Reading Reviews for Halo
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HarrietHopkirk Halo

7th January 2010:
Aaah! Squee! I love this ship and I love this one-shot. It's absolutely gorgeous! :) X

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Laugharama_llama Halo

1st January 2010:
That DID make me smile! Aw! That was so cute! I want a kiss like that! -looks around for "perfect guy"- Ah well, I can dream :)

WONDERFUL! Although, I wish I didn't see this through your Best Kiss Award. It wouldn't been nice to be fooled into thinking that they wouldn't end up together for the better part of this story, haha.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Katrina! (Yes, it took me a while to connect the dots that you are from TGS - sorry!)

I WISH, HEY. God.

Haha, sif you could be fooled - I am not known for unhappy endings :P Thanks for reading and reviewing, darling!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Eridanus Halo

17th December 2009:
GEORGIA, MY LOFF!

It's quite impossible to say how absolutely lovely I thought this was. It went straight to my favourites XD.

I've noticed Dom/Lysander becoming really popular and this one-shot really made me see why. Lysander is just an amazingly romantic name and Dominique is a popular character, so I really see the whole fairytale element in this.

This was just so fluffy and lovely and I'm thrilled that it turned out so well for them. Your writing, as always, was beautful and really set the scene. I liked that Dominique wasn't quite at home within the family and her relationship with Lysander was adorable. I loved how they were with each other and the weirdness between them wasn't at all cliché. You wrote it incredibly well and I felt Dominique's pain.

SPEAKING OF DOMINIQUE. I nearly died over the fact that he's the only person who calls her by her first name. I swooned immensely. Also, James, Fred, wolf whistling, love.

I flipping loved it and I basically turned green with envy throughout XD.

Jane xx

Author's Response: JANE, YOU FLATTER ME SO. HUSH.

Dominique/Lysander is quite a gorgeous ship. I do suggest you get with the times, Jane, and read more of them! I see it as a completely sweet ship, for some reason...and this review kind of made me want to write another one.

I'm so glad you liked the story, Jane dear! I had a really had time deciding whether to post this - I didn't much like the finished product when I wrote it but having Rach and a lovely beta made it ten times better :D

Fred + James = &hearts, I do agree :)

Jane, I really am finding it hard to find words to respond to such lovely compliments. THANK YOU, JANE x1000
xxx


 Report Review

Review #4, by TheTenthWeasley Halo

12th November 2009:
It was soo sweet! I loved it, it was well written and beautiful. 10/10!

Josie x.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! I am glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by fall_for_you Halo

6th November 2009:
omg, that was so cute! I loved how you really developed Dominique and Lysander's characters so you feel like you actually know them, even though it's only a one-shot. The whole thing was really sweet, I thought it was great!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you like Dominique and Lysander - I tried to get their relationship quite clear. Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Steph Halo

21st October 2009:
Oh, I adore this one. I think you've just got me hooked on Dominique/Lysander, now. xD I read the summary, and I was sure it'd be a sad ending. So when Lysander said he had to tell her something, I was literally bouncing off the edge of my chair to see what he had to say, and how she would react to the terrible news.

Honestly, this was utterly adorable, and I've fallen in love with it. I swear, the moment I get an account, I'm favouriting you (ha, I keep a list of usernames xD).

Beautifully written. Great job. 10/10 (:

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! I really means a lot that you like this, I'm actually not to sure about this piece. I think it needs a bit of touching up :)

Sad ending?! BAH. I don't do sad endings, lol ;D No, no, no, it was always a happy one for this - I just didn't want to be too obvious in the summary :)

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! i'm so glad you liked it, and I'm sorry for taking so long to reply! Thank you, thank you, thank you!


 Report Review

Review #7, by TheDirigiblePlum Halo

1st September 2009:
:):):) me smiling

This was gorgeous! So sweet that I almost melted into a soppy puddle on the floor. Luckily I didn't, otherwise I wouldn't have been able to write a review.

This story just went along so nicely, and you really felt her exclusion from everyone else prior to Lysander coming along, and then everything felt more comfortable and happier for her. :)

Loved this ending! It was perfect, but not written so that it made me think "That would never happen!" as I do sometimes... the cynical being I am... occassionally. :D

10/10

Author's Response: Awww, thank you so much! I am so sorry for the delay in answering this, I've been so busy :( But thank you so much - it really means so much to hear such lovely words! You're much too lovely!

