Reading Reviews for Always By Your Side
  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ann-Marie X: Legacies

12th September 2009:
Love love love!! The first saga got me hooked and I thought I would finally let you know and write a review. Can't wait for the rest!

Author's Response: I'm flattered.

I am, unfortunately, unable to continue this story here on HPFF. If you are interested in reading more, however, google my pen name. Seek and you shall find.

morgaine_dulac


 Report Review

Review #2, by Jolene Wawr X: Legacies

25th August 2009:
Absolutely great story so far! I wonder how Severus will help raise his daughter with his "disability". That's definitely a challenge you can meet, Morgaine.
Beautiful writing.

Author's Response: It is going to be very, very hard for all involved. But I am planning to be nice to Severus and Morgaine ... eventually ;-)

 Report Review

Review #3, by sarina X: Legacies

16th August 2009:
This chapter is so cool. The big bang is finally there.I hope we will find out soon how Sev reacts to this revelation. I can imagine him freaking out like never before *giggles* I'd love to see that, but I'm sure you'll have thought of a very nice way to deal with his reaction...
You had McGonagall very well-written, but I was a little confused about Morgaine being so shocked about the pure-blood fanaticism...I mean nobody expects this kind of idiocity to die out from one day to the next,right? I thought Morgaine knew that.
Also, did Dumbledore indicate that Morgaine could be the heir of Voldemort? Or did I just read to much into that comment of his?
Anyway, a great chapter and I can't wait for you to update!!!
Sarina

Author's Response: Writing on dear Severus ... um, freaking-out as we speak. The poor man. But hey, I am having fun! hehe

It's not as much the pure-blood fanaticism that shocks Morgaine as the realisation of how much she and Severus are involved in it.

And Morgaine being Voldemort's daughter? Wherever did you get that from?

Well, I'm going back to see how Severus is doing. Update within the next week, I promise.

Thank you for reading and leaving a note. I appreciate it a lot! /M


 Report Review

Review #4, by forever_and_a_day X: Legacies

14th August 2009:
o. Sev finally finds out!!! brilliant chapter; your plot's coming along very nicely, but I think you should add a bit more of Morgaine and her students interacting, because she keeps saying things like "Slytherin's her house" etc, but there isn't much exchange going on in-between. Just a suggestion :) Love how this is going and I'm sorry for missing the last couple of chapters and I can't wait 'till the update rolls around!

Author's Response: Yep, the Kneazle's out of the bag. Let's see what Severus makes out of it. Hope he doesn't go hide in the dungeons to brood :P

Morgaine has a lot on her plate at the moment. But don't fret, we will visit Slytherin House. Who can resist the interior decoration?

Love to have you back. /M


 Report Review

Review #5, by forever_and_a_day IX: Who Will Protect the Innocent?

14th August 2009:
I love how you've brought out Severus' personality in this chapter. it's beautiful!!!

Author's Response: Death may have softened him, but the snark is still there :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by forever_and_a_day VIII: You Can Run, But You Cannot Hide

14th August 2009:
OMG. I cannot believe that I've missed this many chapters in such short a time!!! Stupid camp! who likes isolating themselves in the bush for that long anyways??! Love the plot development and now I shall rush onto the next chapter!

Author's Response: Camp? Euch, I always hated camps! Hope you had fun despite not being able to read fan fic.

 Report Review

Review #7, by angelmaple IX: Who Will Protect the Innocent?

11th August 2009:
Aw... that was so sweet! And damn Lucious, that sly snake... Great chapter!

Author's Response: Got to love Lucius Malfoy, He makes evil fun :P

And Severus and Morgaine deserve some sweetness. They didn't have much of that in the first story.

Glad you're still with me! /M


 Report Review

Review #8, by sarina VIII: You Can Run, But You Cannot Hide

2nd August 2009:
I love the end of this chapter and I'm intrigued ro read what Morgaine will find out when she questions Lucius!!!

Author's Response: Morgaine will have to be careful. Lucius must not suspect that she has slipped him Veritaserum. But whatever he tells her, I hope he chokes on it :P

Thank you very much for reading and taking the time to leave a note! /M


 Report Review

Review #9, by forever_and_a_day VII: Facing the Past and Preparing for the Future

2nd August 2009:
huh? I swear I've read this chapter... and I always review... anyways... AWESOME chapter! I love how you described Sev's love for his position as Potions Master was only limited to the potions. LOL. then again, most of the students made it their business (intentionally or not) to give him grief XD Love where this story's going and I can't wait for Morgaine to open the letter!

