Reading Reviews for Romilda's Bad Day
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by charlottetrips The Only Chapter

2nd June 2011:
I'm unfamiliar with the staff challenges. The spelling and grammar all looked okay and it certainly just flowed along. I had a few moments of just cringing for Romilda.

You know, like when you watch a movie and see someone doing something stupid and you don't want to watch to spare their feelings but it doesn't even matter that you're doing that because the character can't even see you? Yeah, that's what I was doing.

xChar

Author's Response: Haha well I'm glad that I made her real enough that she made you cringe (Romilda is definitely cringe-worthy). This challenge was to do a missing moment from the 6th book. Thanks for reviewing!
~mads


 Report Review

Review #2, by DemetersChild The Only Chapter

31st May 2011:
Hahah, aww. Poor girl!

I really enjoyed your writing style. It fit well with the humour of the story, flowed nicely, and kept my attention. Poor Romilda's misfortune even got a few amused smiles. xD

Especially the last sentence. That was just brilliant!

Lovely little one shot!

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: Haha thanks! I'm glad you liked it. I'm especially glad you found it humorous :) thanks so much for reviewing!
~mads


 Report Review

Review #3, by TuesdayHater220 The Only Chapter

7th January 2011:
This was my favorite story I have read yet on HPFF. Its always nice to see an original plot and a story about a side character. The premise was absolutely hilarious and I feel like almost everyone, including myself has had one of those days. I also loved how it connected so well with what actually happened in the book. You also stayed with Romilda's character perfectly, and I could completely see her doing all this behind the scenes. The last line "My day was officially sitting in Moaning Myrtle's U-bend" was the perfect way to end this story! so funny :) I'm gonna look to see what else you have written now!

I love this story even on a Tuesday!

Author's Response: :D thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. It was really fun to get a review on such an old story! I'm glad you thought this was feasible for Romilda's character; that was always my intention. thanks so much for the lovely review!
~mads


 Report Review

Review #4, by RocketBabyDoll9 The Only Chapter

7th November 2009:
This was hilarious! I enjoyed the entire sequence of events and how she rambled quite a lot, reminded me a bit of myself actually. Have you thought about posting a sequel?

Author's Response: thanks so much! I actually hadn't thought of it, but if any plot comes to mind I might do one. romilda's an entertaining character in small doses. thanks so much!
~madelgranger


 Report Review

Review #5, by Jellyman The Only Chapter

19th August 2009:
Hello! Georgia, here with your review (obivously :P). I'm really sorry for the delay, I've been super busy!

This was fabulous. Very light hearted; I really loved the opening line with Romilda bitching about that other girl with the 5th year friends. Just great! And her "goal" to get Harry to notice her was just brilliant. I can totally see that as her reason for being so stalker-y in HBP :D

My day was officially sitting in Moaning Myrtleís U-bend.
I think this might have been the most perfect finishing line I have ever seen! Hilarious! I love how you characterised Romilda, she was a delight to read about.

Anyway, really, no critique here. This was perfect - enjoyable, fun, and Romilda was just hilarious! Perfect one-shot :)

10/10

And HAPPY BIRTHDAY for the other day! I hope you had a great day :D

Author's Response: thanks so much! I'm glad you liked it. I'm glad you liked my reason for Romilda's stalking, I just had to give her a reason other than her crushing on him. :D
My birthday was great, thanks!
Thanks so much for reviewing!
~madelgranger


 Report Review

Review #6, by CarlieWolfe The Only Chapter

3rd August 2009:
Hehe. Cute! I'm gonna go read your other story now!!

Author's Response: thanks! glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Aether The Only Chapter

30th July 2009:
Great one-shot! :) I don't think I've ever read anything about Romilda, which makes this fic ever better! Though in the books Romilda seems insufferable and self-centered, I couldn't help but like her dry wit ("well, I suppose I'll just have to beat her in potions now...") and her general obsession with beating Leslie McMillan. The combination made for a very entertaining story.

