Reading Reviews for Astute Observations
  
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Noblevyne Astute Observations

29th June 2011:
Really, truly beautiful. I think you've captured the essence of why Remus and Tonks is so appealing to me - because he's so broken down in spirit, and everyone who ever loved or cared about him is long gone that taking a chance on something and someone as vibrant and full of life as Tonks is terrifying to him and a risk he is just too scared of.

I love Tonks' defiance, that she isn't going to let him get his way even though he's trying to convince her otherwise - acting as though she is too young to understand what she's getting in to. She holds her own in ths fic and her characterisation is just lovely.

One tiny error - so tiny I can't even find it again. But you spelled 'scarred' as 'scared' in one sentence. And I have a Mac and can't figure out the bloody thing.

I also love how Sirius is still so present. There was never going to be enough time for all the years of hurt and betrayal to fade away, and you touch on this nicely.

Great fic! Very much enjoyed reading about my favourite pairing.

Author's Response: Wow. I just can't get over the two reviews you left me - that's why I've not responded to them sooner. I don't know how to express my wonder and gratitude for these amazing words about this story, one of the rare things of my own that I've truly liked.

What you've said about Remus and Tonks is why I find them an odd, yet fascinating pairing. The gap between them isn't so much about age or experience as it is personality - they don't seem suited to one another until one starts exploring their characters more closely. And Tonks is wonderful to write in any light - there's so many aspects to her, like facets on a diamond, which makes her well-suited to any type of story, even darker angst like this. This may be partially why Remus fears her - her fullness, her completeness, while he sees himself as so broken, ragged, and inhuman. I loved writing those wolfish aspects of his character in this.

I could have sworn that I've fixed that typo in the past, yet it's there again - I have fixed it now and hopefully it stays that way. :P Thanks for pointing it out.

And thank you again for this amazing review. To hear compliments like this from you has made me ridiculously happy.


 Report Review

Review #2, by Libera Sonorus Astute Observations

17th January 2011:
Another expertly written story. I liked how, even with a heart-wrenching story, you managed to inject some humour...this line made me giggle: "she did also feel sorry for Harry, but only when he wasnít talking in capital letters". Enjoyed this one very much.

Author's Response: That line was inspired by my own sentiments of Harry's behaviour in OotP. He was so annoying... ;) I couldn't resist having Tonks feel the same way, especially since it takes Harry such a long time to realise the state that she's in, then he goes along and misinterprets it, so I've turned the tables on that a bit. Glad you liked it!

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed this story, which is one of my personal favourites. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #3, by Steph Astute Observations

20th October 2009:
I think it fits into canon perfectly. After all, in the book, it sounded as if they'd had that conversation before; so yes, it fits perfectly. I love the way you included the quote at the beginning, it helps everything fall into place.

Wonderfully written. You kept both of them in character throughout, which can be pretty hard with fics like these. You portrayed her desperation magnificently, and his hesitance, too.
Fantastic job.
10/10

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Steph! Wow, I'm so glad that this story fits into the canon - it started out doing so, and then as I kept writing, I thought it was tumbling out of canon more and more. :P (which is why I ended up including the quote, to ground things a little firmer in place)

It's wonderful that you've enjoyed reading this, and I really appreciate that you took the time to review. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #4, by henryjones Astute Observations

3rd September 2009:
very nice story. the picture of remus is very haunting

Author's Response: Thank you! Haunting is exactly the way I was trying to characterise Remus - one who is haunted by ghosts and his own curse.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Vera_Black_Potter Astute Observations

7th August 2009:
I love how you put the quote in the beginning. Puts the entire thing into perspective. Funny, really -- before HBP, I could hardly think of Remus/Tonks without a question mark, but now it's more along the lines of, of course Remus/Tonks!

To me, it does seem like it would fit into canon. Brilliantly described, and I loved the characterization. Even in the most awkward moments Tonks was very Tonks and Remus very Remus. I feel so sorry for both of them! Brilliantly written, and I love how you imagined it. Absolutely perfect. Fits into Tonks' behaviour during HBP so well it's amazing. How do you always know the right words to use, too?!