Author's Response: Yes, you always review. I've missed you!!

I always thought that if a teacher is that good at his subject as Severus is, he has to love it. But seeing as he always wanted to have the DADA position instead, he can't have enjoyed teaching Potions. It's his private passion, he doesn't want to share with dunderheads who don't appreciate the beauty of a softly simmering cauldron.

Letters from Malfoy most often mean trouble, so buckle up for the next chapter. It should be up in a day or two.

/M


 Report Review

Review #10, by angelmaple VI: Slytherin Pride

23rd July 2009:
Tension is rising eh? The development toward the revelation is great! Awesome chapter as usual :)

Author's Response: *bows* Thank you!
Morgaine is getting there, sooner or later. Give her until after New Year's.
Thank you, as usual, for reading and for taking the time to leave a note. /M


 Report Review

Review #11, by forever_and_a_day VI: Slytherin Pride

18th July 2009:
wow. T_T tear-jerk chapter. I don't understand her need to hide Demeter from Severus; but hey, all things will be revealed in due time, right? I wonder whose foul mouth is spreading the rumours...hmm... brilliant chapter!!

Author's Response: Morgaine has her reasons, and they will be revealed. Some of them soon, others in a while. You'll also learn who is spreading the rumours.

Thanks so much for sticking to the story! It means a lot!! /M


 Report Review

Review #12, by forever_and_a_day V: Family and Children

2nd July 2009:
She hasn't told him!? Woah bombshell awaiting Sev. I think he'll be a great father after the initial shock and being annoyed/depressed at being a ghost. Awesome update.

Author's Response: Nope, dear Severus has still no idea. The poor man/ghost. It will be a shock indeed and a huge surprise. And as we all know, Severus Snape has never been good with surprises. /M

 Report Review

Review #13, by Boots IV: Drying Off the Tears

27th June 2009:
I can't wait to hear how he handles finding out about his daughter. I am also curious to see if Severus moves on, or stays to watch over Morgaine and Demeter. I look forward to future chapter!

Author's Response: Working feverishly on the next chapters. Stay tuned. /M

 Report Review

Review #14, by IloveNeville IV: Drying Off the Tears

26th June 2009:
Aww,

‘He saw Morgaine chew her lip and frowned.’ I remember as a child, she did that ALL THE TIME!
I liked that line, took us back to her childhood at Hogwarts.

So, Severus is a ghost until he completes his ‘unfinished business’? Does that mean all the Hogwarts ghosts have some sort of unfinished business also?
I also loved this…
‘I have missed you.’
It was impossible to decide who had spoken the words first, but once they had been said everything seemed easier somehow, as if a big weight had been lifted from both of them. And for a tiny moment, Severus thought that he had seen a smile in Morgaine’s eyes.

That was so beautiful. Your story is SO beautifully written and so true to Severus’ character. I’ve never read a story that looks so deeply into Severus’ feelings and was so true to who he is. After reading your chapters I always feel like other people and I who have written of Severus are making a mockery of him in some way. So thank you for making such an amazing story about the real Severus and for not sugarcoating like most people.

I feel so sorry for Morgaine, knowing that all along Severus cared for Lily. But I like what he said…
‘-Many times I wished I were brave enough to put an end to everything. But then you came into my life, Morgaine, and you gave me something Lily never did. You gave me acceptance, and you gave me your love. And while protecting Lily’s son was my reason to go on living, your love gave me a reason to survive.’

That was SO amazingly written, you’re truly a great writer, Morgaine. And this one nearly made me cry!

‘I will stay by your side as long as you want me to, Morgaine. It is the only place I want to be.’

That was so beautiful. I’m just sitting here copying all your amazing quotes, I might as well just copy your entire story and put it in this review box and just say “GENIUS.” Because it’s ALL so amazing!!


Great chapter!

Author's Response: Naw, dear one, what can I reply except: THANK YOU!!

Really, I read your reviews and think: Hey, maybe this is worth while after all.

