Reading Reviews for A Murder of Ravens
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by celticbard The Iron Queen

9th September 2009:
This is beautiful, Rita. I can just picture Rowena standing on some wind-swept cliff, watching as the boat carrying her husband's funeral pyre drifts out to sea. You did an excellent job infusing this story with mysticism. Rowena's soliloquy was so very eloquent. I could sense her pain throughout this piece, coupled with her resilience and firm resolve.

Your take on how she inherited her diadem was simple, yet effective. Furthermore, I love her sobriquet "the Iron Queen". It is entirely fitting for so strong a woman.

I'm adding this piece to my favorites. Wonderful writing!

Best,
Lee Anne

 Report Review

Review #2, by Indigo Seas The Iron Queen

26th August 2009:
I don't believe I've read any of your work before! I think I'll have to start now, after this. :)

I thought it was really, really lovely. I love how you didn't elaborate on anything, but said it shortly and simply. I've read a lot of fics today, and this piece was written in a welcome change of style. It was refreshing, in a way.

You had a few allusions woven in here and I really liked the connections you made. Especially: "Sweet as Persephone’s pomegranates. As deceptive as them as well." That line stood out to me, so I thought I might as well tell you how much I liked it. :)

You have a lot of freedom as an author when writing Rowena. We know almost nothing about her, so you have some wiggle room as far as creativity goes. I love how, even though this was pretty short, the reader gets a sense of who Rowena is. You don't even say, "She was smart and such-and-such and so-and-so" outright, but let the readers learn for themselves what kind of a person she is.

The ravens in the background added a nice touch for me. Kind of haunting, but nice. Just thought I'd point that out. ;)

I really enjoyed this! I thought it was very well written and any reader can tell that you knew what you were doing when you wrote this. A definite 10/10 for me.

- Rin

 Report Review

Review #3, by Violet Gryfindor The Iron Queen

1st August 2009:
I'd read this a while ago, but I couldn't think of anything to say in a review. This is so wonderfully written, the language so poetic, that it blew me away. I love the concise style, how you've said so much using so few words.

And I've used the word "so" too many times in this review. *sigh*

Hopefully all those so's conveys my appreciation for the brilliance of this story. You've portrayed Rowena and the period with amazing precision, and I'm in awe of your skill. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #4, by Kristen_Animagus The Iron Queen

31st July 2009:
That was so beautiful and poetic. I absolutely loved it.

Author's Response: I'm so happy you liked it! Thanks so much for being awesome enough to leave a review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Romina Stephanie The Iron Queen

26th July 2009:
I loved this! The language was amazingly fluent, imaginative and rich and I just wanted to keep on reading. The way you described Death (or the beyond), and Rowena's apparent longing for her beloved one...

I particularly loved this paragraph: "Go on," I said to him. Don't be afraid. "Here I stay to keep the beacons bright." I'll wait for you to drop anchor again. Ask me to come sailing. Unknown. Uncertain. Hand in hand. Gaze to gaze. A step to the horizon.

I don't know why this appealed to me, but it just brings images to my head that are beautiful and sad, and I love how your writing does that - paints perfect pictures, even though there are no concrete ones, just stream of consiousness, abstract feelings. Gah, don't know if I'm making any sense, but either way - this was a lovely piece. And the ending - powerful. That's all I can say about it.

I'm happy I decided to finally read this piece. Beautiful, Rita (:

 Report Review

Review #6, by Alopex The Iron Queen

24th July 2009:
This story had a very grand effect to it, despite its brevity. If it was a movie, there would have been music playing and sweeping camera effects. I enjoyed that you wrote Rowena in the first person, and I liked the way you brought out this sense of strength and coolness/distance I associate with her. Also, the way she acquired the diadem, with the ravens bringing it to her and forming it, was very original and intriguing. Very magical. It seemed fitting.

 Report Review

Review #7, by alyosha The Iron Queen

20th July 2009:
You are such a superb writer. This is like an excerpt from an old epic, the ones from back when people wrote them.

But actually more like a poem. Like a sappho poem!

 Report Review

Review #8, by rougette The Iron Queen

12th July 2009:
Great chapter! Can't wait to find out what happens next!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review :) The next part will be in the up and coming story Laurels, so be sure to watch out for that :) Thanks for the review! *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #9, by Maxinarina The Iron Queen

2nd July 2009:
Wow. You're a wonderful writer! I am shocked that no one has given a review for your story. Short though it may be, it's brilliance is unwavering. It gives you a sense of inspiration, like you really want to write something worthwhile, something that will stay with you and everyone who reads it. I am sure you have felt that way. This one-shot is a perfect example. It's so simple but you read on and wonder how it came to be that her husband died. You're left wondering, but not in vain. You're left wondering why. Just plain and simply why.
I love it. Well done. Endless rating from me. I hope you'll recieve more reviews in the future. One is not usually enough to elighten a soul or carry on a hope.
Keep inspiring and being inspired. Sometimes the smallest thing can trigger your imagination. The smallest thing can become the most magnificent painting. A story is like a painting. The words weave through the canvas, sinking into the thick fabric. It creates an image that none can describe. If you can see what the painting means after a considerable amount of thought, then it is worth your time. It was worth being shown to others.
I hope others will be inspired like I was.
You're an amazing writer. Never give up on what you wish for. Everything is impossible... someone just has to accomplish it to make it possible.
xx.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login