Cynical? You? NEVER! Thank you so much ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by Historyrepeats Halo

17th August 2009:
=D

This is beautiful, and so so sweet!
The way this writtten is totally and excellently in character and has reduced me to speechlessness! or (typelessness?)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it - this was my first attempt at either characters, and having no read much with either of them in it, it was hard to characterise them. But thank you for the kind words!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Reciprocal Halo

23rd July 2009:
Oh dear dear dear!
That was absolutely amazing!
Dominique is my favorite of the second generation and I loved how you portrayed her =)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! If you liked this (beware: shameless self-promotion! :P), I have other Dominique (well, three) fics if you are interested :) Anyway, thank you so much for the kind review! It really brightened my morning, thank you ^_^

 Report Review

Review #10, by purplewings721 Halo

15th July 2009:
Aw, that did make me smile.
:)

Author's Response: I'm glad :D Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Jenny Halo

14th July 2009:
Beautifully written and so adorable!
I love the Dominique/Lysander pairing! They're just so cute! I wish there were others!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by baletgir Halo

14th July 2009:
That was good. I enjoyed it so much and it was a different pairing than I am use to, but all the same it was great.
:) BaletGir

Author's Response: Thank you! If you're interested in the Dom/Lysander paring, I recommend Childish_Fairy :) Thank you again for reading!

 Report Review

Review #13, by redherring Halo

7th July 2009:
Aww, that definitely made me smile! Really brightened up my morning. The whole thing was just so unbelievably sweet! And now I just have to quote a few of my favourite lines, because there was some seriously amazing ones:

I kissed him. Just to shut him up.

A niffler could get an E in that class.

He'd been acting strange lately - a feat in itself, as the term was so widely applicable to the whole Scamander family, it was practically redundant

And then my absolute favourite:
Uncle Harry was looking bored stiff as Aunt Hermione and Uncle Percy discussed something useless (probably wand cores or how hard it was to find thick bottomed cauldrons)

Genius! The whole thing was just lovely. As well as the fact that Dominique's feeling of not fitting in completely tugged at my heart-strings, this just made me smile and laugh and go awww all at the same time (things I always adore in a story). Brilliant, love. 10/10.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! You\\\'re just so lovely! I know this isn\\\'t a very eventful one-shot, in fact it\\\'s rather slow, but to hear this made me really happy!

I love it when people quote me back to me - it makes me feel rather special; famous even :) Haha, kidding. But thank you! They\\\'re some of my favorites too :)

Thanks again for such a flattering review! I\\\'m glad you liked the story :) *hugs*

These \'s make us look ridiculous, no? :P


 Report Review

Review #14, by Phoenix_Flames Halo

17th June 2009:
Aw! You have such an excellent story here! And I'm sorry it took me so long to get around to this, but you know how things get. Once again, so sorry!

I love how you started this. It was exciting and almost sad. I felt so bad for Dominique. She really doesn't give herself enough credit, and I love how you portray her. Almost absent or scatter brained. It's adorable, and I can actually see this couple!

And what a wonderful song to pair this with! Eeee, I love it!

Come by and request again when you have something new, Jelly! xD I love reading your stuff!!

10/10

Author's Response: Not a problem, dear, I know exactly what you mean :) No need to be sorry at all!

Thank you so much for the awesome review! I'm so glad you liked it, it was just a bit of fluff I wrote for fun :) I was worried it would be a little bland, but thank you for your fantastic response! It really means a lot! I'm glad you liked Dominique! You got exactly what I was going for, scatterbrained and detached. Thank you again for the insanely awesome review! It really made me smile :) And I will definitely take up that offer; in fact, I have a new Dominique story which I hope you'll like :) Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Childish_Fairy Halo

16th June 2009:
Ah, Dominique/Lysander and I got a shout out! I really truly feel famous now!

Okay, besides the fact that I was incredibly giddy when I started reading this, it really made me happy. It's wondeful! I think this was an excellent portrayal of bestfriends to lovers. I love that Dominique was so seperated from her cousins even though they are in same year, it makes Lysander all that more imporatant to her. I love how awkward and nervous they were around eachother and how Dominique mistinterperated all of it and started to cry. So unrational and completely adorable!

I kissed him. Just to shut him up.
Brilliant!

