Reading Reviews for Defining My Independence
  
194 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LizMalfoy The Ultimate Decision

13th May 2014:
Still think it would have been better if they got together... but very very good.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review. I initially didn't have a prologue to this story but when I finished it, I felt it needed it, to kind of set up the the theme of the story and its 'epic' nature. It was such a relief in some ways to hear that I pulled the prologue off as I've always been a bit worried about it. I wanted to give a taster of the story, without giving too much away, but trying to give enough to hook readers in. Thanks for the critique on the last line, I think your version does read better :) Jacqui

 Report Review

Review #2, by Me The Ultimate Decision

11th September 2012:
HOW COULD YOU END THIS STORY THIS WAY??!?!??!?!?!
I'm not that mad...it's an excellent end, don't get me wrong, BUT STILL HOW!??!?!?


Author's Response: I felt a little bad when I wrote it. But I always knew that was how it was going to be. Unfortunately there isn't always a happy ending :(

 Report Review

Review #3, by Klnyx The Memorial

18th July 2012:
brought tears to my eyes Hermione's was lovely, Draco's beautiful

Author's Response: Thank you. I remember getting a little emotional when I was writing this scene

 Report Review

Review #4, by Valkyrie The Ultimate Decision

20th May 2012:
No! They were supposed to live happily ever after! WTF?!?!?! NO!!! I must read that epilogue! I need to know how it REALLY ends, because this simply CAN'T be it. I feel so confused. I'm really torn between mentally breaking down and crying or mentally smacking Draco on the head and dragging him back to Hermione and making them kiss by bashing theyre heads together! IM SO TORN AND CONFUSED! Awesome stuff though, this was the biggest plot twist of all. [sniffle] I'm still sad though. :.(

Author's Response: I was so tempted to change my ending when i started writing it. I was in tears and I felt so terrible. But this was how it was meant to be.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Valkyrie Graduation

20th May 2012:
OMUT! (oh my unicorn turds) they made nice! I didnt expect Mr. Weasley to be so harsh though. I love Hermione's dress! I can't wait till they dance (and, with luck, kiss!) In fact, I've got to go and read it now! Au Revoir!

Author's Response: Mr Weasley is a little harsh. And I love Hermione's dress too. I really want a dress like that.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Valkyrie Exams

20th May 2012:
Oh, only two chapters left! It's been so sweet, so tragic, so dramatic and altogether amazing and thoroughly awesome. But they still haven't kissed! They have to! Yes! They will kiss if i have to bash theyre pretty little heads together! And I honestly would do that, by the way. [sighs] I've had fun reading this story. I think a lot of people simply write fanfics to have their ships end up coming true, and though that may be the case with yours, it feels like so much more, to me, the reader. And that keeps people reading. Anyway, enough chatter, I need to finish this because I'm doing Camp NaNoWriMo this year, so I can't read too much or else it will influence my writing. Game on, WRock on, Write on!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words. This story is not so much about the relationship, but about Draco's journey, and because of this journey, a beautiful relationship forms. And with two chapters left, I definitely hope they kiss too :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Valkyrie Waking to the Aftermath

19th May 2012:
Alright! She's ok! And he made up with his father. I don't think I could have forrgiven him, after what he did, but that just makes me admire Draco more. I can't wait for Hermione and Draco's reuniting. I hope it's cute! Rock on, Write on, Game on!

Author's Response: It was a close call, I played with a few scenario's for Narcissa, but this one worked out best for everyone.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Valkyrie The Waiting Game

16th May 2012:
Is she going to die? Is she going to live? What will happen next? When am I going to stop writing this so I can find out? These are just some of the questions in my head right now. I almost cried when Draco was going through his memories. My throut constricted and everything. I like how the medical things had some magical aspects as well as muggle. A very nice touch, I think. I g2g. I cant hold off the questions any longer. Rock on, game on, read on!

Author's Response: That is the question. You'll have to keep reading. It definitely is an emotional chapter for Draco

 Report Review

Review #9, by Valkyrie Letter from home

16th May 2012:
No! Not Narrcissia! I like her too much! I like the ending though. very touching. And admirable. Another plot twist, they just keep coming. First Quidditch, this, the ball, you have a lot. Its very interesting to have so much going on. I can't wait to read what happens next, I'm so nervous for them! Im gonna go read it now!

Author's Response: Thanks. There sure are a few things that happen throughout this story. Its all about showing Draco journey of selfworth

 Report Review

Review #10, by Valkyrie For the Quidditch Cup

16th May 2012:
Yes! They made nice and Slytherin won! No kiss though, but still amazing! I WILL GET A KISS!! They will kiss! I love the ending of the match! It reminds me of the match in the forth book between Ireland and Bulurgria. Great stuff! I adore this story! Great plot lines and dialogue. Excellent work! Not that writing is hard work for those who love to write.

