Reading Reviews for Two Sides Against the Middle
  
164 Reviews Found

Review #1, by luceelastic Two Special Events

1st November 2010:
AMAZING! I loved the whole story, especially giving Snape and Sirius chances at good lives and Marcus was an excellent touch. There is no doubt that I will re-read this many times. Thank you for such a great story!

Author's Response: Thank you! I had a lot of fun writing it, but it's good to know others like it, too!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Entmaiden November 2

30th May 2010:
See, this is where it would've been really nice to deviate from canon >< But hey, at least Severus and Emily are back on good ground again! But the death of her child was terrible--poor Snape family.

Author's Response: I hated to do it, but never fear, Marcus is very much part of the family. They will recover, though. Thanks, again!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Entmaiden November 1

30th May 2010:
Stupid, stupid Severus. Talk about a moment-killer >< Emily needs to forgive him a little more, I think, and be more open. Didn't she realize when she married that he had about as much empathy as a rock? And, the Potters are gone and Sirius is to blame and it's a terribly dark year even with the Dark Lord gone, eh?

Author's Response: Emily was so convinced by what the Tedious One told her that she allowed her worst fears to take over in her mind. Unfortunately, Severus's little slip-up was just the proof she needed to confirm it. Thanks for reveiwing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Entmaiden A New Trap

30th May 2010:
Nooo..Emily should not doubt Severus. At all. He needs her and, well, this is a happy fluffy fic right? No need to turn bad now! (even if there are 50 chapters left..) Plus, well, we don't know for sure what Voldemort demanded of Emily but you wrote this so that we could infer pretty much only one thing. Guess I'll have to keep reading for confirmation, though!

Author's Response: Emily shouldn't doubt Severus, but the Tedious One is very persuasive and knows just what buttons to push when he wants someone to fall into his plans. Severus has no idea what was said to her and therefore has no idea how to fix it. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Entmaiden An Awkward Moment

30th May 2010:
She's pregnant again, isn't she? Aww..that's so cute :) I really just can't wait until Hope grows up and her personality emerges! And I'm glad you gave Sirius some maturity--enough to back off at least.

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, their family seems to be growing, and things seem to be going somewhat well at the moment.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Entmaiden Settling In

30th May 2010:
I liked this whole progression of Severus growing as a teacher. You did a good job seguing his attitude to how he treats his students.

Author's Response: I think even the best teachers need a time of adjustment, where they figure out how to take over a classroom. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Entmaiden No Other Option

30th May 2010:
Alright, there we go, I was wondering how they were going to get Severus back with Voldemort (can't be THAT AU) But good to see it's through Dumbledore and...well at least he has countercurses in this universe to help!

Author's Response: Thank you! I wanted Snape to have a loving family to sort of have his back.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Entmaiden The Prophecy and a Day to Remember

30th May 2010:
Aww.."We gave each other Hope." How sweet!

Once again, here the story could've become much darker. I'm much happier with the fluffy fic! Plus, Severus loves her! Yay..now just Lord Voldemort and Death Eaters and all that stuff...

Author's Response: I couldn't resist that line when I was at that point in the conversation, although the nickname has meaning that stretches through the story. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Entmaiden Further Repercussions

30th May 2010:
Ok, so I am very happy this AU enough where he is not a Death Eater yet. But, of course, now we have the further repercussions--but maybe he will talk to Dumbledore and be safe at Hogwarts? We'll have to wait and find out! Good story still, by the way! (In case I haven't told you that enough)

Author's Response: Thank you, again! They work it out, eventually...

 Report Review

Review #10, by Entmaiden Repercussions

30th May 2010:
Ok good they got married. Even if it was a shotgun wedding. Still better than obliviating themselves! I'm glad you said this was fluffy--because there have been several parts now where it could've taken a very bad turn (what if he joined the Death Eaters? What if he had obliviated himself before talking to her & thus she was pregnant but the father didn't remember? That would be odd...)

Author's Response: Thank you for the reviews! Yes, I could have sent it down a scary path but I chose the fluffy one instead. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Entmaiden Stag Party

30th May 2010:
Aww..stupid men. Thinking they know what's best for poor Emily. She's so nice..whereas in this story, Lily is portrayed as quite self-centered and demanding. I'm glad she finally broke it off with Black (that was driving me crazy! I was so afraid they'd end up together with 40 chapters of regret) but Severus is still being pretty darn thick about the whole thing. But hey, thats what the other 58 chapters are for!