10/10
Loved it!
Yay, Dominique/Lysander :)

Author's Response: *squee!* zomg, it's Childish_Fairy! I'm probably unreasonably excited right now, lol :D I'm so happy you like it! It was my first attempt at writing both Dominique and Lysander, so it's nice to hear :) And of course you're famous! You practically made the ship ;) I'd never read it before Wonderwall. Thanks again for the awesome review, I'm so glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #16, by LovelyMioneWeasley Halo

12th June 2009:
You did a fabulous job on this and I enjoyed it immensely. I haven't gotten a heart flutter from a one-shot in such a long time!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad for the flutter, lol - it means the fic did it's job :) Thanks again for the review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Halo

8th June 2009:
Hey there, I'm finally here for your review!

This was a fairly good story, there's no one single thing I can think of to make it better. A couple small things subtracted from the overall enjoyment of it; there wasn't much of an element of surprise, not a huge amount of suspense (or at least not enough for me, I think most would find that part ok) and to be honest, it was a touch boring. Add big, colorful emotions, tons of suspense, and even when it feels like it's too much, it will actually be perfect.

Otherwise, it was really good. An interesting pairing, one you don't usually see, and that was good. I think you captured Dominique's lonelyness very nicely as well. The ending was cute and enjoyable. Everything was realistic and all that. Nice work!!!

~lllb

Author's Response: Thank you for the honest critique :) I completely agree with everything you said - when I was writing this, I was worried it might seem a little dull. But in the interest of gaining some experience with lesser used next-gen, I decided to plow on. I will definitely take on board the comments about emotions and suspense, thank you for the suggestions! I'm glad you liked it anyway (somewhat, lol). Thank you for the great review, sorry it took so long to respond!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Athensgrl Halo

8th June 2009:
Oh, it's so sweet!! this is officilly my new fav pairing, thier so good togther in this story!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's not my best piece of writing but it was the first time I've written either character, so I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #19, by obviously394 Halo

6th June 2009:
obviously394 here with your requested review :)

Plot - It seems a little unrealistic that it would take Dominique so long to recognize Lysander. Honestly, there wasn't very much plot to this- it could be summarized as 'Dominique is introspective, and then she and Lysander hook up- but this doesn't need to be an action filled story. It works quite well as a fluffy little peek into the future.

Characterisations - I liked, for the most part. Dominique's my favorite Next-Gen. I really like how Audrey isn't a Percy clone, here, though a 17/18 yr old doesn't seem likely to call anyone 'Aunty'. Albus' character is also a refreshing change from what I often see. You have the dynamics of a larger family down pretty well. My extended family's about the same size, and being the odd one out there (though the oldest, not in the lower-middle) I find it easy to empathize with her situation.

General opinion - It's not an awe-inspiring piece of fiction, but it is a lovely bit of fluff that's mostly well written, and only a couple remaining typos (in Dominique and Audrey's conversation, well being is two words, and then a few lines before Dominique and Lysander start talking, it would make more sense to be 'I felt my smile fall a little' instead of 'I could feel', and then the same a couple lines later). Simple and sweet with an 'awww!' worthy ending :) 8.5/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the honest review - I really do love your feedback :)

Ah, yes, Dom's reaction - I really didn't want her to be squealing all over the fact he was already at the party and I semi wanted it to be a bit of a surprise (for her) that he was there. I've actually been fretting over that scene, so I will definitely try to think up something a little different :) Plot comments are noted - I'm hoping to write a more meaty next-gen story in the future. I will be sure to take you points into consideration :)

I was tossing up with the Aunty/Uncle thing - I was thinking it's maybe more out of respect, you know? I address my relatives (not that I have a large extended family) like that, but I figure my experiences would be a different. But I will definitely consider changing it :) I'm glad you liked Albus and Audrey - I tried to make them a tiny bit different than they usually are.

Thanks for pointing out the typo and the suggestion (it sounds much better like that!) - I'll fix those up now :) I'm glad you liked the fluffiness, it wasn't meant to make the reader think very hard, lol. Thanks for the amazingly detailed review, thanks for the great rating :D


 Report Review

Review #20, by Fireball Nymph Halo

4th June 2009:
OMG! Another wonderful piece by THE Jellyman! It's awesome as usual, though I wouldn't expect anything less.

I just love Dominique. I like how she's isolated from her other cousins. It seemed like her. Dominique's always been one of my favorite characters in the Next Generation.