Author's Response: It was a challenge to decide how best to end the quidditch match. There are so many ways it can pan out, and I think I got the right balance.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Valkyrie I Will Be Right Here

16th May 2012:
No! He needs to stay! He has to! What about Hermione?!?! Ron will probably make a move when he's gone and then Draco won't be there to beat him up!!! It's all wrong! Awesome plot twist though. Very unexpected. Wait, what about Quidditch? How will they ever win without his awesome skills?!?! They're going to lose without him! But...wait..what if.but., oh it's no use. He going and now Hermione will be heartbroken. And Draco. :...( sad. But very nice writing. Great stuff. Love all of it, even the parts I hate.

Author's Response: I think Hermione is strong enough to withstand any advances by Ron. Thanks again for all your lovely reviews.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Valkyrie Secrets

16th May 2012:
Oh, how heart felt! But I still don't like Ron. He gets so jealous! Hermione is very nice to him. Poor Draco though. He started crying because Hermione was crying! Couldn't she see him crying? Oh, so much drama! But I like how Draco gets angry, not like before when he was kind of mad but really angry. I hope kiss and make up! Litterally! And I guess it's really annoying when I always say that I would buy this book, so I've stopped. Ur welcome! Pancakes are yummy!

Author's Response: Ron sure does get jealous, its probably one of the main reasons I don't particularly like him.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Valkyrie Reunited

16th May 2012:
He would look good in wedding photos! Love this chapter! Along with the others, of course. The reason I rate 9/10 is beacuse nothing is perfect, but then again, it doesnt have to be for me to love it, which I do! I hope they kiss soon! It's been keeping me up at night! Really, no lie! Sorry it's short, better then the usual rambling I guess, but I need to eat breakfast. Au Revoir!

Author's Response: Thanks for your reviews. They mean a lot.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Valkyrie Time Apart

15th May 2012:
Awww! I love Hermione's present from Draco and Draco's present from Hermione. I would sooo love that necklace! And Draco's mom is so nice. I loved her instantly. I really like how Hermione goes home and we get to see her at home. This chapter, along with all the others, is BRILLIENT! I would die if I could buy this! I admire your balance of details. I just ramble on and on about stuff. But you put in details with going overboard. Awesome stuff!

Author's Response: Coming up with gift ideas is so hard so I'm glad you like them.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Valkyrie The Snow Ball

15th May 2012:
Ron, you Floppy-Wanded Dementor Botherer! They were about to kiss and you just HAD to step in! I litterally screamed out loud when he did that, it bothered me so much. Really awesome stuff. I LOVE Hermione's dress. I hope there's a kiss in draco and Hermione's future together. In other news-WOULD SOO BUY THIS BOOK. Really nice writing. But that's just coming from me. You rock at writing and DON'T let anyone tell you different!

Author's Response: Typical Ron, coming in just at the wrong moment.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Valkyrie In the Arms of Recovery

15th May 2012:
Yes! Better once more! And I so want a BF like Draco! He's so nice! And a good dancer, a added bonus. I liked this chapter very much, and not just because of the cutesy datey stuff. Well, a little bit because of that, but I really liked all of it, not just those parts. I can't wait for the dance and I would so buy this book. Sorry, random and nessicary at the same time. Au Revour! I'm off to read the next chapter!

Author's Response: Draco has a heart of gold. Now that he's able to shed that steely exterior that his upbringing encased him in, he's finally able to show his true self.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Valkyrie Fever

15th May 2012:
Wow, a lot of stuff happened in this chapter! Draco's first dance class, which went amazingly. The Ron-Draco confrontation, which Draco handeled fairly well, then they won at Quidditch, thanks to Draco, then Hermione gets sick, meaning she won't be able to go to dance! When I saw the title, I thought "oh no, something meserible is happening to Draco, like usual" but when it happened to Hermione, BOOM! Wide goes my eyes! Nice twist in the plot, I just hope Draco is able to deal with it and doesn't get pummeled by Ron. I guess only time will tell. Speaking of time, Ive g2g, so I can read the next chapter and find out what happens next. Oh, and I almost forgot.,I would so buy this book! Thank you and bye!

