Reading Reviews for Winner Takes All
  
376 Reviews Found

Review #1, by tabula_rasa Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

27th December 2013:
I just stumbled across this story, when I was looking for a fan version of ABBA's Winner Takes It All (much like Frank Turner's Dancing Queen) and I may have entered something to do with ff or hpff on the search box and this story came up. It's the one time google search has actually led me to something that I loved, so right now I'm just thanking the Google gods. Firstly, apologies for not leaving chapter-by-chapter reviews, which is the only explanation for such a long review but since my finding this story was a result of a strange typo and once I started reading it, I couldn't really pause between chapters and because the ending was so fantastic, I just knew I had to leave a review (and so I began searching for the password to my account, I haven't been on the site for two years now) and I decided to make it a single review about the whole experience of reading the story as it stood complete.

What struck me the most about how you portrayed Rose was the fact that she managed to capture this constant oscillation between the need to love and be loved and the need to set about defining who you are and what you want that I as an early twenty-something experience everyday (and see my friends experiencing). There is a charm of having something 'steady' but there is a stronger charm of wanting to do something for yourself, no matter how crazy it is or what you have to let go of in order to do it. What I mean to say is, being of an independent disposition is not always about putting yourself first (which Rose does do)_but also about realizing what exactly you are foregoing in that process and what you may eventually end up gaining. What made Rose real for me was that she understood the charm of a settled life, even fleetingly yearned for it sometimes and because of that recognition of what she was not choosing, her choice became more human. And hence it was absolutely heart-breaking, when she was placed in that position again where she needed to take a stand, lose something and gain something. It was beautiful how she was uncertain despite having lived a life of certain independence in China, when she returned. Which is why her decision to go back became all the more meaningful to me as a reader. Also the fact that the journey to realizing who she is and who the guy she loved once is was not graceful- something one can completely relate to. It felt good to read about someone who was human enough to say hurtful thing and hear hurtful things and make mistakes, someone who was confused and still not sure where they're headed.

From the minute he entered the story, Teddy became the articulation of pain and loss that Rose was feeling but could not completely accept. I loved how you portrayed Teddy. I just can't see him as anything other than a poet now. He was this strange bearer of bitterness (and wisdom that comes from a certain bitterness) that is touching in its intensity but moving in its refusal to solidify into cynicism. So there was hurt but there was also a sense of regret and loss and it was very heartening to see both Rose and Teddy move from a grudging acceptance of what life has dealt them to a cautious hope of turning the tables.

And I felt that since most of the narration is through Rose, Lily's portrayal as a dramatic- almost meta-theatrical young woman worked. It was good to explore the possibility that the Trio may not always be the best parents and the way Rowling wrote the characters, as flawed (and so human) teenagers they were meant to grow into flawed adults. The references to Harry's inner drama queen were hilarious. It made sense that it manifested itself in some form in his children (or one of them, at least). Having said that, I thought both Ron and Hermione were amazing. I'm not a big fan of Ron, I always suspected him of latent misogyny if not sheer simple-mindedness, but you made me like Ron as a parent. His simple reactions complemented the more complicated reactions of Hermione. It worked: one parent is angry/concerned/upset/raging, the other is remembering their own mistakes. What would parenting without drama and history?

I don't know how long this review has gotten and I'm sorry for that but I absolutely loved this story. It was beautifully written and I'll have bits of it memorized soon (the Teddy ones -sigh-). Also, it's made me pick up on hpff again and for that no amount of gratitude will suffice.:)

Author's Response: This review has had me reeling this last month. It was so unexpected and an amazing treat to receive - this one review has made my day and more! (I don't know what I would have done with chapter-by-chapter reviews because if this one has floored me, what would a whole set do? This one review is perfectly lovely on its own, so please don't apologize. Hearing that the story kept pushing you forward is in itself a fantastic compliment!)

