Reading Reviews for Oddments
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by jtz My Friend Ginny

19th June 2015:
love this story. i love luna as a potion prodigy.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review. I always thought that Luna would be great at potions, but never follow the book, which would both drive Snape crazy but also make him proud (as he could be). I look at this story now and think it's probably OOC for Ginny a bit, but I like the bones of it.

 Report Review

Review #2, by daliha My Friend Ginny

13th July 2010:
aww I really liked this. A sweet start for a friendship.

Author's Response: Thanks for the nice review. I'm glad you liked this story. I was experimenting with writing in first person and I was never really satisfied with this story, but I posted it as a window into how I try to write. I think the story itself is fine, but I know I don't have the characterisations exactly right.

I'm really happy you enjoyed the story and think that it's sweet. I think Luna and Ginny were probably bffs.

 Report Review

Review #3, by eightfourseven Cold Black Rage

9th August 2009:
I love the idea behind this! She's absolutely crazy. I love the description of jealousy. You've really made me absolutely terrified of her, which is a good thing. If I knew a girl like this in real life, I'd freak out. Her Harry obsession is insane. Love it. I love the "private black spot of rage" line. She's so... delusional in that line about Harry wanting her. It's fantastic. AH. This is so great. I'm adding it to my favorites and I'm so happy that I got to read such an amazing story. I'm usually way more harsh in my reviews, but wow. Amazing.

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for the very nice review on a very, very dark story of a crazed obsession. I always thought that Romilda had the stalker-type personality. I actually have a story-line in my head with her as a ghost and my necromancer from my other stories dealing with her.

I'm so glad that you liked this little story and the description of jealousy.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Meridith Equality/Coitus Interruptus

18th July 2009:
The second story is very cute.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the nice review. I'm glad you liked it. It seems to ring true to life with some parents.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Georgia Weasley My Friend Ginny

3rd May 2009:
I love it! What a lovely beginning to Ginny and Luna's friendship. Ginny is done very well here, jumping in with both feet to help a friend. She's a bit daring and willing to take a risk just to get at Snape. Luna's strangeness works for her, regardless of what others think. Snape was forced to acknowledge her potions prowess once the test was run. Great job! I enjoyed it so much!~GW

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind review. This is the only time I've written Snape and not been horrified at what I'd written, so I'm glad you liked it.

I'm also glad that you thought the charactertizations were well done. I wish I could remember why exactly I wrote this.

And of course it was dedicated to you. As I indicated privately, great minds think alike. ;)

 Report Review

Review #6, by datbenik513 Time Well Spent

28th April 2009:
Oh, oh, oh. Just why on Earth made Jo Harry get together with that horrible b... witch? What in Merlin's name has he ever seen in her? The more I think of them, the less convinced I am about them together. And to imagine that I used to be a huge canon fan...I'm ashamed of myself.

Harry has never been a person to handle popularity well. In fact, he never sought popularity, he always tried to avoid being in the limelights. Therefore the accusation of Ginny seems just ridiculous. Well, we know already that she's incapable of cool reasoning, but that just doesn't justify her behaviour and the fact she'd turned Harry's proposal down after all he'd been through for her, is just cruel.

I can very well understand Harry's mental state. What I can't understand how her parents could betray Harry. Because, after all, it was BETRAYAL.

The blissful Christmas break. While I understand Hermione's concerns, this had nothing to do with what had happened between Harry and Ginny or how Harry was treating Kreacher; well, he wasn't mistreating the elf as Hermy had implied. Also, slapping him in the face for this reason was rather un-Hermione-ish. Heck, he was miserable as Dr. House, what sense did it have to humiliate him even further?

But after returning to Hogwarts, the clouds showed their silver lining. I liked the way how you gradually, step by step, brought Harry and Luna together, in a more intimate way than it could ever have been with Ginny. Ginny is fierce and animalistic, a very intense person, but her unbalanced character is a "don't" to most men. I know all about it, she's like my wife :)

Their painting sessions, their small talk, their intimacy radiates a sort of soothing serenity. Yet another proof to my recently developed theory that they make more sense together than Jo's implications.

