Reading Reviews for Black Ice
  
39 Reviews Found

Review #1, by redherring Trading Opinions

10th June 2009:
Aww, I love your Sirius! He's just too cute. Oh, and it's so sad that Cygnus and Walburga would trade their children! Evil Blacks. Anyway, another wonderful chapter! Hope you update soon :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review, dear! ^_^

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #2, by celticbard Something Unexpected

7th June 2009:
Hi Alex!
It's celticbard from TGS, here to review as promised. For some reason, I feel as though I've reviewed this chapter before. I know I read it recently and I could've sworn I left feedback. *shrugs* Oh well, I must be getting forgetful, haha. ;)

Poor Sirius! What a traumatic environment for a baby to enter, though it would seem quite common amongst Pureblood households. I actually got chills when Orion began to plan for his son's future, envisioning him as a great leader. Little did he know that Sirius would end up in Azkaban for 13 years. Though I wonder, would Orion have been proud had Sirius murdered all those Muggles? Would his Pureblood sentiments have extended so far? Hmm, I'm thoroughly intrigued by this beginning!

I think I'd like to see more of Walburga and Orion's relationship in future chapters. I'm assuming their marriage was arranged, but why exactly are they so hostile towards each other? I am certainly eager to find out!

I really enjoyed reading this fic, Alex. Please feel free to request from my thread again. I hope you have a great week! Take care!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: I'm so glad it's already got you thinking! And that you like it too! ^_^ Thanks so much for the review! And I am SO sorry about the delay in a response. *huggles*

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #3, by WeasleyTwins Multiple Forms of Pain

4th June 2009:
Hello Alex, I'm here to review. Sorry for the extensive delay, life's been getting in the way!

Wow, wow, wow. How utterly brilliant. I believe I told you in my last review that you are becoming one of my favorite authors and this chapter only strengthens that resolve. Such a heart-warming, thought-inducing writing style you have and I love your writing. I don't know how to describe it, but your writing is so...easy...to read. It flows with grace and does not distract the reader with mindless description. Every sentence has its place and your style truly makes this. You could write a phone book and I would be enthralled.

As to the story, I felt this was just absolutely heartbreaking. That last bit with the house-elf and Sirius was just so sad. I wanted to wrap him in a hug and give him watermelon. The house-elf was just so plum cute and I wanted to squeeze her to death for being so loyal.

Beautiful, 10/10

Shelby

Author's Response: Dude. I am SO sorry for MY extensive delay in responding. I've been taking some time off from writing and literally have not signed on here in like two months. *mutters*

Anyway, I'm so glad you like this! Really, I am. ^_^ Thank you for taking the time to read and review and seriously, I'm really sorry about not getting to reply to this review. :( *huggles*


 Report Review

Review #4, by Siriius Trading Opinions

3rd June 2009:
Aw, that was an adorable chapter; referring to Sirius I mean! He has the most amazing manners for a four year old :) Also very witty and humorous at such a young age. I laughed out loud at this:

"Can you say anything else besides 'yes, mama'?"
"Yes, mama!"


Jeezum, that was great! You're updating like crazy love, or is it just me? I love this story; I don't want to see it end it's so good! As for Walburga, great character all around, and you portrayed her brilliantly yet again. I was glad to see that there wasn't much of Orion! I like him but .. the way he controls Walburga makes my lip tremble, even if she is wicked D;

As for Bella; Glad you finally brought her into this story! Such dialogue for a young girl yet she's a great character all the same. Is there gonna be much more of her? As for Cygnus, I never really .. you know, KNEW who he was or read much about him but he was an enjoyable character to read about :D That was yet another fantastic chapter, Alex! Sorry if I rambled a bit but I can't help it! Well done; 10/10, love (;

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm really trying to build his character and you'll see, everything I'm writing plays in some how. I'm really glad you like Walburga and Orion still, and yes, there will be more of Bella. ^_^ Sorry this took me so long to respond to, I've been gone for a while. There'll be more updates soon-ish, though, I promise. Thanks for sticking with me. XD

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #5, by WeasleyTwins Wishful Thinking

26th May 2009:
Alex, I'm here to review! Sorry for the extensive delay :]

You are steadily becoming one of my favorite authors. I cannot explain to you what your description does to this heart of mine. I am a lover of a good bout of well-executed description and you just make my heart soar every time I read something that you have written. I know that sounds totally ridiculous, but reading is my passion and as a writer, you make reading worth every minute.