Now, to the critique: The only thing I have to say about this is that it could be longer. It was short and sweet, but I feel like I wasn't ready for it to end when it did. I wanted to read more of Romida's bad day! :( lol. But that's just me whining. Also, getting rid of parenthesis could make this one-shot flow smoother. Thanks for the excellent read! :D 9/10

Aether

Author's Response: thanks so much! haha, I'm a total parentheses freak. I love them to pieces. probably because I also really love tangents. I really should restrain myself though. and I have always had issues with brevity. in that I tend to be overly brief. ah, well. anyways, thanks so much for the lovely review! so glad you enjoyed.
~madelgranger


 Report Review

Review #8, by confusedlover The Only Chapter

22nd July 2009:
very lovely.

this was a very interesting story. it was short but to the point and humorous throughout the entire thing. to answer your question, it was very entertaining. short, like i said before, but very nice and sweet. it would be sort of fun to have a sequel put up for this or something of the sort but that is simply an idea. nice job on this, dear. keep up the wonderful writing.

Author's Response: thank you so much for reading and reviewing, not to mention all the nice things you said! I really appreciate it. I'm glad it actually was entertaining, because if it wasn't it would be pretty pointless. If I ever think of something else Romilda might do I probably will write a sequel. Thanks again!
~madelgranger


 Report Review

Review #9, by Gigi The Only Chapter

22nd June 2009:
Haha, I almost (almost being the key word) feel sorry for Romilida now. Great Job!

Author's Response: ahaha thanks so much! (I mean, who can REALLY feel bad for her?) thanks for reviewing!
~madelgranger


 Report Review

Review #10, by giraffelover The Only Chapter

12th June 2009:
it was good, but romilda (i think) was in Gryffindor so why would it she be like "they called themselves Gryffindor's"? you should do one about how she gave harry the love potion.

Author's Response: she is a gryffindor. they are her friends. who are in gryffindor. so they were not being brave and she criticized them. thanks for the review!
~madelgranger


 Report Review

Review #11, by muinthil The Only Chapter

8th June 2009:
I really like the tone of voice you use for Romilda. It is very fun and fits along great with actual event in Half Blood Prince. I admit that I had to look up to see who Romilda was... wasn't sure if she was canon or an OC LOL. The only thing I would recommend changing would be the information in parentheses. It would probably look better if you actually put this information into the sentences than using the parentheses. Other than that, great story!!!

Author's Response: thanks so much! yeah, you're probably right about the parentheses; I've always been a sucker for them, though, lol. I'll definitely go back and look at that now, though. Thanks for reviewing!
~madelgranger


 Report Review

Review #12, by cazvalleygirl The Only Chapter

7th June 2009:
This story was fantastic, you are a brilliant writer and the plot so original! I'm going to see if you've posted any more stories! 10/10 :D x

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked my writing. :D
~madelgranger


 Report Review

Review #13, by LuckySeven The Only Chapter

3rd June 2009:
Yay! Return customers! *evil laugh*-I mean Joyness!
Every time that I think I've seen it all someone must realize that I've gotten cocky, because I always end up getting new, shiny stories to review! *happy dance*
My first reaction:Glee at new plotline and my first ever Romilda story!
My favorite parts:

"After a few more minutes of devious plotting, I jumped out of bed, still joyfully anticipating what was sure to be my best year yet. That was when my day started to go downhill. Unfortunately, I had been a little too enthusiastic while jumping out of bed,-"
-I like this because
1. Its something that would happen to me, because I am just that awesome :D and
2. because it's just plain sad. You know you're going to have a rough day when your first movement leads to the destruction of your entire room.

"My entire wardrobe is in there. Not that Iíll have much of a chance to show it off to Leslie. Stupid uniforms."
-Hehe. This made me giggle. Can't really say why. It's probably just the random pettyness. :) *smackings for Romilda*

"Still, all was not lost. Leslie hadnít seen my shame, and I was sure I could still befriend Harry if those losers were my competition. I turned around to tell my friends that he was such a noble and kind person that he felt obliged to stay in his original compartment so as not to be rude, only to come face-to-face with the absolute last person I wanted to see."
-This girl is just about obnoxious, yet, somehow you have brainwashed me into liking her...you know...in that train wreck kinda way. :) What I mean to say is, you aren't trying to take an unpleasant character and amake excuses for her behavior, or give her some sob story! You are grabbing this obnoxious person and letting us look in her loontoons head! I love it!!

"My day was officially sitting in Moaning Myrtleís U-bend."
-How can I not include this in the 'favorite parts section'? It's just plain awesome. And definitely a good way to end the chapter. Because how can you stop reading after a myrtles toilet reference? Thats right. YOU CAN'T. :)

The ever dreaded CC: Here are my issues;
1. It's short: I can excuse this because it's the first chapter :) , but I like this story and I want it to be longer. *giggle* I know that a lot of high caliber readers don't even read a story with chapters under about 1500 words. I am not one of them because I have read 600 word pieces that made me flip out with joy. The problem is that not everyone (mainly the people who leave reviews after they read) shares my point of view on this. I'm not telling you to change your chapter just fr a higher word count. That would be silly. I'm just telling you that a lot of people are dumb when it comes to things like this.
2. Paragraph length: I think that you should divide up your paragraphs just a wee bit so that the story flows better. try to avoid more than 5-6 lines per paragraph. :)
...yeah thats all I've got. I tried!!