It's amazing how you came across this story by accident - Google can certainly manage some wonderful things at times. :D

Wow. First of all, I'm really glad to hear that Rose's her uncertainty and struggle to define herself reflects the twenty-something experience. At times while writing this, she seemed overly confused and almost inconsolable, and it was a challenge to bring her out of that state, to give her something tangible to move toward and find her confidence again. She can be very contradictory, feeling the pull between two worlds, the two lives she could have, depending on her final choice. She is definitely aware of what she would lose - she almost focuses more on what she would lose than what she would gain, should she make a particular choice. Her idea of what it means to settle is very abstract - she has a vague notion of comfort, luxury, and a lack of anxiety over the small things of existence. Rose is caught between two dreams, two possible futures, and despite the fact that she's living one of those dreams, she still doesn't want to let the other go. It was oddly therapeutic to write a story about someone like Rose because, as you said, she makes many mistakes, is terribly confused about the world and where she exists within it, as well as about herself, who she is, what she wants, and whether it's right. Her flaws were painful to write because they were real.

You've described Teddy perfectly. I love the idea that he is the articulation of pain that Rose can't accept. He is what Rose could become, struck by the same hurt, the same uncertainty and wavering, but it leaves him in a darker state from which it takes him longer to emerge. Yet there's still hope for renewal, which is why Teddy is associated with the garden, a place over which he can have some measure of control and also a place of spontaneity, where uncertainty is entirely natural - sometimes a seed won't grow, but it's not the end of the world. You can always plant another and try again.

It was interesting to write Lily in this way because her dramatic nature is, to a degree, a product of Rose's perception of her. Lily is spoiled, but inside she suffers from the same fears as Rose - her desire for something steady and secure is twice as strong as Rose's, so while Rose suffers through indecision, Lily goes out to get what she wants without caring about the consequences (another similarity to her father - I hadn't noticed it before). One thing I enjoy about writing Next-Gen stories is the potential to make the children of the trio very complicated, flawed individuals - their parents are far from perfect, and the fame that would follow them everywhere would only make things more difficult.

I'm very glad to hear that you liked this characterization of Ron. I like to think that after the war, and especially after becoming a father, his personality would improve - he would put more effort into expanding his perspective and try to be a decent example for his children. Having a daughter as a first child may have helped him with that misogyny, too (I agree that his opinions certainly veer toward misogyny - his character makes for an interesting study with its flaws and complexities). Rose reflects both parents equally, and they're a major influence for her own problems.

Thank you, thank you for reading this story and loving it. You understood it so well, and there's nothing more that I could want to hear than that. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #2, by maskedmuggle Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

15th October 2013:
Hey!

This is one of your older stories but I just love reading ScoRose stories and have to say that I really enjoyed this! I found your whole characterisation of Rose and Scorpius, as well as the whole plot very refreshing and different. I've always been a strong ScoRose shipper but in this story, I actually really liked the Teddy/Rose too - sometimes Teddy/Rose just feels wrong, but here I felt like it made such a perfect ending! So basically, you are a really wonderful writer and I really loved this whole fic!

- Charlotte

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It means a lot that you enjoyed this story because it's a contentious one for Scorose shippers. Refreshing and different were exactly what I was going for with it, though - I wanted to see what would happen if the characterizations of both characters were slightly skewed from what's become the accepted fanon versions. I'm so glad to hear that Teddy/Rose felt right in this story, too!

Thank you again for the wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by RoseWeasley7 The Loser Standing Small

5th October 2013:
He's eight years older than her!!

Author's Response: lol, that's actually the same number of years between Lizzie and Darcy from "Pride and Prejudice". I read too many old novels and really don't notice age difference unless it's pretty substantial, so it always surprises me when readers remark on it.

 Report Review

Review #4, by RoseWeasley7 Rules Must Be Obeyed

5th October 2013:
The bit when she entered the wedding was a bit confusing, otherwise great chapter

Author's Response: In what way? It is meant to be a chaotic scene, and I like to make the story reflect the action as much as possible, but if there's something specific that you think I should change, it'd be great to hear it.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by RoseWeasley7 Why Should I Complain?

3rd October 2013:
Great story, loving it.

