Reading Reviews for The Last Letter
  
46 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Siriuslover177 The Last Letter

12th July 2013:
Wow, that was very powerful. I don't usually read many stories about Petunia, and I really like how you chose to write her.
I really liked how she talked to Vernon, and also how she kept on remembering things.
It was a very good story.

~Sarah

 Report Review

Review #2, by StEpH_M The Last Letter

29th October 2012:
You're Second Anniversary Gifts have arrived! :)

I'm not used to reading Petunia stories so I don't have as much to go on. But I rather liked this. It sort of, in my opinion, links in to the reaction that Petunia has at the beginning of Deathly Hallows, the love that she actually has for Harry and Lily even though she never showed it. It's a nice tie in.

I also liked being able so see it from Petunia's view, her worry about Voldemort and what will happen once the protection enchantments are broken. Also the insight into her love and jealousy towards Lily, how she misses her, always did and how she regrets everything she did before Lily's passing.

There were a few sentences that Vernom said, here and there that I had to read over twice to actually understand exactly what was being said, but otherwise I didn't see anything that disrupted the flow of the one-shot.

I really enjoyed reading this, it's made me want to read more Petunia stories from Hogwarts Era, just to know what it was like for her and her family while Harry was running around trying to defeat Voldemort.

Lovely story and great tie in :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by ScarletEye158 The Last Letter

17th August 2012:
Wow, this was such a good one-shot. It was really well written and you did a really good job with Vernon and Petunia's characterizations :)

I felt really bad for Petunia in this story, and that's actually something I'd never thought I'd hear myself say. Your version of how she thinks makes me understand her and her intentions (even if they were wrong) a lot better.

The part about not responding to Lily's last letter and not sending a picture of Dudley made me cry :( I know she probably regrets a lot of things she had done but it just sucks that she will never get to talk to Lily again and tell her she's sorry (as it seemed like she wanted to in this story) Anyways, I really liked it and I just wanted to tell you that I thought you did a good job(:

And also, thank you so much for all you did in the House Cup this year! It was such a good experience for me and I know it was for everyone else, too. :D

-Amanda

Author's Response: I am sorry for such a horribly late response! I was in the middle of moving when you left this and was without internet access for a while, and after that, I was just lazy. *hides*

Anyway, thank you for taking the time to review this story! Like you, I don't particularly like Petunia, and as a general rule, don't feel particularly sorry for her. Or at least I didn't until the final book came out. Several characters were rounded out in the last book, and she was one of them.

This story was definitely about Petunia's regrets. Yeah, she does feel sorry for herself, but there was supposed to be genuine regret there as well.

Anyway, thanks again for the review, and it was interesting to hear your reactions to Petunia in this story. :-)


 Report Review

Review #4, by SerpentineOffering The Last Letter

30th March 2012:
This is an amazing story. Your writing is beautiful, it flowed together so well! I think you hit Petunia dead on, Vernon too. Wow. I really enjoyed this! Such a good story! 10/10

Author's Response: Hey, thank you for the review! I appreciate you taking the time to leave a note. Most people do enjoy the characters in this story, which is, of course, gratifying to me. ;)

 Report Review

Review #5, by ginerva_molly_weasley The Last Letter

10th March 2012:
What a very different yet, amazing story!

As this was written as a missing moment I think you've made it entirely believable with Petunia's emotions all over the place and her worrying about Vernon's reactions to the letter and picture that she had.

The resent she feels to Harry in a way seems very misdirected and I don't know whether you wanted to show that or not. It was very interesting to read how she said she wish she'd never have met him but at the same time it was necessary for them to meet because of the blood protection and because of Voldermort. It was also interesting to see that she blamed Snape for taking Lily from her because as readers of the canon we know that whether she had met or not she still would have gotten her letter from Hogwarts.

Vernon does make me laugh with that presumption of his that a simple burglar alarm would be enough to keep Lord Voldermort out. As we know just a simple freezing charm does the trick!

