Reading Reviews for To Define a Sister
  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LilyPotter111 One

6th March 2012:
You just made me cry.
Words cannot express how beautifully written this piece is and I want desperately to know what is going on but you meant it like that, I'm sure. I... wow, I'm speechless. Mad props to you for upsetting me while I procrastinate on homework. I'm going to go read some fluff, now.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much!
I'm sorry to upset you, but hopefully it was of the catharsis-type.
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It is much appreciated.


 Report Review

Review #2, by HereComesTheSun One

26th July 2010:
I absolutly adore it, it was so sad, and James is right, all we need to remeber is their love, and that will be enough. 10/10

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! That means a lot to me.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Unwritten Curse One

21st December 2009:
... Ah, how wonderfully poignant.

I'm sorry I haven't found the time to read this until now - I've been wanting to for quite some time - but seeing it nominated as a Featured Story on TGS, I thought this would be the perfect opportunity. And it met my every expectation.

Beautiful.

I don't know what else to say. Explaining in detail the effect it had on me might just belabor my point, so I'll end here, but not without giving you a 10/10. :)

Keep writing,
Gina

Author's Response: Wow, Gina, thank you so much. I wrote this some time ago, and so I rarely ever get reviews on it anymore, but I'm so, SO pleased that you decided to drop by. Your comments mean the world to me, dear.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Potterholic One

27th August 2009:
That was really good! You captured the emotions brilliantly, and I love how you wrote it from the brother's point of view. My favorite line has to be this one: Then again, Albus figured, if the tiniest brick is removed from the tower, the top will crumble too. I was close to tears by the end. :) All in all, you did a wonderful job here. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! That's one of my favorite lines too. Thanks again for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by girly1393 One

9th July 2009:
It's so sad, so sweet, so beautiful. Charming and gentle. A rough touch onto the crust of humanity. A scratch against the wall we have built against such things.

You are marvelous, Indigo Seas, for being able to write such a thing. I don't even know how she died, but it doesn't matter. All that seems to make a difference is the death of Lily.

To think of such a thing, how tragic. But life is tragic, for all life leads to death. Even in the tragedy, there's the light that we all try to find. The light James was trying to show his brother. That he managed to find in a hidden pocket and stare at in wonder as he gave it away to his brother. Extraordinary.

Beautiful. Amazing. Thank you. Thank you.

Author's Response: Again, I have no idea how to respond to such a flattering review. I cannot thank you enough for what you have said. I didn\\\'t find this piece that out of the ordinary when I first wrote it, but it has grown on me since it was published. All of your review encourages my writing in a way that almost nobody else has. So thank you! Thank you so much.

 Report Review

Review #6, by redflameeyes One

3rd July 2009:
omg so sad! i was totally crying!

Author's Response: Aw, I\\\'m sorry! But I\\\'m glad you liked it. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Tinkerbell01 One

5th June 2009:
My gosh Rin! That was absolutely amazing! The way you describe Al's love for Lily is just... it's wonderful.

I'm very impressed with this piece. You've got me almost in tears, hun!

Well done!

*grabs tissue*

Author's Response: Aw, don't cry! I'm really flattered that you liked it! I mean... thank you! You've made my day. ;)
Best,
Rin


 Report Review

Review #8, by californialove One

20th May 2009:
Wow, so this totally broke my heart! Haha! But no, seriously, I thought this really good! I was hoping it would have a more positive way to it, but I guess not! ^_^;

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I'm really flattered. Thanks for dropping by and leaving such a lovely review! I appreciate it. Plus, I'm really glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #9, by heyyhey One

12th May 2009:
this was really, really sweet. i love the idea/concept and its a beautiful style of writing(=

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you like the style of writing. This review has made my morning. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Vanished Petunia One

9th May 2009:
This was really sad and really well-written.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much. I really appreciate the feedback.

 Report Review

Review #11, by The Empress One

2nd May 2009:
Oh my god Rin! I'm crying right now! This was amazing, absolutely stunning. I loved it, love, love, loved it. Your descriptions were amazing, and your characterizations as well. I think you wrote grief very well, not over done as it usually is. It just was a part of things, is a part. Excellent work here. I don't know what else to say, it was beautiful.
10/10
~Shiloh

Author's Response: Oh, wow, thanks Shiloh! That means so much to me! Wow... I'm speechless. You've absolutely made my morning. I mean... wow. Thanks again Shiloh!
- Rin


 Report Review

Review #12, by Lily Roselyn One

22nd April 2009:
Hey great job, Rina.

I think this is my favorite of all your stories, it's really, really sweet ; )

Definitely leave it how it is... I don't think it's important to know how she died.

Good title pick, too.

Cheers : )

Author's Response: Thanks Soph. It was a hard choice for titles, but I'm glad you think it was a good one. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Jay One

22nd April 2009:
I can't believe you killed off Lily!
But still. Those who want to know more about her death are simply those who can't settle for a wonderfully told story. Which this is. Don't you mind them, this was genuinely good stuff. Well written!

Author's Response: Wow, I'm absolutely flattered! Thank you so much. I know some people want to know what happened to her, but I guess I almost prefer not knowing. ;) Thanks so much for the lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Rose Wilts One

16th April 2009:
HOLY POOP RIN. That was utterly amazing (it's laura&co'' by the way. I decided I wanted to read some of your stuff).
I'm on the verge of tears right now. That was just so beautiful and sad. How the heck did you do it? Haha, I'm literally stunned. The emotions... :O

And your descriptions too, they were just like.. "WOW" Haha. I loved this one- Darkness was taking its place, slowly caressing the walls and floor with its think, black fingers.
I thought that was really wonderful and clever.