Author's Response: Thank you! It's great to hear that you're enjoying it. :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by GnomiDays Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

2nd August 2013:
Usually I hate Teddy/Rose matches, but because of the way you write, I think they were perfect for each other in the end. Scorpius and Lily go well together for all the wrong reasons because Scorpius is a jerk and Lily is a bitch. If I'm allowed to say that. I'm not sure if I am. I liked that little twist. There I was thinking Scorose would be one again, but all the events changed it for the better :)

Author's Response: Oh, this is great to hear! There's nothing more exciting for a fanfic author to hear than making an unliked ship enjoyable - it's fantastic that you liked how things turned out in the end for the characters. It was a risk to go against the grain with the ships, but it was worth it to explore different alternatives and charactersizations.

Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review! I appreciate hearing from you! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #7, by Emma Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

1st July 2013:
This was the worst story i've read. It wasn't about rose and scorpius and lily and scorpius weren't meant to be together. UGHHH

Author's Response: Thanks for your input, though we'll have to agree to disagree. The way I characterized Scorpius and Rose in this story made them incompatible. There's no reason why they should always be written to be together - that's unrealistic (and it really must be boring for readers too).

 Report Review

Review #8, by willow1 Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

26th April 2013:
aaawww!!! so cute and fluffy and HALARIOUS!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by the'a'team Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

8th March 2013:
No matter how much I hated the ending, but this story was beautifully written. Thanks, you're AMAZING. :)

My heart aches to see Rose and Scorpius not together in the end, but what to do...some stories are not meant to have the happy ending we hoped for.

Thank you again for the wonderful story.

Author's Response: Thank you! It means a thousand times more that you still enjoyed the story even though the ending wasn't to your taste. There was a point when I could have brought Rose and Scorpius together, but the Scorpius of this story is just too problematic - had he been a more balanced individual, it might have worked.

I really like what you've said about some stories not having the happy ending we look for - every reader has their own expectations of a happy ending, and the challenge for the author is to decide on that ending.

It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed this story! Thank you again for reading and reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by slytherinchica08 Now It's History

13th January 2013:
OH WOW! This first chapter was just amazing! I'm sucked in and absolutely in love with your Rose and Scorpius! This is so original and just crazy awesome! Your story telling skills in this chapter are just mind blowing! I'm in love with this story already. I love where you have it started, and hopefully where you have it going. I loved the flashbacks, they were so well placed and helped to ground me into your story even more. I love how she could be smart like Hermione but she just doesn't put in the amount of time that is needed to get those grades and loves her father and would side with him. Its really sweet! I also love that you have Rose wanting to go off for a job and an adventure before she wants to settle down, thats so realistic to me that she would want to see the world, do something, before she were to settle down. Besides its not as if she told Scorp out right no she didn't want to marry him, just that she needed this experience first and that he could come with her if she meant that much to him, but it was him to make the choice that he didn't want to wait or go with. So I think its safe to say that you understand just how much I have fallen in love with this story in this first chapter because its amazing! I look forward to reading more of this story, and others of yours, this year! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: :O There's so much liking and loving in this review that I don't know what to say! Thank you very much for all of the compliments - it's fantastic to hear that you've enjoyed this first chapter so much. ^_^

It was something completely different for me to write, but I felt strongly about giving Rose that "out", allowing her to explore the world for herself instead of rushing into a relationship that she wasn't ready for. She has her parents' love of adventure, and it's important to her that she finds her own place in the world, apart from her wide-spread family so that she can finally be an individual. You've reminded me how many different things I was working with in this chapter, all of the cliches of next-generation and/or Scorose stories, as well as the realistic problems of growing up in a large family. I'm pleased to hear that you liked the realism of Rose's choice. :D

I hope that you enjoy the rest of the as much! It'll be great to see what you think of it!


 Report Review

Review #11, by nina lupin Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

28th November 2012:
brilliant. utterly brilliant. LILY AND SCORPIUS ARE SUCH... ugh. unnameably awful.
I love this so much, Rosie and Teddy and everyone are so perfect and the structure (I know, kind of random) is awesome.
don't stop writing :D

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :D It's always super-fantastic to hear when readers enjoy the ending of this story and its overall structure. It was a lot of fun to write and it means a lot that you think that it's brilliant!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Daisy Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

21st June 2012:
Wow. Intense...i had totally expected her to be with Scorpius, but Teddy is much better. I listened to The Winner Takes It All, and it really was a great match.
good work :)