The ending is very good as it shows that Dumbledore is aware of her reservations and resentfulness towards her nephew. I very much like this piece!

SHPFFO!

Author's Response: You bring up some intriguing points in your review!

I'll talk about the Snape thing first. I decided to have her blame Snape for losing Lily because she wants a person (rather than an abstract concept like magic) to blame. Also, he was the first person Lily encountered who know what she was and even really seemed to encourage it. I personally see that as a potential turning point for Lily's relationship with her sister, so for the purpose of this story, I make it a moment when Petunia feels the loss of her sister and friend.

Perhaps her resentment of Harry is misdirected. It certainly is rather childish on one level. On another, she feels she's had this child dumped on her, and and as a result, her family is in more danger. She's not that mature about handling it, though. I wrote it from a standpoint that she never completely got over her "rejection" from Hogwarts . . . how at one point she wanted to go so badly but couldn't.

I also wanted to emphasize Harry's eyes in this story, since in the books such a big deal is made of how he has his mother's eyes. I figure that's something Petunia couldn't fail to notice, so seeing Harry must also be a reminder of Lily . . . and when she thinks of Lily, she thinks of not only the loss (which is largely her own fault), but also of the happy times they had as children.

In this story, I have Petunia on the one hand wanting to have cut magic out of her life, but on the other hand not quite wanting to let go of it. Harry is a big part of that for her. If not for him, she could have forgotten about it, but now he serves as a last tie--but also brings more danger.

Maybe that is too confusing to all convey in a one-shot!

Vernon is so easy to use to humorous effect, because he's quite a ridiculous figure to begin with!

Thank you very much for the review. It was a pleasant surprise! :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by Millarz The Last Letter

20th November 2011:
This is amazing! You definitely showed Petunia and Vernon in a realistic and deep way. I can totally see Petunia reflecting on wanting to be part of the world of magic and blaming Sev for her broken relationship with her sister. I find the fact that Vernon wants to hit Voldy with a club amusing, but very understandable. I loved this story!

Author's Response: Hi Millarz! I'm glad you enjoyed this story. I think quite a few people would have liked to give Voldy a good whack, but I doubt he'd have let any of us close enough!

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Woodrow Rynne The Last Letter

25th September 2011:
Lovely one-shot.

I'll start off by saying that I absolutely loved the way you characterised Vernon. It was one thing that truly drew me in to read more, because you were so spot on in characterising him. He seems positively maniac.

Petunia, on the other hand, I'm not too sure of. I liked how you characterised her, of course, everyone who's read HP has probably sympthasised with her at least once, but I somehow feel this could've been much better. I suppose it's the way she converses with her husband-- we've never seen her that way, and her attitude didn't really seem fitting to me. (But perhaps that was intentional and I'm being silly!)

But other than that, your writing is absolutely fantastic. :) I loved the way you described Petunia's feelings. Great work, and I hope my silly comments weren't too confusing.

Author's Response: I had a lot of fun writing Vernon! With characters like that who just make a small appearance, you can really have fun by exaggerating certain characteristics.

I think you make a valid point about Petunia. It's true that normally she appears to cave in to Vernon. However, there is one instance in the book where we see her stand up to him. It occurs in the fifth book, after Harry saves Dudley from the dementors. Vernon wants to force Harry to leave, but Dumbledore sends a Howler. After that, Petunia stands up to Vernon and tells him Harry has to stay.

Originally, I meant this story to take place at that moment. However, I realized as I was writing that it happened in the fifth book, and this was supposed to be a missing moment from book six (for a challenge). That required a bit of tweaking, making it more memory-based, I guess. I think it did weaken the story.

Anyway, that's my explanation, and I understand where you're coming from with Petunia's characterization.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Flower n Prongs The Last Letter

24th August 2011:
This story was chilling, but in a good way. People rarely look into Petunia in this way, they usually keep her as a spiteful character, but you showed much more of her than that. I actually felt empathetic towards Petunia, which is saying something. You made the reader aware of the struggle that Petunia went through over the years, her guilt at being horrible to her sister, and Uncle Vernon's horrible attitude was just what I would expect from him. I really enjoyed it. =)

Author's Response: Hey there, thanks for reviewing, and I'm sorry for taking so long to respond.