I don't think all ghosts at Hogwarts have unfinished business. Some of them chose not to pass on, others might not know why they are still there.

I try not to write Severus too much out of character, but it's hard. No one really knows him, right? We only get to know him through Harry's eyes in canon, and Harry doesn't like him. JKR gave us a lot of space to play.

Still haven't gotten back to your story. I'm very sorry. I am taking a Harry Potter summer course at university and am currently writing a 10 page essay about Severus Snape. That, and having 2 stories going doesn't leave much time/peace for reading.

Talking of writing: I have added a last chapter to Morgaine's Story, I 'bridge' if you like. Have a look, you might like it.

Love, /M


 Report Review

Review #15, by forever_and_a_day IV: Drying Off the Tears

24th June 2009:
wow. beautiful chapter. Makes me wonder; who's staying by whose side? and my favorite line: 'And I understood that it had left you because it could not protect you anymore'... best line I've ever read in a long time.

Author's Response: Who's by whose side? A good question, indeed. We will find out eventually.

Glad you're still with me. /M


 Report Review

Review #16, by forever_and_a_day III: The Pain of the Heart

12th June 2009:
where's the box of tissues? *gropes around blindly* beautiful chapter and i like how Morgaine's going to try and keep him from seeing a heart that he knows is already broken...

Author's Response: Now your sentence "try and keep him from seeing a heart that he knows is already broken..." made me look for tissues as well. *sniffle*

 Report Review

Review #17, by IloveNeville III: The Pain of the Heart

11th June 2009:
Aww, that was so beautifully written. You can write these emotional pieces SO well. I'm always left gobsmacked after reading your chapters because they're always amazing. I feel so horrible for Severus and Morgaine. They love each other so much and yet they cannot say it. I liked the ending, what Morgaine said about him being there from her very first day and how their minds touched even before she knew his first name. Beautifully written, amazing. I can't wait for the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, sweetie! I am so glad you're enjoying this. /M

PS: I will catch up with your story as soon as summer break starts. Promise!


 Report Review

Review #18, by angelmaple II: Ghosts

9th June 2009:
I was so very glad to see the continuation of Morgaine's Story, and oh my goodness, what plot bombshells you have dropped! Brilliant!

I just reread Morgaine's Story again - the box of tissues at my side was extremely useful. But I feel comforted with the idea that Severus and Morgain have Demeter, and they have a chance to make peace with each other.

Love your writing and looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Dear angelmaple,

I am glad to see you here and that you are enjoying the continuation of Morgaine's story. Keep the tissues close by, you will probably need them.

And thank you so much for visiting me at The Petulant Poetess. Hope you found some pieces you liked.

/M


 Report Review

Review #19, by Jolene Wawr II: Ghosts

8th June 2009:
This is definitely an interesting reunion. I really love it!
I wish I couldve read this sooner but since summer has arrive, internet access is harder to get!
Thanks for writing Morgaine!

Author's Response: Better late than never, right?

Yes, summer is dangerous for fan fiction. Whenever will I find time to write? Oh yeah, I will TAKE the time :-)

Thanks for reading and leaving a note. Means a lot! /M


 Report Review

Review #20, by forever_and_a_day II: Ghosts

7th June 2009:
Tear-jerker reunion. wonderfully written. gotta love the fact that Sev's still so smug even though he's a ghost now :D awesome update!!!

Author's Response: I suggest keeping a box with tissues ready for this story. I certainly need one while writing. Then again, Morgaine is my baby, and I feel sorry for her.

About Severus still being smug: I just couldn't take that away from him, could I? I will also find a way to make his ghostly robes billow :P

Glad you liked the update.

Have a nice week.
/M


 Report Review

Review #21, by IloveNeville II: Ghosts

4th June 2009:
I read this hours ago but then my computer turned off an I didn’t realize that I hadn’t reviewed. Until now!

This was a great chapter. Poor Severus. It would be a terribly boring existence. And that part about Morgaine finding his body would be horrible. He just had the stand there and watch her go through the pain of losing the love of her life he couldn’t help her or ease her pain.