Author's Response: It's funny because I was tempted at one point to bring Scorpius and Rose back together, but I stuck with my original plan in the end - I wonder whether the other way would have worked. However, I am so happy that you enjoyed this ending and liked the match with Teddy much better. It means a lot to hear that! ^_^

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by rogueX19 Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

30th May 2012:
Vague enough to stay on edge but intriguing enough to keep going till the end. nice job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm happy to hear that it was an intriguing story! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by hi Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

4th May 2012:
that was amazing and really sad at the same time

Author's Response: It's a bittersweet ending, for sure... I hope that's what you meant by sad. ;)

Thanks very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by bri_5_stars Why Should I Complain?

8th April 2012:
So weird, when I was reading this I totally started to feel what I'm sure Rose would have been feeling. I really like how you've set the situation so far. I hate it that when the ex of Rose or whoever, starts dating or gets married someone in the characters family the author usually lets everyone just be okay with it and no one seems to mind. I'm so glad that you haven't done that. It's right of Rose and the rest of her family to be mad with Scorpius and Lily especially for what they've done. Bravo! I really does seem that this is the great story I've been looking for. :D

Author's Response: It's great to hear that you like how the story is coming along so far! I agree with you that the characters shouldn't be okay with Scorpius's behaviour - it would be really weird if all the Weasley-Potters were fine with the new marriage arrangements, and totally out of character. I can imagine that Rose had a hard enough time convincing everyone that she and Scorpius were a couple, but for him to change to another of the cousins, AND do so behind Rose's back... lots of problems there.

Anyway, thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I hope that you enjoy the rest of the story, too! :D


 Report Review

Review #16, by Moonyxluna Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

8th April 2012:
Oh my god! I'm so happy right now. So so happy. I was looking on your page and stumbled across 'welcome to mars', and saw it was labled 'Teddy/Rose', and it was a sequel-- I freaked.

I read this story ages ago (before I had an account on here), and I can't believe I finally found it again! Seriously, i've been searching more than I'm proud to admit for this so I could read it again. This story made me start loving Teddy/Rose, just because of your writing. This was one of my most favorite stories I had ever read on this site, it's so beautifully written, the ending is amazing! I couldn't believe I had finally found a story that Rose and Scorpius DIDN'T work out, where Rose cared about her schooling/professional life, and in something so original like Herbology. I had read story after story of angsty, 'forbidden love' between Rose and Scorpius where they have a secret snog and Ron throws things. Then I finally found this.. this was a breath of fresh air to me to have something so well written, and so original to fall into reading.

Honestly, there were points where I had almost written blogs, or status updates, asking about "A story where Rose goes off to study Herbology, finds out Lily is marrying Scorpius, and ends up with Teddy Lupin"-- Again, more than I'm proud to admit, how much I love this :p

Okay, gushing aside (I'm just SO happy to have found this! You have no idea.) honestly fantastic work on this whole story. Seriously, it made my week to find this and be able to read it again! Off to read the sequel!

Author's Response: *splutters*

How do I respond to this coherently? Really, it make me squee to read it again, and I've read it a good few times before finding the right moment to properly respond. You searched for this story! You wanted to read it again! YOU LOVE THE ENDING! *sobs* You've more than made my day with this! The ending has always been the contention for a good few readers, and finding someone who loves it makes me feel extremely happy - it's the ending I hoped to write, the one that satisfied me most rather than "giving in" to expectations that Scorpius and Rose should have still gotten together in the end.

This story was inspired by those other stories you've mentioned, the Romeo & Juliet-type romances with squishy happy endings that don't entirely make sense, and being a contrarian, I had to do the opposite. :P I think, when I began, I thought of this story as a "sequel" to those Scorose romances that take place at Hogwarts because, realistically, adolescent romances that last are pretty rare, and my hope was to make this story something more realistic. Not that it turned out that way, but I like the result all the same. ;)

I'm so glad that you found the story again, too! I hope that you enjoy the sequel - it's a bit different (as it's no longer about rewriting cliches, but rather me having more fun with the characters), but it's still the same Rose, being melodramatic and generally failing at life. XD Thank you so much for reading and rereading this story!