Throughout the books, I think Petunia was a really difficult character to like. However, with the additional information we learned about her in the final book, I think it became easier to empathize with her. I'm glad you felt that empathy while reading this story. Although I do not find Petunia a particularly admirable person, I do think she struggled, and I wanted to explore that to some extent in this story.


 Report Review

Review #9, by wingsatmidnight The Last Letter

16th August 2011:
Poor Petunia, now I feel more sympathetic for her than I was before. I always thought there was something more to Petunia's side of the story - she can't have always hated Lily.

And Vernon is really mean. You portrayed him quite nicely, as JKR would have - calling Lord Voldemort "Lord Thing" and having absolutely no faith or respect in magic. Yes Vernon, as if burglar alarms are going to protect you from Lord Thing.

And also, I like how Petunia answered like she knew exactly what they were up against and tried persuading Vernon that protecting them with magic was for the best.

10/10!!! Great one-shot :D

Author's Response: Oh yes, I had great fun with Vernon. I enjoy getting to take minor characters who make small appearances in a story I'm writing and basically taking one or two recognizable traits and caricaturizing (is that a word?) them. Even though Vernon seems completely ridiculous, there is basis for his behavior in canon, so it's fun to bring that out.

Petunia is not an easy character to like, but thanks to Snape's memories, she's easier to understand and empathize with. She knows more about magic than Vernon, and even if she fails to grasp the real scope, she has some idea of the seriousness of the situation.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by lilypotterfan123 The Last Letter

12th August 2011:
That one shot was beautifully written, just perfect. It was so in depth and Petunia's characterisation was spot on. This story made me feel a lot of empathy for Petunia but at the same time I was so annoyed at her because she should have written back to Lily. I love how Harry was tied in there with his eyes being a constant reminder and a punishment. Such a great one shot!
Lilypotterfan123, Gryffindor

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! :)

I never cared much for Petunia as a character, but after the final book, when we learned more of her background, it was far easier to empathize with her. In this story, I wanted readers to empathize with her, but I didn't want to totally excuse her behavior.

Since Harry's eyes are mentioned so many times, I can't imagine Petunia not noticing as well.


 Report Review

Review #11, by justonemorefic The Last Letter

27th December 2010:
I always feel so bad for Petunia. There is something extra relatable about her because she's a Muggle. She's like us. And she, like I think many readers are, is jealous of this world she can't be a part of. And also how responsibility is thrust upon her. She tries to keep it all together, dealing with her family and Harry and wizards. Forced to deal with a world she hates. I can really see how tired she is in this, how many times she's already had to deal with the same routine.

I like how just like Snape, she remembers Lily through her eyes and through Harry, and how both Snape and Petunia harbored dislike for Harry because of that reminder. It kind of made me think about how even though Harry triumphs over Voldemort, what does it matter to Petunia? It certainly isn't the same appreciation because she's not part of the wizarding world and she'll never get Lily back.

I do wish you'll write more oneshots! These all have been lovely!

Author's Response: I never particularly cared for Petunia, but after I learned more about her in the final book, I started feeling differently towards her. As you said, she's relatable, and despite the awful way she treated Harry, there's something about her many of us can empathize with. I really like your description of her as tired.

Harry's eyes are mentioned so many times in the books, usually in relation to Lily's eyes. I can't imagine Petunia NOT noticing. I do think she feels she lost her sister to the wizarding world, and now she's about to lose her last connection to that world and to her sister. Whatever nasty feelings she may be harboring, that's a big shift in her life. Something she's been living with most of her life is coming to an end.

I actually am working on a one-shot right now for a challenge. I was assigned a Sirius/Remus romance fluff piece involving the stars! It's not something I'd chose to write on my own, haha.

Thank you for all the reviews you've left. I really appreciate you taking the time to read most of my work.


