Reading Reviews for Diversions from Reality.
42 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Slytherin Eagle Forward Thinking

10th October 2015:
Hi! My final review on this story and number 4 out of 5 reviews I owe you.

I liked this chapter very much. It developed the plot without having to much information packed into it. Sirius is a well developed, consistent character throughout, as are your other characters.

I hope to see you keep writing this as I will keep an eye out for future chapters.


Author's Response: I thought this was quite an important landmark- at some point Dumbledore must have approached them one way or another. I have tried to keep the characters consistant, and I am pleased you think I've managed it :)

I will add to this story but I'm not sure what yet and with this one I want to make sure I haven't just added on random chapters for the sake of it!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Slytherin Eagle Chess

10th October 2015:
Hello, thought I should check in again!

There has been so much drama in this story. All the characters have had problems which really keeps the story flowing well.

It s good to see a Marauders fic where Jily doesn't somehow become the main focus when it shouldn't be.

I think there were a couple of small spelling errors across the past few chapters, but nothing major.

I loved the ending of this chapter, it 'was a welcome development' to see James panic and have Lily reassure him for a change.

I will do one more review on this story, and then move on to do one of your one shots.


Author's Response: Thanks :D That's great

There has been a lot of drama but it just seemed to lend itself to it really! And much as I love Jily, Sirius/Remus is definitely the focus here.

So glad you've enjoyed, and thank you so much again

Sophie x

 Report Review

Review #3, by Slytherin Eagle Discussions and Disagreements

9th October 2015:
The innuendo in this chapter...

You were missing the bracketed r in this line 'minuatiae of you(r) day'.

'his' should be he's in Remus' dialogue. Additionally, the sentence after that has a she instead of a he.

I know I said I was going to review every second chapter, but I had to point these things out. So I will change my previous statement to I will do reviews on the first 5 chapters on which I want to say something.

I enjoyed this chapter, I think character interactions were well thought out.


Author's Response: Ah thanks for pointing that out! Don't think I noticed!

Glad you're still enjoying :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Slytherin Eagle Afternoon Delight...

9th October 2015:
Hi there, Lea here with your reviews!

Just to let you know since there are so many chapters to this fic, I will only review every second one from 1-9. However I will most likely come back at some stage to review the rest of them.

I enjoyed this chapter, it set things up really well. I didn't notice anything unusual to point out. I am very interested to see how the rest of the story pans out.


Author's Response: Hey :) Thank you so much.

That's fine- totally wasn't expecting you to do all of them!

Glad you enjoyed this one though :)

Sophie xx

 Report Review

Review #5, by merlins beard Forward Thinking

23rd September 2015:
Hey there,
Sorry it took me so long.

Your marauder stories are the only ones I still read. This era doesn't really work for me anymore, but you got me so hooked on your wolfstar.

I hope it's okay for me to give some constcrit? I spent the last three weeks reading the most renowned and celebrated works of literature, and they made me pick up on quote a few things. This chapter (like so many of yours) is heavy in dialogue and, at times, there is nothing but dialogue. You always have people talking to each other... I'm not saying it's a bad thing, it just makes for a very fast paced story. It makes me wonder what your characters do the rest of the day. Do they ever walk along corridors on their own? What season are we in? What does the castle look like? Are there any other people there as well? I feel like we only ever get to see this one group of people, and maybe some others they interact with. We never see a classroom full of students or a hallway...
I know that sounds like a lot of criticism, but please don't be mad. I really love the chapter. I just thought I'd give you something to think about.
I love that they are going to join the order, and to support Remus... this chapter wasn't very long, but it was important! I really can't wait for the next one!

~Anja xxx

Author's Response: Sorry for the delay in reply, lovely, but I have been poorly again.

First of all, I'm not mad! (As if!) I totally get what you're saying. I know it is a habit of mine to focus on dialogue and it does get very insular in that it focuses on certain characters, mainly because that is what's in my head.

That said, under your influence I am conscious of trying to add more detail etc so it is a work in progress!

You know how much your help and opinion mean to me and I really appreciate you taking the time to not only read and review, but to point it out!! I am glad you liked it overall though.

I think the supporting Remus thing is actually canon (I'll be honest, it doesn't sit quite right with me because I imagine he would be too proud to accept a lot of help but there we go!)

Thank you again, lovely

Soph xxx

 Report Review

Review #6, by Katie Forward Thinking

16th September 2015:
Loved it start to finish! I could completely envision this happening at Hogwarts!

