Reading Reviews for Murder in the Bathroom
  
56 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SaraMalfoy The Rules of Combat

6th October 2009:
Excellent:D. Really Great. At first I thought Harry was going to
kill Draco D: But, I was wrong. Can't wait for more:)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you were surprised. It's only a one-shot, though, so there is no more =(

 Report Review

Review #2, by Laugharama_llama The Rules of Combat

4th October 2009:
Whoa. My eyes have been popping out of my head ever since Harry died. Logically, Harry wouldn't have died because Draco did MEAN the spell. But I think I like your version better. :D

This was very well written. Your transition between Harry's thoughts and Draco's thoughts is fantastic. And I love how you made in Myrtle's bathroom; I just thought that was funny. Oh and the way you made Harry think about the rules of combat tie in with that last line was ingenious!

A few favorite lines are in order :D
"She looked so much better with a long, red ponytail than Bill did."
-HAHAHA, that was a wonderful comparison!

"If Harry werenít the Chosen One; if he werenít afraid of the monumental consequences and what it would mean for the world, he would ring Deanís neck."
-Haha, oh Harry! Always the selfless one!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! I'm so happy to see such a strong reaction to my story. I was excited to see that some people had the same views on this scene as I did. =)

Thank you so much! I appreciate your review ^_^


 Report Review

Review #3, by InvisibleWitch19 The Rules of Combat

20th September 2009:
Oh my gosh. You definitely caught me off guard there! I totally did NOT expect Draco to kill Harry. I thought it would be Harry to kill Draco!! That is so awesome; how do you write like that?

Anyway, I think the start of the story when Harry was planning Dean's demise- LOL that was a nice touch of humor- was good so the later part of the story seemed darker or something.

It was so unexpected- you made Harry die! And here I was, thinking the Murder in the Bathroom was going to be Draco's death. Well, great story; I totally love it. 10/10. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Yay, I'm glad I could surprise you with the ending! That was the plan. XD I don't know how I wrote it like that. My idea just carried me through, I guess. I watched a lot of Twilight Zone when I was a kid, if that's any indication =P

Thanks! I wasn't really planning on having the beginning be FUNNY funny, but I kind of liked the effect it had on the piece as a whole, and I'm glad you did too. =)

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #4, by TheDirigiblePlum The Rules of Combat

17th September 2009:
:O That came as a shock! So well done for that, it's nice to have a good shock every now and again. :D

Some parts of this actually made me laugh, with the beginning being quite upbeat (to me anyway) with Harry musing about beating up Dean and stuff. This I liked because it made the second section feel even darker by comparison.

Harry and Draco were both true to form in this, especially Harry, because he's my favourite character (hence my TERRIBLE shock when he died in this! ;)) and I like to see him written well!

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! Shocking is what I was going for =P

I didn't mean for it to be funny, but if it made you laugh, that's great! I appreciate your comment about the contrast between the first part and the second part. =)

Thank you so much! I know what you mean about Harry - he's one of my favorites too, but I really wanted him to die. XD Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Icy Flame The Rules of Combat

6th September 2009:
Wow . That truly gives a twist to the episode, and you write very powerfully! It's shocking to read, and very suspensful. What an original idea. Wow. You are an incredible writer!

Author's Response: Thank you! I really appreciate your praise ^_^

 Report Review

Review #6, by siriusgirl1 The Rules of Combat

2nd September 2009:
Wow O_o. That was intense! Even though it was... not exactly the happiest of stories, this one-shot was very impressive! The only part that I felt didn't work very well was the sentence immediately following Draco's Unforgivable. Honestly, I can't pinpoint exactly what bugged me, but it did. That's not very helpful, I know--sorry *winces*. Anyhoo, terrific job! 10/10

Siriugirl1

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. I'll take another look at that sentence. Thanks so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by JLHufflepuff The Rules of Combat

10th August 2009:
Wow! I was expecting Harry to murder Draco for some reason, so I was a bit shocked when it was the other way around. I like the way you build this, with Harry thinking about fighting Dean because of Ginny and then actually encountering a real fight-scene with Malfoy. I'm just wondering - why did you wish this happened? How did you come up with this idea. It's really original, and I enjoyed reading it.

Author's Response: Thank you! Ha, you fell for the trap =P I wanted this to happen because I really wanted Harry to die in the end of DH. Or at least to stay dead. I think it would have been much more powerful an ending if The Boy Who Lived ended up dying. But I know it's a children's series so she didn't go that route. It's not that I don't like Harry or anything like that, but just for the sake of the story, I think it would have been better. Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Jellyman The Rules of Combat

9th August 2009:
Hi! Jellyman from TGS, here with your review :)

This was really, really good. The situation turned deadly quite quickly, and I liked that - it was very exciting. I really liked Harry's reflections in the beginning, they had a very sinister undertone, I thought. It really brought up the tension a notch and semi foreshadowed the dramatic ending - but I thought Draco was going to die! Harry came as a completely shock, but honestly, well done!

