Reading Reviews for Defiance
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LovelyMioneWeasley No Regrets

16th February 2011:
Misty!!

I am slowly but surely making sure my reviews are all over your works, lovely! I think that after this all I have left are a couple chapters of Stalkers Anonymous. But I will surely review it all!! :D

By the way, I was curious to know what you thought of Glee's verison to Fireworks as I am listening to that now? I personally think they do an amazing job with Katy Perry songs.

ANYWAY, onto your lovely, amazing one-shot :). So, I'm pretty sure in some past life I read the old verison of this. I can't remember much about it other than the dominance of Narcissa and how much I loved your take on the whole bit.

So to begin with, I think you kept the sophistication of the Malfoy Manor very well even though Narcissa was tired of it all. I also think that you did a good job of revealing an attitude that is different from what we would have used to expect of Mrs. Malfoy. Especially her distaste toward the peacocks-- I totally agree with her.

And I disagree with other reviewers-- I don't think you intended this one-shot to be more about anyone than Narcissa. Lucius, in my mind, is actually included more than I thought you would have included him. He is subtly mentioned throughout and I found it artfully done my love ^_^

I also thought you did a good vulnerable Draco. I think it took a lot of admittance and I could definitely a girl could be a convincing influence for Draco to try to reconcile with his parents. Astoria was very sweet when she was mentioned; I also liked your simple explanation for how they were spared from Voldemort's bidding simply because they were Pureblood but lacking the power/money.

Overall, I really, REALLY like this one-shot; I think your continual use of the quote from DH was very powerful and add some poetic dynamic to the entire one-shot. Well done my dear :).

Love you!
Linds

Author's Response: Linds, I seriously LoL when I read this. That's probably the most awesome mission ever! I'd love to have your name all over all my stories, an honour if there ever was one. *hugglomps!*

Lea Michelle has an outstanding voice, she can make almost anything sound good. I thought she gave Firework real emotion (oh gosh, please forgive that American Idol-esque answer). She made it sound very pretty. Between the two, my heart belongs to Teenage Dream but Lea's Firework is a valiant effort hehe. Agreed, probably because the songs by themselves are strong but Katy Perry's voice... isn't. Distinct, yes. Strong, no. I'm listening to it now as I'm writing this response, hehe.

The war really changed Narcissa and made her see things differently and realized what's important in life. Even with a decaying manor, Lucius still insists on peacocks. Talk about misplaced priorities hehe.

-blushes- That's so sweet of you to say that. As per usual, you're right. Although this does feature and explore the state of the Malfoys, Narcissa was always meant to be spotlighted. But I do accept that readers wanted more Lucius, even if I don't quite understand it. Who knew so many people wanted to read about him? Hehehe.

Yay! I'm especially happy that you liked my Draco. He does hold a special place in my heart (that may have more to do with Tom Felton but I digress). HBP shows that he is capable of showing vulnerability and compassion, even if it is in small doses. Call me an optimist but it would take a very kind, forgiving girl to overlook the Malfoy's sordid past and I wanted to give Draco that.

Thank you so much for another wonderful review, Lindsey. Your feedback and support means the world to me =D. Love you too!

*hugs*
~Misty


 Report Review

Review #2, by siriusgirl1 No Regrets

21st May 2010:
I really like what you've got here. Narcissa is well-written and I love the way you transition from memories to present. However, Lucius needs some more attention. He starts off a little too violently angry in the beginning to make sense later. I know the turn-around is supposed to be fairly dramatic, but it might flow better if the rage deteriorates more clearly into a distant coldness and then into forgiveness at the end. Draco is portrayed very well, and I like the way you worked Astoria in there. Good job! 8/10

siriusgirl1

Author's Response: Actually, he does exhibit distant coldness in the middle of the fic, when she's reflecting on how much of a ghost he's become but I'll look into it and see where I can improve on. Yay! Finally, someone who likes Draco's character :). Ah, I couldn't resist squeezing Astoria in there, just so Draco gets to have a little redemption. Thank you so much for the review!

