Reading Reviews for New Identity
  
81 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MissWeasley Was It Really Love?

24th January 2010:
Great story and a lovely ending :)
I can't wait to read the sequel!

Author's Response: I'm pleased that you liked it. That's the whole point of writing isn't it? If people didn't like it, I wouldn't do it. Thankyou for reviewing, and I hope you like the sequel just as much as you liked this one.
MG


 Report Review

Review #2, by MissWeasley You'll Thank Me Later

24th January 2010:
Loved the ending there; what Lily said under the influence of veritaserum was so creative and funny! Keep up the good work :)

Author's Response: Haha thanks :D It was just a random idea that I had after writers block and I though "What if...?" Glad you liked it :)
MG


 Report Review

Review #3, by MissWeasley If Only I Could Die Right Now...

24th January 2010:
Such a great chapter, and LOVED the ending :)

Author's Response: Thanks :) This was probably one of my most satisfying chapters.
MG


 Report Review

Review #4, by irrelevant Was It Really Love?

24th January 2010:
YAY!! I've read your whole story in one go, and I must say that I LOVED IT!!
At times i thought Patrick was behind all the drama and cursing (yeah, I guess I was a little prejudiced towards him but hey, it's Voldy's fault ruining Slytherin's reputation like that... so, I blame him :):D)
other times, I thought Rose was under some kind of curse, or was under the command of some vengeful Death Eater wannabe creature.
I like your version best though :) and I'll definitely check out the sequel! :):)

Author's Response: Geez thanks :D I'm so glad you liked it. Yes, please check out the sequel. Thanks for reviewing!
MG


 Report Review

Review #5, by MissWeasley Ginny's Story

24th January 2010:
I loved this chapter so much, epsecially Ginny's POV. I also liked Ginny's advice that Voldemort would have never been born if it weren't for a love potion :)
I can't wait to read what happens next and keep up the good work.
Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks again :) I love writing from Ginny's POV, so I'm glad you liked it
MG


 Report Review

Review #6, by MissWeasley Half full or Half empty?

24th January 2010:
Excellent introductory chapter, and with the cliffhanger I can't wait to read what happens next :)
Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and leaving a review! I'm glad you liked it :)
MG


 Report Review

Review #7, by amyincharleston Was It Really Love?

29th December 2009:
I did not at all see that coming with Bailey! What a jerk! Great ending

Author's Response: I didn't even see that coming... and I was writing it! Yes, he's a jerk. If you like, you can read the SEQUEL! :D Thankyou for reading and reviewing!
MG


 Report Review

Review #8, by amyincharleston Lies Are So Overrated

29th December 2009:
Another great chapter. Funny with the shield charm and the Hufflepuffs and great talk with Scorpius too

Author's Response: Thankyou. Grand finale coming up next :)
MG


 Report Review

Review #9, by amyincharleston You'll Thank Me Later

29th December 2009:
I cracked up the whole time I read this one. Can you write a whole fanfic with somebody being affected by veritaserum please?

Author's Response: I might... one day I shall. Haha thankyou.
MG


 Report Review

Review #10, by amyincharleston A Very Sherry Christmas

29th December 2009:
Still awesome, just the right amount of confusion with the lack of a Christmas present

Author's Response: My longest chapter ever... with absolutely nothing happening ;) Thankyou.
MG


 Report Review

Review #11, by amyincharleston Perfect Would Be An Understatement

29th December 2009:
So so so good. Have to keep reading

Author's Response: Thankyou. Please do.
MG


 Report Review

Review #12, by amyincharleston Who Knows?

29th December 2009:
Awesome- doesn't seem like a filler chapter to me!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!
MG


 Report Review

Review #13, by amyincharleston Scream-A-Thon

29th December 2009:
Oh no, Bailey and Emma?! I like that Lily helped Madame Desland instead of pranking with everyone else

Author's Response: Yep Bailey and Emma ;) Lily was a little shocked, didn't want to run into them again. Thankyou!
MG


 Report Review

Review #14, by amyincharleston Rosie's Lunacy

29th December 2009:
Is Rose imperiused or something? Homegirl is crazy. Loving the story

Author's Response: Ah you're on to something there... Thanks for reviewing.
MG


 Report Review

Review #15, by amyincharleston If Only I Could Die Right Now...

29th December 2009:
Hahaha woops, looks like Scorpius is going for the wrong girl. Can't wait to see how this goes. Also, weird comment maybe but good job on the spacing- I hate reading ones that are so scrunched together they're hard to read.