Carl, I really like your alternative take on things, both here and in the Dementor's First Kiss. And, I liked how the title came back as a very strong closing thought

There were some minor typo and grammar issues but I guess you'll still have this chapter beta'd.

Apart from that, it's a 10/10.

Best regards,


PS. You'll want to catch up with some reading soon; the first chapter of Shadowlands is under validation here (3 chapters up on GF) and ... you'll have to see, but Luna makes an unexpected entree there, becoming a major figure. This fic is the continuation to Another Time, Another Chance, just to place it correctly.

Author's Response: Thanks, Z for the long, detailed review of this. I'll start with the typos and grammar first--I wrote this a while ago and haven't seriously edited it since I wrote it; I keep meaning to chapter it out and at that point, I would have it betaed.

Writing this now, I would take a very different tack. I would have Harry with PTSD symptoms, possible a dead Ginny (instead of a PO'd one). The substance abuse would be more like sleeping pill/downer abuse instead of alcoholism. I would change almost the entire first part of the story-the backstory that's necessary to develop the Harry/Luna ship.

The latter half of the story with Harry/Luna would be pretty much the same, but with more development and better characterisations. As I said, I think it has good bones, but needs editing/working on.

I'm really glad that you liked it overall and I will try to get to your works, but I've been having real-world time crunches lately.

 Report Review

Review #7, by datbenik513 Sartorius Wrecks

28th April 2009:
I still don't know where to place this small story, nevertheless I enjoyed it very, very much. A different touch, a different view on the Founders.

A truly Gred and Forge-like second half with a matching Norman answer and a hilarious end sentence.

Is Elaine the Norman, by any chance, a distant ancestor of Molly Prewett and Ginny Weasley?

Brilliant small piece!

Author's Response: I don't picture Elaine as an ancestor of Molly/Ginny, but that doesn't mean it's out of the question.

I'm glad you enjoyed this. I love humour, but I don't try to write it often, as it's not my forte, but it was the challenge given to me.

I knew I couldn't write directly about the Founders, so their children seemed natural to me.

 Report Review

Review #8, by RonsGirlFriday Harry Potter and the Shaggy Dog

26th April 2009:
Very clever, and extremely shaggy! I loved Ron and Harry's good cop/ bad cop routine - I thought it was a bit of a role reversal because Harry is usually more calm and rational, and Ron is s bit more hotheaded, but it was a role reversal in a good way. 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I wrote this story for two reasons. The first was to write good cop/bad cop with Harry and Ron. The second was to make a horrible pun.

Glad you enjoyed my silliness.

 Report Review

Review #9, by FriendofMolly Harry Potter and the Shaggy Dog

19th April 2009:
Oh I was not expecting that. The pun was the best way to end it. Actually the whole chapter was way beyond the Magical world we know through JKR. This was really good.

Author's Response: I couldn't resist the bad pun. Thanks for the compliment. I knew it was way off the norm, that's why I warned about it being a crackfic :)

Thanks for all the nice reviews.

 Report Review

Review #10, by FriendofMolly Sartorius Wrecks

8th April 2009:
That was very good, confusing at the start. but good. I did like the spell, when it was done correctly, hee hee.

Author's Response: Ah, was it confusing because I joined it in media res?

I appreciate all your reviews, thank you.

 Report Review

Review #11, by RonsGirlFriday Sartorius Wrecks

8th April 2009:
Very clever! I loved it. :-)

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #12, by RonsGirlFriday A Christmas Gift / Unwelcome

8th April 2009:
A very well-written Draco! It's not done very often! And I love how you worked in two people who are angry with him for completely opposite reasons - Borgin is angry with him for betraying the Death Eaters, and Cedric's mother is angry with him for having been one. That right there shows you how hard it probably was for him to redeem what was left of his life.