~Misty


 Report Review

Review #3, by padfoots girl No Regrets

22nd April 2009:
Here to review, as requested! ^_^

I really enjoyed reading your Narcissa here. I think you had a very nice grasp on her as a character, as well as taking some creative license and spinning her into your own version of her. Very nicely done. The air around her just seemed perfect and you had the whole pureblood supremacy emotion down perfectly.

Your descriptions in the beginning were wonderful. Really, I was drawn in from the moment I started reading this and I just read straight through without letting anyone distract me. You really did a great job on keeping the flow of the story continuing on and I didn't feel like anything was forced here. *applauds*

My only criticism is of Draco and Lucius. You put so much development into Narcissa and then I felt like I was let down with these two. Draco was somewhat believable, even if he was a bit on the soft side for my taste. (But that may just be my personal opinion, as well.) But Lucius... I don't know. It just seemed all so sudden, him forgiving Narcissa. Again, it could just be my strong opinion, but I think that he was too accepting for a man in his position. I just don't see him ever apologizing.

Besides that, though, wonderful story! I'm so glad you stopped by my thread, this was a great read! Amazing work, dear. ^_^

-Alex

Author's Response: Narcissa was a surprisingly intriguing character to explore. To be honest, I never really thought much of her before DH. After I read her major scene in DH, I was completely gobsmacked. It just added a whole nother layer to her I didn't know existed. I'm beyond thrilled and relieved that her character came across the way I wanted.

Oh wow, you have no idea how much that praise means to me! Description is by no means my strongest suit. It's a constant uphill battle to get it right so it's a great relief to hear that you enjoyed it that much. *blush*

Fair point. You're not the first reviewer to mention it so it's alright :). I'm not as satisfied with their characterisation as I am with Narcissa's. It was tricky to write them, I can't lie. Draco was meant to be depicted as more reserved and withdrawn and I guess the romantic in me wanted for there to be a happy ending for the Malfoys.

Thank you so much for the wonderful constructive criticsm, I greatly appreciate it!

~Misty


 Report Review

Review #4, by datbenik513 No Regrets

20th April 2009:
Selamat, my dear Misty,

After a long absence, finally, yet another wonderful story from my fab Slytherin girl :)

You tackle a very interesting theme in a very intriguing way. I should guess that sooner or later canon would have moved this way, should the books have been continued. This 180 degree turn to the past, this breaking with old prejudices is quite imaginable when talking about Narcissa, and with a high probability Draco as well; about Lucius Malfoy I'm not so much sure.

Yet, the whole story was written in a very poignant way; with the necessary tension, very believable emotions and a very valid message. It's over! Start anew!

I thank you for the enormous reading pleasure I've got from your story.

10/10

Zoltan

Have you read Seven Deadly Sins? I'd be curious to hear your opinion on them, whenever you have time for it.

Author's Response: Hello to you too, Zolton, :)

The Malfoy's situation after the war is definitely a complex and precarious one, a sort of neither here nor there because they switched sides in grand fashion ^_^. I wanted to explore that aspect of their lives as they have always rather fascinated me, more so than any other family in the series. Perhaps that's what makes me such a Slytherin at heart? Hehehe. I'm so glad you enjoyed my little one-shot and gave such a generous rating, very kind of you.

~Misty

I have actually. I'm still trying to find the time to review it. I really have to kickstart my reviewing, am rather rusty.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Alopex No Regrets

19th April 2009:
I like the idea of this story; it's all very heartwarming (even if your writing conveys the coldness of the Malfoys and their Manor), what with Draco coming home to tell his Mummy he's getting married; redemption, forgiveness and reconciliation, etc. Narcissa is an interesting character, if only because of her action in the last book. On a more personal level, though, she's a relatively blank slate upon which fanfiction writers can fashion her to their liking. I thought your descriptions of Narcissa were pretty convincing in terms of her appearance and actions.

This is a rather unhelpful criticism since I'm not offering specific examples. However, I did find some of your sentence structure to be awkward at times. In the future, you might consider reading some of your sentences out loud to yourself (or imagining yourself reading them aloud) to catch some of those awkwardnesses. I noticed them more in the first half of the story.

