Reading Reviews for Shadows and Sunlight
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ilasia One

4th September 2010:
Oh, my gosh.

...did you just get me to read something with Snape in it? And...enjoy it? Immensely? WHO ARE YOU?!

Alright, in all seriousness, I was stalking your author's page and even in the myriad of Lily/James, was drawn to this. (Don't tell anyone at TGS or they'll shun me, eh? :P) I think it was the whole unrequited love thing that I'm insanely drawn to, and MY GOSH was I ridiculously surprised and insanely pleased while I was reading this.

First of all, this is the first piece of yours I've ever read which should pretty much be illegal, since you write indescribably beautifully. Let me tell you, after encountering this gorgeousness, I'm going to frequent your author's page quite often :P Second, I'm a hugehugehuge fan of the soft, delicate sort of style you have - dreamlike and very whimsical. That being said, you can only imagine my immense excitement as I was reading this and it was just such soft, sweet description.

Anywho, I just loved this to absolute pieces! Fantastic job, Jess! :)

Zinny

xx

 Report Review

Review #2, by potterwriter340237 One

23rd August 2010:
The last line is beautiful :) Really very pretty, heart breaking and poetically written!
You are very talented!
10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much :) You are too kind! I'm really happy you enjoyed the story and were moved by it.

 Report Review

Review #3, by AssortedButtons One

11th July 2010:
That was beautiful - pure poetry. Sweet and heartbreaking at the same time, and it packs so much emotion into one chapter, just like an exceptionally rich piece of cake. I'm at a loss for words. 10/10

Author's Response: I'm so glad it was able to affect you so powerfully :) Thank you for reading and reviewing! You are awesome.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Violet Gryfindor One

29th September 2009:
Oh wow, this is amazing! It shows the beauty of their friendship and his love without making it too mushy or sentimental; it's a very sweet fluff, but that ending keeps it bittersweet. I can't think of anything to critique in this - it's perfect in so many ways.

It's interesting how Lily is so childlike in this, from weaving dandelions to her response to Snape. I like this portrayal of her - very innocent and almost angelic, which is how Snape always seems to see her, without flaw. We can't know what she was thinking when she heard him pretty much profess his love to her, but how she responds can be interpreted in so many ways. She doesn't seem to love him in a romantic way, though, only as a very close friend. But even Snape at the end treats her like a child, "not having the heart" to tell her the bitter side of his feelings. He knows that they can't be together even then, and it's a very moving way to finish the story.

Sorry, I've rambled on without actually saying anything of substance. The writing style here can only be described as beautiful - it's so light and dreamy, which creates the perfect atmosphere for the scene. I love Snape/Lily stories like this - short scenes between them, especially from Snape's point of view. Yours is a wonderful example of how the ship can be portrayed. ^_^

Author's Response: Ah! Even though I requested this review from you, the fangirl inside me still does a little sqeal of delight every time I read one of your reviews, Susan :P Thank you so much! I'm enormously happy you were able to absorb that much from so few words - I was afraid, perhaps, that my message would be lost in brevity. But that's exactly the way I wanted to portray Lily in Snape's eyes - childlike in her easy wonder, cherubic almost. And I'm glad you don't mind the ambiguity in Lily's response; I feel like there are so many moments still missing in their backstory that we can't possibly know what really transipred between them (although my weakness for tragically doomed romances wants me to believe this was the closest they ever got to some sort of reciprocated feeling). Anyway, now I'm rambling! Thank you so much for your kind words. It's always an encouragement ^_^

 Report Review

Review #5, by Fahima One

27th September 2009:
Aw, I love the last sentence, it's like perfect! :) Good story :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed ^_^

 Report Review

Review #6, by civilized One

13th September 2009:
I love this so much! I want to give him a big hug and tell him every thing's alright. And Lily is perfect. This is perfect.

(Would it be too much to say that YOU'RE perfect? I'll go with no.)

You're perfect.

Author's Response: No, You're perfect!! Thank you so much for the glowing review, it put a huge smile on my face :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ugly_Duckling One

12th September 2009:
Beautiful. Parts of it were like poetry.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by ravenna_gardens One

12th September 2009:
Wow, lovely graphics. Also, I adore the first sentence, which draws me in entirely. Great story!

Author's Response: yes, they are, aren't they! we have very talented artists over at TDA :) thank you so much!!

 Report Review

Review #9, by confusedlover One

12th September 2009:
very lovely.

beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. this was an amazing one-shot. splendorous job!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! I'm so happy you enjoyed it :D

 Report Review

Review #10, by Lord Sophiemort One

12th September 2009:
Ah.
This is beautiful... I think my heart just broke.

10/10!

Author's Response: I'm sorry I had to break your heart, but I'm so happy you enjoyed it! Thanks!! :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by Bright Green Eyes One

14th August 2009:
I was kinda surprised when it ended. Cute Short and Sweet :)

Author's Response: Yes, it is rather short, so I can see how the end might be jarring. But thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by snow_white_princesse One

25th July 2009:
This is such a beautiful story! I think Lily and Snape are the perfect match, though the obvious differences, but opposites make the perfect match. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! ^_^ I think Lily and Snape have such an interesting dynamic...writing them was so much fun and hopefully I'll have enough inspiration to write them again. Maybe a companion piece!

 Report Review

Review #13, by FreakOut13 One

21st July 2009:
Well, you already know how cute I think this is and how wonderfully written it is! I love how you describe Lily in Snape's POV as the sun and how romantic yet shy he is. Everything is completely in character, and I'm amazed at how cute it is. :)
Yet there's that lingering afterthought that he isn't worthy. It's riveting. :)

Of course I shall rate 10/10 for you, my dear!

-Ann

Author's Response: Thanks a million, Ann. I probably would have never posted it without your encouragement ^_^

 Report Review

Review #14, by bron One

18th July 2009:
beautiful!
so so bittersweet and wonderfully written. exactly how i imagined lily and sev before hogwarts. absolutely fantastic!
Bron

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it...and that we have the same imagination! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #15, by Aetherwyn One

14th July 2009:
Wow.. beautifully written, really. It makes my heart ache. Really, really good job.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for reading and reviewing. As much as I love my readers, I really wanted this one to hurt ;)

 Report Review

Review #16, by vintageoctober One

13th July 2009:
I love it, genuinely. This is pure, wonderful, and heartbreaking... all in so few words.

Author's Response: thank you so much! I\\\'m so happy to hear that the intended emotions came across to you ^_^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login