Reading Reviews for Overdrama
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Luna Moth Overdrama

3rd October 2009:
like how you protryed Astoria. you're right. Draco needs a tough woman.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked Astoria. I'm also glad you liked the way she relates to Draco.

Thanks for the review!

Hugs,
Gail


 Report Review

Review #2, by Eleanor Larkin Overdrama

28th July 2009:
Well I had to check out one of your stories after all the great reviews you've done for me. I thought this was really interesting, and well written too. Your descriptions of the clouds and the sea are melodramatic, but I assume you intended this as it seems appropriate for the setting and mood of the story. Your writing conjures up an image of the scene in front of my eyes, and that's a sign of a good narrative.

I agree that Draco needs some tough love, because he's only ever had either adoration or bullying. I'm also glad you explored his grief for his friend, because most people would assume he didn't have strong feelings like that. It's good to read a view from the 'other side.' I like Astoria too!

Author's Response: I can't believe you stopped by. I'm flattered. Honestly, I'm chuffed to bits! I've really been enjoying your work this holiday, so I'm rather shocked you liked my stuff. And yes, you're right, the melodrama was intended, and purposefully overdone.

I'm really glad you felt as I did, that Draco needed the tough love. Like you, I wanted to explore grief, but in a slightly different type of grief. I was also playing with Draco and Astoria to see if I could figure-out their relationship for a different story.

Thanks so much for the review, you made my day!


 Report Review

Review #3, by xXmalfoysgirl4everXx Overdrama

15th May 2009:
I liked it. It wasn't too fluffy, yet not too subtle. You have a different way of dealing with this couple, and I like that. Draco being depressed because of Crabbe's death is definitely a change. I usually don't see that. And I liked how you made him think it was his fault - usually he doesn't blame himself for the things he's done. I like the flow; it wasn't too fast, or to slow to comprehend. And again, the characterization of Draco stood out. You also have a lovely banner! It adds to the story.

Great job!
10/10 --ron.weasleyxo from the forums

Author's Response: Thanks so much. Sorry it took so long to respond, I've been really busy with 'real life' this past while. I'm really pleased you liked this, though, I was really trying to show Draco as a real human. Because JKR only wrote from Harry's perspective, through his 'hatred' so to speak, it is often hard to see Draco as having complex emotions, and yet... yet he was crying in the bathroom, before Harry attacked him. He talked to Myrtle... There had to be something there. So I worked with that.

I can't take credit for the banner. That's all LittleMiss at TDA! She's amazing.

Thanks again, though.

Hugs,
Gail


 Report Review

Review #4, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Overdrama

20th April 2009:
Hey there. First of all, in regards to your concern over Astoria leaving Draco, and readers not liking that, it's your decision. I think the story was very realistic, and that Astoria leaving Draco was better than ending it was some soppy lovey-dovey ending. The tone of the story was being tough, getting over things. The ending stayed true to the tone. If you don't want to change it, don't. Not everyone will like your writing. It sounded like a fine ending to me.

Anyway. It was really good. I haven't yet read a fic where Astoria was as tough to Draco as he was to others, and this was pretty interesting. Draco needed someone like Astoria.

Overall, it was very good. I think the only thing to add would be a touch more hate to Draco. He sounded like a scared little boy, and I think that at the beginning of the fic it might be a little better if he tried to hide his fears from Astoria. That's just how I think Draco might react in the books. Otherwise, great job!

~lllb

Author's Response: Thanks for the vote of confidence on the ending, and the review in general. As for Draco and hate... I'll look into it, but the problem is that he doesn't really hate Astoria, and she's the only person there. Now if Potter had been there... But he's not meant to sound scared, so I'll look to focusing on his 'misery' rather than fear. Thanks again for the review!

Hugs,
Gail


 Report Review

Review #5, by WildMtn Overdrama

19th April 2009:
Very cool Gail!

I have had numerous debates with Dramione writers about how Draco would be after the war. This is the way I see him too. I'm not saying he doesn't have potential, but it would take time.

Beautifully written, as always. The first person thing is hard.

Well done!
Dan

Author's Response: Yeah, I always feel trapped and limited when writing in first person. Just not enough scope.

As for Draco, well, he was a bit like this in the 6th and 7th books, I just took it forward several years. I gave him time. Time and a strong woman who wants to snap him out of it.

Thanks for the praise!