Overall, this is a decent story. You have a decent idea, and you develop it well. I believe the area where you can most improve is characterization. I know that the characters being Malfoys has something to do with it, but they seemed cold and somewhat constructed. If you can find a way to let their emotions shine through them, rather than always describing what they're feeling, your story would be even better. Sorry, I know this is really vague as well!

Author's Response: I've always had an odd fascination with the Malfoys, especially in the 6th and 7th book. Draco was revealed to have a more complex nature than before and Narcissa's action in DH was a definite "Holy ...!" moment for me xD. Everything that you mentioned (redemption, forgiveness and reconciliation, etc.) was what I was going for in this story and what I feel best embodies the Malfoy's difficult situation.

You weren't being vague! Actually, I found your advice very helpful and relevant. I also felt the first part is a little more stilted compared to the rest of the stories and you aren't the first to point out the characterisation weakness. I really do appreciate your honest feedback and will keep your advice in mind :). Thank you!

~Misty


 Report Review

Review #6, by confusedlover No Regrets

17th April 2009:
very lovely.

i thought that you did an amazing job on this one-shot. everything seemed to be very much in place and i noticed nothing glaring or distracting that took away from what this piece provided. you had me captivated from the very first word to the very last and that is one thing that not every author can pull of in a short story such as this. nice work.

your plot development was incredible as well. very believable, i must add. nothing was out of place or indifferent to the information that you provided at the beginning of this story. your pace and consistency was very complimenting to what this emitted.

i liked your characterization as well. Narcissa was especially amazing. that could be because she was pretty much the main focus but either way, i found her actions and dialogue very appealing. Lucius and Draco were also characterized extremely well. you connected them each through invisible strings and that keeps readers interested.

overall, i thought that you did a lovely job on this story. i do not really know of anything that you can stand to improve on. the only suggestion that i might have for future writing is to slow down a bit. i really did not think that you rushed too much with this but a few parts were a bit too quick. just something to look out for. nice job on this. i enjoyed this story very much. keep on writing.

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you so much! I almost don't know what to say *blush*. It's always gratifying to hear when someone likes my story but to go into such detail with so many compliments.. *is gobsmacked*. I just can't do this review justice but a million thank you's, you have no idea how much I appreciate it =D

~Misty


 Report Review

Review #7, by Inti No Regrets

15th April 2009:
Hey there, here to review as requested =]

What I really liked about this is the way it built up. The pace and flow was perfect really. The way everything was building up to the point of Draco's return, and then suddenly he was there, but not the same. I thought that was interestingly done, that even after the war, after they had been pardoned, they still weren't quite right.

The main thing I'm unsure about is the dialogue. There's nothing in canon to suggest they would speak in this way. They are formal but not to this extent. This is almost period language it's so formal.
Also Draco's character was a bit too contrite, a bit too sweet and meek.

With that said, I thought your take on the Malfoy's downfall was really, really interesting. Certainly I'd never thought of it as being quite like this. So well written. Thanks for requesting, I enjoyed reading!

Author's Response: I thought the fate of the Malfoys would be the most interesting to explore following the downfall of Voldemort and his death eaters, especially seeing as Narcissa had such a crucial role in it. Distrusted by the good guys, betraying the bad guys, it's a no-win situation for them.

Really? It came across as period language? I never realized that. The dialogue between Narcissa and Draco was meant to be formal but an awkward formal more than anything else.

Hehe, yes, Draco's character does need a bit more tweeking. I'll see what I can do.

I'm relieved to hear that you still enjoyed my take on the downfall of the Malfoys, despite some weak spots. I should be the one thank you for taking the time to review, I really do appreciate it. =)

~Misty


 Report Review

Review #8, by slytherinchica08 No Regrets

15th April 2009:
i think this story is written great. its very detailed and doesnt go at too fast of a pace or too slow that we just want to skip things. altogehter i think this was a good one shot with lots of thought into the characters thoughts and motives.

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: *blushes* Wow, thank you so much for such nice comments. They are very encouraging to hear. Thank you for the review!

~Misty


 Report Review

Review #9, by pwcapone No Regrets

15th April 2009:
Good story! I have no negative comments. Good grammar and structure, nice balance and dialouge. Though why Draco seemed stress is beyond me, since everything seemed to be going fairly well for him.