Author's Response: Much more drama to come! Haha thankyou, but the spacing isn't me. It automatically puts a million spaces between each paragraph. I have to backspace them to get them to an appropriate length. Thankyou anyway ;)
MG


 Report Review

Review #16, by amyincharleston In The Spotlight

29th December 2009:
Another good chapter. Rose is still totally creepy/scary.

Author's Response: Agreed :D Thanks.
MG


 Report Review

Review #17, by amyincharleston Ginny's Story

29th December 2009:
Um so Ginny's recount of the love potion debacle while she was at Hogwarts was hilarious

Author's Response: It was just another random idea I had ;) Thanks for the review!
MG


 Report Review

Review #18, by amyincharleston The most dangerous emotion... Love

29th December 2009:
Okay wow. Great writing and I'm a little terrified of Rose. She's definitely her own person in this chapter. Can't believe she wanted to give Scorpius a permanent love potion. Pumped for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Rose is definitely not your cookie-cutter character. Thankyou!
MG


 Report Review

Review #19, by amyincharleston Half full or Half empty?

29th December 2009:
You're a good writer! Be more confident! I don't know yet where the story will go but the plot seems to be well developed. You could mold the character's personalities to whatever you like- if you do see them all as similar to characters we already know, then maybe describe them a little more, for example "studious as Aunt Hermione" or whatever. Anyway, can't wait to see where the story goes!

Author's Response: Thanks a heap :) Please keep reading.
MG


 Report Review

Review #20, by Leigh Kelley Was It Really Love?

22nd December 2009:
Uh, excuse me for a moment while I pick my jaw up off the floor.

Honestly? I never saw that coming. Bailey was the most unlikeliest person to have been responsible for all this, especially since he seemed so nice and everything in the beginning. I could have SWORN it was Patrick the whole time. What with everything surrounding him and such. Well, you really fooled me, haha. I was off the entire time; I definitely wouldn't have made a good detective.

Characterizations;
Rose - You already know that I love what you did with her character. If it weren't for the love potion a lot of these things wouldn't have happened, but thanks to Bailey, she wasn't in her right mind for most of it. She was one of my favourite characters, despite all the mental stuff. You really did a good job of showing a person blinded by love.

Dom - It was such a switch in her personality, but now I can honestly understand why she would react that way. Rose is her cousin too, and it's probably a hard choice deciding between which one to believe, especially if Rose was convincing enough. I liked the different sides to her character; considerate, strong, and loony when needing to discover the truth. And its good that she knows when to apologise as well.

Bailey - A very complex individual. Throughout the entire piece I saw him as a very sweet person. Until the end of course, when he was shown to be the biggest mental one of them all. I can't believe the lengths he went through just to get a bit of popularity. He ended up doing an injustice to not only Emma, but Lily as well. The fact that he didn't like either of them just makes him seem so cold and uncaring. Just goes to show you that even the nicest ones (in appearances, anyway) have secrets, and shouldn't be taken too lightly. Loved him, but not what he did.

Lily - I liked her character, though she did get overshadowed some times by all the events going on around her. I'm glad that she didn't cower away from everything that was happening, and managed to face them head-on. I think she has a bit of both of her parents in there, and it showed when she was dealing with certain situations. You did a good job showing her growth and experiences, and I enjoyed all of it.

Plot;
Although there were a few holes, I like what you did here. You managed to weave a very good story, and eventually everything managed to connect himself. I will admit that I was confused at points, but that's not a bad thing. It all cleared itself up, and I can appreciate your storyline even better now that its over.

Quickly though, you mention Patrick as having ice blue eyes in this chapter, but early on (in chapter seven I think) you say he has cold grey eyes. Not a big deal, but I thought I'd point it out. Sometimes you missed out words, and had a few typos throughout, but I'm sure that when you read it over you'll catch them all. Nothing too glaring, as I wasn't once taken out of the story.

I really liked this, and it was nice reading a story through Lily's eyes, for once. It was fresh, exciting, and the twists were very good. Excellent job :).

~L. Kelley

Author's Response: Haha thankyou. I never meant for Patrick and Lily to become an item, but I just got so sick of Bailey being the nice boy, so I thought 'What if?' Then I had a major job of turning it all on its head for one final twist ;) It was meant to be Patrick bad guy, Bailey new boyfriend, but I like it better this way. Gives a bit more depth to both boys' characters.

I like that character analysis you did there :) Gives a good insite into how the reader views these characters. Haha now I'm reviewing you ;)

Yes, in some places the story has issues, but thanks to you, I can now fix them! Hmm now that you mention Patrick's eyes, I think I changed his hair colour as well. Maybe. I shall have to go back and check.