Author's Response: Aw thank you :) I'm so happy you liked it!! x

 Report Review

Review #7, by Maddeeilea Honesty

11th August 2015:
This story's made my day! scratch that, I think it's made my life!! haha
Are there going to be anymore chapters? I'd love to read about James and Lily's wedding.
Seriously, the way that Remus and Sirius' relationship is represented is 100% how I've always imagined it! It's things like these that makes reading anything RemusxTonks related hard! haha.
love it, love it, love it, love it!!!

Author's Response: What a fab review!!! Thank you!!!

There will definitely be more chapters, although I don't know when as I am away at the moment without my laptop. I do want to do the Jily wedding though!

Awww thank you. That's a huge compliment!!


 Report Review

Review #8, by merlins beard Honesty

5th August 2015:
Hey sophie,
This was really really beautiful. I love how calm Remus is, and also how lily reacts. It's probably the most beautiful chapter yet!


Author's Response: Aw that's just made my day!!! I found that chapter so easy to write (for a change lol!!)
I'm so happy you liked it lovely!! Thank you again

Soph xxx

 Report Review

Review #9, by MeeshsWand Honesty

4th August 2015:
Loved this chapter. It emphasizes how strong the friendships are.

Author's Response: Awww thank you. I thought it would bring out the best in them all eventually! :D

 Report Review

Review #10, by merlins beard And then...

2nd August 2015:
this is really sweet. bonding time between Remus and Lily... I see why she's worried about all this, but I agree with Remus that there probably isn't any reason to wrorry about the parents' reactions... She is right to worry about the Stag night... I can see Sirius going way overboard with it... but they'll be fine.

You really wrote this well again, I'm already looking forward to the next chapter.


Author's Response: I think she's probably very wise to be concerned about his stag night lol...

Thank you so much again lovely

Soph xxx

 Report Review

Review #11, by merlins beard Propostions

22nd July 2015:
OH MY GOD!MAKE HER SAY YES! This chapter is so pe4fect! Thank you for writing excactly the fluffy romantic thing I needed. And it fits my day today sooo incredibly well! This os the perfect ending to my day. I should go to bed now so I don't spoil it

Author's Response: Totally thought I'd replied to this- perhaps technology turned against me! haha

Well you'll just have to wait and see- I am part way through the next chapter...

I'm sooo glad you enjoyed it lovely, and thanks yet again for the review sweets x

 Report Review

Review #12, by merlins beard Tuition

21st July 2015:
Haha I'm giggling like a thirteen year old schoolgirl now. I LOVE that ending! You worked your magic again, and really made something out of the few words I gave you. This is all your doing, my ideas are just tiny little things along the way. I'm really glad I could help out a bit agian.

It's so weird reading the parts I already know and then thinking "this isn't new"... but knowing that it actually is.

You did well, and I think this chapter has turned out really awesome! Can't wait for the next one.

lots of love, (and thanks for the shout out)


Author's Response: You totally gave my muse a kick up the backside!!! So thank you

I'm so glad you liked it, it is one of those rare chapters I like from the outset. I really had a ball (LOL) writing it. Just the thought of Sirius totally enjoying himself!!

Hmmm have to see where its going really. I should probably write a more serious/plot driven chapter next...

Thank you yet again sweetie

Lots of Love

Soph x

 Report Review

Review #13, by merlins beard Challenge

11th July 2015:
This is the first review I write since that little story you know all about happend.

I have to say that this was great! It was EXACTLY what I needed today. I feel all warm and fuzzy inside now, and I'm smiling. I knew about a few bits before, but some of them made for lovely surprises... I love the chocolate bar bit.

I really enjoyed how the bit about the embarrassing thing in Lily's bag worked out.

You did a fantastic job, my lovely. It's so great that I get to be here with you for every new chapter to cry and laugh with all the Marauders. Thank you, Honey.

Lots of love

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it, your opinion realy does mean a lot to me. hhehee I thought they'd taunt him a little bit lol

pahahahaah well that one was done to you, sweets, if I remember rightly.

And how glad am I that you are???

Loadsa love

Soph x

 Report Review

Review #14, by merlins beard Chess

24th June 2015:
Awww!! These two are so cute!
I think it's really awesome that you included that detail from pottermore. It confused me for a moment because I read a fic today where Lily's mother had passed away a while ago and it was only Petunia, Lily and their dad... So to read about both parents here was a little strange at first.

I think Lily is right, the "I love you" isn't too soon. it's actually pretty good timing...

I love Sirius' idea of strip chess, especially without the chess board. I'm sure Remus enjoys THAT part of their relationship too but I wonder how long he's going to let Sirius make the decisions ;)

Two chapters in one day... I'm really very lucky
Thank you so much

Author's Response: They are, aren't they :D Well it gave the idea lol. And I thought it was a great story!!

