Reading Reviews for The Alternate
  
168 Reviews Found

Review #1, by theblacksisters Impossible But Likely

15th November 2013:
Why does Bellatrix have to be dead? Every story is so much more interesting (albeit more violent) with her in it.

 Report Review

Review #2, by theblacksisters Prologue

15th November 2013:
Yeah, I'm a huge AU fan. My favorite kinds are the post-war fics where Voldemort won (yeah, I know, I'm screwed). This isn't one of them but I've read AUs like this and really liked them.

 Report Review

Review #3, by LN Bound for Home

7th April 2013:
love the story it was confusing at first but i really got into it a few chapters in you should write a sequel to this (if you already haven't)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Sapphire Prologue

25th August 2012:
You write like J.K.Rowling, did you know? You wrote their conversation well, but Voldemort's character hardly holds muggles up by the scruffs of their pajamas. Maybe Death Eaters should have done that. This part is a little rushed, but the vocabulary is perfect and the grammar as well. You just need to slow down. Great storyline. Way to go~

Author's Response: That's a huge compliment! Thank you! I love JKR's style. :) Glad you liked the vocab and grammar. I sometimes do write too fast - I guess this scene was a lot of action, so I didn't want to slow it down too much. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by veela Mr. and Mrs. Potter

18th August 2012:
Some parts I find myself very lost. Such as where Vampire harry is and which Snape he is talking to.

Author's Response: Hmm... yeah, this story is really complex. There are a lot of parts to it, and it's not so easy to follow all the time, if you're not paying very close attention. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by parashar_harry Bound for Home

18th May 2012:
finally i read it ^_^.
i enjoyed it from the beginning until the end. this alternate harry is very much different than our harry, infact every character. u have created au harry with more darker side. i bet he will not be a good friend with moine while he was in hogwarts.
from the starting only i was hating him, but when he went in flashback and his story came in picture, i felt sorry for him also and at that same time i had feeling that frank longbottom knew about the whole prophecy and he want glory for his neville.
about neville, he really didn't surprised him, i too have always pictured him like that only if he would end up as boy who lived. As he was a pureblood and also was living in the wizarding world since birth unlike harry. i was smiling when he told that he want to become herbology master and when harry smiled he started defending what he said about herbology.
regarding black girl, what to say in the starting chapter i was feeling very sorry for her and when i discovered that harry has turned her into a vampire , i was very angry. but thanks to snape that he discovered the potion. u have put her in correct house, ravenclaw as she is very smart girl, when she knew the harry story she understood his problem and accepted that he was out of control when he turned her into vampire, thanks she is not like ginny lol.
i like Mother vampire. she is sort of lady albus, i think ^_^. she knew everything.
the little christofer was adorable. i really want to thanksu for creating a little brother not sister lol as in many fiction i have read that harry had little sister, its first time that i read that he has a brother.
i am really happy that this story has a happy ending.
a huge thanks to u for sharing this masterpiece among us. ^_^.
10/10
parashar_harry

Author's Response: First off: Thank you so much for your long and thoughtful review! It's very helpful for me. :) I'm glad you liked Maeby and AU Harry's character. Actually, in retrospect I'm always thinking of ways I could have made this story better. One of them was changing these two characters a little, but it's nice to hear that you like them. Thanks so much for leaving a review!

Aether


 Report Review

Review #7, by parashar_harry Implausible Illusions

16th May 2012:
this chapter is amazing. i am feeling very sorry for balck girl though

Author's Response: Yeah, Meaby Black does have it rough in this story. Thanks for the review! I love to hear what you think. :)

Aether


 Report Review

Review #8, by parashar_harry Prologue

16th May 2012:
i like this one and that was an excellent idea to take unbreakable vow by voldy but just one question isn't it necessary that there must be one bonder who will complete this vow and also both of them have to hold each other hand.
if i forget that then whole idea and chapter is awesome. i like harry how much he love duddley even though they not

