Reading Reviews for Any Given Sunday
  
73 Reviews Found

Review #1, by RoseLolly I.

8th October 2012:
Ah, I loved it. Makes me want to curl up and watch some Bridget.

 Report Review

Review #2, by TenthWeasley I.

28th July 2012:
Jack! I suppose I'm rather late on the bandwagon in leaving you a review on this story, aren't I? Not only has this apparently been up for a while (longer than my current account has been active, in fact) but 71 others have beaten me to the punch. But I saw this recommended in one of the story rec threads, and it piqued my curiosity. And I must say -- no matter how long overdue my reading of this might be, I am really glad I decided to!

This was, basically, the perfect way to start my morning. I absolutely love the way you've characterized Louis -- hands down the best I can ever remember reading. He's so wonderfully snarky and funny, in a really natural and easygoing way; I want to be his friend. Your entire way of portraying this sect of the family, in fact, was fantastic. This, I think, was my favorite part:

Father emerged from stairs, looks rather wild with scars and insane red hair. Like caveman, except banker. -- BEST WAY TO DESCRIBE BILL. How have I never made that connection before?! Oh my gosh, I'm dying. You are too good.

And his results were fine! Louis, why were you even worried, good grief. We'll call it hangover paranoia. I just cannot even get over how much I enjoyed this one-shot. And Ni'm kind of jealous of it, but that's cool.

Thank you for writing such an entertaining read! This was great!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Cavell I.

27th February 2012:
I actually quite liked this story - you make me want to write my own Louis! Very well done, you wrote everyone beautifully, and now I really want to go check out Monday, Monday, as since this one is so good, the other one is bound to be good too. Keep up the great writing, you're doing brilliantly so far!

 Report Review

Review #4, by poppy I.

15th September 2011:
Love it! Interesting character depiction :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by ericajen I.

16th April 2011:
Ooh. I like your take on Louis. He's very entertaining. :) And your writing style is definitely unique and interesting. I like the way it flows, it's kind of choppy, but in a good way. Very catchy. And I can definitely see the Bridget Jones influence. It works really well.

I'd leave a longer review but I have this problem where I'm incredibly lazy. Great one-shot, though. I'll probably take a look at the spin-off. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by adahpfan I.

8th April 2011:
LOL! hahahahaha i love Bridget Jones's Diary and this is the perfect Harry Potter version!

10/10! *adds to favourites*

 Report Review

Review #7, by justonemorefic I.

12th February 2011:
THIS IS SO MALE, I LOVE IT.

(HI JACK, I'M FINALLY READING THIS)

HEE, I LOVE THE BEGINNING SO MUCH. JUST EVERYTHING. GOALS, DIARY WRITING, the fact that you were inspired by Bridget Jones.

I'm not very good at this quote thing when I just want to quote the whole thing. Your humor ♥ You've got such perfect timing and characters. Real and naturally funny.

And of course, my weakness for Potter-Weasley family gatherings. Charlie slipping him the firewhiskey hehehe. I LOVE THE WHOLE SCENE WITH BRIAN. You need to write comedy for liife.

&heart;

 Report Review

Review #8, by missdagane I.

2nd February 2011:
Loved it. I liked how you described louis and his relationship with his sisters.

 Report Review

Review #9, by MajiKat I.

25th October 2010:
I told you I was coming to review this, Jack! ^_^
I loved it!!

I love the personal feel to it, and the humour. Congrats for being able to pull this off (I am terrible with the funny stuff so I commend anyone who can do it well).

I love your Louis. His voice is perfect for this sort of fic and i loved the way you used him to tell such a story (I loved a lot about this, if you can't tell, lol). The characterisations of everyone were wonderful.

I adored your description (or rather Louis' description) of Bill: "Father emerged from stairs, looks rather wild with scars and insane red hair. Like caveman, except banker." That had me laughing aloud. Excellent imagery!! The whole piece is filled with brilliant imagery - well done!

I also commend you for being able to maintain the diary/journal style of narrative, that slight dislocation that you get when writing a journal. I mean, when do you ever use full sentences and all necessary conjunctions when writing for yourself? Excellent job at handling that!

not much else to say - I think this is brilliant and I can't believe I didn't read it before. MM is now on my list of things to read and you are now on my favourites.

Kate xx

Author's Response: And I told you you totally didn't have to! Don't mind a bit that you did though XD

Ahh well I suppose he is a character quite similar to myself, certainly not dissimilar anyway :P As for the humour, well, I'm just glad you like it!

Louis is such an interesting character I think, imagine growing up the youngest brother of Victoire and Dominique? Although I'm sure part of that is partly the way I imagine them. But yes, a bit of self-deprecation goes a long way I think. Makes things a bit more relatable.

I thinks that's just about my favourite line ever! Got across exactly what I meant to for once!

Psha sentences and conjunctions are overrated at the best of times. Not even entirely sure I could tell you what a conjunction is! Okay, I could, but that's pretty much completely beside the point.

