Reading Reviews for Let Him Come Home
  
39 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Potions Misstres Five Days Later

2nd June 2011:
I Loved it!! love the part when she un-charmed her shirt!!! keep it up!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Akussa Five Days Later

23rd May 2011:
Hi!!

Ok, I'll start once again with the believability of this chapter. An eight months pregnant woman trekking in the Amazon? I actually burst out laughing when I read that because, I have to admit, if there was only one woman in the entire world, true or fiction, that could pull that up, it would be Ginny! But in the real world, it wouldn't have happened for many physiological reasons that the last month of pregnancy makes you go through. But I'm still glad she found him relatively ok though.

Once again, the dialogues were the strong point of this chapter. I particularily liked the one between Ron and Hermione; it was really well done and I fond Hermione, once again, to be the best, in-character - character of your story.

Overall a sweet, happy ending that I had fun reading no matter how hard to believe it was for me! I liked the characterization and, although it felt rushed at times, you still managed to pull me into this story and grab my attention. Godd work!

Akussa

 Report Review

Review #3, by Akussa April

23rd May 2011:
Hi again!

Well that was certaintly an interesting chapter. I thought the writting was a bit better this time around, les rushed than the previous one and more detailed. The writting was still very clean, no errors of any sort caught my attention.

My biggest problem lies in the believability of this story. I'm sorry but eight months pregnant and she told no one? That simply does not fit with me. I can understand (and congratulate you on coming up with these very ingenious t-shirt) how she could want to hide it at first, unsure what to do but for eight months? Fors someone as close to her family as she is? A FIRST pregnancy where you don't really know what is happening to your baody and wonder ALL THE TIME (yes, I was neurotic...) if what you are experiencing is normal? That simply doesn't work for me. At least make her tell her best friend or a relative or anyone that could have supported her throught the medical meetings and stress of everything because it just doesn't make sense, especially for someone like Ginny, to keep it a secret for so long; I do not understand her motives.

Ok, if we take that part of the story out, the rest was great. No matter how I didn't really feel this plot twist, I have to admit I like the dialogues that went through it and the characters' reactions. That was entertaining!

Now though, I have to keep on reading because I want to know what is going to happen!!!

Akussa

 Report Review

Review #4, by Akussa October

23rd May 2011:
Hello dearest!

Well this is a good first chapter although it feels a bit rushed to me. I think if you added more details and descriptions here and there, it would help slow the pace down a bit.

I like the mystery you created around all this sadness. It was a very emotional first chapter; I, as a reader, went through a lot of emotions while reading it. Great job on managing to pass the emotions through the screen!!

I found the characters could be explored a bit more; add maneurism and describe the way they look. Hermione was the most spot on character you have in there and she was perfect! The others were well done too simply, she's the one you wrote best.

Good first chapter, I can't wait to see the rest!

Akussa

 Report Review

Review #5, by VioletBlade Five Days Later

24th December 2010:
Aww yay I do love myself a good happy ending, but thanks for the major fluff warning *laughs*. It was pretty fluffy like you said, but I'm glad that it all worked out for Ginny and Harry! :)

Merry Christmas from your Secret Santa!

~VB

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Glad you liked this!

Happy Holidays!

-kbhg


 Report Review

Review #6, by VioletBlade April

24th December 2010:
Ooh, cliffhanger! Well, this was certainly a... surprise! Crazy that Ginny has been hiding this from her whole family since she is usually so close to them and all! But I'd act rashly too if I found out I was pregnant and my husband left for the Amazon. Well, I hope things get better for poor Ginny and that Harry comes home safe!

Happy Hols from your Secret Santa! :)

~VB

Author's Response: Haha, yeah, well, I wrote this when I was eleven and not the most logical person, lol! Glad you were surprised and glad you enjoyed this!

-kbhg


 Report Review

Review #7, by VioletBlade October

24th December 2010:
Oh nooo!!! This was so sad! I have to say though, the all-caps bit was a little distracting, and I don't know if Ginny would ever really act this way, but it still made me very sad. When Ginny knew Harry was going to leave, she didn't cry, didn't shout, etc. but she definitely has a temper which you portrayed well here. :) Hope it gets better for the two of them! *crosses fingers*

Happy Hols from your Secret Santa!

~VB

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Very happy that you liked this!

Merry christmas!

-kbhg


 Report Review

Review #8, by melian Five Days Later

19th August 2010:
Aw, how sweet! I would never recommend an eight-month pregnant woman to go trekking through the Amazon but then again I have never had to deal with an irate Ginny Weasley so that probably has something to do with my reaction. I'm just glad she found him, alive and seemingly unharmed (aside from a few grazes). I must admit that the argument with Ron & Hermione about looking for Harry was very well done - I can actually see Hermione putting her job first until it was pointed out to her that's what she was doing.

