Reading Reviews for Just a Kiss
  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by academica Just a Kiss

20th August 2012:
I love this! I think your characterization of Hermione is so perfect; I like how she sheds her princess skin to become the strong woman she needs to be. I like how you used little details - her hair, her heart - to convey this change and to make it clear how much she has grown up from being her parents' little girl. I also liked all of your little allusions to canon. I especially liked the section about Viktor and how he was "not [her] prince." How surprising to find that after so many years, Ron was the one to give her the perfect kiss!

Speaking of Ron, I loved the concluding paragraph that featured him. You've extended depth to him, giving him strength in his softness and an intensity that feels unexpected. He's not the typical hero, not like Viktor or Harry, and yet he's her hero, the one to really change her world.

Beautiful! Glad I got to read it! :)

-Amanda

 Report Review

Review #2, by Maybe Just a Kiss

19th July 2012:
I really loved how this fit together with the different kinds of kisses. It seems like they've been put into categories, which is a very Hermione thing to do and I liked the repeated format with the last line of the paragraph containing a 'but'. The description was lovely and I can imagine each of the scenarios vividly. And of course I loved the ending because I'm such a hardcore Romione shipper that I practically flailed at how cute it was :)

- Emily

Hufflepuff Review Spree!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review! I'm glad you enjoyed this!

 Report Review

Review #3, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Just a Kiss

20th April 2012:
Aww; this is really lovely! You did a great job with the descriptions of all the different scenarios and 'types' of kisses; it's very original! It flowed wonderfully and I didn't see any spelling or grammar errors, either! Well done! 10/10!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Moonyxluna Just a Kiss

16th February 2012:
aww... this was just way too adorable! I loved it. Brilliant work!

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to review, glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Cassius Alcinder Just a Kiss

29th December 2011:
Review tag!

This was such a great Ron/Hermione story, while it was very short, it made a powerful point and every word seemed to have an impact.

I enjoyed the new layer it seems to add to Hermione's characterization. W all know her as a bookish know it all, but we don't get to see a lot of her romantic side even though it was obviously there on some level.

I loved the progression of describing th different kisses and how it took us through the different stages of Hermione's life, finally building up to the kiss with Ron. The closing lines were very moving and adorable.

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for taking the time to review! I really appreciate it, and all your kind words!! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by ariellem Just a Kiss

22nd December 2011:
*Gives you the biggest hug in the world for writing the best Romione one-shot out there.*

And cookies, I'm also giving you cookies.

Author's Response: -Gives you the biggest hug in the world for writing one of the best reviews out there-

Nom, thanks so much!!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Woodrow Rynne Just a Kiss

17th November 2011:
*jawdrop* *squeal* *crazy grinning*

See what this fic made me do? This was just...the cutest Ron/Hermione story I've ever read. It was short and simple, and just../beautiful/. I loved the way you described all those kisses and what they meant to Hermione; how when she grew up, she started losing hope of that fairytale kiss..and then Ron kisses her, and my stomach just somersaults. Because it was so sweet!

"And sometimes, a kiss can change a world."

Sigh. Thank you for writing this. And making me all sappy and cheesy and romantic and gushy... :P

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you so much for such a lovely review! I really appreciate the feedback! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by bluecharlotte Just a Kiss

24th August 2011:
This is just lovely! I like that you don't use many words but still get an amazing point across. The whole thing just made me smile, especially the end. Great job! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #9, by ericajen Just a Kiss

31st July 2011:
Baww, Mary! This is so lovely (realizing right now that I used that word a lot in my life). I love the way you went through all those different kinds of kisses in life; the situations, the people, the reasons, etc. It was very cute. And I liked the way you wrote the one about her kiss with Viktor, like that he was a prince and she was a princess but he wasn't the prince she was meant to be with. I thought that was very adorable. And then the last part! Phwoar! A kiss that changes the world. Such romance. Hehe. You are a doll, great work, hun. (h)

Author's Response: ERICA! Lovely is a perfectly fine word. You are lovely, for instance. So is this review. Ah, Viktor. Poor guy. Yeah, he's not her prince but he totally gets points for style, right? But then Ron comes along is all like "WHO NEEDS STYLE WHEN YOU ARE THE PRINCE SHE'S BEEN WAITING FOR" cause, you know, he eats romance for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Or something, I don't know; I don't actually know what I'm talking about. Love you so much dear, thanks for the review!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by HarryandGinnyForEver Just a Kiss

30th June 2011:
Best Ron/Hermione one-shot I've read in a long, long time!

