Reading Reviews for You Had Me
  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MissesWeasley123 You Had Me

13th March 2014:
HEY JENNY YOU AWESOME STAFFER YOUUU.

First when I read the summary I was internally throwing up, because sashayed is an ew word, you know, like one of those Mean Girls' words :P And I thought this was going to be some massively painful story BUT IT WASN'T AND IT WAS DARK AND GOOD.

Wow, for one I never thought it was Rose in the beginning, because of "her mother" and that really threw me off. But then you were all, "Rose Weasley" and then I was like, "ohhh snaaappp" and that was some impressive building of suspiciousness. hehe.

And just wow, Rose's characterization is such little words! I am blown away by it. It was great, honestly. She was cool, and almost like.. freaky. I was honestly frightened by her! And now I wonder what riot they were talking about...

You captured their relationship really well, AND I AM SO SAD, WHY WASN'T RON MENTIONED. IF HE IS DEAD AGAIN JENNY I WILL BE SO ANGRY WITH YOU!!! But then poor drunk Hermione I am just so confused like, when you think about this piece has so much more to it, and then you were all cruel and didn't give us more hmph not impressed at all. :p

I'm kidding, I love it.

Blackout 1/6

 Report Review

Review #2, by randomwriter You Had Me

13th March 2014:
Hello Jenny! :) I'm here for the Gry/Sly Blackout Bingo Battle.

WOAH. Jenny. I don't know what took me so long to get here. You absolutely stole the words right out of my mouth with this one. (And probably the air from my lungs as well!) You probably know just how much I adore Rose/Scoprous. And in spite of how different and unique this is, I really enjoyed it.

I loved the darkness of this piece. It was so powerful, and it caught my attention from the start. The beginning sounded so ominous. It somehow tempted me to continue reading.

I also love how you didn't reveal the characters until the end. I don't remember seeing them in the summary and story information either. So the suspense was definitely thrilling. It did shock me though. Because I really would never have guessed that this was about them. You did a splendid job concealing their identities till the end.

Even though this is short, you managed to evoke a strong set of emotions from me and I thought that it was remarkably written. The flow, the refrain, the tone all certainly enhanced the story and drew me in. I really wish it was longer. But at the same time, I think that you've done it great justice and if it were any longer or shorter, it might not have had the same effect.

I also love your choice of certain words and phrases. I know it's a weird way to put it, but they way you've written this, makes it seem as if every word was carefully selected. Everything has a clear purpose. And that made it so much more beautiful and appealing.

Thank you, Jenny for this master piece. I will re-read this again and again and again. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore You Had Me

17th July 2013:
Wow, this was so powerful!

This was such a different take on Rose and Scorpius and I actually really enjoyed the darkness of it. It was so short and yet you managed to do such a lot with such a small number of words!

One of my favourite parts was the fact that you didn't reveal the characters names until the end of the piece (and, if I saw correctly, didn't actually reveal them in the story information). It left me wondering all the way through who the characters were and guessing about them and their background.

There was so much emotion in this and it's extremely different to the Rose we normally see, and I thought that was great. I'm so intrigued by the past between the two as well, and the ending had me kind of shocked. I love the line 'You had me darling' which kind of symbolised his hold over her through the years, and the fact that she had finally broken it by the end of this piece.

Great job, Jenny!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hi Sian!

Thank you lovely! I definitely intended this piece to be dark and explosive, so I'm glad you thought I achieved that here. And yes, I deliberately left their names out even in the description so that the final result had more impact.

Ha, yes! I've never been one for stereotypes. ;) I'm really glad you liked it!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by ImagineHarmony You Had Me

17th July 2013:
Hi!

I loved the dark tone of the story, very unforgiving and cold with that mysterious undertone. Really defined the story and brought forth the crazy characters of Rose and Scorpius. I think you were meaning for them to be on the edges of insanity and being psychopaths? If so, you did a FANTASTIC job!

I really like the story, you don't get much dark horror these days :P And I loved the 'swish, swish. Just like her mother said.' - felt cold and added a nice touch to the ending! I was thinking, could Hermione be a smoker that died, because of the slurred words part.

Other than that, great job! :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you! Yes definitely, this is some kind of AU characterisation of them almost because they have had very hard lives. I'm glad you liked it though! Hermione I left ambiguous deliberately, so she could have been ;)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by adluvshp You Had Me

14th March 2013:
Wow. This was certainly quite...shocking (for lack of a better word).

I absolutely loved your take on Rose and Scorpius. A very different plot indeed. I think you did a great job capturing Rose's attitude. She definitely came off as impressive to me. I also liked how this began with her mother's words. It is quite weird to imagine the Hermione we know say something like that, but hey this is fanfiction, and well people grow up different to what they were as teens, so it is all acceptable.