Author's Response: It's great that you liked the quote! It seemed to fit that, because the story needed to fit into HBP, that including a quote would root the story in canon a little more. This particular quote really stood out in the book as the sudden realization that the ship did, in fact, exist. :D It was very sneaky of JKR to slip the ship in the way that she did, yet it made for a great mystery, trying to figure out what was wrong with Tonks.

Oh wow, thank you for this review! It's so uplifting to get one like this, and I really appreciate that you took the time to read and review this story. I'm pleased with how the story turned out, which is pretty rare, so it means a lot that people enjoy reading it, too. ^_^

The characters were a challenge to write, so it's great to hear that they fit in with canon. Tonks is wonderfully awkward, and Remus can be awkward too, though in a different way. As for choosing the words, I don't know how it happens. Perhaps it's the perfectionism (sitting there glaring at the screen until the right words come :P).

Again, thank you!


 Report Review

Review #6, by SilverShadow04 Astute Observations

5th August 2009:
Yay for all Remus/Tonks stories ^_^ and double yay for this one. The mood was very "quiet", relaxed or was that the setting? I don't know but the descriptions were wonderful, I felt like I was actually in Grimmauld Place and hearing the whisperings but feeling alone in the silence as well. I love the way you wrote Remus and Tonks in this story, and this missing moment actually felt very conon to me ^_^.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much! :D It's a great ship, though hard to find surprisingly. I wrote this story in part because I wanted to make the kind of story I wanted to read. The atmosphere was really significant to the story, how Grimmauld Place almost seems alive, and how it acts as the catalyst for Remus and Tonks getting together. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Sandra Astute Observations

4th August 2009:
Great story! I loved it so much!
10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! :D It's great that you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Deni Astute Observations

27th July 2009:
That was great, well done :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Lyn Midnight Astute Observations

13th July 2009:
Here it comes, THE sound: Awww. :P That was so sweet! I loved the bittersweet color of this one-shot. Itís really good writing, too! There were several parts that really struck me as true. My favorite one was the moment when she realized Ďwhat it meant to loveí.

Also, there were at least a few winner lines in the story which I highlighted and read a few times for good measure.

I also appreciated the occassional slip of the word ghost, which gave the story a veiled atmosphere, and Tonksís thoughts felt so alive and strong, being so filled with emotion. And all those things she loved about him, her doubts, and her self-pity, and finally, her resolution Ė they all fell into place and made her, and him, and them, simply real. Especially the end, so simple, and yet so powerful.

I spotted just one typo: Greying hair, SCARED face, glum moods.
Thatís it. Paradoxically, the best stories donít need too many words. :P

Author's Response: It\\\'s supposed to be scarred because he has so many scars on his face - one R would mean scared as though he\\\'s frightened. :/ Ach, the English language is murder sometimes.

It\\\'s quite wonderful that you thought this story so sweet. It felt so depressing to me, at least until the end when Tonks came back to her old self and vowed to have him (that\\\'s my favourite bit). :D The one-shots are not easier to write, but they do turn out better, perhaps because I\\\'m not forcing myself so much. They\\\'re more natural in style and content, which is why I\\\'m usually more proud of them. ^_^

Thanks very much for taking the time to read and review, Lyn! :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by stranger_than_fiction Astute Observations

21st June 2009:
...that was amazing, Susan! First off, I have to say that banner is absolutely stunning, you amaze me with your ridiculous Photoshop skills. But moving on, there were some wonderful lines interspersed throughout your story, my favorites being "(she did also feel sorry for Harry, but only when he wasnít talking in capital letters)" and "You canít love someone who has hidden away his heart." The first is hilarious, though my knowledge of OoTP is a bit fuzzy--it's not my favorite book--but are you referencing when Harry is screaming at Dumbledore in the office? And as for the latter, it just has such a beautiful cadence to it like the rest of the story. I got a bit confused with the Roman numerals, but I think I got it in the end. xD All in all, a marvelous story, you really did a great job with it, I think it fits into canon quite well and seems to describe their relationship perfectly--not too fluffy with the right touch of sadness and regret. (:

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Steph! It's really nice of you to have come in to review this! I really appreciate it. ^_^

Yes, I got my shot at Harry in there, haha. It's unfortunate that the series is so focused on just him because all the supporting characters are more interesting, at least to me. I was referring to that scene with Dumbledore and to the other at the beginning of OotP when Harry screams at Ron and Hermione. :P

The roman numerals demark the chapters - the catch being that the chapters here are out of order because of the flashback. ;)

Thanks again for this! I'm glad that it turned out well and seemed to fit well into canon. That was one of the things I was worried about with this story, so it's great to know that it worked out. :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by celticbard Astute Observations

15th June 2009:
Oh, Susan. This piece is stunning. I honestly got teary-eyed near the end. You wrote this romance so effortlessly, keeping it free from tired cliches and predictability. Also, your characterization of Tonks is flawless. I love how you kept her clumsiness, but did not make her the comic relief. Even though JKR wrote Tonks as bubbly and friendly in OTP, I always thought that she must be a serious, talented witch at heart. Her dedication to the Order at such a young age speaks volumes of her determination, a trait which you portrayed perfectly in this story. Furthermore, the subplot of this fic-Sirius's relationship with his friends and family-was truly heart wrenching. Even though he wasn't necessarily in this story, I felt his presence.

This is an amazing story, Susan and I'm so happy to have read it. Thank you for sharing it! ^_^

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so very much for reading and reviewing this, celtic. It was a surprise when you said you'd read and were going to review this, a very pleasant surprise!

I'm gushing, sorry. :P Back to business.

Tonks is a great character in canon, though she gets a bit of a short straw in HBP and DH, which is quite sad. As a female Auror she would hold a lot of power, and in OotP, she's portrayed as strong-willed and charismatic, which I loved. That same feel I wanted to bring into this story, but with the added angst she was experiencing both after Sirius's death and surrounding Remus's refusal. For a girl like her to keep pursuing Remus demonstrates her determination, and I'm so glad it came through well in this story.

It's also great that Sirius had a presence. I meant him to be there, not even as a ghost, but still hanging in the background, haunting them both. I'd always wished that more had been done in HBP regarding Sirius's death, so writing this helped a lot in that regard. :D

Thank you again for reading and enjoying, as well as for reviewing. It means so much to hear from you! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #12, by Livi Astute Observations

27th May 2009:
I'll admit it, I'm not a fan of Remus/Tonks, and normally I don't read one-shots, I tend to prefer longer stories as I find that the author doesn't develop the characters as well as they could do (if that makes any sense, of course).

It's really, really great to be proved wrong sometimes. I didn't feel inclined to skip a single sentence out of boredom, and you portrayed their emotions exceptionally well with originality as well. It's nice to read a romance that isn't all fluff, which ends in fairytale kisses and promises of being together forever. At the other extreme, it doesn't end in tragedy; it's a nice healthy middle that fits in really well with the story as a whole. I also like the way you portray Remus and how the wolf shone through his personality without making him too harsh or violent.
Your description was great.

I also enjoyed how it wasn't in chronological order, although I'll admit when I first saw it I was a bit confused. That's nothing against you, I am a pretty slow person and I have been revising Biology all day. It clicked halfway through.

I really did love this, and I hope you know just how much, considering normally I just write a paragraph for a review. Although, I'm not sure how much sense I've made.
I haven't read any of your other work, but I assure you; I'm going to now! This was a really good read. Thank you!

Author's Response: Wow. This is just incredible. Thank you for this, it's definitely something to brighten up the day! It's wonderful that, even with the odds against this story, you still enjoyed reading it. I love being able to do that as an author (as mean as it is, proving people wrong is horribly fun :P).

Haha, I have rather a dislike for the happy ending, and while they do have their place (and can be sweet sometimes), it seems more realistic to have something end either bittersweet or less than happy. At the very least, I find the not happy endings more profound or able to make the reader think more about the story because there's no neat ending.

The portrayal of Remus was something I was unsure about when writing this story. He's a contradictory character of sorts, being very passive on one hand, yet powerful and monstrous on the other. It was a challenge to try and combine both, and I am glad that it worked. The war rather brings out his wolfish side due to the painful memories it brings.