10/10(:

Author's Response: Thank you for the review, glad you enjoyed!!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Emily Just a Kiss

17th April 2011:
Really great! good writing! so sweet at the end!

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to read and review, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by megan Just a Kiss

6th April 2011:
this is genius, this is flabbergastingly great and awesome! i want my life to be hermionies! in this instance as you tell your tale so well and captivatingly that any reader would be impressed. be proud you have reached into ever girls heart and taken a little bit of fairy dust to spin into words that make us all jelous just a little bit. if thats not too corny but it is really really good well done.

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much for taking the time to review, and for saying such lovely things!! I think a lot of us can relate to the fairytale idea of love :)

I'm glad you enjoyed this and thanks again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by awesome247 Just a Kiss

6th April 2011:
So cute! I really enjoyed it. Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme Just a Kiss

8th March 2011:
Oh my days, Mary! Mental note to self: read more by you. I used to be so good at reading stuff by all TGSers but then it kind of fizzled out - when I saw this in The Chaser, I couldn't resist. I rarely read the trio and I rarely search for stories about them. However, only a few days ago, I asked Marina to link me to any decent Ron/Hermione's she came across in the queue (to no avail) and then bam, up pops this.

I've got to get ready to leave for work in a bit so it's going to be short and sweet. I love the structure of it: the way each type of kiss shows her maturing but also the way that each of us can look at it and understand her completely. My favourite books were always the magic ones - before and after Harry Potter came into existence - and I completely related to Hermione throughout the entire story.

It gave me a real sense of hope and conviction that there's a Ron out there for all of us (that sounds weird but you get what I mean, yes?) This is one of the sweetest, simplest stories I've ever read and it's so beautiful - I'm absolutely green with envy.

Now, must fly. Two reasons, first is work, second is that for some reason this made me want to write Viktor Krum and I'm going to go and consider it :P

Simply amazing, lovely.

xx

Author's Response: Rachel!! I used to be good at responding to reviews, so there you go.

A lot of people have told me they tend to avoid trio era stories, especially due to characterization issues. So I'm glad to hear you say that about Hermione. And I totally understand what you mean about there being a Ron out there for everyone - although if mine actually /was/ Ron I wouldn't complain :P

Aww, thanks sooo much. I think it is the simpleness that makes this work so well, but you are such an amazing author so I'm kind of blushing to hear you say that!

Thanks again, dear!


 Report Review

Review #15, by spangles Just a Kiss

15th December 2010:
This. Was. Perfect! Again, you did a great job of summarizing everthing and all the instances were so cute. I loved how you had Hermione loving magic before she even knoew she was a wizard and her reason for liking it was so Hermione-ish. All of the kissing summaries you gave were perfect too, my favorite was the one when Hermione kissed Harry on the cheek. That one little paragraph had so much poured into it but still wasn't over done, I think it's one of the best things you've ever written, it's so perfect!

I wish you had written more things because this is the last story you posted online and I want to read more by you!

Author's Response: Perfect? Really? Please. Although I do think it's as close as I can get it, with this particular piece anyway. I'm always really proud of this one, because when I read it there is literally nothing I can see that I would change. I thought they whole magic/fairytale thing really fit with Hermione - for someone that logical to so easily accept and fall into the wizarding world, I think they have to really want a reason to believe in the first place, you know? And don't worry, more is coming in the furture - I've a oneshot in queue right now - so if you're ever that bored there will be more to read XD

 Report Review

Review #16, by RonsGirlFriday Just a Kiss

31st July 2010:
Oh god. Favoriting RIGHT NOW. I am constantly on the lookout for wonderful Ron/Hermione fics, and I've found another one.

I popped over here after seeing those wonderful reviews you left for Irrational, to take a peek at your author page. Saw the R/Hr and knew I had to start here!

Sometimes, a short, sweet, simple one-shot is the best kind. You really didn't need to say any more than this - you made the most of the words you used, and really, I thought, told us a great deal about Hermione, her attitudes and dreams and ideas over her lifetime, her development as a person, etc., all tied together by the theme of what a kiss represents.

