Reading Reviews for Burn
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jen Burn

17th November 2010:
Aw... nice. I can't like Severus like I like the Marauders, but he is fascinating. He's such a complex character, and there is that thing of his forever-love for Lily.
But it's sad for Severus, even though I couldn't be happy if Lily didn't end up with James.
So, it's a great story. :) good job

Author's Response: Exactly. Severus is such a complex character with so many sides and thoughts you never know. I think that's been proven countles times throughout the books. And I guess that's why I find him exciting and wanted to do this.
Yep, James and Lily always, no matter how much you love Severus :P
Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by ally34435 Burn

1st August 2009:
snape is so bitter this shows that he did relize he's mistake and he would and could not take it back I LIKE IT

Author's Response: You've caught it. It's just right :P Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Ignotus_Peverell Burn

30th July 2009:
i liked it. a lot. it shows a lot of thought and effort. it truly is a well written piece of work

Author's Response: Thank you very much. It means a lot to hear, especially about this story.

 Report Review

Review #4, by ExquisiteAmethyst Burn

13th July 2009:
I adored this fic! Although I think the meeting never would have happened, this is an excellent portrayal of a nonhappening. Truly, well written.

James' last line is so . . . James. In fact, I think the way you wrote James throughout this was incredibly realistic and thoughtful. He was more grown up, and both insecure and confident in his new relationship. And, best of all, he was able to tell that to Snape.

Course, that's one of James' best characteristics. His honesty. Which you wrote beautifully and brilliantly.

Well done! I'm quite pleased with this. :)

Author's Response: Agree, this is a nonhappening. Which makes your words so much better :P haha. I'm glad you liked this and James. There was a lot of things to think about when writing him, and you caught exactly what I was trying to show - the insecurety and confidence at the same time. Thanks a lot for the review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Burn

24th June 2009:
Well, first let me start off by saying that I am really, really sorry for getting to this 19 days after you requested. I don't even have any excuses. I just forgot.

This story was, in short, quite good. I liked the idea and the plot and the premises, and Snape and James were both realistic and in character. There were no grammar mistakes, your dialogue was well-used and well-thought-out. I don't think this would ever happen, simply because James wasn't the kind of person to make peace after so many grudges, but that didn't make me like it less. It was enjoyable and unique and really, really well written. Nice work!!!

~lllb

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time! Don\\\'t worry about being a little late. I agree with you, this wouldn\\\'t ever have happened, but I think it\\\'s interesting to see how the characters are reacting to it, and therefore I\\\'m happy to hear you think they were both in character. Thanks for taking your time!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Phoenix_Flames Burn

21st June 2009:
Vicki! Wow! This was so good. I understand the Burn title. ;)

The discussion between Snape and Potter was very alluring, and quite possible too, in my eyes. I thought it was interesting how you always called Snape Severus and always called James Potter. It was a very interesting take. I believe that it opened up more to Severus' character.

Well done! This was fantastic! Brilliantly written, an excellent story showing the love both men had for the lovely Miss Lily!

Perfect!

10/10

Author's Response: Yeah! Someone understood the title! I didn't think that was possible, seeing it originally was a song-fic to Burn, but my beta suggested me to drop it, seeing it'd be better this way. Oh yeah, and It was after all about Snape, not James, so it had to be Severus and Potter :P
Thanks for the fantastic review, Drue!


 Report Review

Review #7, by padme_alejandra Burn

16th June 2009:
I just love this. It's such an incredibly original idea and you had me riveted to your every word. And the dialogue was spot on! Great work!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you very much. Originality is what I strive for, so I'm glad you found it so. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by girly1393 Burn

13th June 2009:
Bitter. Darker than I had naturally assumed it would be. But very, very good. Incredible. The words soar in and out of the 'what ifs' with nothing to hold them back. It's a tesseract, it's so amazing.

Bravo love.

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you, thank you! Your reviews always make me smile and I'm glad this worked even though it was dark. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #9, by hpobsessed12 Burn

11th June 2009:
wow!! lots of emotion and unsaid things here!! i never really thought about a scene like this but i love the way you captured it. i feel sad for snape, but like you wrote, he chose his path.

i really love the line "But no one heals without scars, right?" it really hit me. does it have any connection to harrys scar? just wondering.

the end was perfect. just what they would have said.

it really made me think so thank you.



10/10

Author's Response: Haha, I didn't think of the scne either, before it suddenly hit me, and I had never really thought about writing with Severus either, so I'm glad it worked out.
I have a feeling I got that line or something alike it, from somewhere, but I don't know! Haha.
I'm glad you liked it, and thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by AnnaKay Burn

7th June 2009:
I think you did great. Severus seems just a little bit off from how he is normally, but with the situation it works so well. You have a good story here.

I'm surprised that you had James do that, but then again I'm not. It seems his character to do that, to be kind even if for just a little while. The two characters responded very nicely with each other.

Author's Response: Thanks. Hm, I understand Snape wasn't entirely himself, but I'm just glad he wasn't completely off :P I'm even surprised with myself, but I wanted to try it, and even Harry and Draco did come to better terms in the end. Thanks for taking your time!

 Report Review

Review #11, by SiriuslyPeeved Burn

5th June 2009:
This was a moving story, and enjoyable to read. I wonder whether James would confess his uncertainties to Snape under any circumstances, but you have written this convincingly and well. Great job.

Author's Response: I think James is more likely to do it than Snape. Thank you very much for those words!

 Report Review

Review #12, by wand_waver Burn

4th June 2009:
Wow! Conratulations, you have officially blown my mind. That was great. It had excellent perspective on the Severus/Lily/James triangle, and the characters sounded like themselves. It was very believable; if you told me that you were JK Rowling and this was just a part of the book you'd decided to leave out, I'd believe you 100%.

Author's Response: Yeah! That's so great to hear, especially since this was the very first thing I wrote with Snape, so I'm glad you think I did it correctly. Thanks for this great review, it really made me smile!

 Report Review

Review #13, by sworntofun_loyaltonone Burn

4th June 2009:
that was really good... it was over corny in a 'now were bffs' way but in a normal way... it was amazing

Author's Response: Well, Snape and James BFFs? Don't think so :P Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by heyITSme Burn

4th June 2009:
this is really good. very insightful to both the boys' feelings and such. very good one shot :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #15, by RonsGirlFriday Burn

4th June 2009:
This is very good! I personally don't think James and Severus would ever be able to have a civil conversation, especially with Lily as the subject, but assuming they were able to, I think this is a good rendition of how it might have gone. This is unique, because I don't think I've ever seen someone take this twist on the whole situation. I like the fact that you explored this possibility. It was touching and heartbreaking, and it's one of those rare fics that makes me sympathize with both men (which is often difficult to do, because fics will generally be skewed in one man's perspective). Great job!

Author's Response: I agree with you, this couldn't possibly have happened, but I liked the idea, and really, how much of what we write could have happened? :P I think the "uniqueness" of this story comes purely because I tried being Snape, and show his feelings - of course he wants Lily to be happy, just not with James. This is also why it's hard to be mad at any of them. And of course, who ever wrote a cevil conversation between these two? haha.
Thanks for those fantastic words, this review is definitely one of those, making my day!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login