Reading Reviews for Quiet Kindness
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by academica Quiet Kindness

21st August 2012:
This was so sweet! It's neat to get an new perspective on canon from an outsider's point of view, especially that of a Muggle. I love that his cluelessness and sense of humanity allowed him to be there for Harry when no one else was around. I thought the ending was nice as well; Harry seems like the type to just pick up after himself (he was well trained to do so at the Dursleys' home) and leave without a single trace. This was a simple moment to portray in a fic, and yet it was powerful and heartwarming, in the sense that it shows how important Harry's actions were to everyone.

Great job :) I'll be back to review "When the Lights Go Out" tomorrow or the next day, so see you then!

-Amanda

 Report Review

Review #2, by spangles Quiet Kindness

15th December 2010:
I love this piece, very the good Samartian esque. (: I'm assuming that the boy with the green eyes was Harry- yeah? I liked Daniel as well, he reminded me of Frank (that was his name right?) from GoF in the Riddle home. This piece was very short, but still contained a lot of emotion and was again well written I don't know how you do it! I've loved reading all of these stories.
Great job. (:

Author's Response: Hi dear. Sorry it's taking me so long to respond to these. I've no real excuse, just am horribly lazy. XD Please forgive me?

Yes, it is indeed poor Harry that Daniel finds. Like I think I said somewhere, this was written before DH (and HBP, for that matter) so it was sort of meant as an out take from the way I imagined the Last Battle might go. And Daniel - well certainly didn't plan it that way, but now that you point it out I can definitely see the similarities between him and Frank (you're right, I'm pretty sure that's his name). I'm so glad you enjoyed this one (and all my stories, really), you're such a champ for reviewing like this. ILY


 Report Review

Review #3, by CornishPixie Quiet Kindness

19th August 2010:
This was so sweet! I almost wish that there was a moment in DH that we didn't know what Harry was doing so that I could imagine that this actually happened. Because it seems like something that could. Although I do think that the Hogwarts Express might be covered up a bit more to protect it from near/wandering muggles, it is a very sweet idea that this person lived close enough to have noticed those strange things.

And Daniel is such a dear! I'm glad that he was so kind and compassionate to the injured boy who'd stumbled to his house. Even though it's an AU testimony of one man, it gives me hope that the world is a good and kind place.

The ending was bittersweet, but I liked it! You wrote it in such a way that we just know that Daniel thinks about it every day. But he never meets him again and he never finds out. He's like one of those silent heroes. Thank goodness for them! Well-written, and very endearing. Thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a lovely review!

Daniel is a dear. He is meant to represent your everyday good Samaritan, very much the silent hero type. He really only understands the very surface of what happened that night, but the very point of it all is that he offers help to Harry without knowing who he is, what he is fighting for or what he has been through. Daniel just sees someone in need of a hand and offers to help. The world is full of people like that, and I like to think this story serves as a shout out to them as well as a inspiration for others.

Ah, the Hogwarts Express! I've thought about the train being covered up as you say, but really, what would be the point? Maybe in a more well populated area it would be beneficial, but in the middle of the Scottish countryside I don't imagine too many Muggles would be wandering about to run into it. Daniel does live in a very secluded area, after all, and it would be a bit of a waste of effort to hide the train from a single unassuming man.

Thank you so much again for the review, I'm so glad you enjoyed this so much!


 Report Review

Review #4, by baletgir Quiet Kindness

22nd June 2010:
Wow, that was really something! I enjoyed it so much. I am usually not one for something AU (or written before DH), but I loved this so much. Great job! Such an interesting idea, and I love the way you write. It was so mysterious, yet at the same time I understood where I believed you to be heading with the story.
:) BaletGir

Author's Response: Hey, thank you for reviewing!

When this was first written it wasn't AU (pre-DH, as you said) and I actually had a multi-chaptered Last Battle fic planned to accompany it. Then DH was released and put an end to that, of course, but it is funny that you mentioned you could sort of see where I was going with the story - since I was actually going somewhere with it, at one time. I think you are actually the first person to mention that.

