Reading Reviews for The Other Choice
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jchrissy The Other Choice

2nd September 2012:
Bah it's so sad that even in the AU world Alice and Frank are tortured to insanity, and Gran and Neville :(.

I really loved the addition regarding Sirius killing Bellatrix, it was probably my favorite part because that means he's alive and blah and I just want to hug him, haha.

I think it's neat that you still had Snape working with Dumbledore, you showed that maybe Lily's targeting was an excuse and that he wanted to switch sides, and still found a way.

The details are really chilling and intoxicating, especially the mirror and the satisfaction we feel through Voldemort.

And the ending! Ah! I wish these two would have survived so much. I love that they named their little girl after Alice, it's so sweet and touching. I (selfishly) wanted the entire lot of the Marauders there to see Harry off, because.. you know I'm selfish and love those guys ;).

The what if kind of pieces are so much fun to read, just imaging how one little detail could have changed so much!

Wonderful story!!

Jami

Author's Response: I could honestly jump up and hug you right now. This story has been haunting me latley because I've gotten a few recent reviews from people who didn't really understand it. But you got it PERFECTLY right down to the most subtle details! *Huggs* This review made my whole night ;)
I agree, 'what if' stories are a lot of fun... and I actually have another story (a bit longer than this..lol) that has a whole 'what if' thing right in the story summery *wink wink nudge nudge* LOL
Thank you so much for continuing to be an awesome reviewer!
Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #2, by Pen2Paper The Other Choice

22nd July 2012:
Hey!

Pen2Paper, fellow Gryffie from the CR review thread.

So, this is an Alternate Reality type fic. Haven't read many but I've always been intrigued by the ones I have read.

Ok, so don't take this the wrong way, but as wonderfully descriptive as your story is it left me very confused in certain areas. This is undoubtedly a hard piece to pull together changing every detail of the story from Harry to Neville. But there was a lot that was sort of a 'chain reaction' and I wonder if you gave that some thought.

Firstly who was the woman who was killed by Voldemort? Was it Neville's grandma? if so where are his parents? What happened to them.

Secondly, who betrayed them for Voldemort to know where they were?

And why is Snape working with Dumbledore? If Lily and James were not the target Snape wouldn't have come to Dumbedore asking him to keep her safe, and Dumbledore would not have recruited Snape. Also I'm very curious about the potion they were making, what was it for? Why was it so important?

I really liked the part where Lily and James sent off Harry to Hogwarts and that they named their daughter Alice, it's really lovely. But I can't wrap my head around the fact that everything is quiet and they have no troubles. With Neville gone shouldn't Voldemort be ruling all of England or something?

:/ So many questions!

It was a really nice piece to read but I think a bit more explanation will really help clear up the confusion. :)

Author's Response: Perhaps some of the details and clues to what was going on were too subtle.. Regardless thanks for the R&R!

~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #3, by CherryBoom The Other Choice

20th July 2012:
Ah, this is the what if -story. =) I really enjoyed your spin of it, although Dumbledore's and Snape's potion brewing got me bit confused.

The crucified aurors, were they the Longbottoms? That would make the dead witch Neville's granny I guess. Or were they the Potters and Sirius just saved them in time? So many questions. =)

I wish that vanquishing Voldy would have been more flashier, but considering this is one-shot, I understand your need to simplify things.

I liked the way the story flowed and it was really easy to read. There was enough description to get into the story and dialogue felt natural to the characters.

All in all, it was fun to read. =)

Author's Response: LOL, I'm thinking I need to go back and edit the part about the potion with Snape and Dumbledore because it seems to be confusing a lot of people. The potion they brewed together is the one that vanquished The Dark Lord, hence the (mostly) happy ending. And yes, the auror's tortured and killed by the Cruciatus curse were Frank and Alice Longbottom (had to keep something at least a little true to cannon) and the witch killed in the house was Neville's gran. Hope that clears things up a bit for you ;)
Thanks for the R&R!

Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #4, by Septyrikon The Other Choice

26th April 2010:
A different take for a start on the books, I like it, but however with this as the beginning, I wonder if the following books would have been very interesting lol :D
I didn't quite get what Snape and Dumbledore were doing, but maybe that's just because my mind is not fully awake yet. But a nice idea to portray what would've
if Voldy didn't choose as he did.