 Report Review

Review #12, by ariellem The Last Letter

26th December 2010:
Hello fellow American!

I liked this story I really did I chuckled at Vernon being clueless as always and thinking you can get rid of Voldermort with a burglar alarm, I also never figured out what Dumbledore meant by Remember My last (however this is probably me being clueless as normal) and you provided a GREAT explanation for it so good job.

Author's Response: Hey there. :)

This is the first story I wrote, so I am rather attached to it, though I know there are better ones out there. Vernon was a LOT of fun to write! He's clueless, so you can really use him for humor if you want.

I hope I'm remembering the context of Dumbledore's comment correctly. After the Dementors attacked Dudley and Harry, the Dursleys were going to kick Harry out, but Dumbledore sent a Howler to Petunia that said "Remember my last." After that, she put her foot down and said Harry had to stay. Dumbledore's last letter to her had been the one explaining all about the protections and so forth.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Ronsgirl29 The Last Letter

19th August 2010:
I don't read much about Petunia, but I really loved the way you characterized her. It really felt like this could have been something that happend in the books. And you had Vernon perfect, haha I love that he thinks an alarm system would protect him from Voldemort. Whattamugggle.

I also thought it was really touching that she had regrets about not answering her sister. I'd like to think that Petunia didn't fully hate her sister, that would just be too sad.

Amazing work, 10/10!

Author's Response: I've had a few comment on Vernon and the alarm system, lol. It just seemed like a very Vernon-ish thing when I thought of it, and I'm glad others seem to agree.

This challenge was to come up with a "missing moment" from HBP, so I'm glad you thought it felt like something that could have happened in the books. That was my goal!

Thanks for commenting on Petunia's characterization. I'm rather proud of it, actually. I don't think Petunia fully hated Lily. She was jealous and resentful, there's no doubt about that. I just expanded on that a little by deciding the sisters had been close as young children. As for Petunia having regrets . . . well, that's a pretty human thing for her to experience. She's not the first person, nor will she be the last, to regret not speaking up before it's too late.

Thanks for reviewing! :-)


 Report Review

Review #14, by nitenel The Last Letter

27th June 2010:
Hm... Poor Petunia...

Author's Response: I do feel sympathy toward Petunia, awful as her treatment of Harry was. I'm glad you seem to have picked up on that in this piece.

 Report Review

Review #15, by katie The Last Letter

3rd December 2009:
this is so good! I love this idea:)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I appreciate the review.

 Report Review

Review #16, by TheDirigiblePlum The Last Letter

12th October 2009:
Petunia always intrigued me as a character, because I think she had a pretty hard time having to watch her sister go to a really exciting school whilst she stayed at home. So in a way I feel sorry for her, but then her treatment of Harry is INEXCUSABLE!

Anyways! :D

I loved this story, because I felt it had all the dynamics of Petunia and Vernon's relationship perfectly. She was lost in thought in the beginning, thinking things over and over yet when her husband came in she gave him no indication that she was worried about anything, and he didn't bother to ask. I always thought that she hid a lot of things, and also felt that she had no one to really confide in, which may explain her slightly unpleasant temperament.

Despite how protective Vernon is over his family (his one redeeming feature I think) he doesn't really pay attention to them, as is obvious by the number of times Petunia tried to explain things to him. I like how you managed to slip in his over-protectiveness in with his ignorance in the fact that he thinks a burglar alarm would keep wizards out. It was just little things like this that were in your story that made the characters so true to form without it being too blindingly obvious. :)

Sorry I'm a bit of a sucker for well written characters, and I thought your's were perfectly done. :) I also had to laugh about the idea of Vernon whacking Voldemort over the head with a golf club... very funny image. :D

Sorry for the very rambly review, but I loved your story and I always leave rambly reviews for stories I love! :D

10/10

Author's Response: People go to jail (and rightly so) for treating children the way the Dursleys treated Harry. I do feel the neglect was sugar-coated in the HP books. Anyway, I'm glad I made you feel sorry for Petunia, to a certain extent. My intention in this story was not to excuse her, but I did want to portray her in a sympathetic light.

