old is Rose, at the moment.

Author's Response: Thanks for the feedback ^^

And Rose is around 16 or 17 now, in her 6th year of Hogwarts.

~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #21, by Phoenix_Flames Stranded

4th November 2009:
Wow. Wow wow wow.

I just don't know what to say. I'm over whelmed with your plot. It's so unique! How in the world did you create this?? Great job!

I honestly don't know what else to say besides praise you. There were a few grAmmar mistakes here and there, but no biggy.

Great job. Let me know when there's an update! ;)

Author's Response: Again, thank you for the review :)

~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #22, by Phoenix_Flames Harvey Fielding

4th November 2009:
Wow! What an ectremely interesting and intriguing story! Roses character is so messed up. I feel bad for her. But wow this is fantastic.

There really weren't any mistakes. None that I realized. And I don't have much criticsm. Impressed all around withthis story.

I can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review :) (And sorry about my delayed response...)

~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #23, by Blissbug Stranded

3rd November 2009:
Hi, BB from the forums here for your review.

Well, this is an interesting plot. While I've seen a couple of other fics out there with strange wizardly diseases, this one definitely stretches some boundaries here, but in a good way. Having not read your first chapter, I'm curious to know what I've missed because honestly, this second chapter had enough action, tension and character introduction to read as a first...

You do have some grammatical issues. You're way too found of ellipses (...) and while for the most part they're used correctly, there are places where they're not really needed. I would use details like gestures, expressions and the sound of someone's vouice to build the same kind of confusion, tension and worry you indicate with the ellipses.

I'd also secure a beta for this, because there are some minor mispelling and the like. Because this is an interesting story, I'd recommend cleaning those up, because they get distracting.

Overall not a bad read. I don't as a rule, accept Post-Hogwarts (I didn't realize your story was until I had already started reading it, so you get a free review anyway) but this I liked. Good job. 6/19

BB

Author's Response: Sorry for the delayed review :( I completely forgot about these after I read them.

Thank you for the review, and all the suggestions ^^ I'm definitely going to pay more attention to everything you pointed out.

As for the entire Post-Hogwarts thing, I'd recommend you be a bit more clear in your review thread, because technically this isn't Post. Technically this is Next Gen.

~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #24, by InvisibleWitch19 Stranded

2nd November 2009:
This chapter was definitely as good as the first one. Great job.

I was reading on so ecstatically because the way you left us readers hanging in the last chapter made me so excited. Rose being in the stall and Franky shouting out her name was so exciting and made the scene more fun to read. The way you wrote the scene was realistic and I could imagine the setting when Rose was there.

I wonder what her dream meant. The strange Latin words just creep me out and I think she might be having scary visions like Harry's somewhat. The fact that the train didn't come was so intriguing, especially when none of the professors said anything about it. The Quarantine Room and the bubble were also reasonable additions to the chapter, too.

This chapter was quite well-written with all the great descriptions and dialogue. The plot was very exciting, of course, so I do hope you update soon. Don't hesitate to re-request, I am highly encouraging you to do so because this story is just so good. Keep up the excellent work. :)

-InviWitchie019

Author's Response: Once again, so sorry for the delay in my response :)

Thank you AGAIN for the wonderful review! It's very helpful ^^

~Mercy


 Report Review

Review #25, by InvisibleWitch19 Harvey Fielding

2nd November 2009:
Hey, it's InviWitchie019 here for the review you requested.

I never quite expected to read such an interesting story as this but when I read the summary, I was immediately curious. The plot for this is very original and intriguing, which could gain you more readers. The disease also seems so scary, too. Your writing is very realistic, which makes the story more exciting to read.

The people's reactions to the disease at the start of the chapter are exactly what I think I would feel. The fact that the sickness is so far incurable is quite threatening, especially because they're wizards with wands and potions. What happened to Harvey was sad, I could totally connect to his fear since he knew he could have the disease.

There were a few errors which I spotted but then some reviews before me already pointed them out and I know how it feels like when people point out the same stuff over again. Glad to know that your edits are in the queue, as you said in one of the previous author responses.

I gasped when Rose touched Harvey and I knew- I just knew!- that sooner or later, she might have gotten it. Excellent plot twist, that was and I was sure that her Gryffindor side would take over although she was a Ravenclaw. Anyway, this chapter was very well-written and do you know that I'm typing as fast as I could right now so I could get to the next chapter right away? Yes, that is how good you are.

Oh- quick question: How did you come up with the disease name, Morbus? Keep up the brilliant work! :)
-InviWitchie019

Author's Response: Sorry about taking so long to respond! Thank you so much for reviewing and giving your feedback, it was very helpful.

And to answer your question, I didn't come up with it :) I knew how many terms and spells in the Harry Potter world are based off of Latin words, so... Morbus literally means disease in Latin ^^

~Mercy


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>