The one about Dobby was eerie and thought-provoking.

Author's Response: Thanks for the compliment of a good Draco. I've never actually written him before, so I'm glad he came out well.

You caught what I wanted from the 'pariah' prompt. He's not welcome in either world, his old one or the new order.

The Dobby one I wrote very quickly, as the deadline was approaching and I think it shows, but I love Dobby so much, that I knew I had to keep it as it was.

Thanks for reviewing each chapter.

 Report Review

Review #13, by RonsGirlFriday Equality/Coitus Interruptus

8th April 2009:
I like where you went with the first one - I don't think many people would think of focusing on a goblin with the prompt you were given. And the second one - well - just plain funny!

Author's Response: Thanks for the nice reviews. I wanted to write someone different, so I went with Griphook. Glad you enjoyed it.

Ah, the second one. Very true to life from what I hear from people with children.

 Report Review

Review #14, by FriendofMolly A Christmas Gift / Unwelcome

6th April 2009:
God, I loved Dobby. I started wondering why he'd be peering into Malfoy Manor, but then I remembered that as bad as it was it was once his home. Maybe he wanted to see how bad things were without him, he'd like to know, that after he got his freedom, he was if not appreciated, than things were not as good for the Malfoys, as they were with him. Perhaps he'd like to see them going to ruin. But he was right, as much as he hated them, the love he had from Harry, rid him of the need to see them totally destroyed. Good job on not mentioning the w word. In your second, it almost made you sorry for Draco. Actually it did. The last nineteen years could not have been easy. Now he has a little boy, who we know hasn't been indoctrinated into the Dark side. It must have stunned him (not magically), to have Ginny and Ollivander save him and Scorpius. I guess he learned his lesson, and has tried to reform. Both parts were really enjoyable.

Author's Response: I love Dobby, too. He's the death that hit me the hardest. I thought that I did pretty good keeping Dobby IC here, and I'm glad you did, too.

I don't believe I've ever written Draco before, so this was a new experience for me. I don't necessarily think he 'reformed,' as much I think that he just wants a quiet life with his family away from notereity.

I'm glad you've been enjoying my drabbling. I really enjoyed writing them.

 Report Review

Review #15, by FriendofMolly Equality/Coitus Interruptus

5th April 2009:
Hee, hee, hee, hee, second one first, that was so true to life, I can just imagine EVERTHING! The first was a surprise, just how long do Goblins live, in your mind? I dare say that the Sword of Gryffindor hasn't always stayed in the case, but if a Goblin ever earned a wand it would be Griphook. Another Good one.

Author's Response: I really enjoyed writing the second one. I agree that it's true to life...children surprise you at unwelcome points sometimes.

Not sure what you mean in the first. It's set 50 years after DH, so Griphook would be probably 90-120 yrs. old. And the sword of Gryffindor definitely wouldn't just stay in the case.

Griphook is as treacherous as any goblin (from a wizard's pov).

Glad you enjoyed these, I had fun writing them.

 Report Review

Review #16, by FriendofMolly Keeping up the Fight / Semper Fidelis

5th April 2009:
I read this one before, thought I'd left a glowing review, nope my mistake. I do like both these short shots. You show your heart in both, congratualations. I'm still sniffing from the last scene, sniff sniff. I can't wait to read the next, so you have another interested reader. Well Done!

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad that you liked both of them. I'm sorry that I couldn't show Cho's Ravenclaw side more, but I had a very small word limit.

Ahh...Charlie/Tonks is my second favorite non-canon pairing, after Harry/Luna. Poor Charlie, never married, this is one speculation as to why.

Thank you again.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Toxic Turquoise Keeping up the Fight / Semper Fidelis

4th April 2009:
This is really good!
Put some more up? =)

Author's Response: Thank you. I've got more coming soon. I must admit that I actually like 'Semper Fidelis,' and I don't always like my own work.

I'm glad you enjoyed my drabbling.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login