Reading Reviews for Willoway
  
140 Reviews Found

Review #1, by cflat Unmasked

18th May 2014:
Did I read right that this story hasn't been updated since April 2011? C'mon, you gotta update and finish it! After all, you did say there were only a couple of chapters left. It's the only Tonks solo Auror mission that I've come across.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Indivisible Unmasked

4th July 2011:
This is incredible. I've never seen Wickerman so I've has this creeping sense of dread throughout the entire story. You're very good at creating claustrophobia in a relatively open environment. I look forward to the next update.

Author's Response: Thanks a million for the awesome review, Indivisible! I'm so glad you're enjoying this story so far. The next chapter is in the works and should be posted soon. ^_^ Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #3, by gingersnape Unmasked

1st July 2011:
SCARY! Oh goodness me I'm terrified for Tonks and Brodie now! It's all so insane... I can't stand the wait for another chapter! Well, I can I suppose because RL does trump Willoway... ish.. :P But I think I'll be scared to read it! Two more chapters and then an epilogue? This has been a wild ride and I'm not sure what to do with myself now that I've burned through these chapters! Brilliant story, and amazing plot! So complicated... and so many questions! Eeek!
Annie

 Report Review

Review #4, by gingersnape Surrounded

1st July 2011:
When Rook mentioned the magic... I honestly went to myself "Oh no he didn't!" with a valley girl accent. Then when Tonks said she was a witch... I was a little bit thrown off by how she had gone about doing it, but I did go "Oh no she didn't! This whole chapter had me positively shaking with fear because they were on their own and it was so scary! I really shouldn't be reading stories like this at night and with a cat walking on creeky floors. Bad combo, but I can't stop now!
Annie

 Report Review

Review #5, by gingersnape The Greenhouses

1st July 2011:
Now that was a twist I wasn't expecting! I hadn't been paying much attention to the company throughout the story, as I was more worried about the immediate dangers Tonks was facing, but now... I almost want to go back and read it all over for hints about what on earth might be going on. Oooh, I just can't wait to find out more!
Annie

 Report Review

Review #6, by gingersnape Portrait in Red

1st July 2011:
Ooooh, we got to see Tonks at near breaking point so it seems, and she seems to be getting closer and closer... but still miles away. And the smiling! Oh Willoway, I've almost given up on trying to find out what is happening... but I can't stop now! So... mental this world is!
Annie

 Report Review

Review #7, by gingersnape Shifting Shadows

1st July 2011:
Oh dear... I had figured Murron would have a scene like that, but I do hope Tonks is okay! Splitting up at night in a place like Willoway can't be a very good idea. And the animagus... so strange! I feel like I'm in this world a little bit because I know about magic, but I'm no where near being part of the world of Willoway because I can barely even see the surface of it! Again, I'm excited for more of Willoway!
Annie

 Report Review

Review #8, by gingersnape The Patriarch

1st July 2011:
Answered questions. yes. Brought in new ones. definitely! I'm really wondering about what Willoway is hiding now, but I don't think Rook knows everything. Just enough. Now I'm thinking of the last book from the Series of Unfortunate Events. The Patriarch certainly sits above everyone and keeps a mirage of peacefulness going... but nothing is what he makes it out to be. So interesting! I can't wait for more! :D
Annie

 Report Review

Review #9, by gingersnape Foxy Business

1st July 2011:
The whole thing is like a dystopic... almost makes me feel like it is a part of The Giver or Farenheit 451 or the likes... oh I can't wait for more! I know this will sound kind of crazy... but the rain was what stuck out the most to me in the chapter. I don't know what the weather is like on Scottish islands... but that didn't feel like a normal storm at all. Just a musing from me, but maybe it will make more sense as I go on!
Annie

 Report Review

Review #10, by gingersnape Wandless

1st July 2011:
You're probably tired of hearing me say how strange everything that is happening is... but I can't think of any other way to describe it! The Brodie POVs o far have been really insightful, but have mostly just brought up more questions that have no answers... so curious! Willoway isn't just a magical island... it's magical ties seem to run so much deeper... but it's not in the hands of anyone out in the light of day... very strange! And the writing in this is brilliant! I know I've said that before, but it definitely is amazing!
Annie