I also loved Lysander. At first, I thought that Lysader and Dominique weren't supposed to be friends at all. Seeing as how she didn't recognize him, that's why I thought that. Seems reasonable?

I think that Dominique's grades were exceptionally well, but I guess living in the shadow of really smart cousins like the "Reincarnation of Dumbledore" you might not want to try as hard as you possibly could.

My favorite ilne was when Dominique said that the class(I think it was Care of Magical Creatures?) was so easy, a niffler could pass it. Or something along those lines.

OMG! You want to know what's really ironic? Well,i guess you can't guess seeing as by the time you write this. I don't know where I'm going with this. But, anyway, you know how this is called Halo? well, I'm listening to Halo right now on the radio! Weird.

Mmh, what else to comment on? Well, I got nothing. So, great story as always, I love it. It was awesome(I already said that didn't I?) But, I think that your probably like to hear that. I do to, in reviews. Well, great one! :)

Author's Response: Aww, I love your reviews! Thank you for taking the time to write them (and read my stories) ^_^

Dominique: I tried to make Dom a little different in this - I always thought Victoire would be the confident one and Dom would be...well, less confident. I'm really glad you liked her!

Lysander: I'm so happy you liked him! I was afraid there wouldn't be enough of him in the story to get the reader to make a judgment call on him :) Oh, and yes, Dom didn't recognise him at first and yes, you're right to be a little confused :) It's just he had changed a little in the time they'd been apart and Dom was a little wrapped up in her own troubles to actually SEE him. I hope that explains it :)

Grades: Well, think about it; when your cousins are in your year it would be always a little battle to do the best. And Rose and Albus beat Dom, no matter how good her grades were :)

Favorite Line: I'm glad you liked it! I think it has been be my favorite in this as well ^_^ It was fun to write :3

Halo: Really? What a strange coincidence :)

Again, thank you for such a wonderful review! I'm really glad you liked the story! And yes, I do like to hear it's awesome - it inflates my ego :3 Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Annachie Halo

1st June 2009:
Nice, sweet, cute, fluffy, ...

A lovely little story.

For a little while there I wasn't sure which way it was going. Actually for most of it lol
Not to mention the ginger and the prat. Loved it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much :) I'm really glad you liked it! Yeah, the ginger and the prat - Fred and James summarized in five words, in my opinion ^_^ Thanks again for the review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by RonsGirlFriday Halo

1st June 2009:
Yay! How cute! I don't think I've ever seen this pairing before.

The way Dominique described her family was great - very much the way I imagine them sometimes.

I noticed one word problem - in the beginning, talking about Victoire and Teddy, I think that the word "obvious" should actually be "oblivious." Otherwise, very well written, as always!

"A niffler could get an E in that class." -- Haha! One of the funny lines!

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked it :) And thank you for picking that up, I've changed it now. Yeah, I'd imagine being a Weasley would be pretty intense, what with having like 2998339827 billion cousins, lol. Again, I'm glad you liked it, thank you so much for the lovely compliments and great review!

 Report Review

Review #23, by ParkerGirl Halo

1st June 2009:
I've never read about this pairing before but i love it!! I really enjoyed your story, it was very well done =) PG

Author's Response: Thank you! If you like the pairing, I really suggest Childish_Fairy's stuff - in my mind, she's the maker of this ship ^_^ Thanks again for the lovely review, I'm so glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Harry and Ginny Halo

1st June 2009:
awww they are so sweet. i think u should make a sequel with problems coming on their relationship. what do u think? anyway this chapter is great so keep up the good work please.^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Erm, maybe. I haven't really thought about a sequel up until now, but I will definitely consider it :) Thank you for the amazing review! You're so nice ^_^

 Report Review

Review #25, by anonymouswriter Halo

1st June 2009:
I love your writing, and your description. Your flow in this story was something that I really found great to read and the entire story or moment in time that you gave us was another view of that moment that I haven't read for awhile and it was really refreshing to have that. Your ending was fantastic, as was your choice of protagonist. And as I'm a huge characterisation fan, you have certainly exceeded my expectations as one shots are particularly hard to get into the characters but you definitely were able to achieve that.

Anonymous Writer

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for the flattering review! I really appreciate your kind words :) I'm glad you liked my characterisation, I was a bit worried Dominique would just turn out a bit sloppy; but I really am glad you liked her and the rest of them :D Again, thank you for the wonderful review, it's so nice to hear this one-shot is liked :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login