Thank you so much! I'm really just thrilled you liked it ^^


 Report Review

Review #10, by LuminousTears I.

24th August 2010:
Hi!
Well, I definetely have to congratulate you on writing something like this and being able to pull it off! I myself would have failed miserably, but you gave Louis just the right attitude to make it work. I love it! It was really brave of you to post something so different from what people usually do, but I don't see why someone wouldn't like this. And also -blushes- I think you've just made me fall in love with Louis all the more.
I've loved Louis for ages now, but I'm not sure why. He's quite under-represented, but I just got an idea of him into my mind - sort of a Weasley-esque personality but with the Delacour good looks, added with some extra tongue-in-cheek-ness and I suppose sort of how you portrayed him here and - BAM! I was totally in love with him, only by imagining him.
And now you have made me fallin love with him all the more, which is pretty awesome of you, as I had sort of forgotten about him and switched my affections to Hugo :p
I love Next-Gen, mainly because they have their whole lives set up for you but you can still sort of make up their characters - not too much, though. I mean, we know quite a lot about James and Al and obviously we'd make all the Next-Gen Weasley-Potter-Delacour-Etceteras a bit like their parents, but it's fun as a writer to give them little works and decide most of the things about them without going too overboard. Sorry, I'm babbling! :s
Loved the bit with Percy and Hermione's scuffle - in fact, I'd always imagined Ron and Audrey would laugh at those two and their whole rules-obsessed, passionate-about-learning traits...
I also love the banner and the title of this fic. Titles are generally what attracts me (although banners and summaries help, too), and then it's up to the stories...
But the banner made me swoon...yes, because the guy is so good-looking. I feel so shallow ;)
I'll check out Monday, Monday as soon as I can!
Sorry for the length of this mostly-babbling review...
~ LT xXx

Author's Response: Hey! So sorry it's taken me all this time to reply to you, things have just been crazy and these have been of a length where I actually need proper amounts of time to reply properly :P
It is pretty different hey? Glad you like it though, I'm a bit of a fan myself!

I honestly think Louis is the most underused of all the Next-Gen characters. Like, I get why he's underused, but still! How I've written him here is actually completely how I imagine him to be. Hugo? Really? Hmm, well, I won't judge :P

Pretty much agree completely! It's why I like writing them so much, their lives are framed but we get to fill in the details. As for the Delacour-Weasleys, they're my favourite. With those genetics, how can they be anything short of amazing?

I like the idea of Audrey being almost like a female Ron? Very down to earth, very chill. Very non-Percy!

Really truly wish I could take credit for the banner, I'll definitely take the rest though :P He is ridiculously good looking, would not complain in the slightest if I looked like that. Ooh please do, I'd love to hear what you think of it.
Don't be silly! I'm just sorry it took me so long to respond. Thanks so much for a fantastic review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by smnth_lvs_sml I.

29th July 2010:
Why is this written in fractured sentences?

Author's Response: Because they're awesome?

 Report Review

Review #12, by WolvesOfTheNewMoon I.

22nd July 2010:
Okay, am not sure if you did it on purpose or not, but the grammar is really poor, and annoyed me to death, but that might have to do with my ocd's. Anyways, it's a wonderful story and it is really funny.

Author's Response: Yep, on purpose. Definitely not conventional grammar, I'll give you that. Still, glad you enjoyed it and thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by callmedaynuhh I.

7th July 2010:
going to check out monday, monday :)

Author's Response: Go for it, have fun!

 Report Review

Review #14, by butterbeergal I.

23rd June 2010:
(The things/stories you pick up in the cbox :P)

Hahaha Jack! This was utterly hilarious! My kind of humor. XD I haven't read much about Louis, and quite frankly never really cared about him as a character, but I think you may have changed my mind. I love him! Or at least your version of him. And while this was superbly funny, I appreciate how you've still managed to characterize everyone really well. I really liked how you wrote Vic and Dom here - how they seem perfect at first, but somehow, I've got this nagging feeling that they aren't. xP I don't quite know how to explain it, I just like them. Going straight to my faves, this one.

Gillian

Author's Response: Oh the cbox is most definitely where it's at! :P

XD My kind of humour too, although I suppose that's fairly obvious by now! Seriously though, Louis is pretty much completely where it's at. He's just unlucky as he's got Teddy, James and Scorpius ahead of him as Next-Gen male leads. Then Al as well I suppose. It's a shame, because those Delacour-Weasleys are pretty much entirely the best.
Glad you liked Vic and Dom! I really do think that minor characters are almost as important as major ones, certainly in building the story universe.

Thanks so much for the review and favourite, I really am glad you liked it! XD


 Report Review

Review #15, by Jacinta I.

6th May 2010:
i want to redo that banner.

Author's Response: Jacinta! XD
Umm go for it if you want? I still love this one though!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Jenna822 I.

4th May 2010:
I didn't like it. I LOVED it.