I loved the cold attitude with which Rose entered the room and such, and then we see Scorpius all tied up and pleading, and it was a very powerful scene. I also liked how Scorpius' dialogues gave us a slight hint as to what had happened.

At first, I thought she'd kill him, but when their eyes met and they got intimate, I was almost sure she'd forgive him or something, or maybe he'd overpower her and escape. So, in the end, when she killed him, it caught me off guard. I loved how it happened though, you have a great writing style.

I didn't quite understand what Rose meant by "You had me, darling." but they were cool words nonetheless and made an impact.

All in all, a very powerful and well-written piece. I really enjoyed reading this. It was very interesting and I wish it was longer!

Great job! 10/10

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Goodness, I am so sorry for leaving this reply so late :P

This fic is one of my very first stories on the archives and to this day I still like it, so I'm glad you did too! The idea was to turn the stereotypes of the characters on their heads so I'm pleased you think I achieved that. Subverting norms is one of my favourite things to do ;)

With that line it just meant that he had metaphorically had a hold on her over the years... as well as perhaps other things...

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Akussa You Had Me

3rd May 2012:
Wow, thi is one of the most powerful story I have ever read. It feels way too short and yet just perfect at the same time.
I wonder what might have happened for them to end up in this situation but it feels like there is an undeniable attraction and passion between those two. One that brings them over the edge.

I enjoy how you didn't say the names of the characters before the end of the story and even in the summary of the story. It kept me guessing and, well, I'm still guessing now!! I may know their names but I don't know 'who' they are, you know?

Great, great work, I really liked it oh and by the way, you are tagged!

Author's Response: Hi!

Wow, thank you! I literally wrote this in half an hour a few years ago so I'm glad you think that it's good, haha. Yes, passion is definitely a key factor in this! And yeah, I thought it would be fun to keep people guessing haha ;)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by NeverKnew You Had Me

1st April 2012:
B-R-I-L-L-I-A-N-T
It was short lived but undeniably captivating.
I wasn't sure who you could put into it, and I must admit it was that mystery that made me want to read it in the first place.
Marvelous, job!

Author's Response: Hi, and thank you! I'm glad you thought it was mysterious as that's the main aim of the fic :) thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by ginerva_molly_weasley You Had Me

24th March 2012:
What a sensational, emotive and truly striking piece!

I actually love this because you put so much emotion and malice within this from Rose's side. I feel that you explain the character really well and sort of their story at the same time!

I wonder how Scorpius left Rose to die and the situation they were in for him to leave her. I also wonder about Rose and her mother, and the relationship they had because of the references to swish and swish.

Their passionate relationship was also shown with you letting Rose secumb to his charm and the fieryness is shown to be all sexual rather than them being in love.

Whilst you show that Rose has also premeditated this it also shows that it is a crime of passion!

I like this!

Author's Response: Hi! I'm really glad you liked it! It was really fun to write a different perspective of characters that seem familiar to us. All of the characters have a 'darker' backstory in this intepretation!

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Elenia You Had Me

21st March 2012:
(Gryffie-Tag!)

Ooh, this is very good! I really liked this!

Like with your other one-shot, I really like the way you don't reveal the characters until the very end. It makes it so much interesting and keeps me guessing who they could possibly be! Didn't guess right (x

This was such an enchanting and surprising one-shot and I really enjoyed reading it. It was really original I think, and held its interest through the whole story. I would've wanted it to be a bit longer, but it doesn't matter that much, it's a great story still!

I'm glad I got the chance to read this.

~Elenia

Author's Response: Hi! Sorry that I haven't replied until now, life is so busy sometimes! :)

This was my first piece of fanfiction on the archives so it's so nice to know that it's getting good feedback after all this time! I'm glad you thought it was surprising as that was definitely the aim :)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by maskedmuggle You Had Me

6th August 2011:
Wow. This is really different. This is really different! The characterisation of Rose and Scorpius is just so drastically different to the norm that it really makes your story surprising and unexpected! But in a great way, this was definitely an intriguing story.

I have to admit, I would have liked more details on what was happening exactly, but after I finished reading it, I was definitely left with the feeling of 'woah!' and how thought-provoking this is! Your writing is definitely really unique!

- maskedmuggle, Ravenclaw :)

Author's Response: Hi, and thank you! I think Rose is what really makes this story different - I guess it's AU in a way, because I thought "what if Rose didn't turn out alright?" That's the wonderful thing about Next Gen - anything can happen. I'm glad you liked it!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by louise_loves_hp You Had Me

22nd August 2010:
I have to say the only words that come to mind when I had finshed this was 'WOW now that is powerful' and that it is. I reall enjoyed this, it has the abity to keep you asking a questions the whole way through without answering them at the end. It keeps them and I want more. 10/10
Its really Good I loved it, short and sweet.