Thankyou so, so much for doing all those reviews for me :) I might just get you to do the sequel as well now... Haha some time soon I shall. You're reviews are awesome, I just can't thank you enough. Merry Christmas!
MG


 Report Review

Review #21, by Leigh Kelley Lies Are So Overrated

22nd December 2009:
Good chapter :).

I'm glad that everything is finally working out for Lily. Yes people are against her, but they don't know why she was being so blunt. The truth does hurt sometimes, so I can understand why they are upset. The truth can also be given in a nice way. Lily just happens to have very blunt thoughts, haha. Oh well. I don't think she really has to apologise to them; only the ones who matter, which she just did.

I'm glad Dom and her are back on good terms again. I wouldn't have blamed Lily if she stopped talking to her for quite some time. I guess everything she went through that year matured her out some. They were all somewhat grown-up situations (by people being immature of course), and she's a big person now because of them.

As for who cursed Rose. I hope that gets revolved in the last chapter! Or if it doesn't, that there's a sequel somewhere :).

~L. Kelley

Author's Response: Whoops sorry about that last respose. It sent before I meant it to, so I shall continue here. I remember now why Lily blacked out. She was cursed, stunned by Dom. It was all clear in my head, but after rereading it I realise now that I didn't explain it properly. And there's my nutty characters again ;) I must have a soft spot for them. Thankyou.

Next review lol. Yes, the truth most certainly does hurt in some circumstances, but, as Lily finds out, it is so much better than living a lie. Some immaturity sparks maturity, and they've all grown through this situation, especially Lily. All shall be revealed. Thankyou for your reviews!
MG


 Report Review

Review #22, by Leigh Kelley You'll Thank Me Later

22nd December 2009:
The veritaserum is a good idea, in the sense that it forces her to have to tell the truth and Dom can finally shut up about the whole thing.

It's just...a little weird all the lengths they are going to, you know? Veritaserum is completely illegal, and getting it just to prove that a family member is lying? Either believe her or don't. At least, that's the way it would seem to me. Just a wee bit farfetched (with all the ropes and Lily blacking out - why did she black out, anyway?), considering they are family, but it's still exciting.

I wonder if the potion has worn off enough for Scorpius to understand the extent of what Lily admitted to him. I would have thought everything had worked out by now, but it's all just getting worse. Hm. Wonder why Lily and Rose didn't instruct a book. Details for love potions would be in one somewhere - a trick to Diagon Alley would have done the trick. Or since they agreed on one that wouldn't last forever, one from the joke shop would have been good too. Hm.

Uh-oh. Lily's pretty unfortunate. One would think that Bailey would know by now that the stairs turn into a slide when a guy tries to go up with. If it happened once, it shouldn't have happened again. Aye. But, now she's admitted her feelings to him, and I wonder what his reaction would be. Considering, we learned from the last chapter that Emma and him are supposedly in love. As in love as fourteen year olds can be, at least.

This chapter had nice twists, just seemed unbelievable at some points. If you hadn't asked for plot holes, I probably wouldn't have even commented on it. Because, it was nicely written, the chapter flowed well, and it had me reacting. I don't like Dom, and she's usually one of my favourites. She's just as nutty and Rosie xD.

Anyway. Reading on.

~L. Kelley

Author's Response: The verituserum was another one of those ideas that just jumped on me unexpectedly, and I know it seems like a bit much, but I'd just dug myself into a little bit of a hole and didn't have any other ideas. Writers block is a true pain ;) Hmm I can't remember why Lily blacked out. I must have altered the paragraph, but accidently left a few things I shouldn't have. I've had a few comments as to why she keeps blacking out. I shall change that, or at least explain it.

I suppose that's a good question. Why didn't they consult a book? I can't answer that properly, I'm afraid :S Maybe they didn't think about it. Interesting, though.
Well, if they got a Love Potion from Diagon Alley, really the only place they could get it would be WWW, and their family members run it, so they would get suspicious.


 Report Review

Review #23, by Leigh Kelley Perfect Would Be An Understatement

22nd December 2009:
And the mystery continues. I can't think of why Rose would talk to Dom about the potion, and why it'd seem to Dom that Lily cursed Rose and such. Everything seems to be backfiring for the poor girl, and I wouldn't be surprised if she locked herself up and never showed her face again. Seriously, though. What is going on? I'm at a complete loss here, and it gets weirder and weirder with each new chapter I read. Every time I think I may have something figured out, or things seem to be getting better, something strange happens again. But, I guess that's what makes a good mystery. Wouldn't be fun if I guessed it all halfway into your story.

