Reading Reviews for Lay Me To Sleep
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by adahpfan Lay Me To Sleep

25th July 2011:
Wow. That sent shivers up my spine... So beautiful, everything about it is amazing, it's amazingly written, has a unique plot, just generally an incredible piece of work. Regulus is such a deep character, and ao hard to write correctly, but you've got it perfectly, all the reasons for everything he did made sense. Well done.

Adahpfan
P.S. I love the title
P.P.S I love the banner!
P.P.P.S I'm about to add it to favourites :)

Author's Response: Awe, thank you so much!! that is so nice of you, haha i'm glad you like it! you are such a great reviewer

 Report Review

Review #2, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Lay Me To Sleep

24th February 2011:
This has got to be one of the most emotional, best on-shots I have ever read! I'm so glad that you wrote this! 10/10

Author's Response: oh thank you so much! im so glad you like it!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Schiffty Lay Me To Sleep

27th June 2010:
I have to say that this is my favorite story on this site. Regulus is a unsung hero and you have given him a voice, a place where he could be seen as a hero. That, you have done beautifully. I read this story a long time ago and it has stayed with me, it would spontaneously pop into my head when my mind wandered, haunting me almost. To me, only a piece that could have an effect on you months later out of the blue, that is a story that is worthy of praise.I didn't review the first time around and I regretted it, so when browsing the site and I found your story, I knew I could not leave the page without writing out this little note. 10/10

Thanks for the amazing tale,
Schiffty

Author's Response: this may be the nicest review I've ever gotten. Thank you so much

 Report Review

Review #4, by timeturner Lay Me To Sleep

8th October 2009:
I rather got stuck in my review thread when this story appeared because I really enjoyed it and wanted to make sure to take the time to leave a proper review. It pretty much halted all my reviewing until I could get a break long enough to draft this review so for you (and everyone that followed this fab story in my thread) my apologies for the delay.

I love the tone how the beginning where you clearly demonstrate that his original thoughts were not of glory or changing the world but merely of fulfilling a social obligation that was expected of him. In the second paragraph you allude to him starting to question this idea (the ability to change the world) by his acknowledgement that Sirius and Peter would be remembered...and, for better or worse, both were always remembered for their deeds.

The nod to Sirius was a brief moment but one that spoke volumes. Where Sirius still wanted to acknowledge his brother, Regulus shied away giving another example of how Sirius is proud of his choice while Regulus is not. I know it was a really brief moment in your story but it captured my attention not only for what it said of Regulus but of Sirius as well.

You captured his fear well and, while the end was a bit quick and could have easily been extended, you wrote it well and managed to convey how his mindset of changing the world and making a difference came about despite his fears and misgivings. Wonderful story my dear, I enjoyed every moment.

Author's Response: :O wow! hi! I know I requested this review, but it was still sureal when I saw you left it! Anyways! Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked the Sirius moment, because it was actually one of my favorite moments of the entire story. It was the one where I could to show that even if family is open to one another, sometimes other ones shun themselves away. Anyways, thank you so much for the amazing review, it really made me squee loudly! Thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Yoshi_Kitten Lay Me To Sleep

11th August 2009:
Oh wow, that was amazing!!! So deep and so thoughtful... I felt so bad for Regulus! He was very brave! I really like that you opened it with the thought that one man's life can make a difference. That is a very good line! I really enjoyed this one-shot and I think it covers a HBP missing moment wonderfully!! :)
10/10

Author's Response: thank you sooo much dear!

 Report Review

Review #6, by DeaVanity Lay Me To Sleep

11th August 2009:
I loved this. xD
Maybe it had something to do with my obsession with Regulus, but it was a great story x) . Especially the last sentence... Great job!

10/10

Author's Response: thank you so very much dear!!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Pookha Lay Me To Sleep

9th August 2009:
I know I read this some time ago, and I could swear I reviewed it then, but I must not have. I really liked the angst-ridden way that Regulus is contemplating his service to the Dark Lord (BTW, it's Voldemort, not Voldermort as you have it written).

What makes this story is the atmospheric way the descriptions draw you into the well-known story of Regulus. You make the reader care about Regulus. You make the reader want to know more about his story.

If things had gone differently or he had been just a bit braver, he might have been in the OotP with his brother. In the end, he was much like Snape, standing up to Voldemort in his own way. Very well-written and nicely worded.

Author's Response: thanks so much! and ooops. no more writing at 2 am. I will fix it! Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Hopeless Lay Me To Sleep

2nd July 2009:
Bravo! I just loved it. Well written and a great plot idea :)
~Hopeless

Author's Response: thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #9, by DeliriousforSirius Lay Me To Sleep

30th June 2009:
I've never read a short like this.it was really cool! Props to you :-)

Author's Response: thank you!

 Report Review

Review #10, by overdose x3 Lay Me To Sleep

25th June 2009:
*tear* I am so proud to say that I'm friends with such an amazing author.