Author's Response: Poor Hermione, but lucky she has Draco there. It sure is an action packed chapter.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Valkyrie The Shy Boy

15th May 2012:
Unicorn Turds! They didn't kiss this time either! But, they did dance and at the dance classes they will dance and then they will practice dancing and then there will be a ball and they will probably kiss during one of those! Nice work with romantic tension, by the way. I think it's very cute that Draco dances. If there were guys like Draco, there would be a lot more happy girls in the world, and not just from shoes. Fantastic! And. I would buy it. There, I said it again and I will continue to say it because it's the truth! AND NO ONE CAN STOP ME! I hope you don't mind that I'm cluttering up the review section of your wonderful story. And I'm sorry that I ramble. A lot. Anyway, I've got other amazing chapters to read! (of this story,FYI)

Author's Response: Thanks. Yeah, I sure do love the romantic tension. Not a lot of boys dance today which is a shame, but I think Draco grew up in such a high society that it was probably expected of him to know how to dance.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Valkyrie Stories of a Past

15th May 2012:
Leprecon Taint! I was really hoping that'd they'd kiss and they didnt! Oh, your a very good writer. I get that it's not the climax and the kiss will probably come later, but still. Anyway, I've been thinking, why hasn't Draco gotten angry? I get that he's changed and stuff, but he just gets all sad and depressed and everyone gets angry so I hope he does too. But anyway, excellence, as usual. And no, I will not stop saying that I WOULD TOTALLY BUY THIS BOOK! Anyway, this chapter leaves people wanting more, all of them do, but see how this can be used to your advantage to get a thriving fan base. That sounded weird, but oh well. Dobby's Sock everyone!

Author's Response: I do like to tease, make people expect a kiss but then not give it too them :) Thanks for your review

 Report Review

Review #20, by Valkyrie To make up or end things

14th May 2012:
Well, good for you Hermione! Ron was never my favorite character, I've never really had one, but I never liked how jealous ron got. Or how insucure Hermione got, or how depressed Harry got. Anyway, it would have been very stupid to get back together with Ron, and that would make it un-Hermione ish. Anyway, awesome! I like how Ron cries at the end when Hermione walks away. Nice touch! Would sooo buy this book! You rock! This story is awesome!

Author's Response: Hehe. Ron was never my favourite character either. And for Hermione to walk away, shows how much she's moved on from the hurt he's caused.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Valkyrie The Memorial

14th May 2012:
Oh, this almost made ME cry. It all was sooo touching. And Draco cried. TO.DIE.FOR. Oh, bad choice of words, considering what happened in this chapter. Oh, divine as ever. Absolutely beautiful. I WOULD BUY THIS IF IT WAS A BOOK. Maybe you should write one and publish it, if you haven't already. OH, that would be awesome. Sorry. Rambling. I do that a lot. Like A LOT, A LOT. anyway, amazing stuff.

Author's Response: This was one of those pivotal scenes which has been in my head from day one. I cried a bit when I wrote it. There's a lot of emotion. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Valkyrie Quidditch Trials

14th May 2012:
YES! He made the team! And stupid Pansy didn't! Boo her! I feel like Hermione- if I could get my hands on Pansy, even without a wand, she would be in the hospital longer then Draco. Love the Qudditch action though! Amazing, not surprisingly. AND.I would so buy it. I KNOW- "VALKYRIE, THAT'S INCREDIBLY ANOYING! STOP DOING THAT"! But I can't-its just so good!

Author's Response: He sure did. Its quite fun writing quidditch action, but still, comes no where close to what it must be like to play.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Valkyrie Confrontations

14th May 2012:
AWWW! She WAS blushing! And I love the way Draco stands up for himself, Hermione and basically al non-pure blooded wizards. What he said reminded me of Dumbledore. Very awesome! (As Per Usual) I WOULD BUY THIS (if all the rights weren't owned by JK Rowling and WB and if it was a book) Totz magnifique! A master piece!

Author's Response: Draco's definitely changed. The war really showed him the nasty side of life and made him realise what really mattered in life.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Valkyrie Where to from here

14th May 2012:
Oh, they broke up! But it was expected and now Draco and Hermione can properly date! Sorry for that crazy fan-girl moment. I really like the conversations you put into this whole story. They're very revelation-y. But sometimes I wish there was more action. But, there will be with the dance! Anyway, it's all FABULOUS! Awesome job! I would so buy it (I know, annoying) but its true!

Author's Response: They sure can get together now. Don't worry, there is some action to come.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Valkyrie Hospital visit number one

14th May 2012:
Oh!!! Poor Draco! This reminds me of a part in the second movie when Harry sends a spell at Draco, sending Draco flying through the air and landing flat on his butt. Man!, that had to hurt. I felt really bad for him then and I feel really bad for him now. Really good job! You made people feel for your characters, which isn't easy with characters that someone else created. Awesome stuff! I'd buy it! ( that's getting old, I know, but it's true!)

Author's Response: Hehe, poor Draco. But he picks himself up which is what matters.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>