 Report Review

Review #11, by gingersnape The Schoolhouse

1st July 2011:
Wow, what a great chapter! And I loved how you worked "The Tempest" into this! Beautifully done... but no muggles? I thought all the vandalism happened to muggles... nothing is as it seems here! The memory charms... they aren't normal charms because nothing feels right. All so mind boggling! I can't wait for more, so I'll be off to Chapter 5!
Annie

 Report Review

Review #12, by gingersnape Rituals

1st July 2011:
Oh my... this is all very strange! I still am not sure of anything, though that bit at the end has sent shivers down my spine! I'm not sure whether I like Brodie, but I am scared for him, given what just happened and the prologue. I'm excited to go on... as unnerving as all this is! The part about not being able to get to Kingsley really made me worry... Willoway is a strange place indeed!
Annie

 Report Review

Review #13, by gingersnape Playing Dumb

1st July 2011:
Curiouser and curiouser... I haven't seen The Wicker Man, so all this is new to me... I can't make heads or tails of what is going on, even though I know that nothing is what it seems. Poor Tonks, I would hate for something as strange and daunting as this to be my mission... but the whole thing is still so intriguing! I can't wait for more, so I'll see you in a bit in my next review!
Annie

 Report Review

Review #14, by gingersnape Constable Tonks

1st July 2011:
Well you were right! This does make more sense now... but I am just filled with questions about what is going on and I can't wait for more! I really loved the beginning with the other police officers, as I thought it set the whole thing up really well as well as helped me clue in a bit right from the start. I love Tonks' characterization too! :)
Annie

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review, gingersnape! I'm so glad this chapter cleared things up for you a bit. I know the prologue was a bit confusing, to say the least, haha. ;) Thanks again for everything! It was just great hearing from you.

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #15, by gingersnape Prologue

1st July 2011:
I adore your writing! I really do... there's something that sets it apart from all the other stories I read and I knew as soon as I saw your name with this, I would love it! I've really been out of reading for the last few months, and I'm already hooked on this! I can't wait to continue and figure out what is going on in the story! :)
-Annie

Author's Response: Hiya Annie,
Oh my, thank you for the fantastic review! I'm so pleased to hear that you like my writing and that you've found this story enjoyable. ^_^ Thanks again for the awesome feedback!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #16, by LilyFire Unmasked

26th June 2011:
This is sooo amazing! I love this story! You've done wonderfully. I am going to have to find the wickerman and read it now, because of this. I absolutely love it.

I can't wait to see what else happens with this, I do hope the next part is soon.

~Lily

Author's Response: Thank you so much, LilyFire!

 Report Review

Review #17, by LilyFire Playing Dumb

25th June 2011:
What is with the residents And with Murron? I mean, it almost seems as if she was saying the island was all magical, with no muggles. Or that the Muggles knew good and well about magic.

So, I guess now we're really getting into the start of the plot. It's so good, I just can't stop reading it. You've done an amazing job! I love how you've described the small island -- coming from a small town, I can say that, while I know everyone's a bit mysterious here, I do think you've managed to get the lifestyle down from what's shown in this chapter.
~Lily

 Report Review

Review #18, by LilyFire Constable Tonks

25th June 2011:
I love this chapter! You've done wonderfully with Tonks! Her characterization is almost impeccably. The only problem I have with it at all is she lets Kingsley call her Nymphadora...where normally, she would correct people. I'm not saying she should be screaming or whatever, but maybe just something like..."and please, call me Tonks." or something, like she was reminding him? Other than that, I think you've done a magnificent job with her character which I can tell you from experience, isn't an easy thing to do.

I think this story is ah-may-zing. It is already in my top five...and I've only read the first two chapters. I love what you've done with the town and the training and...just all of it. It seems so believable. I love how Tonks isn't quite sure about the flying...I was half-expecting her to look for brooms!

I also love the other character...Brodie. While I don't like his *character* so much, I love the way you seem to have put so much thought into him, and this entire story, really.
~Lily

 Report Review

Review #19, by LilyFire Prologue

25th June 2011:
So...I heard mention of this over on the forums and thought I would check it out...am I'm extreamly happy I did. This sounds like an amazing start to a story, and I can't wait to read the rest of it and figure out what's going on.
~Lily

Author's Response: Thank you so much, LilyFire! I'm so very glad that you enjoyed the prologue. ^_^

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #20, by Frail Unmasked

28th March 2011:
YESYESYESYES! *does the happy penguin dance*
Finally, an update! I mean, I know you're busy & stuff, but you can't just leave us hanging like this for ages! But I guess that the best stories are the written the slowest... so there's your excuse.