Oh, unfinished business. Interesting! I feel so sorry for the guy. He’s suffered so much in life, why won’t it just end?! But, of course there’s someone who gives him a reason to live :)
I like that Minerva returns to Severus’study to make amends. When he came looking for Harry in the Deathly Hallows and she came after him and yelled at him, I felt so bad for how he’d been treated. I mean of course, you can’t blame her for being cold. She was led to believe that he was a murderer. But, he really didn’t deserve what he got. I always believed in his innocence. A lot of people probably say that, but my belief in Severus’ innocence never faltered for a second. All my friends thought that it was just because I had a crush on him and couldn’t see his faults. But I could see his faults. I just saw more good in him than they did!
But, I like how Minerva is making amends. I really loved this part.

“If Severus still had had a heart, it would have skipped a beat. If he still had had breath, it would have caught in his chest. If Minerva had been to Iceland, that meant that she had met Morgaine. His beloved Morgaine. The one person he hoped to see every time the dungeon door opened.”

It was so beautifully written and captured the feeling perfectly. Well done on that!

I liked the conversations with the Bloody Baron. He seemed a lot more civilized than I’d expected. And very very wise. Wow, I really like how you’ve described the way Morgaine was always there for Severus but now she’s not there for herself. Beautiful.

The ending was amazing. I love how Severus was taken back to the time where Morgaine was his student and he was her teacher. Where his values kept him from embracing her. Now a much deeper reason held him back. *sob*

Amazing job. Beautiful!

Author's Response: This must be the longest review I ever received. Thank you!

I think after the Final Battle, when Harry told people the truth about Severus Snape, Minerva - and many others - felt really bad. At least, I hope they did!! And I have always liked Minerva, so that's why she is in this story.

I'm very glad you're enjoying this little story. It means a lot to me.

/M


 Report Review

Review #22, by forever_and_a_day I: Unshed Tears

28th May 2009:
Wahhh!!! Why is Severus dead??!! T_T sev's ghost... interesting twist...I love your writing. you are awesome.

Author's Response: Severus is dead because JKR is an evil woman ;-) (Sorry, Jo! You're not, of course. You're a genius!)

Thanks for finding me awesome :-)

/M


 Report Review

Review #23, by IloveNeville I: Unshed Tears

23rd May 2009:
Severus has taken the form of a ghost. Wow, I didn't see that one coming. I imagined Severus to choose death as opposed to the 'feeble imitation of life' that comes with being a ghost. But it is Severus Snape, you never know what that guys thinking.


That was so sweet how Harry raised his glass to the sky and toasted to Severus. It shows that he really appreciated Severus in the end. And wow, Demeter. What a bombshell! I like that. That there is something of Severus left on the earth (Besides his ghost), A living, breathing reminder of him. Great job. It was amazing! And I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Ha! you're here already! The Power of Suggestion ;-)

Yeah, dear Severus is a ghost. What do you think? Is he happy about that? Did he have a saying in it? ... Wait and see in chapter 2.

And Demeter is just one of the bombshells I'm going to drop.

As for Harry's toast, it's a part of a drabble I once wrote:

'You have never been a pleasant man, Severus Snape. You've made my life a living hell for six long years. And I hated you just as much as you seemed to hate me. But I had no idea that all along, you were just trying to make amends, that you were just trying to help.

'I had no idea how much you had sacrificed, how much you had risked, how much you had suffered. But you have succeeded, Severus Snape. With your dying breath you gave me the tools I needed to carry out my task. Without you, I would not have made it. And none of us would be here today.

'That's why I want to thank you, Severus Snape. And I hope that you, wherever you are, accept my apology.'

*sniff* How soppy was that ...


 Report Review

Review #24, by anonymouswriter I: Unshed Tears

23rd May 2009:
Excellent use of dialogue and the balance between that and your description, you have a fantastic ability to paint a picture in the reader's mind about what is going on. Your characterisation and your use of them is very well done and you seem very clear about the direction that you want to continue on with them. I hope to read more from you.

Anonymous Writer

Author's Response: Thank you very much for your praise. I am glad that you liked the first chapter.

There will be more, I promise, but it might take a while. Morgaine has been with me for almost ten years now, and giving her an end to her story and a chance to take farewell of Severus is proving to be an overwhelming experience. But don't lose how. There will be more.

Thank you for reading and taking the time to leave a review.

Have a nice weekend. /M


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login