Dom ended up making Lily look like a fool. I know she's mad and all, but she should have thought about the team first. Hogging the quaffle doesn't help anyone. And then poor Lily finally took the initiative and ended up making one blunder and now it seems like everyone's against her. Wish she didn't try to resign though, but I can only imagine how she's feeling at that point. Doubt James will let her resign D:. Or at least I hope that he won't.

~L. Kelley

Author's Response: Well if the story was written from Dom's POV, I'm sure we'd all understand what was going through her mind. I didn't plan the story out very well, which I was kind of worried about. I didn't stick to my plan at all. I had all these random ideas hit me (especially towards the end) and I just tried to incorporate them. They made the story extremely unpredictable, but heaps of fun to write.

All in all, Dom's a Weasley. Didn't think through anything thoroughly. Reacted with her emotions more than her head. James, despite what Lily thinks, loves his little sister just as much as he loves his Quidditch.
Thankyou again for reviewing!
MG


 Report Review

Review #24, by Leigh Kelley Who Knows?

22nd December 2009:
Lily just keeps getting involved in a series of unfortunate events. If she had listened to Dom, it wouldn't have happened of course, but the feeling of flying does aid in pushing away what you're feeling at the time. I can only just imagine how nasty a fall that was.

So Rose was cursed into doing all those nasty things? Hm. I bet it was that blonde Slytherin with his face always in a grimace. If I remember correctly, he had raised his wand and then lowered it. Of course, I could be wrong, because I have no clue as to why he would curse Rose. But I just wanted to make a guess as to who it may be xD.

In any case, it makes sense, and I'm anxious to see who it may have been. Also want to see what comes of the Bailey thing, so reading on.

~L. Kelley

Author's Response: I wanted to name it 'a series of unfortunate events' but I might be caught for more copyright breeches ;) So Rosie may be mad, but she's not completely phsyco murderer mad, if that makes any sense at all. Flying does put the mind at ease, if only for a little while. I was going to write that he did actually use a spell, and that was meant to be a clue in any case, but I didn't include that bit. Ah Mr Blonde Slytherin ;) You shall see what his role in all this is soon enough. Thankyou for the review!
MG


 Report Review

Review #25, by Leigh Kelley Scream-A-Thon

22nd December 2009:
So Rose is hitting people from behind with spells now? She would have made a good Slytherin. No wonder she wants in the Malfoy family. Her and Draco will get along grand. They can better think up ways to curse people from behind! Honestly though, I like it. Your Rose is still very different, and I'm enjoying it. She's so fresh, and unstable, and everything that makes a bad character interesting. She's definitely not cookie-cutter, and that's what I enjoy about her. I know it may seem like she's standing out more to me than your MC, considering how much I talk about her, but I just can't get over how unique she is. I commend you for taking this risk.

Well, this is certainly a different kind of Halloween. I like it, especially the thought of so many wizards and witches running around being crazy with spells. It definitely leaves it open for someone to get hurt really badly. Which once again brings us back to Rose. What on earth could have happened to her? I like that Lily didn't leave her there. It shows a lot about her character, that even after everything that went down between them, she was able to realize that family is truly what matters. I'm seeing some Harry in her, definitely.

Bailey and Emma? How weird. Not weird as in it can't happen, just weird in that I didn't see it coming. It's an interesting twist, especially since it seems that Lily likes him. I hope things don't get too awkward.

So, I liked this chapter. It has the description I was talking about, with just the right amount of dialogue. It flowed really well, and you had some nice ideas in here. Definitely enjoyed this.

Reading on.

~L. Kelley

Author's Response: Haha yes, Draco and Rose would probably get on swimmingly. She'd fit in nicely ;) Most of Lily's problems have to do with my very different bad Rosie, so naturally she stands out.

I thought that the Halloween bit was a little unbelievable, but it was just so fun to write. I couldn't leave it out. Despite all Lily's worries, she's so much like her parents.
Hmm Bailey and Emma... ;) That's all I'm saying for now.

Ah yes. I'm kind of afraid that this is where everything goes a little off track. Towards the end. I got some new ideas and tried to incorporate them into the story without changing much. Explainations that don't really make sense or flow. Oh well, I'll let you find them on your own. No doubt you will.
Thankyou for your great reviews. After this, I shall go back and edit :)
MG


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>