Author's Response: Yes, it is necessary according to the seventh book. Because I decided to make this fifth-book canon, I took some liberties. One of those was the vow. In my story, it's equally possible to make an Unbreakable Vow without a bonder. I'm sort of thinking of it this way: Voldemort is not really making a vow with anyone in particular (not like Snape was to Narcissa in book seven), so he doesn't need to be holding someone's hand. Thus, he doesn't need a bonder. The Unbreakable Vow in this story is simply of a different form than the one in book seven. Thanks for leaving a review! :)

Aether


 Report Review

Review #9, by Brandon Mr. and Mrs. Potter

3rd December 2011:
This is easily one of the best HP fanfics I've ever read so far. Love it!:D
Oh and also, ' "I have never heard anything so absurd in my life," Snape uttered' made me think of A Very Potter Musical. haha

Author's Response: I'm so sorry for taking so long to reply. I've been away from fanfiction for a while now cause of college.

Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed this fanfic. :) Hah, hah, that totally changed the way I originally imagined Snape saying it! I love A Very Potter Musical - I wonder if I unintentionally worded it that way...

Aether


 Report Review

Review #10, by nina lupin Bound for Home

4th October 2011:
absolutely amazing story :)
sorry about not reviewing earlier, but I was consumed by how wondrously amazing this is!
there were some things I found confusing, but I think I understand them now.
I have to say though, not quite sure if I like any of the characters in the alternate universe (with (not any more) "evil" Harry), including that Harry and Maeby, apart from the Potters.
definitely not meant as an insult, I probably just have bad taste! Read the entire thing listening to depressing music to go along with it :D
anyway, I hope to read more from you! Good luck! eww... these exclamation marks...

Author's Response: I know this story is confusing at times. I've actually been going back and editing things to make them a little clearer. Also, I think it would be easy to dislike Maeby and AU Harry because they're not always realistic (though I did try... again, something to edit), and they're actually pretty selfish and unfriendly people. Thank you for your review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by irrelevant Bound for Home

16th May 2011:
An incredibly exciting story I just HAD to read in one go. Awesome wordings, great chapters! Love the storyline. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I'm glad you liked it! :) -Aether

 Report Review

Review #12, by Birgit_Weasley Bound for Home

29th April 2011:
This was a great story, one of the best I've read.
It was really well-written and I just couldn't stop reading =)
Thank you for sharing this story with the people of HPFF.
Ok, now I'm sounding seriously.
Anyway, Great story !!! =D

Author's Response: Thank you for leaving the review! I'm so glad to know that you enjoyed it! ~Aether

 Report Review

Review #13, by LavaLamp Prologue

28th April 2011:
hi i have just started geting in to AU fanfic stories and this gives real promise of being intresting.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you like the first chapter. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by celeste Bound for Home

7th April 2011:
awww i love your story it is really good :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it and took the time to review. :) Thank you!
Aether


 Report Review

Review #15, by annabellered Bound for Home

15th January 2011:
I just started reading the story today so I read the entire story in one day. I really liked it. For a long time I have been wanting to read a story where Harry's parents were still alive. This was an interesting twist. Thanks for the story.

Author's Response: It's nice to hear you enjoyed reading this! Thank you for leaving feedback. :) -Aether

 Report Review

Review #16, by Talon Svarog Bound for Home

8th January 2011:
Brilliant, absolutely brilliant. I quite enjoyed the use of alternate realities, reminds me of Stargate.

Author's Response: Thanks for the feedback! I'm glad you liked this. :D

 Report Review

Review #17, by Mr Black Prologue

29th December 2010:
Well it sure is an interesting plot line. I will read on and see what happens for it sounds like it has great potential

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Glad you like the start. :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Akussa Bound for Home

18th December 2010:
Well first of all, congratulation on getting this story to the end; it is quite a task and an achievement as well!

This was a really great story; I enjoyed reading it, especially since I knew it wouldn't be abandon in the middle like so many other.

I think I pretty much said it all with the other reviews I left you before but, once again, I thank you for writting this amazing story and putting all your heart in it.

Akussa

Author's Response: Yeah, I never realized how hard writing a full fanfiction novel would be until I started one for myself. It was always a struggle to get myself to focus on the Alternate when I had other plot bunnies begging to be written. :) In the end, I eventually got really into a few of my characters, which pulled me through, I think. I'm glad to know that you enjoyed reading this. I actually used to only read completed fanfictions because I hated having to wait for authors to update. Though, I think this story is pretty intense at times and might be hard to read all in one sitting.