Author's Response: Aww thank you! I'm really pleased that you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Indigo Seas You Had Me

3rd February 2010:
OMIGOODNESS, JENNY, THIS WAS SUPER AMAZINGLY AWESOME AND LOVELY. [/caps]

Yeah, really great. I loved how I didn't really know what was going on, and how sparse the details to the story were. Gah. I envy your talent. You can just pull the reader in and glue them to their chairs, can't you? Gah. Lovely. Lovely lovely lovely.

- Rin

Author's Response: Hi Rin! I'm sorry for not replying to this any sooner... still. I'm glad you liked it! And such a compliment, thank you very much *blushes* Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Valiant  You Had Me

8th November 2009:
Very short, very brief -- but brilliant.
I support Rose/Scorpius... but this was extremely well written.

Author's Response: Thanks, and thank you for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by VampireMaidenPhoenix You Had Me

14th September 2009:
This was sort of odd. Like, I had absolutely no idea what was going on, I felt sort of like I was reading a vignette. I like the idea of "Dark Rose" similar to my infatuation with "Dark Hermione" and "Not-Quite-Innocent Ginny" lolz. I do think that it could have been a bit more well-written though.

Author's Response: Err, thanks I guess? Dark Rose ftw :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by BrazillianHotti9 You Had Me

16th July 2009:
WTF!!!

WOW, ok that was weird but I liked it, I don't really get it but that was a well written story =] That was really intersting to read. =]


XOXO, BrazillianHotti9

Author's Response: Lol, and interesting review! The story was written with the intent to have the reader view Rose and Scorpius in a different light, so I agree with the term 'weird' XD
I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by TheDirigiblePlum You Had Me

18th April 2009:
Oh my god!

That was so ... like attitude filled. :D I don't ever imagine Rose like that... though, I dunno... interesting. :D

It was really well written, very sexxyy.

10/10

Author's Response: Ah, sehr gut! :D I'm really glad you liked it, and it was very fun to write Rose as she is in this fic.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by CrazyForYou You Had Me

13th April 2009:
Hey! It's CrazyForYou from the forums, here with your review :]

Well, I'll start at the beginning. The beginning has an interesting flashback to, what I assume to be, her childhood. The "it's all in the hips.." has me confused over who said it. There's too many 'she'd' in the sentence. I think you mean her mother would say it, but it can also be interpreted to mean the girl, so you might want to clean that up if you revise this again.

Enter the tied down man. Right from the beginning, I can tell that he's going to end up dead, by the girl's hand. So in that aspect, it is very predictable. But at the same time, because it is so predictable, it works because the audience then knows that his pleas are falling on deaf ears.

This statement has me torn. “You had me, darling.” On the one hand, I really like how it's open to my interpretation of what she means. On the other, I wish I knew more about the two and their pasts.

There are some parts where I feel the seductive aura that I feel you're trying to have Rose portray. There are other moments when I feel like she's a child, pretending to be an adult, much like playing dress-up. But there definitely are moments where I picture Audrey Hepburn with her harsher voice and her cigarette holder in hand, so good job there.

I'm kind of confused with the characters you've chosen to use, especially since I'm not really given any background on the events leading up to this death.

But, as far as this one-shot goes, in terms of a snapshot into the life and death of Scorpius Malfoy, I think it is well done. Even though the mood isn't consistent throughout, when the seductiveness is present, it is very effective.

Good job!

Author's Response: Wow, long review :) Hello!

The beginning may seem a little confusing because of the extensive use of the word "she", but I didn't want to give too much of the plot away straight away in the first paragraph. :)

Far enough on your opinions :) I wanted the reader to be able to interpret the events of the story as they wished - a little more innovative of a story, in a way. Still, the shortness does perhaps leave a little too much to desire.

Thanks for your great review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Animic You Had Me

10th April 2009:
Hello, it's Animic!
I absolutely loved this story! I think it was short and too the point and leaves you wondering (in a goodway) what Scorpius did to her.
I think I may be the only one to say that I liked how short it was. It leaves you to wonder what happened and use your imagination and I liked that. Like I said, short and to the point.
I loved how you protrayed Rose and Scorpius and, yes, I also loved the 'Swish swish'
Really good! Loved it! Added it to my fav.s! 10/10!!
What can I say Erised? I love your stories. :)
~Animic

Author's Response: Thanks Animic! I wanted the reader to use their own imagination as to what exactly happened before the events of the story - I'm glad you liked it.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by ROSENSCORPIUS You Had Me

10th April 2009:
i love the swish,swish :) I love the character of Rose.