Harry found it difficult to pay attention to where he was walking and plot Dean's demise at the same time.
This was a brilliant touch; you added a snippet of humor just before the most dramatic moment and it was so effective. It really contrasted with what happened next. Great work!

A little critique: one section I didn't feel flowed as well as the rest, was the scene where Harry overheard Myrtle and Draco. It just seemed to move a bit too fast and I think it could be elaborated a little bit more. However, if it was intended - you know, for dramatic effect - ignore me :) I just thought I'd mention it.

Anyway, brilliant work :) Sorry this isn't longer, I couldn't think of anything else to say - well, other than ridiculous squeeing which would ruin the professional look :P 10/10!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm really glad you liked it. ^_^ The plan was for readers to think Draco would die (maniacal laugh)

I understand your concern about that bit moving too fast, but I wanted it to feel like real time, and for Harry, the whole thing moved too fast. Before he could even realize what was going on, it was over.

Thank you so much! I really appreciate your review ^_^


 Report Review

Review #9, by marinahill The Rules of Combat

6th August 2009:
Ooooh! You really know how to rock the boat, dont you? This was enthralling, really and truly engaging. I loved how you started off describing Harry's anger towards Dean, how much he loves Ginny and how he refuses to break the rules of combat. That is what made the ending so exciting and thrilling; it was the fact that Draco broke all the rules and killed Harry. Men, eh?

Fantastic work! This really fits the prompt and it was a pleasure to read.

- Marina

Author's Response: Hehe, I've always loved being nasty to my characters (and to readers XD) Thank you so much. I really appreciate your kind words. I can't tell you how happy I am that you liked it ^_^

 Report Review

Review #10, by Yoshi_Kitten The Rules of Combat

1st August 2009:
OMGosh, when I read the title: "Murder in the Bathroom" I thought that maybe Harry was going to accidentally kill Draco. . . But then it was the other way around! Whoa, that was unexpected! But still great! You did a wonderful job with this one-shot and I really liked it a lot! =)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it and that you were surprised =)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Aether The Rules of Combat

30th July 2009:
Wow. That ending was...wow. Unexpected. Cruel. Brilliant. Heart-wrenching. AMAZING. I'm still gaping at my computer screen.

Your an excellent writer. This one shot flows very smoothly, and the way you center it around the "rules of combat" is just billiant. I am insanely jealous. lol. The only critique I do have is that there could have been more foreshadowing for the ending (maybe there was and I just missed it), but even then, I understand why making it sudden and unexpected might have added to the one-shot's effectiveness. ;)

Thanks for such an amazing read! This is one of the best one-shots I've read...ever. :D 10,000,000,000/10

Aether

Author's Response: Thank you! That's the reaction I wanted to get from my readers so I guess it's mission accomplished for me ^_^

Thank you! As far as the foreshadowing goes, I didn't purposely put any in there because I wanted it to be a surprise. If you could guess who was going to die in the end, what's the fun of that? =P

Thank you so much! Wow, EVER? I'm blushing... =)


 Report Review

Review #12, by DracoFerret11 The Rules of Combat

27th July 2009:
DarkRose here!

Woah!

Awesome one-shot!

I really loved the plot-twist. I thought this was going to follow HBP more, but well... obviously not. :]

True, I don't like the concept of Draco-the-murderer, but this was so original that I didn't mind it.

I really liked that you kept things in character. Very legit. :D

Great all around.

So shocking and explosive!

Stupendous writing.

--DracoFerret11/DarkRose

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. I'm obsessed with killing Harry XD I just wanted him to die so bad in the end, I'm trying to satisfy my fantasy in fanfiction ^_^

Thank you so much! I really appreciate your praise. =)


 Report Review

Review #13, by DancingGirl The Rules of Combat

23rd July 2009:
Good take on what could have happened. I actually like it a lot. I wish it wasn't just that little bit. Good job! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it ^_^

 Report Review

Review #14, by kaityb The Rules of Combat

22nd July 2009:
Hey its kaityb from TGS here for your review :D. For some reason every time I try and review this it logs me out.. so this is a non-signed in review lol.

I really liked this story! I was quite surprised actually cause I'm such a die hard Marauders/Next-Gen. fan lol. Didn't you win for this? I think I remember seeing the name somewhere?

I really liked how you started this, with Harry watched Dean and Ginny. How he was comparing how he would have kissed Ginny to how Dean was, like how he would have held her and appreciated her, etc.

i also really liked your characterisations of both Harry and Draco. They seemed to be very in character. I dont know if it was just me but this really reminded me of the Bathroom Duel in HBP Movie (although this was written before that was released lol). Well sort of the same, minus Myrtle and the watching Dean/Ginny, and well Harry wins in the movie/book.