Gosh Rin, that was so sad. I'm going to have to go and find some kleenex now :)

-Laura

Author's Response: Aw, I'm sorry I made you cry, Laura! But I'm really glad you decided to swing by. I'm always trying to improve this fic! Anyway, thanks so much for such a wonderful, lovely review! I'm not quite sure how to respond to... speechlessness! Ha. XD I'm also thinking of submitting this particular fiction to some kind of writing competition, but removing all the wizardy stuff in it. Thanks again! I appreciate it.

- Rin


 Report Review

Review #15, by Eridanus One

15th April 2009:
Jane here from the TGS review exchange ^_^.
Rin, I loved it! I thought it was absolutely amazing, terribly heart wrenching, but amazing.

Your descriptions were brilliant and I have to say that unlike some of the other reviewers, I liked that we didn't know what happened to her. It wasn't necessary for the piece and if I was you I wouldn't add it in. Please don't, lol.

"They laughed. Ginny laughed, Albus laughed, James laughed, Lily laughed. Lily. She laughed with everyone else. Because she was part of the family. And she was laughing with them."
There were many sentences in particular that I enjoyed, but I'm picking this section out because I loved the use of repetition and the sad irony of it.

The story flowed wonderfully and was so full of raw emotion that I would've cried if I was a big crier. I can't help but give you a ten.

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm really glad you liked it. And I'm almost glad that you didn't need to hear about Lily at all. Some reviewers, like you've stated, really wanted to know more about her. I guess I don't need to add anything in, then!

And thanks so much for your compliments. I'm always working to make this story better, because I was really hesitant to post it at first. Thank you again and again for the lovely, wonderful review!

- Rin


 Report Review

Review #16, by anony mous One

14th April 2009:
What happened to her?

Author's Response: The reader never finds out, do they? ; )

 Report Review

Review #17, by harrylilyjames One

30th March 2009:
gaww!! hun, that was brilliant! It was soo sad =[
The emotions were soo well written, I really felt for the two boys... but I think it would of been nicer if we found out what happened to Lily, to just get a bigger picture of what is going on.
but other than that, well done- it was wonderful.
9/10!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. Yes, I thought about adding more history to Lily and her death, but I didn't end up doing it... Maybe I will now, though. Thank you for your wonderful feedback and encouraging review. :) It means a lot to me.
- Rin


 Report Review

Review #18, by marinahill One

30th March 2009:
awww wow! Rin this was fabulous!!! Gah, what have you done to me, I'm practically crying! This was beautiful, sad and unique. I felt for both Albus and James, you conveyed their emotions so perfectly.

brilliant! *sniff*

- Marina

Author's Response: Marina! Gah, thank you so much for dropping by! I can't believe you liked it so much! And I was so hesitant to post this... Wow. Thank you so much. You don't know how much your lovely review means to me. :)
- Rin


 Report Review

Review #19, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme One

30th March 2009:
Wow. I've been reduced to tears by a story for the first time in a while.
This was just fantastic. Your description is amazing and you seemed to have really got into the heads of the characters and you wrote them really realistically.
I don't think I can say much else other than it was excellent :D
x

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so, so much. I'm at a loss for words. This fic has received really good feedback so far, something that makes me smile. So thank you. A lot. Your review was lovely and made my morning. :)
- Rin


 Report Review

Review #20, by SoundsOfSight One

29th March 2009:
All I can say is... Wow!
This is AMAZING
nice flow, awesome dialogue and everything!
I was just wondering (even though the story is perfect the way it is) what happened to Lily, it might have helped the reader better understand why the pain is on the children. But even so, the story is great.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so, so much. Your review is very encouraging. ;) I don't really know what happened to Lily, to be honest. I didn't really think about it. I just know she died, that's all. ;) Thank you for your lovely review.

- Rin


 Report Review

Review #21, by Rae_of_Sunshine One

29th March 2009:
Wow, that was so sad and so well written. I do believe you've made me cry.

10/10 for accomplishing what few others can do.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much. It was not my intention to make people cry, but I'm glad my writing was good. ;) Thank you so much for your lovely review.



 Report Review

Review #22, by WeasleyTwins One

29th March 2009:
Hello love, I'm here to review!

Tissue alert, much? Lord help me, that was so sad! Your description made me cry, you know that? The brothers' tears were just so pitiful. It made me want to wrap them in my arms and tell them everything would be okay.

I enjoyed that you didn't describe what happened to Lily and that the focus was on Albus and James. The dialogue and description flowed beautifully and accented the story excellently. As I've told you a thousand times before, I can see the progress that you have made as writer since I've started reading your pieces.

Awesome, awesome, 10/10

Lots of love,
Shelby

Author's Response: SHELBY! I can't... I don't... exactly know what to say. I mean, wow. You're reviews are possibly the best I've ever received. I was really worried about posting this, just because I didn't think it was all that great. The feedback I've gotten on this, however, has denied whatever I was thinking. And I'm sorry I made you cry. ;)

Thank you so much, Twinsy! You know I absolutely love you for coming by like this.
- Rin


 Report Review

Review #23, by RonsGirlFriday One

29th March 2009:
So sad and beautiful!! So much of it rips at your heart, like the part where Albus tells James, "You're forgetting her too," or when Albus is uncomfortable to see his older brother crying. I loved the ending - it was very bittersweet. 10/10

Author's Response: Gosh, thank you so much! I was so nervous posting this because I wasn't sure what people would think of it. But your review was very encouraging. Thank you so, so much for your lovely feedback!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login