This chapter was particularily breathtaking. I love Tonks, she's so tough even if she doesn't realise it! You make her act so realistic, because I really don't think there is a person in this world who wouldn't be overwhelmed with fear if he were in a situation like her's. She reminds me a teeny weensy bit of Clarice from the movie "The silence of the lambs", in a totally non-plagiaristic way- they're both smart & tough.

Can't wait to see how the rest of the story unravels. A HUGE 10 from your faithfully!
Cheers

Author's Response: Hello Frail,
Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review! I truly appreciate your feedback (and your patience). I know I've been incredibly slow with my updates lately, but I do hope to have this story finished over the summer. There are only three chapters left, after all. ;)

I'm so very glad you enjoyed this chapter. It was really wonderful hearing from you. Your kind comments and thoughtful feedback really made my day. ^_^ I have to admit, I never thought of Tonks as being like Clarice, but she truly is. What a great observation! I always thought Clarice was a neat character, very determined and strong.

Again, thanks so much for the great review, Frail. The next chapter should be posted soon. I hope you have a pleasant week. :) Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #21, by AquariaJasmyne Unmasked

27th March 2011:
SQUEEE! AND UPDATE! *dances* *claims first review on this chapter* Hello! :)

Ah, you're incredible. You know that, right? This chapter was just amaaazing!!! I was like "WOW" the whole time (and on the edge of my seat, as always, heheh)!

Right, where to start? This was insane! In a really good way. I absolutely love how Tonks remembers what Moody said to her in the past. I found it to be a bit of a lighter thing to think about amidst the darkness of this chapter. I was a bit scared when Rook was the one who stunned Brodie...

Even though she still had some self-doubt, Tonks was just so strong in this chapter! She really was a force to be reckoned with, and I love how she ignored her mothers lessons on being polite. :P

You know, for a bunch of back-ward folk, they are annoyingly smart sometimes! When Tonks realised that they had an anti-apparation jinx on the place, I could feel how defeated she was. And when the radio wouldn't work, I started to worry, hehe!

I love your descriptions. I know I'm just repeating myself from all my other reviews, but it's true! I love being able to see everything so clearly, and to become so engrossed in a piece of writing. The way you wrote about masks and costumes was fantastic, as well.

Okay, two caps lock worthy questions for you: IS MURRON THE FOX? and TONKS WAS STUNNED??? Ahem, yes, that is what happened in my head as I read this chapter, hehe :P Moving right along...

Well, the very first chapter is making a bit more sense now. My head is spinning just trying to figure out how you're going to end this! I'm worried about Brodie if this is going to be like the film ;)

So, this was a brilliantly fast-paced chapter, and I absolutely loved it! Everything was perfect, spooky and addicting; 10/10 ^_^

Have a great weekend, my dear, and good luck with college! :)
-Lizzie

Author's Response: Hiya Lizzie!
Oh my goodness. *blushes* I don't know what to say. You've made my week with this review. I really can't stop smiling. Thank you so much, not only for your kind words, but for your patience. I know I've been very bad at updating lately. As I mentioned in my last author's note, college has been unforgiving these past few months, but now I'm happy to report that things are (hopefully) starting to calm down. And I have vowed to finish this story over the summer. There are only two chapters and an epilogue left, after all.

Needless to say, I'm absolutely thrilled to hear that you liked this chapter. Sometimes, when there are such large gaps between updates, I worry that the flow of the story will be disrupted. And this chapter was mostly action, so I really didn't want to leave my readers completely confused, although to be honest, I think this story is too weird to be entirely straightforward, hehe.

I'm glad you liked the lighter bits in this chapter. To be honest, I'm terrible at writing humor, but I didn't want this chapter to come out too dark. After all, the "Wicker Man" does have some comedic elements in it. ;)

And yes, Tonks is slowly coming into her own. She just needs a little self-confidence, although I can't blame her for being scared out of her wits. I think if I was in her position, I'd be paralyzed with fear.