I'm also glad I could change your mind about AU! I always find there are two camps of people - those who love AU and those who hate it. So to have won over someone who typically avoids the genre means a lot to me! Thank you again for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by flamingolover Quiet Kindness

26th August 2009:
This is amazing! I mean, really. It's so well written and in some ways, even intensely philosophical. Although we all know what JK decided the ending to be, it is always still interesting to see alternative endings that others might have thought of. This is probably one of the best stories I have read here at HPFF, and for that, I congratulate you on a job well done. I love your style, and descriptiveness. It comes together wonderfully for some fantastic imagery. Although the story is so simple and short, it still leaves the reader satisfied. You have a gift for words, truly, and I will be looking for more by you soon!

Author's Response: :D Thanks sooo much! I'm really overwhelmed with the response I've gotten for this story! It's the story I'm most proud of - now if only I could make myself write like this all the time, I'd be set! Too bad I can't control when inspiration hits..

Thank you so much again for the praise, it really means the world to me!


 Report Review

Review #6, by taylorj828 Quiet Kindness

18th August 2009:
Oh this was so clever! I absolutely loved it! I love these kinds of stories that are about something more, something deeper. It was so imaginative and creative. I think it's brilliant. What more can I say? The concept, the idea... This average muggle man taking Harry in, and in the end giving him the strength to go on, reminding Harry of who he's saving, the whole world he's saving... The kindness, hospitality, and Harry's leaving in the morning... I just love it all! And your writing is superb! Great literature, wonderful storytelling. And I love your last line!

I'm a total fan of this story. (o:

Oh, and it matches so well with the verse quoted, too. It's like you have a moral with your story, whether you intended to or not. In a world where people are more and more isolating themselves without realizing it, it's encouraging to be reminded about hospitality and taking care of others, of strangers, or whomever happens to need it. Yep, love this story. (o:

Author's Response: Oh jeeze. What an awesome review!

When I read the quote prompt the idea for this story just came to me. I didn't spend too much time creating a moral, I just tried to capture the essense of the quote itself. I'm really glad you thought I got it so spot-on.

Thanks for taking the time to R&R!!


 Report Review

Review #7, by timeturner Quiet Kindness

10th August 2009:
I thoroughly enjoyed this. Your description at the beginning sat the tone and mood of the story wonderfully and it flowed into the "action" part of the scene quite well. I think the dialogue was extremely well done...minimalistic, yes, but that is exactly what was called for in a situation like the one you've painted here.

The only thing I could suggest (and it is the tiniest thing) is the character's name. Choosing Daniel was interesting but kept me from the main attention of the story. It may only be a staff thing (checking for real characters and such) but I found it quite distracting to have the Daniel Radcliffe/Harry mix in there.

As I said, I think you've written a wonderful piece here. Evocative, moody and yet setting a tone of hope not only for the "boy" but for a man who had been resigned to his normal quiet life and yet helped save the world in his own little way.

Author's Response: Oh, wow. Thanks so much for your kind words! I'm really glad to hear that you think the dialogue worked in this story - I agree that too much dialogue would have distracted from the story's flow - and I may have partially planned it that way. :P

I'm blown away that the only criticism you could find was Daniel's name. You have a good point - to be honest, I picked it without thinking when I first wrote this.When I picked up on the possible double meaning he was already Daniel to me, and I decided not to change it. I had actually forgotten all about the Dan Radcliffe connection until you pointed it out! I hope others aren't as thrown by his name though; it's something I will have to give some thought to.

Once again, thanks so much for the review timeturner! I really appreciate your input!


 Report Review

Review #8, by delta Quiet Kindness

7th July 2009:
Great story!

Since I snagged your banner request, I wanted to skim your story to get some inspiration for the background and whatnot. Usually, I don't end up actually reading the story, but your summary was ... unusual (and I'm a Christian, so it was intriguing as well xD). Anyways, although this piece is short, it's very unique and interesting and beautiful. I love the concept here, and I hope that whatever banner I churn out will fit the mood and ambiance. Your writing style is very stark and unembellished, and the simple way in which you phrase everything really adds to the piece. I hope you keep writing! :D

Author's Response: *gush*
Thanks so much for the review AND banner - they made my day! This story was actually originally written for a quote challenege - hence the summary. I\\\'m really glad you enjoyed it, and super flattered that I managed to intrigue you enough to draw you farther into the story than you normally go!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login