Haha, painfully misleading, I am. :D

I am a recent fan of Louis Weasley since I started Role-Playing his character and I am always looking for other people's spins on the character. I loved your spin and can't wait to head over to the sequel. 10/10 ---Jenna

Author's Response: Eek you sneaker! I saw the 'didn't like it' and went all -sadface- but then sort the rest and went all -yayface!-

Louis needs way, way more fans than he has. Poor boy is cruelly underwritten. Anyway, I really am glad you liked it, and hope you enjoy Monday, Monday just as much! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Me I.

15th April 2010:
Love it. :) i espesh love the end! Love World. lol XD cool

Author's Response: Nawww cutest review ever? Thank you so much, I'm really glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by silver ink I.

7th April 2010:
this is awesometastic!

Author's Response: You're awesometastic! Seriously made my day XD

 Report Review

Review #19, by icegreen89 I.

2nd April 2010:
Utterly brilliant. Really. I hope the sequel is really, really long. :D

Author's Response: Oh wow! Thank you so much! The sequel - Monday, Monday - is currently five chapters long with a sixth on the queue =]
Couldn't HONESTLY say it's really, really long yet - it's getting there though!
Thank you so much for a fabulous review XD


 Report Review

Review #20, by endlessly xx I.

20th March 2010:
This was really cute. Augh, cute's not the right word, but I can't think of another one. I never really thought of Louis before, but I really liked this.

Have you thought about expanding it? I went to click for the next chapter but then I remembered it was a one shot, and I was slightly disappointed.

Loved it! :D

Author's Response: Haha thank you! Cute's not a bad word, I'll take it anyway :P I guess the thing with Louis is that no one really thinks about him at all?

Totally have actually. If you look on my authors page there's a story called Monday, Monday - that's the follow-on to this! Give it a go anyway =]

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by IncompleteSentences I.

2nd March 2010:
i really loved this story. the way you wrote it was very unique and i liked it a lot. i hope you continue writing seems you have talent.

Author's Response: -hides- Thank you so much! I really am glad you enjoyed it enough to review, really does mean a lot. Haha don't know about talent, I just do my thing. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #22, by George Whitman I.

7th February 2010:
Hello. As I told you at TGS, I really do like this piece. From what I can gather, Louis thinks of himself as a bit of a hot-shot punk but a deeper side eeks itself out into his diary. Maybe this is because he feels that it is more private and personal. I think that the diary allows for a little release and he is able to drop his guard a bit. Perhaps Harry should write a diary, if only to take off that angsty edge he showed us throughout the series. ;) Well done!

Author's Response: You did, you did. Interesting take on Louis. I see him more as knowing full-well that he's not a hot-shot punk at all, but rather wishes he was.
Fear a diary by Harry wouldn't improve his situational angst much. Day 93: Still in woods, v. cold, hate Ron, hate Dumbledore, hate Voldy, HATE WORLD and etc.
Thanks for the review, I'm really glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Ronsgirl29 I.

31st January 2010:
Very nice! I liked they way you wrote it, and I could totally see the Bridget jones diary vibe in this. Poor Louis, he didn't even have anything to worry about, he did fine! (;

Oddly enough, this is the first fic i've ever read that focused on Louis, but it didn't dissapoint. lovely 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Bridget Jones is just love, is it not? Haha the silly boy, that's kind of the whole point though - that he is actually very capable =] Can't really blame him with sisters like that though, hey?

Poor Louis, he's terribly under-represented. If you liked this, I actually continue this story on a couple of years down the track with Monday, Monday.

Thanks so much for reviewing, I'm really glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Jane I.

30th December 2009:
This was such a cute story! Loved it!

Author's Response: Aww why thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. If you liked it, do check out Monday, Monday - same characters and etc. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #25, by moonymayhem I.

17th December 2009:
That was hysterical! First of all, I love that you've chosen Louis, and I think you've characterised him really realistically. I imagine that he'd have quite a time living up to perfect, gorgeous sisters as I'm sure Victoire and Dominique would be. This is also refreshingly different--I love that he's writing in a diary ("Sure Harry Potter did not own diary."). His inner dialogue is hilarious. Great work!

Some favourite lines...
1. Be cool, calm and collected in manner of Harry Potter or similar.
2. Hate hangover. Evil creation. Stupid N.E.W.Ts. Bound to disappoint family, will end up living in gutter in Brixton. Mmmm cigarettes. Love Wizarding version as taste minty, not tar.

And basically the rest of the story...

I'm off to read the sequel! Great work, again!

Author's Response: Oh well, I do my best! Poor Louis, he's so forgotten - it's quite sad really. He deserves far more stories. Anyway, I'm glad you liked the characterisation! It came about much because of what you mentioned with Victoire and Dom. Inadequacy and self-deprecation is always fun to write anyway!

Ooh thanks for putting your favourite lines, I love it when people do that! I really need to stop reading them though, always end up laughing and laughing at yourself can never end well!

Anyway, thank you so much for reviewing! I'm thrilled you enjoyed it and I do hope you enjoy Monday, Monday as well!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>