On to happier stuff!:
Great job with originality! You win the 'making Lucky read something new award!' *confetti falls on your head*

Ok so I have to tell you that I really enjoyed reading this! It was great. I tried to be more CC giving here because I read the other reviews for this story and they didn't seem to have much substance. ;) Like I said earlier I like this story because you told it like ti was! You were all, "Yes. THis girl is obnoxious! Let me show you in her head!!" I love it. Please come back to my thread so that I can read more madelgrangerliness! *its fun to make up words*
Have a splendiferously fantacular day!,
LuckySeven
9.897/10 (random decimals are fun :D.)
P.S ( I rounded up, because apparently the rating system does not allow for decimals. *miffed and as you may not have noticed, slightly hyper*)
10/10

Author's Response: thanks so so much for the review! I'm so glad you like my stuff (slash the stuff that I share with sanitariumescapee but keep on my author's page mwahaha)!

I quite appreciate the constructive criticism. I'm definitely planning on writing longer things in the future. This was just a one-shot, mostly because while Romilda was fun to write, she was also too obnoxious to stay with for long, lol. plus I don't really have anymore plot. (heh. plot isn't my weakness or anything. *whistles innocently*)

and thanks for pointing out the whole paragraph thing, I may just go back and edit that now! (I really really hate overly long paragraphs.)

I'm glad you appreciated the whole trying-not-to-turn-Romilda-into-a-likeable-character thing, because I always dislike it when people do that. and also because I wasn't sure how successful I was.

thank you so so much for the review! it was awesome! and epic! I will definitely request more reviews the second I stop beta-ing for a minute and write something. Thanks again!
~madelgranger


 Report Review

Review #14, by RonsGirlFriday The Only Chapter

21st May 2009:
This is hilarious! I think this is exactly what Romilda's internal monologue must sound like. You have such funny lines in here. The last line is excellent. :-)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I was quite fond of the last line myself :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Girldetective85 The Only Chapter

20th May 2009:
HAHHA! Love the last sentence :D This characterization of Romilda was really funny to read. I feel kind of bad for her actually, after reading all of these one-shots about her "love" for Harry. She's such a social climber, it's kind of pitiful. She's also so mean about Neville and Luna and if she thinks that she can compete with them, girlfriend has another thing coming :D Nice job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! She definitely has another think coming, lol. I don't feel TOO bad for her, though, although I suppose she is a bit pitiful. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Sanitariumescapee The Only Chapter

18th May 2009:
fabulous! lot's of commas. very you. i'd leave you a longer review, but i'm sure we'll talk about it at length sometime in the near future. great banner

Author's Response: thanks! and, again, as we have altready chatted, i got nothin else!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Alopex The Only Chapter

18th May 2009:
Haha! This was absolutely hilarious! I was chuckling already, just from the title, before I even started reading, and everything just got funnier and funnier! There were so many funny little parts, and they all added up to an extremely amusing piece. You did a great job of capturing Romilda's superficiality without banging it over your readers' heads. If she hadn't been so superficial and been cast in such an unsympathetic light in the Harry Potter books, I'd have felt even more mortified for her at the end. I can just picture the expression on her face there! Great job with this. It was cleverly written and amused me greatly.

Author's Response: Thank you so so much! I'm really glad that it was funny; I never can tell if some things are actually humorous to people not inside my head. Yeah, no one can feel TOO bad for Romilda, lol. Thank you for the awesome review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Rhoanna The Only Chapter

15th May 2009:
Pretty good. I liked it.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #19, by AndrinaBlack The Only Chapter

15th May 2009:
Lol! That was funny! This also sounded so much like Romilda, with her plans of befriending Harry. But who would have thought that she had such a bad day that day! I really started to feel for her with her competition with Leslie. Good job with the story! :)

Author's Response: I'm so happy you though it was funny! I really hoped that Romilda would be reasonably in character, so thanks for reassuring me of that. I'm glad you liked it. Thank you so much for your review!
~madelgranger


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login