Author's Response: Thank you and thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by padfoots girl You Had Me

10th April 2009:
Here to review, as requested! ^_^

So you've got a really interesting idea here and I really enjoyed reading it. But honestly, it was a bit on the short side. I'm not usually someone who looks at the word count to measure a story, but in this case, I think you could have given us some more. The parts that were in here were amazing, really, and your descriptions were beautiful, but we never learned why she killed him, or what exactly happened when he left her to die. You could have definitely expanded on the story.

But I really did enjoy what you had here for us. I only say the above because your story left me wanting more. If you were trying to keep it vague, then I understand that, but your writing was just so good and this story has a lot of potential just from this little piece, that I think you could really have an amazing idea, if you wrote more about it. =] But that's just my opinion.

Aside from all that, I am in love with the way that this is written. I really like your style and I very much enjoyed this. You took a character that so many people have written and you wrote a side to her that I have yet to see. So I applaud you for that. Amazing job! ^_^

-Alex

Author's Response: Hey! :)

Aha, for the most part most people have agreed with that it's too short and needs more. It's what I intended originally, to leave the reader to draw their own conclusions, but people want answers! :P I shall rewrite this in the future to include some more information, but not much. ;)

I am seriously SO glad you liked the style of the story, I thought it was quite prominent in the writing! I'm glad you like my characterisation too :D

Thank you for such a wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by StepUpx_Gryffindor You Had Me

9th April 2009:
this seems very intriguing, although it could have been longer. if you put more detail into it - rather than just using *really good!* vocabulary, i think i'd have enjoyed it better ^_^ i liked the concept, but i was a bit shocked with the ending. you don't really understand her reasons for anything, nor do you understand her feelings. i did like it though! favorited :)

Author's Response: Haha, that's fair enough :) I've realised now that there are some ways that I can subtly expand on this to give the reader some more information, so I will probably rewrite this in the future. :)

Wow, you favourited? Thank so much! And thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Phoenix_Flames You Had Me

9th April 2009:
Hello, my dear! I'm here with your review! I'm sorry this took me so long to get around to. You just know how life gets in the way. ;)

But wow! This was fantastic and so sweet. It was really amazing. Very short, but superb all the same.

I think you could expand and enlighten some. However, in the 522 words you provided, you managed to capture the essence of this story - all the moods, all the characters, the scenery - everything so wonderfully.

Absolutely beautfiul.

10/10

Author's Response: Ugh, silly life ;)

Wow, this is such a fantastic review! I'm so pleased you that, really. I thought that people would automatically deem it as too short and move on, but I'm glad you noticed it all! Thank you so much, and thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by MUSEx3MSI You Had Me

9th April 2009:
This is a different side of Rose that I haven't seen before.
I liked it! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #24, by redherring You Had Me

9th April 2009:
Hey, here with your review :)

I liked this, actually. It was mysterious, sexy, dramatic... but even so, it felt a little too inconclusive to me. I'm just left wanting to know more, which in a way, I suppose, is a good thing, but whatever :P

I just feel it needs a bit more... explanation. Why exactly did she kill him? Just what happened that turned Rose Weasley into a murderer? In the whole 'You left me to die' conversation, you touched on the reasons, but I just felt more needed to be said about it.

This is a one-shot, right? (correct me if I'm wrong.) As it stands, I think it needs a more to it, as I've said above, but as the first chapter of a novella/novel I think it would work really well. You could start with this, and then for the next chapter flashback a few years/months/whatever to explain what kind of relationship R+S have, etc, and lead up to the events of 'that night'.

That said, I really did like it - I'd give it 8.5/10

~Lizzie

Author's Response: Haha, if you were left wanting more, then that's a good thing XD I wanted the whole thing to be quite inconclusive in a way, so that the reader can draw their own conclusions and use their imaginations. Still, I'll think of rewriting it with a little more info for you guys. :)

Thank you for reviewing, and I'm glad you liked it! :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Eridanus You Had Me

9th April 2009:
Two very twisted people you've got here, Jenneh.
You definitely set the mood well, the tension and lust were demonstrated expertly and it really flowed. Also, you've got a huge range of vocabulary going on here which is lovely, but sometimes I think you overused it; simplicity could have worked very well in this at times and added to the overall effect even more.

Other than that and it was wonderful and the 'swishing' was great!

Author's Response: Janeee! :)
Aww thank you love ;) I tried to write Rose as a completely different character for once, because you always see her as a 'goody two shoes' in most fics. Boring :P

Fair enough! I wrote it on a whim, edited it a bit then published, haha. I'll think about simplifying the language if I re-write it. :)

Thank you Janeee


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>