Haha, I worried that the flashback would confuse people, though the story does make sense if read straight through without knowing of the flashback (it's not perfect, but close). XD

Thank you again for this review! It's fantastic that you enjoyed reading this, and I really appreciate hearing from you. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #13, by LonelyStar Astute Observations

26th May 2009:
Hey, this is LonelyStar here from the forums with the review you requested ^_^

Normally, I'm not a fan of the Tonks/Remus ship, but I have to make an exception for this. You wrote both of them perfectly, and I'm glad you didn't rush right into their relationship, so that third paragraph in, both of them were practically making a break for the bedroom. You developed the relationship as you went along, and I really liked that you did that.

Grammar and spelling was perfect. No mistake at all that I could see. But your dialogue and description were great, and one of my favourite aspects of this one-shot. Pace and flow was excellant as well. And I just want to add (even though this has nothing to do with the fic), I loved your bannar for this fic.

Sorry, there isn't much else for me to say except for this was a very well done fic!

Author's Response: Thank you for doing this! I really appreciate it. And sorry for asking you to do a Remus/Tonks, I wasn't aware that it wasn't your thing. *hides* Should make sure of these things better next time. But it makes me appreciate your review even more. :D

I'm glad the pacing sounded right. Having them rush off that quickly would really be extraordinary, haha, but it is common in fanfics, I guess. Their relationship is strange enough as is, and it seemed more canon to make it develop slowly, more naturally. :)

It's good to know that there's nothing incredibly wrong about this story. It was the first one I'd written in a few months, so I wasn't sure how out of shape my writing skills were. ;) Thank you for this!


 Report Review

Review #14, by scooterbug8515 Astute Observations

25th May 2009:
Wow, I really enjoyed this. Very, somber but in a very lovely way. I really like how you handled Remus and Tonks. I can see it fitting in to canon very nicely. The constant questioning and uncertainty. I really liked the ending very powerful with the "Neither am I" which could have been a very easy ending spot but I like how you continued on and put things to a semi-normal spot as if the statement was never said yet it was. Very Tonks esque and very well put.

Author's Response: Yes, it's great you enjoyed this! When I saw in your review thread that you knew the ship well, I had to get an "expert" opinion because I'm not that familiar with the ship myself. They're both strange characters, very unique in how JKR constructed them, and together they make an equally unique ship. :D

The ending was something I don't think I've heard about from others yet, so I'm glad you touched on it. The story seemed to break off suddenly for me when writing, but like you said, it does return to "normality" with them talking about dinner. The "epic" moment is over and they can return to reality. I didn't think of it that way when writing it, but I like the sound of it. ;)

Thank you very much for this review! I really appreciate it. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #15, by The Empress Astute Observations

25th May 2009:
Susan, I'm finally here with your review. :( Sorry about how long it took. Anyway...
I love how you formatted this, with the numbering. What an original way of doing flashbacks!
This flowed so well, and the idea is wonderful. It feels very real, and it reads as believable canon. Love, love, love it. It turned out so well! They're characterized very well and the scene is set perfectly. Well done love!
~Shiloh

Author's Response: Than you, Shiloh! Don't worry about the time - this story's not going anywhere. :P It's great you were able to take the time to read and review it, no matter how long it takes.

The flashback seems to always be a problem for stories, and it's taken a while to get the hang of doing it. I'm happy that this way worked - while it wouldn't do to overuse this technique, it's one I enjoyed using, and that readers have liked it only makes it more tempting to use again. :D

Yay! It reads as canon! That's what I was hoping for, but wasn't sure if I'd achieved it. Trying to slip this into just the right place within the book kept messing me up, so I'm pleased that all the worry paid off, haha.