 Report Review

Review #17, by bri_5_stars Now It's History

21st March 2012:
Blerg! SO. MUCH. LOVE! This is so great! Everything about it is just what I've been looking for in a ScoRose, maybe it's the anti-ScoRose-ness of it that I love. Not sure but this is great! I really liked the flashbacks as well. The way you write, the descriptions, well planned out thoughts, style, everything is enviable because it IS that great. :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D I'm really glad that you like the style of this first chapter - it almost stands alone as a one-shot, very much an "end of the affair" kind of story. Most of the story is pretty Scorose-ish, but my own annoyance with the popularity of that ship kept getting in the way. :P It's wonderful that you've enjoyed this first part, though, and I hope that you also enjoy the rest!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Keziah Their Minds as Cold as Ice

5th January 2012:
I happy-cried at the ending. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you! It's great to hear that you liked the ending! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #19, by Hadassa Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

27th December 2011:
Honestly, I quite hated your story. I'm an avid Scorp/Rose fan, and this story really shouldn't be classified as a Scorose fic. The story itself, while grammatically pristine, was filled with cliches and was overly dramatic, much like your characterization of Lily. In conclusion, I have to say that I would not recommend your story to any other readers.

Author's Response: Thank you for your honesty! It's funny because I wrote this story in reaction to people like you who adore Scorose, a ship that I find to be innately cliched and over-dramatic. The fact that you have been offended by this story's content means that my initial reasons for writing it were indeed carried through with success, so thank you for hating it. I am a little sad that you couldn't see how this story is critical of both "YA romances" and how Scorose is too often written, but I suppose that die-hard shippers like yourself only want those two characters to get together no matter how irrational and ridiculous such a result would be.

Additionally, if you know of how my story is cliched, I'd love to hear it - especially if it means that there are more stories like mine out there now. When I first wrote this, there weren't any that dared go against the hallowed Scorose ship. Lily was also purposely exaggerated - perhaps a little overdone, but sadly, I've known far too many girls just like her.

I do see how you could have been confused by my categorizing Scorose as the "main pairing", but it is the central ship around which the whole plot of the story is focussed - just because those two characters don't get together in the end doesn't mean that it's not a Scorose story. However, for future readers like yourself, I have added to the summary that this is an "anti-Scorose". Hopefully that prevents future sufferings by readers. ;)


 Report Review

Review #20, by argetlam shadeslayer Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

3rd December 2011:
So, it's my last two weeks of final exams, and I should probably be studying and practicing my music right now, but I've been dying to read and review this, and I know that if I don't do it now, I won't have another chance to do it until after finals are over. :P

But honestly, what a dramatic, penultimate scene in the living room. Trust Scorpius to send Rose a final letter (and trust Lucius to deliver it like an owl, bless him) right in the middle of a Wotter family gathering - his timing is seriously impeccable - but good for Rose for remaining steadfast and independent! I couldn't help but cheer when she crumpled the letter and discarded it on the floor, all the while taking a step away from Scorpius and a step toward Teddy. (Oh, Teddy. What a dreamboat!) Seriously, Susan, you wrote the letter scene between Rose and Teddy so beautifully, I honestly would've been thrilled with the way things were sorted out if you had ended the story right there. (Although, I'm much more ecstatic that it didn't end right there, because the wistfully sighing, happily blubbering Teddy/Rose fangirl in me adored the actual ending; but I'm just saying, you're an incredible enough writer that any ending from you in this story would be wonderful, really.)

But the curtain call! Oh, the curtain call. Have I mentioned how much I love Rose and the way in which her character developed throughout the past thirteen chapters? No? Well, I do. Again, I found myself cheering for her (I seem to have become Rose's own personal cheerleader :P) when she "declared herself the winner", as Teddy so cleverly put it. Triumph! And when she kissed Teddy - oh, gosh. I won't even lie to you, I definitely squealed for a good five seconds. That whole airport scene - the banter between the two of them, the knowing glances and comments exchanged between the rest of the Wotters, the EVERYTHING - was so perfectly written, I cannot even begin to describe how amazing it is. What a magnificent ending to such a wonderful story. I'm admittedly sad that it's over, but the ending was simply so perfect, that I can't help but feel warm and fuzzy inside.