I simply adore your characterization of Walburga. In OoP, all we saw of her was the remnants of hardened, angry woman framed in a picture. You have described an entirely different side to Walburga and I feel incredibly sorry for her. Alex, you've written something completely amazing. This chapter is the essence of a hard life, one that can change on the turn of a dime.

Absolutely beautiful, 10/10

Shelby

Author's Response: I don't even know where to start. I've put off replying to this because I honestly don't think any response I can give you does your review justice. You've made my day, to say the least, and I cannot explain to you how much this means to me to hear that you liked this so much.

One of the biggest focuses in this story--if not THE biggest--is the characterizations of all the characters. I'm really striving to make them well-rounded characters, since the point of this story is for you to gain a better understanding of Sirius's childhood and to do so you have to understand not only his younger self, but his family. It is extremely comforting to get a review that assures me I've got the characterizations down. You have no idea how happy that makes me.

You're amazing, seriously. I don't think I can sum up your review in any one sentence, but to say that you've made me smile like crazy is an understatement. Thank you so much for the absolutely wonderful review. ^_^

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #6, by Loosi_D Multiple Forms of Pain

26th May 2009:
Aww, this story is so cute and sad. Can't wait to read more =)

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! And thank you for another review. ^_^ I hope you continue to read.

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #7, by Loosi_D Something Unexpected

26th May 2009:
Aww, it's amazing how you can get such a sense of his childhood from only his first few months. Poor baby Sirius =(

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for the review, dear! ^_^

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #8, by Siriius Multiple Forms of Pain

26th May 2009:
I feel for Sirius, I really do. Yet another perfect and beautiful chapter. I could just imagine Sirius' pain while he was teething and I pictured him screaming perfectly in my head. Orion is awful, foul .. And every other horrible word I can think of!
Poor Sirius not getting his ice-cream. Everyone needs some ice cream every now and then (: I love your interpretation of Walburga when Regulus was born;

There was an air that Regulus already possessed that was much more elegant, much more Black..

I loved this line for some particular, unknown reason, but it fits in really well. And thus, the 'perfect little man' arrives! Can't wait to read what happens next; You don't know how much I adore this story :D 10/10, once again love (;

Author's Response: It's always so nice to hear from you and I'm so glad that you're enjoying this story so much. Really, you have no idea how nice it is to log on and find that I've got a new review from you. ^_^

As for Regulus being born, well, you're going to see how Sirius's brother plays into everything as the story goes on. I don't want to say anything, 'cause I'm not giving anything away, but not everything is quite like it seems. I'll leave it at that. (I'm staying completely canon, I'm just looking at it in a different way.)

I'm so happy that this chapter was enjoyable. Thank you again for a wonderful review and I hope that you like the rest of the story just as much. The next chapter should be up in a few days, actually. ^_^

Thanks again!

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #9, by redherring Multiple Forms of Pain

26th May 2009:
Yay, an update! And another brilliant chapter. I really love the way you're portraying the relationships between the Blacks - from what we've seen of them in the books, it seems really accurate. Again, your characterisations are perfection, and it's so hard to get the Blacks right, so great job!

As always, 10/10.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's always nice to hear that my take on the Blacks is still IC and believable. ^_^

Thank you so much for the review, dear!

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #10, by californialove Wishful Thinking

20th May 2009:
Ok, I enjoyed this chapter a lot more! There was no YELLING! haha! Just kidding! Seriously tho. This chapter was even more pleasant to read. The voice you've given the narrator is just fantastic! I love it! The syntax makes the reading enjoyable! It's like someone is telling me the story!

In this chapter, I now pity Walburga. She kinda makes me think of her as one of those mothers who's lives is like on hold now because she had a kid while the father just goes on with life, as if he never had a child. Boo! I Hate it when that happens...but now I've also chosen to dislike Orion. I mean, if that's what it takes to raise a Black, you might as well just put him in basket in the woods and let Natural Selection take care of him.

Nice work! :]

californialove

Author's Response: I'm sure your opinion of Orion and Walburga will change many times over the course of this story, so just keep reading. ;) I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed this chapter more and that it's coming along nicely.

Thanks so much for the reviews, love!