I definitely think Petunia had a secret life, so to speak. She had private, secret thoughts, dreams, and knowledge that Vernon was quite unaware of, in part because he never bothered to listen, as you said. Mostly she lets him bluster around, but on one or two occasions in the books, we did see her stand up to him.

I had a great time playing with Vernon. Although he IS protective of his family (and his family's image), he is so ignorant and such a fool . . . he's an easy target to hit. I think the burglar alarm plays right into him nailing shut the mailbox slot and threatening Hagrid with a rifle.

I know all about rambly reviews; I leave them myself. Thank you for this one and especially for your comments on characterization. :-)


 Report Review

Review #17, by essenni The Last Letter

24th September 2009:
Hi! Great piece! You showed your idea clearly. Petunia was very realistic, having regrets and doubts, but seeing that there is no place for it in her family, so she had to keep it all to herself.

Author's Response: Thank you! I think you see the same thing in Petunia that I do, and I'm glad you thought I showed it well. Obviously, she did suppress her desire to be magical like Lily. Doing so had to have poisoned a part of her life.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Rettopyrrah The Last Letter

21st September 2009:
I AM SO SORRY IF THIS REVIEW GIVES YOU FALSE HAPPINESS. I know I get really excited when I have a review so I'm sorry if it comes up on the wee thingymabobber that you have two new reviews, when technically you really only have one. I got really confused as to why I couldn't find the 'Add to favourites' button, then I realised HPFF has signed me out. SO, I had to go all the way back and sign in, find this story, then thought I'd add the review to my count, which is rather pitiful.
So yeah... Here's the review again ^_^ :

Well, that was rather good.
I was pleasantly suprised by how good it was. I'd been hoping to find a really crap piece of writing to make myself feel better, but I clearly clicked on the wrong story.
But it wasn't just plain old 'good'... it was more HOLY FLAMING WHITE CHOCOLATE COVERED LIMITED CHRISTMAS EDITION BOX OF OREOS! good. Catch my drift?
I'd thought of something I wanted to say and now it's gone. Floating in the air...

NO WAIT!
Halt!
I remember.
And it's gone...
OH YES!
If I didn't have such an inferior concentration complex, I'd have finished that in five minutes. Ten tops. In reality it took me an hour and a bit. Stupid distractions -.-'

Anyhow. I have clearly rambled on long enough.

10/10
Adding to favourites :D

Pip pip

PS. You just got double the rating.

Author's Response: Haha, no worries about the double review. I thought it was too good to be true anyway, when I saw two in one day. As soon as I finish replying to this one, I'll ask for the other to be deleted. I totally understand about adding the review to your count . . . I'm constantly refreshing the page to make sure I don't get signed out, because sometimes it takes me ages to write a review too.

I'm glad the story was better on the inside that it sounded and looked on the outside. My summary isn't all that amazing, and none of the information makes this seem like a particularly interesting story.

Limeted edition Christmas Oreos! Woo-hoo! The only thing that would be better if the white chocolate on the outside had a crazy flavor like raspberry added. We better not let Dudley see those, or let Petunia catch us dropping crumbs on her clean kitchen surfaces.

Thank you so much. This is the most fun and exuberant review I've ever received! :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by eightfourseven The Last Letter

7th September 2009:
I love reading about the Dursleys, so I'm excited to read this. ^_^ I love how Harry is "the boy" and Dudley gets like, an affectionate nickname. Petunia is VERY in character. I like the concept of the letter and I think it really keeps her in character by saying that she almost burned it, but then opened it. I love her jealousy about James, even though there were things about him that she hated. Vernon is also really in character. You're awesome at characterization! And your grammar is pretty much impeccable. And while you do use "alternate word for said + adverb" more than I usually like, it doesn't bother me as much. In fact, it took me until the second read-through to notice it. I guess that shows that when something is well-written, the little things that usually bother me don't even register in my mind. In this case, the dialogue is so good that I'm like, "Meh, whatever..." to the adverbs. But don't worry; they aren't overused. I just don't like them at all because I'm very particular about dialogue haha. Ahh, that whole thing was just awesome in general. Great job!

