Reading Reviews for All The Pieces
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by the_edge_of_love Away, Away

23rd July 2011:
This is very interesting. It deals with loss again, but this time it focuses on a very different war, a very different theme, a very different pain. But in the very end it's the same thing, isn't? The mother's and the brother's pain, the loss remains there; and you're left without words, with nothing to say, no way to do justice to the one gone, like Oliver here.
You depicted the scene and the feelings amazingly once again.

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by the_edge_of_love I See Him Too

23rd July 2011:
This is so moving.
First, I have to say that it is very well-written. I like your style; the fact that you notice all the small details and that you understand perfectly the severity of the situation, the thoughts and the emotion of the people.
I really liked how you included every member of the Weasley family in this; it's about Fred and Molly but, at the same time, it's about everyone else.
You wrote a wonderful scene here, anamazing scoop of what is probably happening inside a mother's heart. The final scene; the converstaion with George was heart0breaking, especially when she called him 'Fred'.
Meanwhile, you gave us some images of the Weasley family; happy, united even when they're so broken.
Great story; I rated it 10.

Author's Response: thank you! what an awesome review :) it made me happy to see this.
thanks for the feedback!


 Report Review

Review #3, by celticbard I See Him Too

23rd December 2010:
Hello Shiloh!
Wow. This is an extremely powerful piece. And, as usual, beautifully written. I think you did a fantastic job exploring such a difficult subject, one that most people find impossible to comprehend. I must admit, I cannot imagine losing a child. Molly's sorrow, her literal heartbreak, is very well portrayed throughout this piece. I think writers always run the risk of crossing the line into the melodramatic when they write stories revolving around a character's death, but this fic came across as mature, thoughtful and genuine.

I loved how Molly equates being a parent to having your heart outside yourself. It almost reminded me, in a rather strange way, of Voldemort's Horcruxes. By taking his soul out of his body, he truly perverted all that is good and loving, while Molly herself is the complete opposite. She is selfless and yet she mourns. She lives on her for her other children, and yet, a part of her will always be with Fred. And as you so aptly put it, the loss of a child inflicts a wound that will never heal.

This was an amazing piece, Shiloh. I got goosebumps while reading it. You are a very talented writer. I'm so glad I was able to read so much of your work. Merry Christmas!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thank you so much! What a lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by WitnesstoitAll Away, Away

10th January 2010:
Hello Shiloh!

First off... I read this as instructed. Flowers of the Forest is such a moving tune; it made for the perfect backdrop to this chapter.

I don't think that I have read an Oliver fic in which he is not half of a romantic pairing. It was refreshing, albeit sad, to see him as a son and a brother instead of just a lover. I loved the family setting you created for him. I could see them huddled around a grave over looking the see. It is a beautiful picture that your words painted.

The entire chapter read like an eulogy whether the words were spoken or thought. It was beautiful. I wish I could jump into the scene and comfort Oliver. :(

Well Done!!
Melissa

Author's Response: Thank you Melissa :)
I love Oliver, but as I've said, I am incapable of letting my characters be happy :P
Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by RonsGirlFriday Away, Away

29th October 2009:
Hello, Shiloh! I was so happy to see that you had updated!

I think it should be mandatory that everyone read this chapter with "Flowers of the Forest" playing in the background. That's exactly what I did after I found it on YouTube. I recognized the song right away, even though I never knew its proper title. And it really does give you the right atmosphere for reading this - I can see how it was inspirational for you while you were writing!

I don't know if I would consider Oliver Wood forgotten, as I've seen a few Oliver fics around - but I will say that nobody ever writes him the way you've done here. He's always in an OC romance - I was beginning to think he was a codependent! XD But no, here you've given him his own voice, and I thought it was tragic and lovely...exactly the kind of emotion I would expect from a young man who has just lost a brother, friend, and role model.

The entire chapter read like a eulogy within his thoughts - an extended version of the words he spoke at the funeral. For that reason, I thought the tone you used was perfectly suited to what was happening in this chapter, and what you were trying to convey to the reader. I found this chapter moving, but also quaint and wistful, because of your beautiful imagery and descriptions.

I'm eager for the next chapter!

xoxo
Melanie

Author's Response: Thanks Melanie! What a great review *huggle*
I know, he's not really a forgotten voice, but I thought that as a rather minor canon character, I could pretend :D I was just in the mood to write Oliver I think.
I'm glad you liked it. And comparing it to a eulogy made my day, that's exactly what I was going for! The song moved it along I think, for me anyway, as I was writing it, so I'm glad you thought it fit.
Thanks for reviewing



 Report Review

Review #6, by PhoenixFlame I See Him Too

13th September 2009:
Wow, this story is amazing. You did really well writing Molly and her grief. I couldn't stop crying. Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks hun! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Liam R I See Him Too

21st August 2009:
Hey Shiloh, I'm here to review as part of the Round Robin at Inkstains ^_^

First of all, I'm going to admit something that will tear away the very last shred of any former masculinity I may have had once (:P) ... I cried. I really cried.

And believe me, when it comes to fanfictions, it takes alot to make me cry. But you managed it.

Kudos to you for that.

You have such an interesting and well characterised Molly here. I think she's exactly in character, right down to her dialogue. I've never really thought of things from her perspective, but looking at it again ... Shiloh I just don't have the words to describe to you how beautiful this story is already. It was so emotional and wonderful, so delicately written, every word was just wonderful to read.

At the end, where she calls George Fred ... My heart ripped apart. I just ... you know, I don't even have the words for it. I have of course favourited this, it is absolutely amazing and you should be proud of it.

Also, I'm replying to your PM @ TGS now (I had computer problems! Don't hurt me Dx)

10/10


Author's Response: Aww, Liam :) That was a wonderful review. I'm glad you liked the story so much. You'd have laughed if you'd seen the original...
I wrote the original version for a challenge at FanLib, like two years ago, and then it sat forever. I found it a couple months ago and decided that it might actually have a bit of merit if I cleaned it up and worked out the kinks. So I'm glad that it was successful :)
love and squishes babeh!
~Shiloh


 Report Review

Review #8, by RonsGirlFriday I See Him Too

1st July 2009:
This is beautiful! I'm sitting here fighting back tears. You write a very good Molly, and anything relating to Fred always gets me. The ending was so sad, and I loved the last line. It's true, too -- every time someone looks at George, even George himself, they see Fred.

"A mother's pain is greatest when her children are in pain, for having children is to have your heart outside yourself."
--That quote, especially, was really well-worded, and it sounds so much like Molly.

This is an awesome idea for a story collection, and I can't wait to see the future chapters! Here are a few ideas of characters that might be good to work with:

Percy -- he went through an interesting personal journey over the course of the war.
Also, Dennis Creevey (I'm pretty sure he didn't die, right? Just Colin).
McGonagall (any professor, really, although McGonagall would be interesting because she's generally a pretty controlled person, so she'd be fun to explore).
Andromeda Tonks.
One of the Malfoys.
Fleur.

Hmm...I'll stop now! Haha. But I'm really excited to see future installments!

10/10

Author's Response: Awww... thanks Melanie! I\\\'m so glad you liked it :) I wrote this one a while back, and I just couldn\\\'t resist editing and posting it. Originally it was just a one shot, but I thought it would be interesting to insert different perspectives.
Thanks for your suggestions! I\\\'m keeping note of them and they\\\'ll definitely be on there.
~Shiloh


 Report Review

Review #9, by altanna I See Him Too

1st July 2009:
This was beautiful, though it ripped my hear to shreds. Thank you so much for this.

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login