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #11, by californialove Something Unexpected

20th May 2009:
Ok, the first line, totally through me off. Ha, I mean, that whole yelling CAPS thing, this is just me, but it's a turn off. I feel whenever authors do that, Rowling included, they're almost exaggerating. There are other ways to show how loud the character is yelling. But what made it better was the narration. The third person narration made the yelling CAPS so much more bearable because the voice was chill, calm and cool. It was a good counter to the YELLING. (hahaha!)

Walburga I gotta say, is not my favorite character. She just comes off as a cruel person. And her name too! Ugh! :P But Orion, I thought you nailed it. I liked him. They way you portrayed him so far doesn't surprise me. He does seem to be a bit like Walburga in the sense of "I want my kid to be exactly like this! And I'll do whatever it takes!" because he says he's going to raise this kid like the proper Black he is. But he does it with like good intentions of carrying on the Black name.

Overall, not a bad start! You did well on keeping things balanced!

(sorry for the long review by the way... -_-;;

ca♥

Author's Response: I totally get what you're saying about the yelling in caps. =P Looking back, I wish I hadn't done that and I'll probably change it when I go back and edit it. So you'll be comforted to know that that is being taken care of. ^_^

I'm glad you think I have Orion down and Walburga is going to be explored more in the next few chapters, so just keep reading. =]

Thanks so much for the review! And I will never complain about a long review! ^_^

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #12, by onestop_hpfan18 Wishful Thinking

17th May 2009:
Aw, I thought that was sweet when Walburga conjured up a dog to keep Sirius the company that he had desired. Also, I like how conflicting you've made Walburga as a woman and mother that feels that she has to follow what Orion says, but not agreeing with it at the same time. This was a very good chapter and I feel like you really are introducing Walburga into the story well. 10/10

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! Walburga is definitely going to be an important character in this story and I felt that by getting into her mind a bit in these earlier chapters, it'll be extremely beneficial for later.

Thank you so much for another review! ^_^

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #13, by onestop_hpfan18 Something Unexpected

17th May 2009:
Aw, and Sirius is born. The Black Sheep of the Black family. Anyway, I liked this chapter and I thought you did a great job writing Sirius's parents, Orion and Walburga, and how they would act as new parents once Sirius was born. Great job.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! It's so nice to hear that Walburga and Orion are turning out nicely. ^_^

Thanks for the review, dear!

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #14, by The Empress Wishful Thinking

11th May 2009:
Wow, I've never seen Walburga written sympathetically before. You did great with that! She comes across as sympathetic without being excused from what she does. She's still selfish, still a snobby pureblood, but you present the idea that maybe she's lonely too. Great, great job.
~Shiloh

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so glad I portrayed her that way! That was completely my intent and it's really nice to hear that it worked out. =] Thanks so much for stopping by, dear! ^_^

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #15, by The Empress Something Unexpected

11th May 2009:
That was excellent hun! I really think you captured the Black's well. Great idea, great writing.
~Shiloh

Author's Response: Oh, I'm so glad you liked it! Thanks for stopping by and reviewing! ^_^

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #16, by WeasleyTwins Something Unexpected

10th May 2009:
Hello, WeasleyTwins here to review as requested. Sorry for the delay :]

Oh my goodness, this was fantastic! Once again, I just can't do a normal review, this was just too great! Walburga and Orion were just deliciously perfect! Sinister and disgusting pureblood! I love that Sirius's screaming was symbolic of how he would have to be seen and not heard. It shows that one day, he will only been seen and never be heard, because he isn't the perfect Black.

Overall, I just loved this first chapter. The description, dialogue, it was beautiful. Great, great chapter! 10/10

Shelby

Author's Response: Shelby! *glomps* Thank you so much for the review!!! I'm sooo glad that you liked Walburga and Orion, because I really want readers to connect with them, along with Sirius. ^_^ I'm so glad you liked this chapter, dear! And I really hope you keep reading!