You know, I really buy into this idea of Hermione having a bit of a romantic side, hiding behind her more dominant traits - being practical, academic, bookish, wanting everything to make sense, etc. I can easily see her as this person who is conflicted between the idea that she must be this strong and logical person, and the desire for life to be like a fairytale. To be honest, I'm a bit like that myself, which is why I have always connected with Hermione. And how many girls have grown up with this idea about a perfect romance, and slowly come to realize that those stories are all a misleading bunch of garbage and a kiss really is just a kiss?

Your description of all the different kinds of kisses was really great, because they represented the different aspects of Hermione, the roles she plays (daughter, friend, etc.), her development as a person. And then she starts to harden up and just get on with a life in which the magical kiss doesn't exist. And then Ron kisses her... and I just die. Oh, I love him. What a really interesting and unique and excellent context for it, the way you've written it here.

And then there's your writing itself, which is just perfectly excellent, from what I can tell from this fic. Very natural and flowing, almost lyrical in a way. Descriptive and evocative enough, but not so much that it's sappy and overwhelming and hard to digest. Just right, really.

Loved it!

Melanie

Author's Response: First off, thank you so much for such an absolutely incredible review! Every time I read this it puts a smile on my face! Secondly, I want to apologize for taking so long to respond to this. I know how much I enjoy reading the responses to the reviews I leave, so I am very sorry for making you wait so long - especially when you wrote such a blush-worthy review!

A fellow R/Hr shipper! Although I've moved away from them in recent years they were my first and favourite pairing, and they will always have a special place in my heart. I just can't picture them paired with anyone else. Hearing that you think I did them justice is really gratifying.

This is a very short piece, but I've always thought that was the reason it works so well. Adding any more to this would clutter the story, and the meaning would end up getting lost. It is short and sweet, as you said, but I'm happy to hear that I successfully captured Hermione's personality since that is something that is often difficult to do in so few words. Hermione is a pretty complex person, and I tried to capture that. Each kiss shows a new side to her, and I tried to show a growing maturity with how she interprets each.

I've always thought Hermione must be a bit of a romantic, even if a closet one. It ties back to what I was saying about her complexity as a character. Sure, she has a fairly dominant logical academic side, but that isn't all there is to her. As a Muggleborn, to take the leap of faith necessary to believe in magic has to require a bit of romanticism, right? And looking at canon you can find plenty of evidence to support this "secret" romantic side - Confunding anyone competing against the guy you like, anyone?

Thank you again for such a wonderful review! You're an absolute sweetheart with all your kind words. *heart*


 Report Review

Review #17, by Cathie Just a Kiss

23rd June 2010:
Beautiful. simply beautiful.

Author's Response: Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review this! I like to think that is the simplicity of this one-shot that makes it work so well, so I can't help but smile at the wording of your comment! Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Evil Sami Poo Just a Kiss

11th April 2010:
That was beautiful! I liked the emotions it invoked as you read about all the different types of kisses, then you reach the last line! Wonderful!

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to review! I'm glad you think I was able to express the emotions Hermione was feeling in relation to each kiss so well!

 Report Review

Review #19, by krapfm Just a Kiss

6th April 2010:
It is so sweet. Really :)

Author's Response: So are you. Really. :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by HarrietHopkirk Just a Kiss

11th January 2010:
Aaaw! I love this! You're a gorgeous writer!

-HH

Author's Response: Awww, thank you so much! You're a gorgeous reviewer! *heart*

 Report Review

Review #21, by bla Just a Kiss

30th December 2009:
beautifully written. i love the descriptions of the various kisses.
10/10 :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked the descriptions - I wanted these kisses to be viewed more through Hermione's emotions than the actual events themselves. When I wrote it, I tried to capture the things that I thought might stand out to Hermione from each encounter.



 Report Review

Review #22, by Muggle Born 12 Just a Kiss

23rd November 2009:
nice cute o and the prince is ron right

Author's Response: Right in one. ;)
Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Icy Flame Just a Kiss

16th August 2009:
Wow, that was an excellent chapter. Your technique in writing is very empowering and vivid.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the kind review! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #24, by Crumpets Just a Kiss

23rd May 2009:
One word. "Beautiful."
Enough said. (:

Author's Response: Thank you!! : D

 Report Review

Review #25, by Marybeth Just a Kiss

18th May 2009:
I really enjoyed that - nicely written.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>