Author's Response: Thank you!

I like your comment about the "stupid men". Sirius *knows* Emily wants what he wants while Severus *knows* Emily wants him to be happy with Lily. They all still need to grow up somewhat.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Entmaiden After School

30th May 2010:
Ok, so I have pity for Sirius. But I still want him to dump Emily. Or, even better, Emily dumps him! Yes and then goes happily with Severus who doesn't join the Death Eaters and nobody dies and everyone lives happily ever after...

And this is why fluffy hpff can be terrible--because you know how some things work out or how they must work out due to the original books **sigh** Anyway, I'm onto Chapter 7 in hopes Emily comes to her senses!

Author's Response: Thanks, again!

Yes, we know there will be some sadness due to the face that canon is the way it is, but hopefully the license I've taken with it is believable.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Entmaiden The End of School

30th May 2010:
Damn Severus. I'm sorry, but really! How thick can a guy be? Hmm..what does she get out of it? She was only just gushing sexy stuff about me, but what could she possibly gain from having relations with me? >.<

Of course, I think you've caught his obsession with Lily dead-on. That's what I like about this so much--actually has him being obsessive and dumb and kind-hearted and has Sirius being the dog that he is, not some over-romanticized, good-on-the-inside, never-meant-to-abuse-girls, love-struck puppy. Anyway, I'll stop ranting now and try to get through another couple of chapters today because I MUST know what happens!

Author's Response: Thanks! You saw exactly what I pictured when I wrote the story. I'm glad you found it so enjoyable!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Entmaiden An Immodest Proposal

30th May 2010:
Ok, so I actually have read your story before--or at least some of it. Like I said, it's been in my favorites forever--so at one time, I guess, I had started it. Because I definately remember this part! However, there is so much I don't remember--and I don't think I've left reviews prior readings,a nd it must've been so long ago that it took me 4 chapters to realize I'm not reading this for the first time!

Anyway, I am as enthralled as I was the first time when I put it on my favorites. Of course, as a Severus-lover and Sirius-hater in this particular story, I kind of wish he'd've taken the deal (even though it would've been an extrememly awkward transaction) because I don't remember if I know if she ends up with Sirius (I have a huntch right now that he proposes..but I don't know if it's a deja-vu thing like the first 4 chapters or just a gutteral instinct..and I have no idea about her answer). Anyway, your story continues to please and, although it may take me a while to finish the whole novel, I am very excited to continue reading!

Author's Response: I'm finally able to properly answer reviews, and now it's time for me to catch up!

I'm glad you've enjoyed this, whenever you read it. I hope you like the way things worked out. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Entmaiden Moonlit Danger

29th May 2010:
Another good chapter! Still upset that Emily's going for Sirius--and her belief in Severus' take on destiny. But, hey, that's probably why you wrote another 30 chapters! Great story so far!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! Yeah, Emily seems to be drifting into something she would rather not be part of at this point, but she doesn't see the point of avoiding it.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Entmaiden Dancing with Destiny

29th May 2010:
Yep, typical perverted teenage boys >< Wrongful use of invisiblity cloak for sure.

I really like how you portray Severus as so moonstruck over Lily; very canon & realistic and all.As for Emily...although Sirius seems to have alright intentions, this is kind of where you'd wish she'd dump him for still having quite a few bad ones. But still, very good writing!

Author's Response: Thank you! Emily is in one of those situations where she wonders if it might be better to stick with the boyfriend she has, because that way she at least has a boyfriend. Not the most rational way of thinking, but she's 16 years old, which is not always the most rational stage of life.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Entmaiden The Date and the Study Partner

29th May 2010:
I love fluffy Marauder stories :) Especially when they're not centered on Sirius or James/Lily (both usually fall into a similar pattern in the majority of stories)

So I favorited your story months ago and have just now got around to reading it (I do that alot) and it started off very nicely. Quick introduction --which I like-- to characters, new and old. Your beta did a great job because I didn't see any syntax problems and your writing flows very nicely. Can't wait for chapter 2!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked my story enough to come back to it. I hope you enjoyed reading it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Dani Two Special Events

2nd April 2010:
Hey- you've done a marvelous job here interweaving the generations, throwing in plot twists, and going above and beyond my expectations. I really enjoyed the characters of both Emily Snape and Hope Snape. Many times, when I read stories that incorporate non-canon characters, they interfere greatly with the characterization, and disrupt events from the novels in a way that doesn't seem realistic. I never felt that either Emily or Hope committed these acts, even when Emily saved Sirius at the ministry, and Emily met Harry in the Headmaster's office to ask about her father. I felt like they were very well interwoven into the general gist of the stories.