Thank you very much for this review! It's great to have so many different opinions on a story, to see all the different ways of that people have read it. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #16, by rotter Astute Observations

25th May 2009:
Was very sweet I liked it

Author's Response: Thank you very much! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #17, by Girldetective85 Astute Observations

20th May 2009:
I always enjoy reading what you write and this one-shot is no different. I thought the layout of the story was ingenious. The way you put together the pieces of Tonks and Remus's complicated love affair makes it seem sort of like a jigsaw puzzle - it doesn't matter which pieces come first because in the end, it all fits together beautifully. Your characterization of Tonks was fabulous. In a Tonks-centric story there's always the danger of being too weepy and depressing but I love the way you've written her - she is weakened by love but she's still a strong and determined woman. How could Remus refuse, you know? There was just enough tension between them to show us the conflict that each of them felt, yet the incredible pull as well - they're definitely soulmates! This was wonderful. You're one of the writers I most admire on the site, everything you do is effortless!

Author's Response: Wow, I still can't believe this. I keep coming back to see that this review actually exists. It's an honour that you read and reviewed this story, and writing a response worthy of it won't be easy.

I like your simile of the jigsaw puzzle; it suits this story and the way I often end up writing, all out of order and in fragments that later need to be assembled. I'm glad it worked out well for this story, though, having been unsure if the strange structure would make no sense at all. (A lack of confidence is the bane of my existence) But taking risks and doing writing experiments has helped a lot over the years; having one work is a definite success. :D

It seems that I need to read more Tonks stories. :P I had no idea that she was so often portrayed as weepy and depressed. The latter at least makes sense, being somewhat canon to HBP, but weepy? Tonks? An Auror? She definitely gets depressed in this story, but weeping does not suit her well; she's too happy and bouncy the rest of the time. Her determination didn't show up very much in HBP until that final scene between them, and I wanted to make Tonks persistent, not following Remus around like a sick puppy, but actively pursuing him. It seems that in a lot of romances, it's more often the guy that does the pursuing, so I was glad that JKR switched things around in this case. ;)

I think I'm starting to ramble. Anyway, it's wonderful that you enjoyed this story, and I thank you for taking the time to both read and review. :D It was fascinating to write these characters, but it was not effortless by any means, haha. I wish it could be. Writing for me usually goes by way of dentistry - pulling words out as one would pull teeth. *shudders*


 Report Review

Review #18, by Alopex Astute Observations

20th May 2009:
When I read your author's note about having to keep track of numbered segments of a story, I wasn't too impressed. I dislike it when writers do that. It's usually an excuse for laziness, or they're trying for a certain effect that comes across very clumsily. However, this was not the case in your story. You obviously thought and planned this out meticulously. Putting it out of order worked very well here, because you had such tight control over the whole thing and made everything flow seamlessly. I am quite impressed with this piece, and I think you write very well.

I haven't read too many Remus and Tonks get together (almost) stories, but I enjoyed this one very much. It seemed so realistic, like this is what actually happened. As I was reading, I didn't feel like you as the writer were forcing them together (as I thought I might due to the alcohol plot device). I liked all the little clumsy moments Tonks had, especially her thoughts about them. Her clumsiness is a distinguishing characteristic, but you didn't overdo it.

Remus was portrayed well also. You really brought out the wolfish side of him. I could feel the werewolf side of him, the danger inside him, the elephant (or monster) in the room, if you will. Your writing style is rather matter-of-fact, as well as solemn or a bit old-fashioned in tone. At the same time, it is very descriptive. It's a style that the reader can't rush through with reading; you force us to pay attention.

Author's Response: I was worried that someone would comment on that note. It is a very sloppy thing to have included - explanatory notes do weaken the rest of the story and somewhat talk down to the reader. It should probably go; my own fears that the story would make no sense whatsoever have been alleviated thus far, so that note is no longer necessary. However, I am glad that the rest of the story made up for that note. :)

Thank you very much for this review. I wasn't expecting it at all, which immediately makes it an exciting read. You've mentioned some very interesting points about the characters and story that I hadn't thought of when writing. The alcohol scene was a risk, initially a way to get Remus to a state in which he would reveal too much of his own feelings. This changed when I switched the order of the sections, and instead it became a grief session about Sirius. That seemed more natural for both characters, both connected to Sirius, albeit in different ways, who blamed themselves for his death. So the potential for a poorly chosen plot device was there. After reading your review, it's a relief to know that it this way worked out better for the story.