Thank YOU for leaving all this feedback. It really helps!

~Aether


 Report Review

Review #19, by Akussa Recovery

18th December 2010:
One chapter left... Your ending is coming in a very neat way. I really like how Harry isn't trying too much to be accepted by the others and that he realises the implications his choices had.
The saving of Snape was excellent; great imagination!!!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed this! I was nervous about not giving Harry the full 180 transformation, but I'm happy that you appreciated the fact that I was trying to keep it realistic. Thank you so much for the reviews! ~Aether

 Report Review

Review #20, by Akussa The Final Battle

18th December 2010:
Great chapter! You say at the end that the scenes could have been longer; they always can, especially when you write as good as you do, but I personnaly thought they were perfect the way you wrote them. Sure, would have been great to read more but you've put enough details and actions to make the scenes fastpaced and not dragging.

This chapter was inspired, beautifully written in the way that it closed loose ends and, sadly, moved the story toward the end.
I noticed a small slip,

"If he was going down like Snape, the he wasn't going to go without a fight!"; should be 'then' insead of 'the he wasnt'...'

Author's Response: I'm never sure how long to make a scene, and sometimes I feel like I could add more. I do like to keep the focus on certain parts of the chapter that are more important, so I'll sometimes cut short certain scenes in order to highlight others. Thanks for catching the typo. I'll be sure to go back and fix that. And thanks you for your review!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Akussa Cured Ills

18th December 2010:
Oh, that was such a nice chapter. The conversation between Harry and Sirius was so well written and emotionaly powerful.
Also, I have to say I was almost gleeful with excitment when the potion worked! Sure I knew it would it was still so amazing.
Can't wait to see what's behind Neville's change of heart though; you certaintly wouldn't have put it in there if there wasn't much to it!

Great work once again!

Author's Response: Neville's important, not just to this fic, but (as it turns out) for the sequel, which I'm currently plotting. Thank you so much for your feedback; it's really helpful. :)

Aether


 Report Review

Review #22, by Akussa Road Blocks

18th December 2010:
Great chapter; can't wait to read the rest!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you're enjoying this. :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Akussa Muddled Values

18th December 2010:
I loved this chapter; the realisations of both Harry and on how, being who they are at the moment, they don't belong in this world.
I have to say that I really enjoyed Snape's defection. I think you explained his motivations really well and his appreciation of Mabel in a clear and believable way. Can't wait to see if the potion works though and if he'll give some to Harry!!
Oh and, I have to say I was really sad when I read your foot note on how their's only three chapters left but felt extremly happy to know that, in reality, it's 4!!!

Author's Response: I had trouble, in the past, with making Snape a believable character in this story because I felt like his strange affection for Mabel could easily go into the territory of questionable or random. So I'm happy to hear you think his appreciation for Maeby is clear. :) I ended up adding a total of two chapters to this, but I think, before I finished the rough draft, it was only outlined for 16 (then 18, then 19, then 20). Reviewers like you really inspired me and helped me see areas to which I might want to add scenes or details. I cannot thank you enough for all your helpful feedback!

Aether


 Report Review

Review #24, by Akussa Aurors and Unspeakables

18th December 2010:
Amazing chapter! Really, really enjoyable. My heart was pounding all along; from Harry's bravery (stupidity?) to James giving his real son a chance to leave. It was really great.
I loved the conversation between the two Harrys; Vampire Harry's anger upon seeing what he could have been was heart wrenching.
Excellent chapter, I'm going straight away to read the next one!!

Author's Response: Thanks! I was inspired to write the confrontation between the two Harrys in this scene, in large part, by another reviewer. I'm glad you enjoyed this! I really appreciate your reviews.

~Aether


 Report Review

Review #25, by Akussa A Road Home

17th December 2010:
Great chapter once more; a bit strange at times (the Auror thing for example). The vampire meeting was also quite strange; full of information very interesting but hard to understand at times. It asked for a lot of concentration in order to understand it fully!

Author's Response: I'm glad you made an effort to understand it all! I'll keep that in mind when I go back and edit it. Thanks for the review. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>