Thanks again, love! ^_^

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #17, by muinthil Wishful Thinking

7th May 2009:
I love the insight into Walburga's mind! I cannot help but wonder what had caused the change with her and Orion. This is a very well written story and I cannot wait to see where it goes. I didn't find any errors and you use just the right amount of description. Please request me again when you have more chapters. I will love to continue reviewing!!
10/10

Muinthil

Author's Response: Thank you, dear! Again, I think an important part to understanding Sirius is understanding his parents, hence the focus on Walburga in this chapter (and the next few chapters as well). All your answers will be told in due time, I promise you. ^_^ And if they're not, well, then I'll tell you them when the whole story's over. Hehe. =P

I'll definitely let you know when the next chapter's up. Thanks so much for the reviews, dear! ^_^

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #18, by muinthil Something Unexpected

7th May 2009:
I love the start to this story. You are a very gifted writer! It is great to see the background into Sirius' life and how neglected he was since birth! You have developed both of his parents very well and they have true personalities of a typical Black. Well done!!

10/10

Muinthil

Author's Response: Yay! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed this. ^_^ I've always thought that people just jump into writing Sirius without thinking about where he's come from, so I decided to write this story as the first part of my series, instead of just jumping to a Sirius at Hogwarts. Just to show everyone what life was really like for him. And I'm very happy to hear that my characterizations are on the right track. =]

Thanks for the review, dear! ^_^

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #19, by DeliriousforSirius Wishful Thinking

4th May 2009:
***In Response To The Request Made on 4/13***
Aw, Sirius has a puppy :-)
I think that little baby Sirius is the cutest thing ever, nice job!
I also love how much detail you're going into with Walburga. You never hear too much about her and it's a nice change. Overall you writing is still great and the story is reading like a real book.

Correction:
*She was not the slim figure she had once been and even when not pregnant, she just wasnít quite the same handsome young woman that she had once been. (I would consider rewording this line, it seems a bit repetative)


Thank you for requesting, please let me know when the next chapter is updated!

Author's Response: Yay for all the above! =P Yes, Walburga is nearly always forgotten and I thought that it was time for a change. After all, how can you understand Sirius without understanding his family, right? So that's why you're going to be hearing more of Walburga's side of the story for the first few chapters. At least until Sirius grows up a bit more. =]

As for the correction, I'll keep that in mind if/when I revise these chapters. At the moment, I won't be doing anything simply because I'd rather keep posting further chapters. But thank you very much for pointing that out. I'll keep it in mind.

Thanks so much for the review! ^_^

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #20, by redherring Wishful Thinking

4th May 2009:
*gasps* I can't believe I missed an update!! Thanks so much for requesting, because I think I might have cried if I'd missed it! Well, slight exaggeration, but it shows how much I love this because seriously, I do. I've added it to my favourites, by the way, which I can't believe I hadn't already done.

Anyway, it was another amazing chapter. Little Sirius was so adorable and I felt so sorry for him, and I also loved the way you portrayed Orion and Walburga's relationship. I never thought I'd say this, but I actually felt a bit sorry for her, too.

The bit with the dog at the end was a really nice touch. Very sweet. Oh, I only just noticed: in the last couple of paragraphs, you slipped into present tense for a bit, but that is literally my only criticism. You get a 10/10 anyway, though :)

Author's Response: YES!!!

Sorry, I just had to take a moment to be thrilled. You felt sorry for Walburga! That was my goal and I'm so, so, sooo glad that it was accomplished. I want the readers to understand and sympathize with her. Readers certainly won't like her, but at least they might be able to see where she's coming from and feel the slightest bit of pity. You have no idea how much it means to hear that I've gotten someone to feel sorry for her already. =]

Ah, I did? Well, when/if I revise this chapter, I shall definitely fix it. Thanks for pointing that out! And there's a reason I put the dog in there. ;) Nothing big, but just kind of a reasoning behind Sirius's like of dogs when he gets older. (Older, as in, the second or third book of this series.)

Your reviews mean so much to me. Seriously. It's amazing to come on and read that you've added the story to your favorites and that you were so excited for this update. It's really people like you that make me want to keep writing this as quickly as possible. ^_^

Thank you SO much for the review, dear. I hope you keep enjoying the rest of the story as it is updated! ^_^

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #21, by DeliriousforSirius Something Unexpected

4th May 2009:
***In Response To The Request Made on 4/13***
Okay, so I'm extremely excited about this story! Not only is it about Sirius (my favorite character, as you already know), but the story line is already really well formed for it only being the first chapter! Not only that, but there were also no mistakes that I could find. This review is going to be shorter than most, because of the intro-like nature of it, so I hope that's okay with you.