Anyway, good work!

Author's Response: I didn't go into too much detail about what happened to Draco but not everything worked out as well as it could have for him. But yeah, I suppose it could be said that his fate was decidely better compared to most of the former Death Eaters.

Thank you for the review!
~Misty


 Report Review

Review #10, by alyson No Regrets

11th April 2009:
i luved narcissa and how good and kind she iis because you never really see her in the books. when draco and lucius came around i felt so happy for her. i also lik how you kept repeating that one important line over and over again, getting more intense each time.

Author's Response: I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed it. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by TwilightPrincess No Regrets

10th April 2009:
I really like the way this is written. The dynamics of it are incredible. It's all being built up and built up and built up to the point where she finally sees Draco. It's wonderful. I don't know if you're familiar with it, but in music, the build up is called a crescendo and the arrival point is called the... well, the arrival point. XD What I'm trying to say is that I could really feel the movement of the piece. You did a great job.

I'm not doubting that Draco has a softer, more respectable side, but I did feel that your Draco here was a little too sweet. I mean, I felt like it wasn't Draco at all. Again, I don't doubt that he has the potential to be a good person, nor do I doubt that he has respect for his parents, but I just felt that this was a little over the top. I think if you wanted to have him like this, perhaps add some narration in between showing how difficult it is for him to actually speak in that way, or something like that. Something to show us that it is indeed Draco, not some nice-speaking clone with great manners.

Not the ending I was expecting at all. I was actually expecting some tragic, dramatic, sad ending. I won't lie; this ending served as a teeny bit of a let down for me. Perhaps it's because I'm heartless, but I just didn't feel like the happy ending fit the story. But what do I know? It's your story. You know it better than I.

Overall, a very well written piece. Good job.

Ganbare! Tanoshinde ^_^

.:.Ilia.:.

Author's Response: I think I have an idea about what you mean by the crescendo. What a lovely way to describe the flow, thank you so much!

I think you're right about Draco. I've always had a soft spot for him and I think I cut him alot of slack in this story because of it. I'll look over the story and try figure out some way to improve his characterisation.

Hehe, it was a rather sickly sweet ending wasn't it? As much of an angst person as I am, I guess I felt the Malfoys, after everything they've gone through, deserved their own little happy ending. I have such a ridiculous soft spot for them.

Thank you so much for such a wonderfully detailed review! I''m so sorry it's taken me so long to respond.

~Misty


 Report Review

Review #12, by Phoenix_Flames No Regrets

10th April 2009:
WOW! AMAZING!

I've never read a story where Narcissa is so caring and worried about her son. This was really unique and I loved your characterization of her.

I love how you repeated this over and over:

Is Draco alive? Is he in the castle?

Each time more suspense, more curiosity, and more intensity was added to the story. You kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time, wondering what would happen. If Narcissa would be releaved, if Draco would be all right.

Your plot was beautiful and I can actually see this story happen. It was amazing and orgianal!

Ahh, Misty, I love your stories! You never fail to disappoint me. Let me know when you have a new story! xD

10/10

Author's Response: Aaaw Drue, once again you bowl me over with another incredibly sweet review! I simply can't do this review justice, all I can say is thank you for never failing to make me smile. =D

Hehe, I just may take you up on that offer of requesting for more reviews. ;)

~Misty


 Report Review

Review #13, by redherring No Regrets

10th April 2009:
Oh, I just loved it. Simply brilliant. I can't fault anything 10/10

*adds to favourites*

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #14, by lovedraco4ever No Regrets

9th April 2009:
Lovely banner by Violet :D It's what drew me to the story.
I loved the story, you've depicted her love for her son and husband so brilliantly that I can see it in my mind as I'm reading. If anything, I feel like Lucius's change was a bit sudden. It may be personal preference, but I see him as a character who needs alot of time to change himself.
Excellent job though!

Author's Response: Hehe, when I saw first saw the banner, I knew I had to have it xD. Violet is a graphic genius.

I definitely understand what you're saying but he did have five years to think about it, just like Draco ;). It was an emotional reunion that swept them all. Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed the story!

~Misty


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login