I thought it was the right time!! And it seemed to work with the story...

HEhehehe I thought of it and couldnt resist, and who knows what's hidden beneath that bookish exterior...

Thank you, I'm soo happy you liked it, lovely.


 Report Review

Review #15, by merlins beard Relationships

24th June 2015:
Aw! This has turned out so well! I LOVE how you wrote about James and Lily taking a walk... there was so much detail there... it really did a lot for the story. I just went back to the first chapter of this and I think even after all this time, after so many chapters you're still improving with every single one you write. That shows how important practice is... (which tells me I should definitely sit down and FINALLY write a new chapter for Taming)...

I love this so much!


Author's Response: Your reviews are always so lovely!!

I honestly don't know where the detail is coming from, I suspect it might be your influence my dear!! I am getting more confident now definitely, and have fewer chapters that I'm not happy with. O yay!!! That would be exciting!!!

Thank you sweet, you are a star!!

Soph xxx

 Report Review

Review #16, by merlins beard Grand Gestures

15th June 2015:
Aw... I'm gone for the weekend and you replace me? ;)
I love this chapter, and I love all the little details like what food they have and that the spot is Sirius' favourite...
This chapter was so perfect! Not too sweet but still romantic... I really can't wait for more. This is perfect to come home to after a long weekend away! Thank you for making me smile.


Author's Response: Pfft as if!

I'm glad it was worth the wait though lol. I did struggle a bit with it but was pretty pleased with the end result. Now to work out what to do next lol. I'm v pleased it made you smile!!


 Report Review

Review #17, by merlins beard Altercation

11th June 2015:
Oh, another shout out... thank you!

Well, you already know how much I love this! You really included the few things I suggested really well!

He ran his hands through his hair in a way that made Remus desperate to do the same.

That line... I just... I can't even... aw. I love the way you think!

Can't wait for the next one (though I'll have to wait until Monday to read it, so don't hurry too much or I'll have a lot of catching up to do)


Author's Response: Well you did help me, seems fair :D

Hehe thank you, I must admit I was quite pleased with that one.

I'll try not to do to much... hehe

Soph xxx

 Report Review

Review #18, by merlins beard Full Moon

10th June 2015:
Aw thanks for the shout out!

This has turned out even better than I thought it would! I love the way you worked Rosmerta in.

Madame Pomfrey's decision to let Sirius stay was probably wise, considering that he would have done it anyway...

I know Sirius is still mad, but he's also beating himself up over what he should or shouldn't have done... they have both had a few terrible days... I'm glad it looks like they're working it out again.

Thanks for the fast update, I'm already really excited for the next one


Author's Response: Awww well it was your awesome idea!! So thank you for that!!

It was probably easier just to let him lol, stubborn so and so that he is.

It is a plethora of emotions for him. But I think it's made him realise that he still cares for Remus a lot.

Thanks again!! I love your reviews!

Soph x

 Report Review

Review #19, by merlins beard Pain

9th June 2015:
Oh, this is amazing! Have I already told you that I love you?

If you had Sirius forgive Remus right away, it wouldn't have been believeable. This way, there is potential for future making up and being happy, but no overly-fluffy 'oh my god I love you, so I forgive you' scene.

I can't believe how grown up Sirius and Remus are... seems like only a few chapters ago they were teenagers, hardly knowing how to handle life, and now they're all grown up, talking about their feelings and their problems like adults.

Oh, I LOVE this story!


Author's Response: Oh bless you. I'm totally blushing right now!!!

I think Sirius would be too damaged by his family to forgive easily, given that it took so much for him to get into a relationship and then admit his feelings.

I did wonder if I'd written them too grown up, but I know the death of a parent can do that :(

I'm so pleased you're still enjoying it.



 Report Review

Review #20, by merlins beard Falling Out

8th June 2015:
Wow! Right until the last paragraph I thought "Hey, it's not that bad. Sophie had nothing to be worried about" and then BAM!

Mary MacDonald? I thought Remus was gay...

Well, the chapter was well-written as always, but I bet you're not surprised when I tell you: I DON'T LIKE THAT!

As long as they work it out again, it's fine...

Now I really can't wait for the next chapter!

with love,

Author's Response: Well it's much more dramatic that way.

Well I thought he'd maybe 'experiment', because he felt so guilty thinking he might have disappointed his mother.

I knew you would be cross with me, but I'm literally just starting the next one as we speak!

I will try not to be too mean.


Soph xxx

 Report Review

Review #21, by merlins beard Grief

2nd June 2015:
Now, was that really necessary? I liked Remus' mum!

I guess this was really well-written, and it showed how strong the bond between Remus and Sirius has become. I'm sure they would have done the same for the other back when they were just friends, but it has a whole different meaning now.

