Reading Reviews for When They Were Divided
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LunaStar Slytherin No More

9th May 2011:
This is really good. I liked the view from the sorting hat. Very creative!

 Report Review

Review #2, by civilized Slytherin No More

27th September 2009:
I have honestly never read any founder fics. So, that makes this my favorite!! Yay!!

A few things:
-Sometimes you state things very bluntly. And I mean VERY bluntly. Sometimes you need just allude to things, maybe not say exactly what's happening all the time, but without being confusing.
-That being said, I really like the story you have here, you're a really great writer and the idea of it all is fantastic.

This is great! Keep writing, you'll go far.

Author's Response: Wow, I'm glad you liked this first founder fic; they aren't much popular.

I'll try to avoid stating things very bluntly; I understand. This idea just popped in my mind so I'm happy you like it.

Thanks for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Phoenix_Flames The Fight

26th September 2009:
Hello, my dear! I'm here with your review as requested!

Wow, you seem to have quite the story coming along here. I am excited to see where it leads!

It took me awhile to realize the story was from the hat's point of view. It was the hat, yes? Anyways, wow! I think you had a great characterization of Salazar, and I can picture his fits awesomely. I think you did that great!

All in all, this is brilliant and unique. It's very original. My only CC to you is to perhaps make it seem more founder-ish. I know that may sound odd, but I mean like by wharping the dialogue so that it seems like it would be from that time. I know that time would actually be illiterate to our time now, but it would fit the scene amazingly!

Great job!

9/10 :)

Author's Response: Hi! This was just a plot bunny that first came into my mind. You see, I first wrote this in third person point of view then I decided to change it into the hat's.

I'm glad you think it's brilliant, unique, and original. I'll try to make it founder-ish as you said. Haha, it does sound a bit odd but thanks!

I really appreciate your review! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Remus Slytherin No More

16th September 2009:
From your story, I get the feeling and impression that Slytherin and Gryffindor were great friends until this debate. Once again, I could not find any sort of grammar error nor punctuation which is great to see in a story. Overall the story is short, simple and great. Pretty much you got an idea and ran with it, but you didn't run with it too far and over exaggerated making it a story readers may easily like. You don't go overboard with plot and whatnot.

I...honestly do have much more to say besides that this is a great story and idea. And I look forward to read anything you may request in the forum.

10/10

--Perelandra/Remus

Author's Response: Yeah, well, it was said in the book that Gryffindor and Slytherin were great friends. I really tried to show that here; I'm also glad you didn't find any errors since I looked through this pretty well. Thanks for all the compliments.

Maybe I could request another story I wrote in the forum... Thanks for taking the time to read and review! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Remus The Fight

16th September 2009:
Respects to you for writing a founders fic. It seems like its not a popular era nowadays as it used to be a few years ago when I started writing my own. Anyway, I have to admit... I enjoyed how each founder has a personality of their own, which would explain the clashes between the all three of them and their different views.

And I absolutely loved how you told the story from the Sorting Hat's Point of View instead of doing it in 3rd person or from the Founder's POV. Very different than anything else I've read. Grammar and punctuation were spotless for I couldn't find a mistake at all and I look forward to reading the second chapter (and last one) to see what happens.

Author's Response: I wrote a founders fic because I just wanted to. When I wrote this, I knew it wasn't popular but I just decided to just go through it.

The founders don't have given personalities so I just did them the way I wanted to, which, I think, turned out a bit well. I first wrote this in third person but decided to change it into the Sorting Hat's POV, which was just a random idea in my mind.

Thanks for reviewing; I really appreciate it! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by confusedlover Slytherin No More

12th September 2009:
very lovely.

ooops...when i talked about the length in my previous review i didn't really realize that this was a two chapter fic and nothing more. honestly, i believe that this would almost work better if both chapters were combined but that's just me. the suggestion is just something to consider but either way, i do like what you have.

overall, i thought that you did a beautiful job with this short story. you didn't overdo things and that was something that i was sort of worried about. when i read founders dealing with this particular concept i often see that things are a bit overdone and all but that certainly was not the case with this story. great job on that. feel free to request again on my thread anytime that you want. i would love to read some more from you. wonderful job on this story. keep up the lovely work.

Author's Response: Haha, yeah, maybe you're right. This could be better off as a one-shot and I might just consider your suggestion but I wanted it this way. :)

I'm happy you thought I did a beautiful job, seeing that this is actually my first founders fic and my very first fic. I tried not to overdo it and it seems that I didn't, yay.

Thanks for reviewing, I really appreciate it! :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by confusedlover The Fight

12th September 2009:
very lovely.

i thought that this was an amazing start to a story. i definitely love the fact that you are telling this from the Sorting Hat's point of view. i have never really seen stories told from objects before but i believe that for a story like this it wouldn't work the same if you told the story through the eyes of one of the Founders or third person. you are still getting inside of something and that really is a way to keep readers interested.

overall, i thought that this was a beautiful start to a story. you seem to have the plot down and your characters and dialogue went off with a great start. the only suggestion that i have for you is to make this longer. i understand that this is only the very first chapter of this story and all but i noticed that this chapter and the next combined only add up to a little more than 1400 words and so i think that it would be nice to lengthen things up a bit. great job on this though. wonderful start.

onto the second chapter.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like the start-off of my story and the point of view that I chose. The Sorting Hat isn't really cared about that much so I decided he get some attention.

I wrote this down rather hurriedly and only did the real editing when I previewed it so I'm happy that you think the plot, characters, and dialogue are great. And about the length, well I just wanted it that way.

Thanks for reviewing, I really appreciate it! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by dobbyfan11 Slytherin No More

30th August 2009:
Good story very very good story just 1 thing i noticed sectumsempra was made by snape he invented and as such it was not around in the time of the founders anyways awesome story

Author's Response: I'll be sure to remember that Sectumsempra thing, it totally slipped my mind. O_o Anyway, thanks for reviewing! =)

 Report Review

Review #9, by potter_fan_17 Slytherin No More

6th June 2009:
BRONTE! MY DEAR, DEAR COUSIN! YOUR NOT TALKING TO ME IN THE PHONE! x( Oh well, so much for excitement I dont need to read it. you told me na eh. :P

Author's Response: SIDRA!! Hey cousin! Thanks for reviewing! Anyway, we can talk in the phone next time! =)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Ava Pearce Slytherin No More

4th June 2009:
this was really good! i like it that you had the sorting hats thoughts on the matter! well done XD

Author's Response: thanks for reviewing! i'm happy that you liked it! xD

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login