Also, I'm glad to see that Sirius got his revenge ;)

I also think the "dissapperance" of Voldy is kinda odd.. But that might have turned it all into another kind of story that wouldn't classify as a one-shot.

Good work!

Author's Response: I think the problem is that if it had startd this way there wouldn't have "been" a story... there really wouldn't have been much else to tell.. lol
As far as Snape and Dumbledor.. they had their heads together over a potion that would be able to vanquish Voldemort... and were succesfull... hence the no more Voldemort at the end ;)
I think my favorite part of this story was the "what could have been" ending. It was a nice change to give Harry a real chance at a normal life, rather then torturing him like I usualy do.. lol
Once again I'm glad you enjoyed it!
*huggles*
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #5, by navygirl529 The Other Choice

15th September 2009:
Interesting! I am glad you chose a different path, rather than making it a mirror to Lily's dying to save Harry. I am a bit confused though. What happened to Voldemort? Did the potion Snape and Dumbledore brew have something to do with his disappearance?

I like that you pulled Harry and Ron's friendship through however. Also I love that you made Harry's little sister's name Alice! It is such a nice tribute by Lily and James to name their daughter after dear friends, and I feel like it is something they would do.

Well done, and can't wait to read more of your work.

~navy

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your R&R :D
As far as Voldie's disappearance I meant for the little scene with Dumbledore and Snape to hint to the fact that since Voldie didn't kill have the spell bounce back at him (like it did in canon with Harry) that he wasn't invincible and when the two brilliant minds got together they were able to make a potion to bring him down. :D
I had to have Harry and Ron still be friends, I truly believe that they would have ended up together (in a non slashy way.. lol) no matter what the circumstances.

Thanks again! Can't wait to see what you think of my other stories!!

Much love
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #6, by Malfoyluvsme The Other Choice

20th August 2009:
Moondanser, this was beautiful!! So well done. You did such a great job with character development. With just a few sentences, you perfectly described just how evil and uncaring Voldemort was. Not just by killing a baby in cold blood -- even though that was a profound testament in itself. It was his callous disregard for Bellatrix, his most faithful, the woman who regarded him as her one and only love. J.K. Rowling could not have conveyed that better herself.

It was so bittersweet at the end! I cried when you described how James and Lily could have been -- should have been. It was absolutely amazing.

10/10!!!

Author's Response: Aw Angie! What a wonderful review! I'm so glad you enjoyed this story and agree with my character portrales :D
Can't wait to see what you think of my other stories.
Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #7, by Unwritten Curse The Other Choice

14th August 2009:
Moon. Moon, Moon, Moon. You always succeed in making me cry. This one-shot was much more subtle, though. The emotions reached me, but it was what wasn't said that made me cry. The last scene was incredibly emotional, because I kept thinking about what could have been. Which is why it was so fitting for you to end with that exact phrase. Well done.

Once again, you've manipulated these words so expertly that I am caught in your web. One sentence that stuck out to me was the bit about the woman's bones and vertebra snapping. I could hear that perfectly. It echoed in my mind and made me shiver. You've painted the picture for me, and, as a reader, I really appreciate that.

Needless to say, I'm still a huge fan of yours. 10/10 for you. I didn't expect to give you anything less than that. You write about the simplest thing and I'm entranced. Gosh, how do you do it?!

Keep writing,
Gina

Author's Response: Gina, Gina, Gina. LOL
You know I can't help smiling whenever I read a review from you. It's comments like that that keep me writing :D
This story was so differnt from any of my other fics that I was hesistant to put it out there... but you have made me confident that it's not a waste of megabytes (or paper for that mater..lol)
Thank you so much for leaving me this beautiful review, and now I think I need to go write some more just so you can review it.. lol

Thanks again!
Lots and lots of love!
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #8, by DeliaDee The Other Choice

13th June 2009:
It's very sad that Alice was unable to stand between Voldie and Neville. I don't understand what Snape and Dumbledore were doing with the potion but I imagine it's something to do with the fact that there seems to be peace in the future. Could you explain? Thanks.

Author's Response: That wasn't Alice in the house. Neville had been left with his grandmother while his parents were fighting. They were the aurors being tortured by Belatrix. Snape and Dumbledore were working on a potion to bring down Voldemort, no saying if this potion killed him or simply weakened him enough that he could be killed. I intentionly left that part vauge due to the fact that history was completly altered by this one choice. I'm glad you liked this story, and truly appreciate your questions ;)
Much love
~Moon~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login