Someone else who reviewed stated that Remus was too harsh, yet I agree more with your way of putting it. The werewolf side of him isn't cute and fuzzy, it's dangerous and looming. For half the story, Remus has only just returned from living among the werewolves, so having the wolfish side of him emerge is realistic.

Your description of the writing style is one I'll have to keep in a special place so that I can continuously refer back to it. It's never been described in that way, yet I can see what you mean. It's the greatest compliment anyone could have paid me, thank you. Getting the reads to pay attention is important to me as a writer - I don't want to write anything that can be skimmed through and easily understood.


 Report Review

Review #19, by AndrinaBlack Astute Observations

16th May 2009:
Your writing is so good, as always! I loved this! It's so emotional and it seems so right. Remus/Tonks is one of my favourite pairings and I can imagine the relationship between them developing very much like this. I got tears in my eyes at parts of the story and smiled a little at some parts. So sad but somehow so sweet at the same time.

Author's Response: *blushes* Thanks, Andrina! I'm glad that it didn't turn out to be a wholly angsty/depressing story; the bits of humour seemed somewhat out of place to me, but they also suit Tonks's personality. It's like the darkness surrounding Remus was clashing with Tonks's brighter mindset.

It's great that you enjoyed reading this, and that it suited the ship well. ^_^ Thank you for taking the time to read and review this story, Andrina!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Celtic_Dreamer7 Astute Observations

16th May 2009:
Impressive. I love how you kept the characters in character yet you were able to show a side of them not often shown in the books. Well done.

~Celtic~

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :D It's wonderful that you liked how the characters turned out. They're not ones in my usual comfort zone, so I'm glad to hear you thought they were both in canon, and also something more. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #21, by padfoots girl Astute Observations

14th May 2009:
Wow.

Seriously, this was an amazing one-shot. I've always meant to read your stories and I never got the chance to. But I'm really glad that I started with this one. ^_^ The way that you chose to write this story was extremely original. I don't think I ever would have thought to change up the order. I loved it, though. I read it both the way it was intended and then I went back and read it in the correct chronological order and I loved both ways. It really made me appreciate the story so much more. ^_^

The thing that struck me most about this story was that there really was no happy ending or grand final scene or anything of the sort. It was simply real. It was written beautifully, there's no doubt about that, and the writing itself was amazing, but there was nothing special about the events themselves in this story. (A good thing, in this case. =P) And that's what made it so great. You took insignificant events and weaved them together to create a beautiful story.

In all the Tonks/Remus stories that I've read, I've always felt like something was missing, but I always assumed that I would just have to deal with it and no one was going to capture this ship the way I wanted them to. You've proven me wrong. This is officially my all time favorite Remus & Tonks story. *applauds you* You did an absolutely amazing job with this story. I honestly don't know what else to say. I'm so glad I saw you posting around TGS, because otherwise I'm afraid I would have missed out on this awesome one-shot.

My favorite line: "What was she supposed to do? This was not the sort of thing she was trained for." Just a simple little line, but I loved it. It really shows that Tonks has no idea what she's doing when it comes to love. ^_^

10/10. I absolutely loved it. ^_^
-Alex (renegade on TGS)

Author's Response: Wow back to you. :P This is quite a review! Thanks for taking the time to be so detailed. :D

The changing of the order happened accidentally. It was originally continuous, with the parts in the same order as they are now, but without the flashback. But when I looked back into HBP for help, I realised that I had it out of order - Remus and Tonks talked about Sirius's death not long after it occurred, so those two scenes had to become flashbacks. I'm quite pleased that this mistake turned into something people liked. ^_^

As for happy endings, or the lack of them, that's my own problem as a writer. I seem incapable of making my characters end stories happily. And when I do, it usually sounds fake (to me, at least). :P It's quite sad. Good to know that it worked for this story - I did try to make the ending less depressing (because it was even depressing me. It was initially going to end with his flat-out rejection of her). Anyway, it didn't seem to me that neither character was really able to make a sweepingly romantic ending happen. They're so mismatched and awkward, which is at once sweet, but also keeps them from finding perfect harmony with one another.