You write so beautifully. I'd give you an extremely long review, for old times sake, but there isnt much more I can say.


You are downright wonderful. I envy you. And I miss you ):


10/10
-Courtney


(ps. I'm starting to write again. :O)

Author's Response: thank you dear! I love you! I miss you too D; YOU ARE!? I MUST SE. hmm. I\\\'mma come online now and see if yous are there

 Report Review

Review #11, by Lady Ultra  Lay Me To Sleep

24th June 2009:
I truly loved it.
I wanted to keep reading even though it came to an end. Fantastic job. ^_^

Author's Response: thank youuu!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Ginnys_x_heart Lay Me To Sleep

23rd June 2009:
Brilliant it seems really realistic and sort of like a guessing game till you get to the note part you get clues - a death eater - Kreacher - so it must be a black-the boat and the cave - the neclace horcrux - the fake locket - the note. Brilliant I always hthink people should write more chapters when they do one - shots but this was really good and ended filling in another gap from Half - blood prince. Great!

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Pretty Purple Pelican Lay Me To Sleep

19th June 2009:
I think the general idea of this story is very beautiful. The need to make a difference and be remembered is a very basic aspect of humanity. I think there were a couple of grammatical things that could have been fixed, and you could've even expanded a little bit. However, I really enjoyed this one-shot. Great job! :)

Author's Response: thank you very much! ;] i was in one of those get it done now moods so I went super fast. thank you though!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Rubba_duckie Lay Me To Sleep

18th June 2009:
this was really good, like nobody ever talks about regulus story and how he managed to do what he did i think thats cool! good job!

Author's Response: thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Alopex Lay Me To Sleep

19th May 2009:
Well, this was a sort of depressing story. I don't mean that in a bad way, though. What I mean is that Regulus was pretty depressed, hopeless, and wretched, and that feeling permeated the entire piece. Having the night when Kreacher had to go to the cave with Voldemort be a stormy night seemed perfect too . . . that's how I've always pictured it. I guess the gloom inside the cave makes it seem like it SHOULD be storming, even if it isn't. The storm echoed Regulus' thoughts and nightmares too. This was just a dark, stormy, depressing piece!

I especially liked the scene where Regulus and Sirius meet on the street; it was such a pivotal moment. I could practically feel how torn Regulus was over whether or not to warn his brother! How different everything would have turned out if the brothers had spoken. I also liked the way you brought out Regulus' relationship with Kreacher, and how Kreacher was so important to basically everything that happened in this one-shot.

Author's Response: thank you very much! it was supposed to be depressing, sadly, but I guess that's what it has to be. Thank you!

Thank you very much! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #16, by Celtic_Dreamer7 Lay Me To Sleep

16th May 2009:
"I had made a difference, and it was something worth dying for."

Wow. Completely moving and touching. Very powerful. A little piece to the puzzle and you wrote it perfectly. Very well done.

~Celtic~

Author's Response: thank you so much! ^_^ it means a lot to me! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #17, by AndrinaBlack Lay Me To Sleep

14th May 2009:
Wow! That was beautiful and so sad! I think you wrote Regulus really like he could be. Didn't Sirius say sometime that Regulus was more of a follower than that he would have tried to get high up among Voldemort's followers or anything. Here Regulus and everyone else believes that he is just a follower and can't be anything else, except himself in the end and Kreacher of course.

Your writing is really captivating and almost hypnothic in a way. That really gave the story an atmosphere and kept me reading every word carefully.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I do remember something like that, which actually fits very well, because as a bad author I tend to ignore canon out of laziness!

Thank you so much! That really means a lot to me! Thank you! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #18, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Lay Me To Sleep

9th May 2009:
Wow! I love the message from that piece. It was really moving, and hearing the story from Regulus's view and seeing his motives were really great. It made me feel good at the end, knowing he was at peace. I loved the moral. Nice work!

Author's Response: thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #19, by padme_alejandra Lay Me To Sleep

3rd May 2009:
This was excellent. You really made Regulus come alive here and I completely felt for him. This was engrossing and very well-written. Awesome job!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #20, by Drecklin Lay Me To Sleep

3rd May 2009:
Wow. Double-U Oh Double-U. That was fantastic! I was pulled in with the first paragraph! I loved this story so much, you are a fantastic writer! Regulus' feelings were so clear to me, and you managed to make everything feel so real! :D
-Sarah

Author's Response: Sarah. I love you (; Double-U oh Double-U that took me a sec to understand. Thanks Sarah! (;

 Report Review

Review #21, by redherring Lay Me To Sleep

3rd May 2009:
Oh. Wow. Brilliant.

Seriously, this was amazing. I loved the way you wrote Regulus, with him thinking he was average and would never make a difference.

'I had made a difference, and it was something worth dying for.'
- I loved this as your ending sentence. So powerful. (Although you put 'wroth' instead of 'worth')

Fabulous job. An instant favourite!

Author's Response: Thank you very much :) And I fixed that typo, thanks! ^_^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login