This story had very good flow. I found it just beautiful to read. You were also did very well at pulling off the emotion Harry was displaying in words. I think he was done very well in character - excellent work!
I didnt notice any grammatical errors or anthing, so I have to say this is just perfect!

10/10!

Keep up the great work!

xx

Author's Response: Thank you!

I won something... I think it was the Hufflepuff house pick. =)

I actually haven't seen the movie yet, but since this was written before it came out, I was focusing on the scene in the book.

Thank you so much! I really appreciate your review ^_^


 Report Review

Review #15, by the_elder_wand The Rules of Combat

7th July 2009:
omg thats so i dunno even what to say.. its very good=)

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Gabe The Rules of Combat

7th July 2009:
Great.absolutely amazing...

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Prongs_Foot The Rules of Combat

3rd July 2009:
HOLY CRUD! YOU HAVE HAVE HAVE to make a sequel! u could write about how his friends found him, how they took it, how harry shared a bathroom with myrtle. you could even turn it into a harry hermione fanfic! sry im just like randomly spewing out ideas so PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE write a sequel! i'll love you forever!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! Sorry, but I\\\'m not making a sequel. Thanks, though! Glad you liked it =)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Dobby_Fan The Rules of Combat

30th June 2009:
WOW! I cannot express what i truely feel right now! I am huge fan of Harry Potter and i did not see that coming, near the end!
Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Samhria The Rules of Combat

26th June 2009:
I've envisioned it the same way, too. I expected one of them to die in the bathroom scene. It makes sense that if Draco had acted out of emotions when attacking Harry with the killing curse he would then feel bad about it right away because even though you deeply hate someone, you could never want them (really) dead.

This felt like a part right out of JK's book. Nicely written. =)

Author's Response: Thank you! I just thought it would have gotten more out of control than what even JK wrote. Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Prongz The Rules of Combat

17th June 2009:
NEVER EVER PUT TWILIGHT WITH HARRY POTTER! omg

Author's Response: I didn\\\'t.

 Report Review

Review #21, by The_writer The Rules of Combat

16th June 2009:
This was certainly action-packed! I loved every bit of it!! Update more, please

Author's Response: Thank you! Sorry, it\\\'s just a one-shot. No more.

 Report Review

Review #22, by patchworkscribbles The Rules of Combat

15th June 2009:
Hey, it's patchworkscribbles from the forums!

Sorry I took so long to review - things have been pretty hectic lately so I apologise. I meant to PM you to let you know but I forgot, I was just so busy! Anyway, enough of my rambling apology and down to business.

This is an amazing piece of writing. Honestly, I believe it's one of the best fics I've read on this site. I wasn't expecting this at all - despite the title I was still caught completely off-guard when it came to the murder. I was actually chortling away when Harry was planning on how he could hurt Dean (whether it was intended to come across in said way is a different matter, but I really liked it). Suddenly, Harry stumbled across Malfoy and they were fighting, then he was dead! (Of course, it was written far better than how I just wrote it :P)

I was so captivated by the start of your story; I got lost in the adolescent whining battling out in Harry's head. Then, when it came to the fight I was on the edge of my seat, the action and the slight tweaks from canon made it so exhilarating, so full of tension! It was brilliant. Then Harry was killed. My mouth actually dropped when I read that - it was so unexpected, but it fitted so well. As previously stated, I still received a shock despite the title.

This was a beautifully written piece with no flaws/errors which I saw. It flowed wonderfully and really stood out to me as a fantastic fic.

10/10

Well done.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

Wow! One of the best fics you've read on the site? I'm blushing...

Thank you so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed this story. Thanks for sticking through the 'adolescent whining'. I'm glad I could surprise you with Harry's death =)

Thank you so much!!


 Report Review

Review #23, by awesomnes25 The Rules of Combat

15th June 2009:
THAT WAS PURE AWESOMNESS! OMG! That is one of the best fanfics I have ever read great job! hugs!!! ^5! woo-hoo!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #24, by angelica fernandez The Rules of Combat

15th June 2009:
hi.. i felt sad when i finished reading it... you know i'm gonna cry when it happen to the book... and anyway.. i understand why j.k. rowling didn't finish it in half blood prince because harry is intended to kill the dark lord..

anyway.. its a nice story.. but it was so short.. it will be so lovely if harry and draco became friends instead..

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing =)

 Report Review

Review #25, by FlyingKillerBench The Rules of Combat

9th June 2009:
You must make a sequel for this!
I'd just make the best story, with Draco trying to cover up the crime while fighting his guilt.
please make a sequel!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! Sorry, but I think this story is ending here. Thanks again!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>