Reading Reviews for Fair Play
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Bec Fumbling

27th March 2014:
It's been a long time coming and I'm so
glad you're still sticking with this fic!
It has to be one of my all time favourites
and I'm always checking for an update :)
the recent chapters are so sweet and the
characterisation as always stays true. I
hope to see some more from you soon!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your patience and sticking with this one. I'm still chipping away at it! =) Thanks in particular for the comment on characterisation; I've spent a lot of time trying to make Cedric and Oliver my own without deviating from canon. I hope you like the rest - the fic's only got a few chapters to go!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Coralie Distance in Letters

20th July 2012:
First Oliver Cedric I have ever read, and I'm loving it ! You've presented Cedric's relationship with his dad in a very interesting way, and I really love the evolution of Oliver's feelings and his perception of Cedric. Love the slightly ironic dialogues between the two as well !
Hope to see the rest of the story soon, and thank you for introducing me to this really great pairing !

Author's Response: Thank you! I've tried really hard to look further into the characters than just Quidditch and romance. I'm so glad you're enjoying it. They're a great pairing, indeed! So underrated and so much fun. Hope you like the rest and thanks again. =)!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Rebecca End of the Summer

26th April 2011:
I know I've already reviewed this but I am absolutely dying for you to update. I keep checking and I feel like a stalker. This really is some of the best writing I've read in a long time. Can't wait for an update :)

Author's Response: Aww! It's so nice to hear that you're still looking forward to it even after all this time has passed! I promise, I am still working at it, real life is just getting in the way. Hopefully now that I am finished with school, I can focus on some writing again. Thanks for your patience!! I appreciate it. ♥

 Report Review

Review #4, by Rebecca End of the Summer

5th February 2011:
this has made my life forever, i thank you, sir. you write beautifully and your story is wonderful. i'm just grateful that someone around here is awesome enough to like cedric/oliver.

well done :D

Author's Response: Thanks very much. =) It is definitely an underrepresented ship and I'm glad you're enjoying it.

P.s. Not a sir. ;)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Kahlan End of the Summer

14th January 2011:
Aww. Jesus, what an unfortunate time for Oliver's uncle to get injured. :/

I loved the scene with Oliver seeing Cedric's drawings, and his easy half-mockery about it after. Thought it really showed the naturalness of their relationship. Also, I loved how Cedric had been aware of Oliver for that long in -that- way.

Great update, hope to see more soon ^^

Author's Response: Thank you! (Unfortunate timing indeed; poor boys!) I'm glad that you liked that Cedric was interested in Oliver before. I really wanted it to be premeditated in some way rather than they both just woke up one day with feelings for each other. So hopefully that came off all right. Thanks again for the great review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by silly Sitting it Out

17th May 2010:
wow, what a chapter! i love your story and this pairing! so perfect:)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad to hear this positive feedback; I'm really enjoying working on this story (and this chapter in particular!) ;)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Kahlan Sitting it Out

21st April 2010:
Unhinged indeed! Great chapter! ^^

Author's Response: Unhinged, dopey, etc. =))) Thanks very much!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Adam Definitely Not Friends

28th February 2010:
Beautiful story. (so far)
Its a pairing that I really like reading but can't find much of.
I will wait for more updates.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. It's a pairing I haven't found a lot of either, which is a shame. I'll try for another update soon. =)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Kahlan Definitely Not Friends

28th February 2010:
oh, great chapter! i love how oliver is really growing as a person in this, realising all the things he does, and yesss. I like it!

also, how he acts on -impulse- when kissing cedric, and that he, in fact, is the one to initiate it and cedric is the uncertain one, is such a surprising turn of events ^^

Author's Response: Thanks a lot! Yeah, Oliver and Cedric have their own reservations. Cedric isn't scared to feel what he feels, whereas Oliver was a little more hesitant to admit it. On the other hand, I think once he allows himself to have these sort of feelings, it would be difficult for him NOT to act on them, you know? Because, at least with Quidditch, he's just used to going for whatever he wants. It was a lot of fun to write. =))) Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #10, by AidasamoAida Definitely Not Friends

23rd February 2010:
Hello. Wow. This story is amazing, i came across it from a friend. It's really good, esp this chapter. Thier kiss was amazing. Truely amazing. Keep up the good work. Yeah.

Lve,

bunni_lover

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I hope you like what's to come!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Isi Hardly Team Mates, Hardly Friends

19th February 2010:
I love this story!! I can't wait to read the next chapter:)

Author's Response: Thanks! I hope you enjoy it. =)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Kahlan Hardly Team Mates, Hardly Friends

26th January 2010:
OH, I'd almost forgotten about this when it turned up at the top of my watched stories. But I am glad you haven't forgotten!

It's a refreshing read, and I love how you write Oliver. So focused.

I'm hoping you'll not stop writing this ^^ Good job!

Author's Response: I'm glad you haven't forgotten as well. =) Thanks so much; I'm really enjoying writing him and trying to find the personality beyond all the Quidditch.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Maddie Best Attempts

15th November 2009:
Yay! FINALLY there's a decent multi-chap ced/ollie fic! I think I love you! Can't wait 'til the next chap!

Author's Response: I know, it's a pretty rare find! I'm flattered that you think so. Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #14, by MarcuslovesAido Best Attempts

25th September 2009:
Hi,

Sorry didnt even see that you updated. Wow. Reading the last paragraph made me smile. ;)

ooh, I really liked this chapter!