Author's Response: You're completely right about the "alternate word + adverb" thing. I like to see little actions that characters do when I read, so when I write, I tend to go overboard. Whenever I read over something I've written, I'm like, dang, I need to cut back. You should've seen the rough draft, haha! I handwrite them all, so I can look back and see. Those "word + adverb" things just slip out, and I'm glad to have a reminder to keep an eye out.

Thank you so much for your comments about Petunia's character, in particular! On one level, this story is about how Petunia is torn between wanting something very badly and wanting very badly to stamp it out. She rejects Lily, but can't bring herself to cut Lily off completely. She cannot live within the wizarding world, but she cannot erase her knowledge of it.

I really wanted to explore what Harry meant to Petunia. He had to be a constant reminder of the wizarding world, Lily, and all that she felt she'd lost or been denied. I thought a letter would play into the regret aspect nicely.

Thanks for this wonderful review, eightfourseven.


 Report Review

Review #20, by fullmoontonightO The Last Letter

6th September 2009:
Petunia does have a jealousy problem, doesn't she? and have you ever noticed how Harry's eyes play such a major role most of the time? Like with Snape, and now Petunia. Everyone who knew Lily is blown away by them, no matter how much he looks like James.
It's too bad Petunia couldn't even say goodbye.

Author's Response: Yeah, I noticed in the books how there are tons of comments about Harry's eyes! Everyone who meets him mentions his mother's eyes, practically. I figure that if Harry's eyes reminded everyone else of Lily's eyes, they had to serve as a constant reminder to Petunia, you know? Yes, she is/was jealous, but I do believe she was close to Lily when they were small, and, yes, it is sad that she and Lily were on poor terms when Lily died.

 Report Review

Review #21, by MONI The Last Letter

3rd September 2009:
aww! this story is great! its a different side of Petunia that no one new about. (:

Author's Response: Thanks! I wanted to show Petunia in a sympathetic light. :-)

 Report Review

Review #22, by chadders The Last Letter

3rd September 2009:
that was a good story, well written, and made sense.
I always felt petunia was a little bit jealous of her sister

Author's Response: I thought Petunia was jealous of Lily too. I'm glad you thought the story made sense. Not everything that comes out of my head makes sense! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #23, by allie_0608 The Last Letter

1st September 2009:
wow, i loved this! it's amazing!!
[:
10/10

Author's Response: Thanks, Allie! I had fun with Petunia and Vernon.

 Report Review

Review #24, by N. L. C. The Last Letter

30th August 2009:
Wonderful. Good characterisation, and overall just very well thought out and written down. Splendid job.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I appreciate you taking the time to let me know. :-)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Celestie The Last Letter

15th August 2009:
Hello, this is Celestie from the Review Tag forum. ;)

Wow, I loved this. Straight into my favorites it goes. You kept both Petunia and Vernon wonderfully in character. I was cracking up over Vernon's decision to buy an alarm system. So typically Vernon - investing his faith in something shiny and expensive. XD

You captured Petunia's reflections over Lily's last letter very well. It was so poignant. The ending was a little unexpected, but touching nonetheless. You are a very talented writer; I shall be reading more of your work in the future!

Well done!
9/10

- Celeste

Author's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review and compliments! I had so much fun writing Vernon. I had this image of him rocking back and forth on his heels, being all irritating with his dumb gadget. Just like a guy. I figured I could really play that up with him, since it fit so well with his ignorance of magic.

Petunia was a bit trickier, but I found myself relating to her more easily than I expected. The whole story was based on the image of Petunia looking at an old photograph.

The ending is the part I'm least pleased with. It was originally different. I had Harry walking in on Petunia, but I had to tweak it at the last moment to fit with the challenge requirements - I wrote an OotP missing moment intead of HBP!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>