All in all, I love a happy ending. And that's what we've got here, isn't it? *grins* Great job!

cheers, Mel

Author's Response: Hey Mel!

Yeah, this story is kind of illogical, but then again, I wrote it when I was eleven so it's not that surprising really. :P

I love happy endings too! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

-kbhg


 Report Review

Review #9, by melian April

19th August 2010:
Okay, the charmed shirts explained everything to me. Having been eight months pregnant (twice) I can tell you that no one is not going to notice that, especially on someone of Ginny's physique. However, I have to allow for magic and I'll give you credit for the shirts thing, because I wouldn't have thought of that. And yes, that is what I initially suspected. Eight months is a lot, though - they tell you to have your hospital bag packed before you even get that far just in case it decides to come early. Ginny's done very well keeping this secret, though the stress wouldn't be doing her any good. Oh well. I must read on to find out what happens!!!

cheers, Mel

Author's Response: You're probably right about it being a bad idea for an eight-month-pregnant woamn to go trekking through the amazon... I have NO IDEA about this kind of stuff, so I probably shouldn't have written this, but whatever. :P

I tried to ask my mum, and she got reallt confused, then started interrogating me about why I wanted to know, and then started interrogating me about why I was writing stories about pregnancies when I was only eleven, so I just decided to wing it.

(she still does that sort of thing two years later, by the way, haha :P)

thanks for reading and reviewing!
-kbhg


 Report Review

Review #10, by melian October

19th August 2010:
Hmmm. Something else is bothering her, methinks. Yes, I know Ginny has a hot temper, but from what she's said I really think there's more to this than she's letting on, and I think I know what it is. I won't say, of course, because I'm bound to be proven wrong, but I have my suspicions. I agree that it's not fair to ask someone to head to South American for ten months at an hour's notice, but then again I'm not sure what the mission is and I'm sure Gawain Robards has his reasons. Both Harry and Ginny have a right to be put out, though.

Onwards I go!

cheers, Mel

Author's Response: Wowww, sorry about the long wait for a response! :P sorry about that.

thanks veddy much! as I'm sure you've figured out by now... well, yes you have, you reviewed the other chapters... there is DEFINITELY more to the story here... XD

Do you know, the one thing I never figured out about this story is WHY Harry had to go to the Amazon for ten months... :P sh don't tell anyone. :)

Thanks for the review! kbhg


 Report Review

Review #11, by Capella Black Five Days Later

16th August 2010:
Awww, love it! Ginny going off on one, and more importantly finding him; the charmed shirt malarkey (nice touch); and of course Hermione's need to obey the rules.

Generally, your use of dialogue to explain important plot twists was great, and really kept the pace up. I was a little confused however as to what exactly had happened to Harry - maybe a bit of extra dialogue between them and Ron to explain? Other than that though this was a really well rounded and well thought out story, which once again makes me kinda envious!

Gryffie love!

Author's Response: That dialogue suggestion is good! I'll definitely take a look at that. Thanks for the review and I'm glad you liked it!

-kbhg


 Report Review

Review #12, by Capella Black April

16th August 2010:
Oh, why is it I feel that last line is some kind of dramatic irony...

Another great chapter. I was glad I guessed it right, but nonetheless, the way you spin out the pregnancy secret is cool, and I loved seeing the different reactions from the various family members. Ron and Hermione in particular were very amusing, and Molly was pretty heartbreaking. Poor Ginny!

Good use of dialogue to give us plot and reaction all in one, and as ever, great characterisation. Onwards...

Author's Response: ahh, thankee. :)

A lot of people guessed right... maybe I should see if I could change that somehow... but I'm wayy too lazy.

Glad you liked it!

-kbhg


 Report Review

Review #13, by Capella Black October

16th August 2010:
Not sure what this was like prior to the rewrite, but currently, it's a great first chapter. We're instantly put on edge by the warning with Hermione, and then once the fight gets going, everything ramps up level by level. As ever, you've really caught the characters of Harry and Ginny (I probably shouldn't be surprised, with the penname) - Ginny immediately being angry rather than soppy, but for all the same reasons (aka worry), and Harry trying to avoid a fight, and then losing it himself.

Also, did I spot a clue in there... ten months would be exactly the wrong amount of time to go away for if I did! Either way, must read more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad you thought it was good! Oh, and thanks for the review!

-kbhg


 Report Review

Review #14, by Martine Lewis Five Days Later

25th July 2010:
Very cute!
I wish you had taken more time develop the search. I agree that 5 days is very short to find somebody in the Amazon considering how big it is... How did she manage that? That was what I wondered.

But it is very cute!

