Reading Reviews for All The Way Down
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ILuvSev4Evr7 All The Way Down

27th August 2010:
Pretty. ^-^ I like it, short but interesting. ;)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Lil lily71 All The Way Down

21st December 2009:
omg Rita I didn't realise you had written a tom/minerva story, so I was pleasently suprised to find this. ^_^
Your writing is so detailed and beautiful, you can imagine the ballroom so clearly from your descriptions.
Minerva's character was perfectly done.
Wonderful writing darling.

Lore

Author's Response: Hey Lore! Thanks so much for reviewing! Glad you liked the story!

 Report Review

Review #3, by long_live_luna_bellatrix All The Way Down

24th July 2009:
Wow. Your writing is like poetry! It's beautiful and flowing and enchanting. Your descriptions were simply amazing. This was such an eloquent, sweetly sad story. Nice job!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #4, by inkismyworld All The Way Down

8th July 2009:
I loved the imagery and detail given to such a short peice, it really sucks the reader into the world- great job!

Author's Response: I did my best trying to remember all of my lit lessons for the imagery in this fic. I am glad you like it! Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by scarlett nixon All The Way Down

16th May 2009:
This Minerva/Tom Riddle one-shot was a very unique one. Never imagined the pairing. I liked it. Extremely short, though, but nonetheless beautifully written. I hope there's more short stories to come :)

Author's Response: I seem to have a lot of short stories in me. As for long ones, not so much XD I'm so glad you liked the story. I'm actually doing a series of oneshots revolving around it sho you should check it out when they're up!

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Derek Zischke All The Way Down

29th April 2009:
Professor McGonagall is one of the few characters we never get much of an insight into in the canon, and here you've made her very human (if only for a moment), painting her not just as Minerva, the young woman, but as The Girl Who Danced That Was. The scene of the faded ballroom is very sharp, very crisp, and hints at a history that could easily be explained in detail but doesn't need to be. Simple. Effective. Good work.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Wow, this is really an awesome review. I'm glad you liked the way I characterized Minerva. I've never really had a true interest for her until thought of this plot and now I have a new found respect for the woman as a potential character.

Thanks for the review! Glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #7, by celticbard (too lazy to log in) All The Way Down

26th April 2009:
Wow, just wow. You know what this reminds me of? Asylum by Patrick Mcgrath, a tale of forbidden love set in an English insane asylum in the late 1950s. This little jewel just reminded me of Mcgrath's work. It's elegant, passionate and chilling. And I absolutely adore the archaic feel of it. In only six hundred words you've managed to capture the complications of this pairing. Brava! This is definitely going in my favorites. ^_^

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this review! I haven't read it actually but I'll be sure to look out for it! I loff joo Lee Anne and it really makes me feel great hearing that you liked this story!

 Report Review

Review #8, by dianap00 All The Way Down

24th April 2009:
I very much enjoyed this story. It reads very nicely and feels mysterious in all its suggestive manner. The description is eloquent and engaging. I wish there was more of it, to be honest. While I understand the repetition of some phrases or fragmentation of sentences in the form of one-word(.) are intentional, I must admit that they are almost burdensome (thing is, you've described things so wonderfully that when you add the one word that surmises Minerva's feelings or the atmosphere it is rather needless). Well, that's purely reflective of my own sensibilities, so ultimately do as you chose. c:
Really lovely story.
Cheers.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review and the constructive crit. You've really given me something to think about and I'll be sure to apply it to my next stories!

 Report Review

Review #9, by extant All The Way Down

24th April 2009:
The beautiful banner drew me in, and I have to say I don't ever read Minerva-based fics, so I don't have much to compare against, but this is lovely (: Your writing style flows really nicely and the descriptions are so delicious. The fact that it's short sort of adds to the charm - it's a good length to keep the reader interested. I'm gonna have to go and see what else you've got up now! ^_^

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Violet Gryfindor All The Way Down

23rd April 2009:
I really like this, Rita. It's not what I expected, but maybe that's what makes me love it all the more. :D The writing definitely stands out - the imagery, the style, the sensual details, all make the story seem to come alive, make it easy to be there with Minerva, hearing the phantom whispers. This is such a simple one-shot, a brief moment in time, yet you put so much into it.

What I like most, though, is the way she teeter-totters on the balance between youth and age, past and future, what if and what is. It parallels the same balance between good and evil that she must have chosen between. But still, what does she need to be forgiven for? That's a wonderful little mystery. ;) It's great how she has this moment of weakness, but maintains her practicality and pulls herself back from it (though saying goodbye to him like that is another moment of weakness, so she doesn't escape it :P). It's a characterization that suits Minerva well.

Reading this has made me wonder why I don't read more of your stories. The writing is fantastic. ^_^

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! Haha, actually, I have a little plot bunny for this that answers all of the lingering questions but I am hesitant to write it as of now so I'm just doing a series of one shots about it for the time being.

I'm really glad you liked the story Susan! Means the world to me!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login