Reading Reviews for The Offering
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Fallen_Phoenix The Offering

27th May 2013:
This was really good. This is really the first founding fic I've read, but it was fantastic and fun to read. :3

 Report Review

Review #2, by Beeezie The Offering

29th August 2012:
I don't really have time to leave a proper review, but I'm not sure when I'm going to have the time to leave a decent review, so I'm going to leave a paltry one now so it doesn't slip my mind.

I've fallen in love with The Ivory Child (I'm judging the Dark/Horror category), and I just had to come over to check out a few of your other Horror fics. I loved this, too - it was so delightfully creepy, and I absolutely think that you were successful! I loved the way you characterised the Founders - you took all of them and gave them distinct and complex characters. I felt like you did a great job with Slytherin in particular; I liked that you made him twisted in a way that didn't really have anything to do with blood status. I feel like his character is often simplified, but you did something really interesting with it that IMO fits with what we know about him from canon. Amazing job.

I'm sorry this is such a terrible review. I just wanted you to know how much I liked this.

 Report Review

Review #3, by LivingDeath The Offering

2nd November 2011:
That was officially the scariest thing i've ever read.
AND IT WAS AWWESOOOMMMEEE!!!

 Report Review

Review #4, by MARAUDERandDAUGHTER The Offering

26th October 2011:
I really love this. Even though it was your first attempt, it was quite successful. Great plot.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Rulilura The Offering

18th July 2010:
Just... Wow!
I have come across very little Founders fiction, well any that were good anyway.
But this was amazing. Just like something from a fairytale. Your characterizations were very believable and your style of writing is incredible.
10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Rulilura! I'm so very glad you enjoyed this one-shot. It was wonderful hearing from you. Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #6, by Plata The Offering

24th February 2010:
Wow! I couldn't take my eyes off the monitor! Amazing work!

Author's Response: Thanks a million, Plata! It was great hearing from you. I'm so glad you enjoyed this one-shot.

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #7, by Amulya_HPfan The Offering

12th November 2009:
It was very good :). Creepy...but rather delightful, and very astoundingly fresh.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad you found this piece creepy. ^_^ Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #8, by sammy lupin The Offering

9th July 2009:
This is fantastic! I'm not generally a founders fan, but your summary caught my attention. Loved its twists, amazing story!

11/10

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review, sammylupin! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed this fic. ^_^ Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #9, by obviously394 The Offering

30th June 2009:
mac here from tgs with your exchange review :)

I'm not really a fan of founders stories, but I have to say I really enjoyed this. Your descriptions were quite good, set the mood brilliantly, and your characterizations- especially of Slytherin, who, in this, has rather more depth than I've seen (doing what he did to protect the school, rather than because of his feelings on blood purity)- were by far better than what I'm used to seeing. I really like how you used the Twa Sisters story- knowing how this was going to go made reading it better, though I couldn't explain why. I also like how you used the river, very nicely done.

Little things I didn't like-
A few sentences, especially at the beginning, seemed rather choppy. Some paragraphs were quite short- only a line or so- and could have been combined quite easily.
Killing off the bard. I understand that it would have been harder to get the harp to Rowena and Slytherin with him as the harp bearer, and I can see that the harp could have, perhaps, driven him to madness, but, yeah, just nitpicking.

Just little things, really. Overall I thought it was brilliant, and I will definitely be looking up more of your stories.

~mac

Author's Response: Hi there mac!
Thanks a million for the great review! I am so glad you were able to enjoy this fic even though you are not a fan of Founders. I have never actually read a Founders fic before, but I had this piece lying around (it was an original fiction short) so I decided to adapt it. ^_^

And thanks for the constructive criticism! I really do appreciate. It is so nice to hear what readers think could be improved or changed to strengthen a piece. ;)

I hope you have a lovely weekend, mac! Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #10, by dramione4ev The Offering

14th June 2009:
It's amazing! It has a wonderful plot that just keeps us wanting more, and for me, many of the Founders stories just don't interst. Wonderful job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review! I'm so glad you enjoyed this one-shot. Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #11, by mascarableeds The Offering

13th June 2009:
This is absolutely wonderful! It was a really interesting take on the Founders, and I loved your characterisation of each of them. The harp made from Helga's hair was a really good idea- it seemed like something out of a myth or a fairytale, dark and magical. I'm very curious as to what happened to the harp later on, though. You also wrote the era incredibly well, so that the dialogue sounded perfectly genuine. The writing was beautiful, keeping me enthralled all the way through and with the perfect amount of description to set a dark mood and create a picture of what was happening in my mind without distracting from the story or seeming forced. The image of Durwyn, dead with the harp in his lap by the river, was especially powerful. 10/10.