Oliver wasnt sure hed met anyone quite like Cedric in his life, and all of a sudden he wasnít looking forward to the fall, a time when they would no longer be friends. They would be on opposing teams. They probably wouldnt even speak, only shaking hands before the start of a match, or perhaps writing a note to request trading a booked timeslot on the pitch. But other than that, Oliver realized, they would move on. Cedric had another life, Oliver had his preoccupations. Cedric would light up someone elseís day, be there to pick someone else up when they struggled, ready to listen and understand someone elseís hardships.

WOW.

update soon!

Love,

:-)

mala_nina

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I'm trying to get the next chapter out, but rewrites definitely are not my forte. I hope you can be patient with me!

 Report Review

Review #15, by pedroia_lover Skewed Perceptions

13th August 2009:
This is sooo good. You are such a good writter. I feel like i am right there experiencing everything. Poor Oliver, that must be so hard for him, with no one understanding and everything. I cant wait for more, please update soon! :)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you. =) Oliver's making some sacrifices, for sure, but he's also doing the thing he loves the most. Plus, now he's confiding in Cedric. He'll be all right, poor kid. Trying to get another chapter out soon!

 Report Review

Review #16, by redherring Practicing Favours

9th August 2009:
This chapter was actually kind of adorable! I love Cedric, he's just so lovely and, like Oliver, perfectly characterised (sorry, I'm slightly obsessed with characterisations :D). The way their personalities contrast works really well, too - I've always been a fan of opposites attracting. I'm now in love with this pairing.

And then Diggory was gone and Oliver realized the world hadn't fallen apart. In fact, it had been a fairly fun practice. - aww, that made me smile. Oliver's kind of cute, just in a less obvious way than Cedric :)

Another amazing chapter and, again, 10/10.

Author's Response: Yay for being in love with this pairing! Me too. I'm so happy you like the characterisation. I've had some practice with Cedric in the past, and he's probably one of the characters that comes easiest to me. And Oliver gets cuter. Just wait. =)))

Thanks so much! Your reviews are so great. I'm all smiles.


 Report Review

Review #17, by redherring Last Chance Summer

9th August 2009:
I LOVE this! Your Oliver is so well characterised - honestly, the best I've ever seen. He's so completely canon. All his thoughts about Quidditch, his reasons for being there, his worries about working with Cedric, everything about him was exactly what I would expect from Oliver in the books.

Your writing itself is brilliant, too. I was hooked from the first paragraph and completely gripped the whole way through. Amazing! 10/10.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. =) I've been meaning to write him for (literally) years, so I've had a long time to think about how I'll handle him. Glad it's all paying off! =) Thank you muchly!

 Report Review

Review #18, by redherring Skewed Perceptions

8th August 2009:
Okay, so I've just read all three chapters, and I'm completely in love with this story! It's seriously incredible. Generally when it comes to slash I'm a Percy/Oliver shipper, but Oliver/Cedric never even occurred to me and, after reading this, I now completely love it! Genius. And the whole plot really makes sense, as well - they're both great Quidditch players, so of course they would go for extra training during the holidays! You haven't just shoved them together in some questionable/utterly unrealistic situation, and I really can't express how much I love that!

Anyway, I'd say this was definitely my favourite chapter. I loved that Cedric made Oliver play Keeper, and Oliver's reaction to it, as well. We all know he hates losing and so it only makes sense that he would hate being bad at something, as well. Oh, and then when Oliver confronted Cedric at his house! That whole conversation was just amazing - it was so real, if you know what I mean. Everything Oliver said made complete sense and was so perfectly in character for him - actually, everything about your characterisation of him is perfect, I think, and I'd definitely say it's one of the best I've read.

I'll go back and review chapters one and two now, but I just had to write this one now :D I can't believe this doesn't have more reviews, actually, because it really does deserve them :)

10/10.

Author's Response: Aww, shucks. =) Seeing as this is my first attempt at Oliver, I'm really happy with your response. He was a bit of a question mark for me; I find his particular brand of obsession often comes off weird in fanfiction. People tend to overplay it, and I tried to avoid that, or at least put some rationality behind it. So, I'm so happy to hear you like his characterisation! Win!

I had never thought about Oliver/Cedric either, until randomly this idea came to me! I think they'll play off each other really well, though. =) So excited to see what you think for the coming chapters!

Thanks so much for this absolutely fab review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by MarcuslovesAido Skewed Perceptions

8th August 2009:
Hello again!

Oh wow! Amazing! Hheheheh! I had fun reading it, all WHOLE thing! Cedric was captian! Aw Oliver went to Cedric's house!
heheheheh Oliver doenst want to be seeker! He's so stubborn! *nina claps*

RATING: Five Stars!

Cant wait to see what happens next!

P.S. Reading your story made my day!

-nina-

Author's Response: Aww, yay! I'm so glad to make your day. =) Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #20, by MarcuslovesAido Practicing Favours

21st July 2009:
whoo-hoo!v this chap was amazing!!! aw Oliver did Cedric a favor! its cute!!! keep writing babe! cant wait to see what happens next!!!
xoxoxoox
-nina-

Author's Response: Hahaha, I love that you think it's cute and nothing's really happened between them yet. ;) Shouldn't be too much longer for the next chapter, hope you can be patient! =D Thanks, Nina.

 Report Review

Review #21, by MarcuslovesAido Last Chance Summer

23rd June 2009:
ohhh let me the first to say.I luv it! its so cute.
cant wait to see what happens next!!!
xoxoxo
-nina-
100/10

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I\\\'m trying to get the next chapter out soon. =)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login