Haha, yes, the islanders are surprisingly clever, which doesn't necessarily work to Tonks and Brodie's advantage. Though I have to say, Tonks does have a lot of training and a some strong instincts. If anyone can outsmart the islanders, I think it would be her.

Ah, the fox. Hmm. I won't say a word! However, I promise you won't have to wait long. The mystery will be revealed in the next chapter. ;)

Thanks again for the unbelievably awesome/fantastic review, Lizzie! I swear I'm hard at work on the next update. Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review

Review #22, by Mintleaf The Schoolhouse

27th March 2011:
Hello, wrapping up your reviews! So I noticed at the beginning ofnthis chapter you didn't have Tonks' thoughts in italics like you did everywhere else. That's obviously a minor issue though! :)

All-in-all, I really enjoy your plot and characterization so far. I think we both write descriptions in the same way, though I shouldn't really flatter myself as you're writing style seems quite excellent haha! It's all seeming very eerie, without being too dark or dramatic; which I really enjoy. It reminds me of day-time television detective stories, but in the BEST way possible; i.e. its charm haha!

Anyway, if you liked any of my reviews, feel free to re-request for the next chapters :)

Author's Response: Hello again Mintleaf,
Hehe, I feel so redundant saying it, but once more, thank you so much for the kind review! I am truly grateful for your sweet comments and thoughtful criticisms. Your feedback has been just wonderful. ;)

And, of course, I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed the first five chapters of this story. You know what's funny? I don't think I've ever seen one of those day-time TV detective stories. Haha!

Also, thanks for pointing out the missing italics. I'll go and fix it right now.

You've really been a great reviewer, Mintleaf. I'll definitely drop by your queue in the near future and re-request. ^_^ I hope you have a pleasant week. Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #23, by Mintleaf Rituals

27th March 2011:
:)

"not a one of them seemed..." I don't know if this was intentional, but I find saying 'not a one' quite stilted.

Again, there isn't a whole lot left to say. It's all seeming quite eerie, and not at all what you would expect :)

Author's Response: Hi Mintleaf!
Working through my review replies out of order here. ;) Thanks so much for the lovely review! As for the "not a one" line, yes, that was intentional. Since Willoway is a rather backwards, old-fashioned place, I thought Tonks's internal dialogue might occasionally reflect the local vernacular, if that makes any sense. I don't know, sometimes I think I'm making sense when I'm not, haha.

Again, thanks for everything! It was great hearing from you. :)

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #24, by Mintleaf Playing Dumb

27th March 2011:
Hello! Back again :)

I like that you've altered your dialogue to a Scottish accent, but haven't over done it!

"face first on the desk..." a desk on a boat?! Did you mean to say deck?

I think you have a bit if a habit of starting sentences with 'and'. I suppose that's not really the worst thing in the world, or a big deal at all really, sometimes it just feels a little unnecessary :)

Everything seems oh so mysterious! I'm enjoying this indeed :)

Author's Response: Hi Mintleaf,
Thanks so much for another lovely review! I really do appreciate your feedback.

And thanks for pointing out that typo. Yes, it definitely should be deck. *smacks forehead* I don't know what I was thinking, hehe.

Also, regarding the use of "and" at the beginning of my sentences, that just happens to be my particular writing style. :)

Again, thanks for everything, Mintleaf. Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #25, by Mintleaf Constable Tonks

27th March 2011:
Hi, back again :)

I really like the way you've planned the Auror training program, especially the field work at the end. It makes it all the more believable!

You've written near the beginning, "The departmentís last test was designed more to insure..." while insure sort of works here, don't you think ensure sounds better?

I like that you've incorporated Tonks' clumsiness. For some reason a lot of people seem to forget it (or even worse, overdo it)!


Everything seems good so far, I'm keen to tuck into the mystery soon though! :)

Author's Response: Hiya Mintleaf,
Thanks so much for taking the time to review! It was just great hearing from you. I'm glad you thought Tonks's clumsiness was appropriate. To be honest, I do often forget just how clumsy she is. ;)

And thanks for pointing out that pesky typo. I'm off to fix it now. ^_^

I hope you have a great week. Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>