Hugs,
Gail


 Report Review

Review #6, by Tinkerbell01 Overdrama

18th April 2009:
Gail, m'dear! You've done it again! :) Another original story from you that was fantastic. I don't hardly see many D/A stories out there, but your little one-shot was brilliant. :) Your descriptions and everything else are amazing. I don't know what to criticize!

Although, I did kinda want Astoria to stay, but guess Draco deserved it! When you said little chestnut waiting for me, was that the food you were talking about, or do they have a child? *ponders* Guess I'll never know! Aha.

Hugs,
Tink

Author's Response: Yay! Thanks for the words of praise. Everyone seems to like this one. :-D Everyone wanted Astoria to stay, too. But she really couldn't, you know? It's not in her character, and not what Draco needed.

The chestnut... 'Chestnut' is a term used to describe a light, reddish brown horse colour, and the 'aethonon' according to 'Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them' is a winged horse, a chestnut winged horse. Astoria breeds and races them, I figured it was just the sort of rich-girl past-time a pureblood like Astoria woud undertake.

Thanks for stopping by!

Hugs,
Gail


 Report Review

Review #7, by Jellyman Overdrama

14th April 2009:
That was amazing. Excellent, really. I liked you characterization of Astoria, she was lovely. Well done!

Author's Response: Well thanks! Really, thanks! I put a lot of work into creating Astoria, and then portraying her in so few words, so I appreciate the recognition and praise.

Hugs,
Gail


 Report Review

Review #8, by redherring Overdrama

13th April 2009:
I LOVE your portrayal of Astoria. It was just perfect, and she is exactly what Draco needs. I also liked how she was cool as a cucumber and he was bordering on hysterical, it was a good contrast.
I couldn't believe the ending :( I kind of hoped she'd stay, but I guess that wouldn't be very in character. I can't helping feeling sorry for Draco though, even though he was being completely dramatic - and on that note, I loved the title, it fitted the story perfectly.

Anyway, I just loved it. No criticism at all. 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you really liked the characters and the contrast between them. This was a lot of fun to write. And I'm glad you liked the title, too. I didn't have any trouble coming up with that, once the scene was set.

I can understand why you wanted her to stay, but I think Draco NEEDED her to go. She's a strong match for him, but he needs to become a strong match for her.

Thanks for reviewing!
~GailGreen


 Report Review

Review #9, by Phoenix_Flames Overdrama

12th April 2009:
Awww, ha! Wow!

My dear, this was fantastic. I really love your portrayal of Astoria in this. It is really unique and I do believe she would have this side to her. Draco needs a good kick in the backside - exactly what she gave him.

I thought this was an amazing story in general. Really fantastic. Your writing was beautiful. The layout was a little funny though. With the occasional three spaces between sentences. I would suggest getting those of the way; they are just bothersome. ;)

But wow! Extremely brilliant, in character, insightful, and, I believe, completely original and unique! Wonderful job!

10/10

Author's Response: hehehe! Yeah, I did feel that Draco needed a swift kick, and that Astoria was the one to deliver it. I'm glad you liked her. I've alwasy felt Draco needed someone more substantial than a simpering siccophant like Pansy.

I promise I'll take a close look at the lay out tonight or tomorrow. I really appreciate that you took the time to point it out.

Thank's for the praise and support!

Hugs,
Gail


 Report Review

Review #10, by rachm34 Overdrama

11th April 2009:
Ohh, I really liked this. Yet again, another very origional story from you, Gail! You always come up with really origional stories. I'm impressed. I think you did a great job writing this one as well.

You always, are very impressive with setting a mood and feeling to a story. i am always able to become absorbed in it and feel what the characters are feeling. That really is a good thing for a writer to be able to do. You want to make the reader feel for the characters.


I think there were parts, like in the important dialogue sections where you could do with some more descriptions. I think that would be very key for the story, because the reader will grow a better sense for it.

And also: I've never heard of the word Craggy! Good word choice there!

Great work!

Author's Response: Thanks! *blushes* I'm glad the mood came across well. It really was just an exercise in creating mood.

I'll look at the dialogue and adding a bit more description, but I was trying (to some extent) to let the dialoge carry the story, to provide all the back and forward momentum, soley in the dialogue. So I'll see what I can't do with description, without losing my original intention.

Again, thanks for the review!

Hugs,
Gail


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login