Susan, you are a genius. You are absolutely brilliant. Thank you for writing such a spectacular story. It was a joy to read, and I can't wait to see what happens next with Rose! 100/10.

- Emma

Author's Response: Exams < Fanfiction. It's the sad truth. I've gotten into so much trouble over the years for writing or reviewing when I should be studying. >< But it usually works out alright in the end... depending on the class, actually... but I won't go there...

Wow. This review. Whoa, Emma, there is some intense fangirling going on here and I can't possible appreciate it as much as it's worth. That scene with the letter is one that I really liked, though I don't know if it quite turned out the way I'd pictured in my head - it's one of those strongly visual scenes that's hard to find the right words to describe. It's awesome that you liked how this Teddy/Rose storyline turned out - it means a lot to have the support for that ship rather than... the other one. I cruelly enjoyed the maybe-maybe not aspects of Teddy and Rose in this story - they're such odd people, but well-suited to one another because of those oddities.

If I start writing about those two, I'll go on forever, I know. I enjoy writing them way too much (which is mainly the only reason I'm doing a sequel, just for excuses to write more of them :P).

It's wonderful that you liked how Rose's character developed over the story! I wrote this chapter thinking that she hadn't at all moved on, that while she may be capable of seeing past Scorpius, there's still this overdramatic streak of immaturity in her - she's still not grown up yet, not all the way at least. But the novel is only a week long, so I guess there can't be that much personal development, even with all of the things that happened to her in that short time. Her life changed, and I like to think that she changed a little with it. :)

That airport scene is like something out of a movie. Maybe like Sleepless in Seattle or something. :P Oh gosh, it's one of those sweetly romantic scenes and I'm glad that you liked it. Very, very glad. Happy endings and me don't often get along well, so this one turning out just right is a fabulous feeling. ^_^

Thank you very much for all of your wonderfully detailed reviews! They were a pleasure to read, giving me the opportunity to relive the story along with you. It's fantastic that you enjoyed it so much! :D


 Report Review

Review #21, by argetlam shadeslayer The Judges Will Decide

3rd November 2011:
Oh my goodness, I felt so many chills the moment Teddy started playing "The Winner Takes It All," and it's quite warm in my apartment, mind you. Literally, what an absolutely beautiful, poignant scene you've written, only to have it interrupted by Scorpius, the great prat! (You know how to write the best cliffhangers, though! Thank goodness this story's already been completed, otherwise I'd be waiting on tenterhooks for you to update it. I know, I'm greedy. But this story is so good!) But aside from Scorpius and his general prattiness, this was such a lovely, heartfelt (but not sappy) resolution (or penultimate resolution, maybe, since there's one chapter left?) to the week's events, and as usual, it was written so beautifully that I feel as though I'm actually in the story, experiencing the scene with Rose. Ah, incredible. I don't want to do this (I do, but I don't...), but I suppose it's time to finish this story. Sigh. (But yay!)

Here we go.

Author's Response: It's interesting how chilling people are finding that moment - I suppose in a lot of ways it's the inspiration for the story becoming part of the story itself, like in a movie when the main theme is played by one of the characters, or is heard on a radio. There's a name for that, I remember hearing it in film class, but I've forgotten. Oh well. It's that kind of thing anyway. :P

I'm so happy to hear that the resolution is working out so well, especially that it's got the right amount of emotion in it. Rose is past her lowest point, but she's still very low, and very fragile - the knock on the door really throws her for a loop, and of course the first person who comes to mind is Scorpius, but is that actually the case? You'll have to find out. :P

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing this story, Emma! It's fantastic to read your comments and "follow" you through the story - a great way for me to revisit it again. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #22, by argetlam shadeslayer The Loser Standing Small

3rd November 2011:
Ahhh, Susan, I love you! You're one of the most spectacular writers ever! Wow. If I bothered to take stock of how many wonderful one- or two-liners you have throughout this piece, I'd be able to fill an entire book with them. Truly.

