Reading Reviews for The Sweetest Gin
  
55 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Kimya Chapter 9 - The Rogue Dementors

28th September 2010:
Hmmm, interesting foreshadowing there, eh? Wonder what the dementors are for. Maybe a Death Eater trying one last time?

 Report Review

Review #2, by Kimya Chapter 8 - Polyjuice Potion and Second Thoughts

28th September 2010:
Funny as hell. And sweet as sugar too. You certainly write reality well. It's not like Harry can just forget about Ginny and never think of going back to her. You definitely made Harry a human.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Kimya Chapter 7 - A Candle Gone Out

28th September 2010:
I know it sounds totally lame to say that school has been owning me (considering I'm only a high school freshman, after all), but I swear, it's true! I read this chapter long ago, but never thought up anything to say about it that i haven't already said before.

Again, I like how you started the Harry/Luna plot. It gives a little foreshadowing on what's going to happen without thrusting the issue out there. Good job!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Kimya Chapter 6 - Going Back to Normalcy

6th September 2010:
Like I said in my last review, I think it's very sweet how everything is perfect for a moment in time. This chapter probably will be my favorite, because I love how we get to see the interaction between Ron, Hermione, and Harry. I've always gotten the fuzzies in my stomach whenever i read those scenes

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm really glad that you're taking the time to review such an old piece of mine. I'm pleased that this chapter will probably be your favorite. I like them, too. :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Kimya Chapter 5 - An Uncomfortable Eavesdropping

1st September 2010:
Luna and Rolf always were one of my favorite couples...but that's okay. I liked this nice chapter. It was as if everything was right in the world, if only for a few seconds

Author's Response: Yeah, I like them, too. This point of time, though, I was very anti-Harry/Ginny so I had to do something to split them up. I'm still anti-Harry/Ginny, but I do tolerate them more than I used to. I'm glad you're continuing to enjoy the story, though. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Kimya Chapter 4 - Speculation and Mungo's

22nd August 2010:
Glad to see Ron and Hermione's points of view. Most authors can't help but focus on one opinion, and that really doesn't give much to offer a reader. Great job.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad that you liked the dual opinions. I noticed that myself. Thanks so much, again. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Kimya Chapter 3 - A Broken Heart & Ale

16th August 2010:
I liked that brush with Luna. You really eased her into the storyline, instead of randomly popping up with a new dilemma for the heck of it. I'm very interested to see how Harry will interact with her in the future chapters. I've never read a Harry/Luna before.

Author's Response: Thanks again! I do like when people are eased into the story rather than cropping up for convenience's sake for some sort of plot-line. Thanks. :) I've never written one since this, but at the time - I enjoyed writing it.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Kimya Chapter 2 - August 20th, Doomsday

16th August 2010:
I loved how you mentioned Stan near the beginning of the chapter. In most post-Hogwarts stories I've read, everyone always seems to forget the minor characters. Especially ones like Stan who actually had a committed part in The Deathly Hallows.

On another note, I also appreciated the fact that you didn't rush through the ceremony and jumbled up Harry's feelings. Sometimes explaining those things are hard to do, you let his emotions out slowly with precision.

Author's Response: Hey, thanks. Yes, most people do forget about him. I haven't written about him in ages, honestly. I think it's his cockney accent coupled with the fact that most people write romance - so they don't know whom to pair him up with, if anyone.

Thanks for that comment. I do feel like some people rush about too much - especially when it comes to regret. Either that or they draw it out far too much. I try to get a good balance somewhere in between.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Kimya Chapter 1 - The Aftermath of Goodbye

15th August 2010:
*sniff* poor Harry. The chapter really gave an insight to the trio's feelings, as well as explain the aftermath of their actions the previous chapter. It was really well brought out.

Author's Response: Thank thee. I'm really glad that you thought so. I haven't gone back and looked at this story in ages, so I'm pleased that you liked this chapter so well. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Kimya Boulevard of Broken Dreams - The Prologue

14th August 2010:
I am continuing this story with faith that Harry WILL end up with Ginny, and Ron with Hermione (I'm sort of protective about canon).

This chapter reminded me of the fifth book, when Harry was getting mad about all the people who believe the Daily Prophet over him, and then Ron and Hermione come in to give him a reality check. I like that you don't really change the characters, but rather you bring them back into J. K. Rowling's level.

Author's Response: Egads! Well, I'm sorry to ruin any hopes that you may have, but this story isn't canon. It's a Harry/Luna story as indicated by the pairings. I like the Canon, too, but I wrote this on a whim.

I'm really glad that you thought that this brought the characters back to J.K.'s level. It's the highest amount of praise that I believe that anyone's given me. So thank you very much!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Crazy_one Epilogue - The Dawning of A New Era

6th August 2010:
YES! i finally found it!! i loved this story when i first read it, but i didn't have my account then, so i lost track of it. yours is one of the first i've been able to track down from back then that i really loved. the others all seem to have disappeared.
but anyway, i really love this story.