It would have been nice to know a little bit about how and why Remus' mum got sick, and why the disease killed her so fast.
I hope Remus will be able to cope with the help of Sirius and their friends...

Loved it, as always! I can't wait for the next chapter.


Author's Response: I'll be honest, it was something I wanted to explore but the details etc would have been too difficult for me to write for various reasons :/

But I thought it would show a different layer to their relationship- especially seeing Sirius step up and not freak out at the idea of things getting too serious!

I'm glad you liked it, though.

Thanks, Lovely :)

Soph x

 Report Review

Review #22, by merlins beard Moving Forward

2nd June 2015:
I finally managed to come back to this chapter (on my way home, where I intend to finally get some sleep).

I love how you included my suggestion. The fight was really well done, and the making up part was so sweet. I love that Remus makes Sirius grovel for a bit. I love that Lily is so forgiving. She knows how hard it would be for James if she stayed mad at his friends, so she just forgives them. I couldn't do that, I'm way too stubborn ;)

I enjoyed reading this and I'm so happy that there's another chapter up already! I'll go read that now, and then annoy you with my rambling thoughts some more...


Author's Response: Oh bless you!!

To be honest, I wasn't sure if Lily would be so forgiving but, for the sake of the story... lol. I think she knows James wouldn't give up his friends for anyone so if she wants to be with him, this is the best way. But I would be far too stubborn, too!

I'm really glad you enjoyed, Anja

Thanks again

Soph xxx

 Report Review

Review #23, by merlins beard Making Amends

27th May 2015:
aw! Lily lets herself be happy again :D I love it when chapters end all fluffy and sweet :D
It makes waiting for the next chapter much more bearable... although I must say you really have been spoiling me with your fast updates. I don't think I waited longer than three days for a new chapter of this story (that's really impressive!)

I'm so glad Lily and Remus are talking again, and I love Lily for going up to Sirius like that and telling him off. He really needed that.
Fight and make up - that's something that's essential to a functioning relationship. The drama decreases a little as we become older, but other than that, it's pretty much an endless cycle.
I love the explanation Remus presents for Sirius' behavior. I think he might be spot-on. He really does know Sirius well!

Keep up the amazing work!


Author's Response: I love switching between fluff and drama- it makes it so much more interesting. Haha I do try- if I get an idea I have to write it asap.

I thought that Lily would be a reasonable enough to realise that he hadn't wanted to hurt her and that Sirius was making him suffer too!

I think Remus and James both know Sirius better than he knows himself.

Thank you, lovely :D

Sophie xxx

 Report Review

Review #24, by merlins beard Disagreements

27th May 2015:
Oh, I had so much FUN reading that chapter.

I'll have to keep mu review short this time, but you already know most of what I was going to say anyway.

Lily is a feisty one, isn't she? I feel kind of sorry for James. The Potter men sure know how to pick their women...

I love the way Sirius reacts completely unreasonably to James kissing Lily. I mean, it even got him slapped - overall not a thoroughly enjoyable first kiss... yet Sirius freaks out completely. I'm glad Remus stays calm and takes James' side... maybe he can make Sirius see sense. If not, that's going to be quite a fight... *hides behind desk so she won't get hit by any spells*

I love this story so much, can't wait for the next chapter :D


Author's Response: Yay! I'm so glad you did. I'm working on
the next one now!

I thought both Lily and Sirius would react badly to the situation- Lily would obviously have trust issues, and Sirius... is Sirius!

Thanks so much again

Sophie xxx

 Report Review

Review #25, by merlins beard Easter Holidays

25th May 2015:

THANK YOU! oh my god I CAN'T BELIEVE IT!! you made me so happy with this chapter. Tell your muse she's not allowed to go away again, ever. Or if she does go away again, she better return bearing gifts like this chapter. I love you! Seriously! This was so awesome to read. I had a pretty hard and terrible day before, but now I'm smiling and all my worries are gone (for now).

I love that they are so happy! I love that the Potters are so accepting, and that Remus' mum is fine with it. His dad will come around once he sees how incredibly happy it makes his son. They are SO GOOD for each other!

That last scene at the beach... I want that right now!

This was so great!


Author's Response: Aw!!! Literally the best review ever!! I'll be honest, I hadn't exactly planned to end like that but Sirius just did what he wanted as usual. lol. I'm sorry you had a bad day but glad this helped :D

I thought the Potters would be fine, just wanting their adopted son to be happy. I get the impression Lyall Lupin wouldn't be too happy but guilt might well be a factor in his reaction.

Thank you for your fab review Anja

Sophie x

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>