Haha, if it helps, I wrote this partly because I couldn't find many Remus/Tonks stories that really satisfied me. It's fantastic that this one was the right one for you, and I'm really really glad that you enjoyed reading it. Wow, your favourite! *dances* Thank you so much for taking the time to read, review, and most importantly, enjoy. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #22, by obviously394 Astute Observations

12th May 2009:
Despite the fact that I absolutely abhor Nymphadora Tonks, I could really sympathize with her here.

It was all rather bittersweet, as we know they're going to die, but we're still rooting for them to get together ...

Sorry, I don't think I'm making much sense ... kinda sick and rather overtired. Anyway.

I think you captured both of their personalities well. I've always thought that, in the books, Lupin didn't really show his true colors, I suppose- trying to be more cheerful for Harry, you know- but Remus doesn't care what Tonks thinks of him, so he doesn't wear a mask in front of her. And then he's not a particularly likeable person, which is rather rare in fanfiction.

Um. I think your plot is quite plausible. I wish Remus gave more of a hint that he would, eventually change his mind, though I suppose it is unnecessary as we know he will cave eventually. I mean, there was a hint that he cared more than he claimed, but I would have liked a little more.

I love that he isn't gorgeous. He often is, and there isn't any reason for him to be. Not every guy is gorgeous. Annoys me to no end.

Your dialogue was lovely- quite realistic, which is often hard to find- and your description was exquisite.

My brain is sort of dead right now, so I think I'll stop. Lovely story, just like all of your other stories that I've read and been too lazy to review ;) 9/10

Author's Response: Haha, you say that you're brain dead, yet you came out with a very articulate review. :D You're the second person to have mentioned the bittersweetness of knowing that they're going to die, which is interesting. I didn't think of it myself while writing this, yet it is an important thing, knowing ahead of time how this romance is going to end. Even the stuff that goes on before their deaths, when Remus leaves her and then goes back again, it's all very sad.

That's a good idea, having Remus give more of a hint that he likes her. Maybe not in dialogue, but at least in the way he acts, something unconscious, perhaps. I never thought of that, but it would have been a good idea. Darn. I might have to write another, happier, story. :P

I agree that he doesn't need to be gorgeous (there was Sirius for that. just kidding). I mean, Remus is a werewolf, ravaged by what he becomes once a month and the intense sorrow that hangs around him. Even if he was good looking in school, by this time, he's been through a lot. :( I'm glad you like my portrayal of him in that way.

Thanks for this review! I didn't mean to force you into it, but you did do a great job at picking out notable things from the story. I really appreciate it. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #23, by onestop_hpfan18 Astute Observations

9th May 2009:
Hey, Leslie here from TGS to review ;) I really enjoyed this HBP missing moment one-shot to fill in what could have been happening between Remus and Tonks. You truly had both of their characteristics pegged down to a T and I loved the little clumsy moments that Tonks made during moments that were tense between the two of them. It was quite the mood lifter, and I couldn't help but giggle a little when Tonks tripped over the side table at the end when she told Remus that she wasn't going to change her mind either. And the descriptions were amazing, of course =) Great job! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you for this, Leslie! It's very helpful! ^_^

The clumsy moments were fun to add in, though I wasn't sure if I had too many (making Tonks look ridiculous) or if they seemed fake, so it's good to know that neither ended up being the case. I wanted them to lighten the mood a bit, keep this story from being an entirely depressing thing and also relieving the tension a bit. Haha, I'm glad they made you giggle. :D


 Report Review

Review #24, by desola Astute Observations

9th May 2009:
i love this wow u write like a professional

Author's Response: *blushes* Thank you very much for saying so! :D

 Report Review

Review #25, by lovedraco4ever Astute Observations

9th May 2009:
That was beautiful, Susan! Absolutely beautiful. :D You're such a great writer, and this is set at the perfect pace, with the best descriptions of Tonks's and Remus's emotions. Loved it. :)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much! ^_^ This has made me feel very happy and squishy, haha. I'm really glad that you enjoyed reading this, and that the characters's emotions came out sounding well (they seemed awfully blank to me, but maybe that was the point).

Thank you for taking the time to read and review this! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>