First of all, you do an amazing job with word choice. This was especially apparent in the first paragraph. On the whole, your writing style made me want to continue reading, in addition to the story being interesting. Finally, I wanted to let you know that the summary is really great. It give just enough info without being annoying.

Thank you for being patient.

Author's Response: Yay for a Sirius lover! He is my favorite character, by far, and I'm really having fun writing this story. I always think that people butcher him when writing, so I decided to write my own story that explains how he became the man he was. And I'm so very happy to hear that you're enjoying this! It's really nice to hear that my story is coming along nicely, since beginnings are always rather hard. =P

Thanks so much for the review! ^_^

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #22, by alanapotter Wishful Thinking

2nd May 2009:
Firstly, I'm going to apologize for how long I let this sit, I had some studying, projects, and papers to do! But I'm here now! ;]

Oh! I love Orion's character! How he makes Sirius stand on his own then encourages him! So cute!

"there was a persistent determination that could be seen on the childís face, his whole focus solely on standing up without any help" -- I also loved this sentence!

"Sirius most definitely had a way of learning what was necessary, just in time." -- also very lovely.

This is a great continuation of the first chapter! I love the relationship between Walburga and Orion, as well as the relationship they have to Sirius, you write it wonderfully and I adore your style.

I don't think I mentioned this in the last review, but I also love the title of this, I can already tell that it's very fitting.

It's so interesting to read this... I'm always curious about what the marauders lives were like when they were younger... and this really captures me. I really don't have anything to criticize! Your grammar is all wonderful and everything flows, the characters are spectacular... it's just all there! Keep up the good work! And please let me know when the next chapter's up (even if you don't want a big review like this ;])!
-Jill

Author's Response: Don't worry about taking too long! I can understand that perfectly. I take far too long to get my own reviews done myself. =P

*grins* I'm glad you like how the relationships are developing. For the first few chapters, that's going to be the main focus. I really believe that in order to understand Sirius as a teenager/adult, you have to understand him as a kid. And a huge part of that has to do with the relationship with him and his parents.

Honestly, I absolutely love your reviews. They always make my day. ^_^ And me not wanting a big review? Nonsense! Keep bringing them on! =P Thanks so much for reviewing, dear! I'll let you know when the next chapter's up, for sure.

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #23, by Phoenix_Flames Wishful Thinking

28th April 2009:
Oh wow!! Another brilliant chapter, my dear! It was a wonderful improvement! I enjoyed absolutely every second of it.

Your characters are cominga long so nicely. I'm really enjoying Walburga. She seems dead on.

Wonderful job!!!

10/10

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it! For the first few chapters it's really going to be focusing on Walburga and Orion until Sirius is old enough to think in more than one word. =P But the purpose is to show the family dynamics, so I'm glad that you think Walburga is on the right track.

Thanks so much for the review, dear! You always make me smile. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #24, by Siriius Wishful Thinking

27th April 2009:
I squealed when I saw this story was updated (: This was a fantastic 2nd chapter, a really wonderful read! I 'aww-ed' so many times as Sirius learned to fend for himself ; I was nearly in tears reading about him learning to walk on his own.
I felt quite a bit of pity for Walburga too though. Reading about her and Orion's relationship was a great read, and it made this chapter very enjoyable. Also love the idea of giving Sirius a small dog ; that's so adorable :D

10/10, love!

Author's Response: You're making me smile quite a lot right now, dear. ^_^ I'm very happy to hear that you liked this chapter! It's wonderful to have someone following the story and so happy when it's updated. I am extremely happy to hear that people are understanding Walburga, since my goal is to set up the family dynamics now, which will later explain future events.

Thanks so much for the review, dear! *huggles*

-Alex


 Report Review

Review #25, by confusedlover Something Unexpected

17th April 2009:
very lovely.

i thought that you did an amazing job on this story as well. i think that you have a nice, well-plotted base for this story so far and things can only go up from here. i really did not see anything wrong with your writing. no errors whatsoever and no tense issues. i really like the fact that this story is centering around Sirius's parents. it is an interesting take on Sirius's home life and i am certainly enjoying everything that this story has offered so far. nice job on this one as well. keep on writing.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! It's really nice to hear that it's on the right track. ^_^ Thank you for the wonderful review!

-Alex


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>