For me, I found a common theme that really expresses how simply having love and faith and the ability to smile in the face of overwhelming odds can change the outcome for the better.

At first I was sad that you delved so little into Harry's story, but as I kept reading, I found that the parallel direction that your story takes helped me understand why Snape is so dismissive of Harry in canon. Also, it helped me comprehend his negative attitude towards Harry in general, and that it likely didn't stem from obstinant hatred, but just a general overlook of goodness, whcih can happen to anyone with a justified grudge.

I wish I could give you some constructive criticism, but after reading this in a flurry of days, it feels like going back and searching for something specifically to critique, which doesn't feel right after I've enjoyed this so immensely. So I hope you can be happy with praise. :)

Thanks for the great read, and I hope to read more of your outstanding work in the future!

-Dani

Author's Response: What a delightful review! Thank you for taking the time to write it!

Each person is the main character of the "story" of his or her own life, which makes us all supporting characters in the lives of the people around us. That's why I like looking at the tangental characters. They have a lot of stories that haven't been told. The next story I plan to post here is about Ted & Andromeda Tonks.

I do think that the things like love and trust that the characters develop with each other is part of how they get through their troubles, and how they manage to triumph. Those are the things that turn our real life problems into adventures (after it's over, of course!).

I appreciate that there are some issues here and there, and if you recall anything glaring, feel free to point it out. It wasn't my first fan fic story, but as one of the first, it's got its problems. I consider myself a work in progress and I'm hoping to improve as I go, in order to eventually make the jump to original work.

Thank you again for such a nice review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by spam_up_sam Two Special Events

16th March 2010:
A wedding, twins (a down turn for Emily, what with not being able to have any more children) but altogether a perfect end to a perfect story. It's been an absolute pleasure to read and you've certainly challenged the way I saw Snape.
Very sad this is finished, but well, I can always re read =D
spam_up_sam

Author's Response: Thank you! You've been with me since the beginning and you've been a doll to stick with me even when the plot veered away from your favorite characters. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Pixileanin Two Special Events

16th March 2010:
That was a wonderful ending to an epic tale. I enjoyed reading your entire story. I loved the last scene. It was a beautiful picture of redemption for Severus Snape.

Author's Response: Thank you! I really felt like that scene closed a circle. I'm glad you liked it too.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Drummergirlred Two Special Events

15th March 2010:
I went back and looked and I first reviewed this story sometime in early November, just after I joined HPFF. This was one of the first stories I began reading and defiantly the one I've been with the longest.
It has been a pleasure reading and reviewing and I look forward to your other works!
This story was just fantastic! BRAVO!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed this story so much! I really appreciate all the great reviews. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #22, by spam_up_sam Hope Realized

15th March 2010:
=D Lovely! At last, and it was so wonderful as well.
spam_up_sam

Author's Response: Thank you! It does seem like forever, but they're only about 20 years old, there.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Drummergirlred Hope Realized

15th March 2010:
I almost cried, I was doing fine until the unveiling of the Bogart. Just great I'm loving the ending! I'm interested to see the prologue.

Author's Response: I didn't mean to make anyone cry! I'm glad you enjoyed that chapter. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #24, by spam_up_sam In a Muddle

14th March 2010:
Only two more chapters!
I'll miss this story =[
spam_up_sam

Author's Response: Me too! I'm glad you've enjoyed it! Thanks for the great reviews!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Drummergirlred In a Muddle

14th March 2010:
I'm getting so excited! I'm gonna hate for this story to come to an end, but all good things come to an end!

Author's Response: We do need to leave them to their ever afters, I suppose, but I hated coming to the end of the story, myself.

Thank you for the great reviews!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>