Author's Response: :) thanks for reviewing. I'm really glad you thought it was cute!

As for your question, I cannot answer you because I was about eleven years old when I wrote this and can't remember my thought process about how she managed it... LOL.

Thanks again for reviewing... :D


 Report Review

Review #15, by spencefa Five Days Later

19th July 2010:
it was good, could have gone further

Author's Response: Glad you liked it.

It originally went further, but... just trust me, this way's better.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by spencefa April

19th July 2010:
story/chapter quite good.

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you like it.

 Report Review

Review #17, by spencefa October

19th July 2010:
it was a good chapter, ddid not seem rushed.

Author's Response: That's good. :) Glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Hopeless April

14th July 2010:
Well I found this a bit rushed, although Hermione's reaction was priceless. Overall another good chapter.

Author's Response: I always have rushing problems... :/

But I'm glad you liked Hermione's reaction. :D

And I'm glad you like the chapter. :)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Hopeless October

14th July 2010:
Bravo! A real fight and a wonderful A/N at the end. Great writing too.

Author's Response: The real fight is new. I just totally rewrote this story and I added that. :D

I'm really glad you liked it! Thanks for reviewing! ;)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Arthurs Best Mate Five Days Later

17th November 2009:
talk about about "rush"
good story line. but it went so fast.

Author's Response: Hmm... yeah.
This is actually the dragged-out version if you can believe that!
Yeah, it is very rushed. But there's not really much I can do about that... it's already been worked on...
Oh, well! :D


 Report Review

Review #21, by Arthurs Best Mate October

17th November 2009:
still a little rushed.
I would have liked a bit more feeling explained.
maybe explain harry's flat and why he or Ginny decorated it with this or that.

Author's Response: Y'know, that is actually a really good idea! I might just do that!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Bigsisto3 Five Days Later

4th November 2009:
That's it?! I want a follow up! Who's the baby raised by? Where does Ginny live, still with her parents, or do she and Harry find a place? Do Harry and Ginny ever get married? Are there other rough spots in their relationship? How do George, Ron, Bill, and Percy take to being uncles. . . to their single little sisters baby? Sorry for the onslaught of questions, it's just a good story, they always stimulate questions. :) Consider more chapters?

The Key

P.S. Loved the time in the jungle, Ginny's hope, and hopelesness, her love for Harry, and their reunion were all beautiful.

Author's Response: Q&A TIME!!! :)
Q: Who's the baby raised by?
A: Both of them!
Q: Where does Ginny live, still with her parents, or do she and Harry find a place?
A: Harry already had a place, so they go there.
Q: Do Harry and Ginny ever get married?
A: YEAH!!! :)
Q: Are there other rough spots in their relationship?
A: Not really sure what you mean by that... they probably still argue... who doesn't? Not often, though... :)
Q: How do George, Ron, Bill, and Percy take to being uncles. . . to their single little sisters baby?
A: I think I'll leave that up to your imagination. (Translation: I haven't got a clue...)
Q: Consider more chapters?
A: I'd like to, but I'm too busy! There used to be an epilouge, but it was pathetic.

So yeah.
;)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Bigsisto3 April

4th November 2009:
Perfectly scrumpious! And Ron's reaction is priceless. And Hermione starting her 'Well, you see, when a boy and a girl. . .' lecture. xD Wonderful writing! It's definitely a favourite of mine.

The Key

Author's Response: The lecture is new! It wasn;t in the original version of the chapter. It's my fave part! ;)
I'm really glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Bigsisto3 October

4th November 2009:
Author's Response: Trying to answer your questions now... they came for him, but he was putting up too much of a fight... the idea was that they were trying to get him by surprise, but Ginny yelled. But of course, now they have Ginny and James and they can use them to get Harry.
He tried to chase them, but they tripped him up and he got knocked out.
Hope that helps!!! :)


Copy/paste thing again. :]
Yes! It helped tons! Thankss! Can't wait for the next chapter!

And now for this chapter: I loved it. The fight was wonderful, Harry trying to keep his temper, losing it, and Ginny's almost spill. Plus it has a wonderful hooker there, I need to know what comes next now! Must keep reading! :)

The Key

Author's Response: I'm glad I could help!
Actually, in the original, you never found out what H and G said in their argument. But I got a ton of reviews saying it was too rushed, so I went back and changed it! Yay! ;)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Ringo Beeblebrox Five Days Later

18th September 2009:
So a group of Aurors can't find Harry, but Ginny just pops over and finds him ASAP? Sorry, but that is just too coincidental to be taken seriously.

Author's Response: She was searching for him for the same amount of time as the Aurors, actually... 5 days...
Also, she took a very, very unlikely route that the Aurors chose not to take.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>