Author's Response: Hey there! I'm not really sure what to say, but thank you. I'm glad that you really love this story. I haven't heard anything on this for ages which is to be expected. . .I wrote it so long ago. Glad someone still appreciates it, though. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Lisa Epilogue - The Dawning of A New Era

23rd March 2010:
I feel like I was too harsh in my review - I focused a lot more on the negatives than the positives and for that I am sorry.

So I'd like to also say that I did like what you did with Luna's character. You made her so much more interesting and real than she was in the books. She didn't bore or annoy me at all in this fic and it's been a long time since that happened (canon included).

Author's Response: Well, I'm glad that there was something positive for you to comment on. Sorry that you didn't enjoy it, though.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Lisa Epilogue - The Dawning of A New Era

23rd March 2010:
So even though I absolutely despise Harry/Luna, I trudged through this fic. I can see you've made a lot of effort and your writing isn't that bad. Your characterizations, however, require a lot of work. Everyone is really OOC and not like their Potter selves at all. I do think with some more time, you can get better at it.

I realize I may have been a bit biased from the get go as it was advertised as a Harry/Luna fic. Not your fault though - I just despise Luna ( if you relate to her character - I mean no offense. While her personality annoys me, it's the fact that she seems like a cartoon character and has no development or personality after that I dislike more) and her and Harry (as their book selves) are just incompatible to me. Not to mention Harry gives no thought to her in the books - he freaking laughs at her and pities her and feels uncomfortable around her and I just couldn't get that feeling out. So basically, you weren't able to sell them as a romantic, functional couple to me even though I doubt anything would. Canon is canon after all.

Oops, that turned into bit of a rant. Sorry.

Author's Response: Hmm. Well, I'm sorry that you feel that strongly against this piece. Though, it does beg me to wonder why you read something when going into it you knew you despised the main coupling? That doesn't make much sense, no offense.

Hey, I can understand your love of the canon. I was just trying to explore something new. I understand that it's not for everyone, though, and I'm sorry that you couldn't appreciate it, in the least.

That's okay. I'm sorry you couldn't enjoy it better, though.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Timmit Boulevard of Broken Dreams - The Prologue

1st May 2009:
sadness... but good story anyway... just that Harry did not get ginny back... (sob,sob) I look forward to more of your stories. Go,go!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad that you thought it was a good story despite your initial sadness.

 Report Review

Review #15, by lisapaulinee Epilogue - The Dawning of A New Era

29th March 2009:
I told you I'd finish!
Anyways... I don't like the Harry/Luna pair. I'd much rather see Ginny and Harry together. IT just feels right.

Author's Response: Maybe to you, but not to me.

 Report Review

Review #16, by lisapaulinee Chapter 15 - The Wedding

29th March 2009:
soo cutee. Its so adorable

Author's Response: I'm really glad you found it to be adorable.

 Report Review

Review #17, by lisapaulinee Chapter 14 - Another Missed Quidditch Game

29th March 2009:
Lol sooo cutee

Author's Response: Pleased you found it to be cute.

 Report Review

Review #18, by lisapaulinee Chapter 13 - The Halloween Party

29th March 2009:
Harry and Luna. Wow, never imagined thatt.

Author's Response: Ha ha, yes. I know, it's very different.

 Report Review

Review #19, by lisapaulinee Chapter 11 - Some Children Never Grow Up

29th March 2009:
omg, wow. intensee.

Author's Response: I'm pleased you found it to be exciting, at any rate.

 Report Review

Review #20, by lisapaulinee Chapter 10 - The Nightmare Continues

29th March 2009:
Great. I'm continuingg.

Author's Response: Glad you found it to be great.

 Report Review

Review #21, by lisapaulinee Chapter 9 - The Rogue Dementors

29th March 2009:
Hmm... this is kinda boring to read. I know its supposed to be exciting seeing as the dementors were there.. , but it was quite boring.

Author's Response: I'm sorry that you found it to be boring.

 Report Review

Review #22, by lisapaulinee Chapter 8 - Polyjuice Potion and Second Thoughts

29th March 2009:
Ok, I've seen like twelve stories mentioning the 'philosophers stone'. Its the sorcerers stonee.

Author's Response: It is actually known as both. There's no need to be so rude about it.

 Report Review

Review #23, by lisapaulinee Chapter 7 - A Candle Gone Out

29th March 2009:
Can't wait to see what happens.

Author's Response: Glad I captured your interest.

 Report Review

Review #24, by lisapaulinee Chapter 6 - Going Back to Normalcy

29th March 2009:
Hahha Ron lovess Dracoo

Author's Response: Ew, I should rather hope not. :P

 Report Review

Review #25, by lisapaulinee Chapter 5 - An Uncomfortable Eavesdropping

29th March 2009:
lol, love the insult hermione through in at the endd... so truee

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad that you liked the insult if nothing else.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>