Author's Response: Hi there!
Thank you so much for the lovely review! It was great hearing from you. I'm so glad you enjoyed this one-shot. ^_^

The story of the harp actually comes from an old English ballad known as "The Twa Sisters". It's such a great, creepy song and I just thought it fit the personalities of the Founders. ;)

Again, thanks a million! I hope you have a great weekend!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #12, by SnapesDaughter The Offering

9th June 2009:
Wow, your style is really good. I really liked this piece, it was very different. I like how Godric was portrayed. XD

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to read and review! I'm so very glad you enjoyed this one-shot. ^_^ Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #13, by datbenik513 The Offering

8th June 2009:
Now, I'm going completely fanboy.

This was utterly and completely awesome. You managed to create yet another treasure in yet another, completely different era. This just underlines your extraordinary writing capabilities.

A truly poetic, enchanted piece of writing. Girl, what are you going to surprise us with the next time, if this is your first attempt?

Je suis enchante...

Zoltan

Author's Response: Aww, Zoltan, you're so sweet!!! Thanks a million for the lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed this. It was indeed my first attempt at writing Founders. I hope I didn't massacre Rowling's wonderful characters with all the murder and mayhem ;)

Again, thank you for everything! Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #14, by _DearMyLove_ The Offering

6th June 2009:
All I can say is wow. It was really, very good. You have such an amazing, poetic way of writing that drew me in from the very first sentence without being overpowering. And the air of menace that was hanging through the whole story just made it more intriguing to read, I honestly could not tear my eyes away from the screen until I had finished reading the whole thing...which is good considering my usually poor attention span :P

The dynamics between the four founders were really well set out. I was shocked about Rowena's characterisation, but I liked it, it was original. And the bit with Durwyn was also good, if a little macabre.

Overall I am in love with this story. Absolutely amazing job, yes you have definitely been successful! Favourited straight away! :)
xxx

Author's Response: Thank you so very much, DearMyLove! It was wonderful hearing from you. ^_^ I'm so glad you enjoyed this one-shot. I'd never written Founders before, so I was quite nervous posting this fic, especially with Rowena's characterization somewhat altered. ;)

You really made my weekend with this review. I cannot thank you enough! I hope you have a great week! Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #15, by Pookha The Offering

5th June 2009:
I must admit that I'm very much of two minds about this story. I love the dark feel of the story and the way that ancient myth and folklore blend into the fabric of the story. I like the way that the characters are presented and I can feel the characterizations ring true.

I love the song, 'The Bonny Swans' and have heard many different versions of it, with my favourite being Loreena McKennitt's version. I always wondered about the bard that found the body and made a harp of the sister's breastbone and hair, and your story provides a way that makes the bard much less creepy-he was possessed/haunted/ prodded into making the harp.

I like that the harp wasn't a thing of beauty and that it was made of decayed wood and hair strings too delicate to pluck. It was obviously not an instrument to be played by mortal man.

I like that Slytherin's manipulations were dark and crafty enough to have worked on Rowena. Just being intelligent doesn't necessarily make you perceptive to manipulation and Salazar must have known that, being ambitious as he was.

I must admit that I don't care for the style at the start of the piece, but that's just my preference. I found it to be slightly choppy, but I know that's the style to match the song and tales, so I know that it was a deliberate choice. I'm not saying that it was a bad one, just not necessarily to my taste; others may find it much more to their taste.

It's satisfying to see that the ancient magic got what it wanted, 'blood for blood'. It makes me think of a line from a P.C. Hodgell book, "roofless and rootless be."

Overall, I loved the story. This was a rare story that I showed to my wife and she liked it, too.

Author's Response: Hi Carl!
Wow, your review has left me speechless. It was wonderful hearing from another Loreena fan. I must admit, I had the "Bonny Swans" playing constantly in the background while I wrote this piece. Her music is so unearthly and mystical and it never fails to inspire, although my writing can never match up her to her poetry. ^_^

I'm so very glad you were able to appreciate Rowena's characterization. You're absolutely right, someone with intelligence can certainly be manipulated. I think Rowena was a ripe candidate for Slytherin's treachery, because she too believed in the ancient magic, unlike Gryffindor who was much more modern. ^_^

And yes, the opening lines of the story were indeed choppy. As you said, I was attempting to mirror the lyrical phrasing of the ballad...although to be honest, I'm a pretty poor poet. ;)

And thanks a million for taking the time to PM me about the typo in the disclaimer. Ack! I can't believe I made such a silly mistake.

What can I say, pookha? Your review was just wonderful. I'm so happy you and your wife enjoyed this!!! Your thoughtful feedback really means the world to me. I hope you have a great week! Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login