"Andromeda Tonks burst into the room to take in the sight of her grandson having tea with a significant part of those "strange things" and who was, at that particular moment, only wearing a dressing gown and what could have been interpreted as a suggestive smile.

It was, to say the very least, unfortunate timing."

Honestly, your particular style of writing and phrasing things is so distinctive and amazing, I wouldn't even bat an eye if you went on to have a career in writing or published a novel. Actually, I basically expect it, because you're so awesome! Seriously. I feel somewhat saddened, as I can already sense this story coming to a gradual close (two more chapters left? *whimper*), and I find that I've immensely enjoyed growing and developing with this fabulous cast of characters you've created. I won't say too much, as I haven't reached the end just yet, but all the same, this has become my new favorite story, and I can already tell you that I'll return (again and again) to read this whenever the mood to reopen this box strikes.

On an entirely different note, I am in love with Rose/Teddy (even though it's not officially Rose/Teddy, and there may never be a Rose/Teddy, due to its hazy, love-is-too-troublesome-so-let's-take-this-at-face-value implications), and I find their scenes together becoming my favorite pieces of this story. (And the wolf in the tea leaves! How clever! I literally said aloud, "Wolf!" when I read it. Yay!) You genius, you! I cannot wait to read this next chapter. (:

Author's Response: LOL! Those one-liners got me through this chapter - it was a hard one to write because I wasn't sure how readers would react to these events, and also because it was hard getting Rose through those emotional moments without having her crack completely (or launch into more moping whiny moods). I'm really glad that you liked them and this chapter, though - it means a lot that you did! ^_^

I've loved writing these characters, more than usual for me, which is interesting - I wonder what it is about them that makes them so writable and, for readers, readable. I wanted them to be realistic and human and flawed, and for some reason, it ended up making them better characters. No complaints there! :D I'm writing a sequel, though, so the story won't be over, not yet at least. ;)

Those two characters are the highlight of the story for me - they fit together really well, and it makes them wonderful to write. They bounce off one another and while there's awkwardness sometimes, their time is more often spent in intelligent conversation (or Rose's odd meanderings, depending :P). I suppose that, to me, they're the ideal couple.

Thank you so much again for your wonderful reviews, Emma! I hope that you enjoy the rest of this story too! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #23, by argetlam shadeslayer Rules Must Be Obeyed

3rd November 2011:
WHAT?! Susan, you're such a fantastic writer that I can't even leave a proper review. Forgive me, but I've seriously GOT to read the next chapter. Brilliant!

Author's Response: Thank you! It means so much that you're enjoying the story to this extent - it's an addicting one, eh? I couldn't ask for more. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #24, by argetlam shadeslayer Always Staying Low

3rd November 2011:
What?! Oh, you did not. (But you did.) I won't lie, this is my favorite chapter so far out of this entire story, which is saying something, as each successive chapter becomes a new favorite as I read it. (But I've decided for certain, this one is my favorite.) Oh, I love this story so, so, so very much. I should be studying for the music theory exam I have in the morning, but a few more chapters can't hurt, right? Right.

There are always times in our lives during which sacrifices must be made, and it goes without even saying, now is one of those times. Onward!

Author's Response: Yay! I remember that I enjoyed writing this chapter because Vinny and Teddy are fantastic characters to write - perhaps the only people who could keep Rose out of her glum moods - not to mention the fact that they're eccentric and rather amusing. I'm glad that you liked this chapter too! ^_^

Haha, so you like each new chapter better than the one before? That's a very good thing - at least for me rather than for you who should be studying instead of R/Ring! I hope that this story is worth it! ;)

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! It is, as always, wonderful to hear from you, Emma! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #25, by argetlam shadeslayer Things We've Gone Through

3rd November 2011:
No! Cliffhanger! Ughhh, must read the next chapter.

(But bully for Rose! Way to stand up to that prig. She has such a wonderful spirit, and I admire her character.)

Onward!

Author's Response: *evil laugh* Yes, the wonders of the cliffhanger! They're fun to throw in every so often, if only to ensure that people do continue reading the story to satisfy their curiosity. :P

Thanks again for reading and reviewing! I'm really glad that you like Rose - she's quite a character to write, and perhaps one of my most realistic heroines. ^_^


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>