Reading Reviews for Broken Strings
  
38 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sara Broken Strings

17th April 2011:
I LOVED IT.
It makes me want to know what happens next - dealing with their parents and everything. It leaves me craving for more. haha.

Very good work!

Author's Response: Oh why thank you :) ahah. Although this is a one-shot, I have another Rose/Scorpius fic that I've just started called Me Versus Everyone if you'd like to give it a read :) It's my first full length Rose/Scorpius fic so stop over and tell me what you think!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Miss Writer Broken Strings

10th January 2011:
This was insanely beautiful. I am like awing inside. How do you do it? Like seriously, you put so much meaning into one story and I am astounded because you have written quite a few Rose/Scorpius one shots but they're all different and interesting anyway.
I have no advice because you're a much better writer than I, I just hope you continue writing such beautiful stories and I assure you that I'll be checking (read: stalking) your page a plenty to see some more lovely stories. :)
Oh and by the way, I totally love your banner, you do them yourself right? At first, I wasn't so drawn in by them because they don't have much blending but I like them because they're fascinating. :)
Good job!

Author's Response: I like to make different fics, a nice variety is something very hard to find with just one author now-a-days, you know? It's either always about one ship, or all about one genre, or all about the same time period. I just like to mix it up ^_^ I'm very happy and bubbly inside to hear you appreciate my tastes in diversity. I don't like limiting myself - I love so many things in HP!

You are my favorite official admirer (read: stalker) from now on ;)

Yes, I do my own banners *hides away* I'm not a photoshop whiz but I find my ways :P


 Report Review

Review #3, by kissexpress Broken Strings

15th September 2010:
I like it. (: I like how she manages to explain this connection they have in a way that sounds complicated yet so deeply intertwined. It's amazingly written, I swear.

Author's Response: *smiles* You are wonderful. Thank you for all your kind words.

 Report Review

Review #4, by georgina_bass Broken Strings

5th July 2010:
I'd rather have a cyber chocolate chip muffin, thank you :*
You wont believe what this did to me
I have tears running down my face, the song that used to make me switch mtv whenever it went playing over and over on YouTube, trying not to wake up my friend that's sleeping next to me...
Really? Perfection... it's just a typical YOUR story...I don't know why, but it is. I'd say its the best one yet, that you have outdone yourself though that would be kind-of a lie, partly because I remember I always feel like this after reading your fics, partly because I don't remember the other ones that well, but... it's just perfect. I know I'm rambling (no surprise there), but it's really nice :)
Hm... I have no idea :D
The bond? The way she's more herself with him than with anyone else? The way she's able to talk about "what-if-they-didn't-hate-each-other" (well, at least to me it seems like a give-away, since Im not able to do that with the people I hate (though that's already solved, thanks god) nor have I ever heard or read about anyone that really hated someone with the burning passion Rose thinks she hates Scorpius to be able to do that.) It's all very cute, really. The way she *scrolls back to check* "Doesn't want to see him ruffle his hair" aw :)
The way he doesn't hate the way she looks at him when she thinks he won't notice? The way she doesn't hate the way he walks out of the bathroom in the morning and bumps into her? The way he stops her from finishing the last bit? Her "Such a Malfoy" commentary?
That stuff left me speechless.
Where do you get the ideas?
It's beauty. Pure beauty. Really :)
Of course, there is stuff I don't get.
His "What?" after she tells him she doesn't hate him? They already established (can I use it like that? I mean, is it the right use of the word?)that they both felt the connection, so what's he so surprised about? That's the only minor thing I don't get, though :)
When I read the part where she finally looked at him, I felt like her (or at least what I thought felt like her), my lip bitten, trying not to cry.
I have one more question: How do you know how to start fics without making it sound so...fake? Making it sound right, perfect and natural.
Thats all
I's sorry for the useless review, but I kinda hope you're used to my babbling :D
Love,
Jasmine :*

P.S I'm sorry, but I can't stop myself-when will there be a new Cry For You chapter? I know I ask all most every time I review, but. :)

Author's Response: Oh, my. The first time I set my eyes on this review I looked at the length and went:

O_O

Hahah. Awe, no one has ever said this story was pure beauty! I really didn't think this was all that great, I am not ready for all this worship :P

And the reason he says "what" is because he's shocked at how random it comes out. He never thought about their connection like that. They never made it verbal, you know?

I make it sound natural!? Really!? I don't know how I do that hahah but thank you.

I love your rambling! And I'm sorry about the wait for CFY but I'm in the works with it - expect an update this month!

:)



 Report Review

Review #5, by Meg_ Broken Strings

1st July 2010:
First off. I absolutely love that freaking song. I always get it stuck in my head and it is entirely the reason for me reading this lil one shot you got here.

Secondly, I am normally not good about reading pieces from the "future". I don't know how I feel about reading things about Rose or Scorpius or any of the kids. It kind of scares me.

With that said, I am so happy that I read this. It was fantastic. And the whole reason it was for me was because of your syntax and diction. I loved your descriptions. More so than anything, I absolutely loved your paragraph set up... is that nerdy? As many writers as there are on this site I never actually have seen a writer use the overall look of a piece to their advantage. It was like song lyrics that weren't really song lyrics in between actual paragraphs of explanation.

I think you have made me a Rose/Scorpius believer. Anyway I give you a 10/10. Best thing I've read in a while.
~Meg

Author's Response: Hah, you know I usually make one-shots out of songs I can't get out of my head? I reason: If I can't get rid of it, I might as well put it to good use and make a story out of it!

I understand the whole 'future' thing - I thought that too at first.

Hahah, liking my paragraph set up is not nerdy! It's... retro fabulous ;] I'm glad you liked my style, I'm always worried about my writing style being too different. I know alot of people aren't used to it.

OMG. YOU MADE ME THE HAPPIESTER PERSON ALIVE. Did I convert you? *_*

I am so happily in a daze right now. I LOVE YOU! & read more R/S stories! =]


 Report Review

Review #6, by quibblerfan135 Broken Strings

15th June 2010:
i like the way you wrote this-its kind of like a poem and i think that works really well :) this was sweet without being overly fluffy and i loved it :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I love writing this pairing :]

 Report Review

Review #7, by Mauge Broken Strings

2nd March 2010:
This story is just so sweet, I love it, And I love that Scorpious doesn't let her go when she wants to walk away from him.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I thought it was a bit too fluffy when I wrote it, but I'm glad you enjoyed it! I adore scorpius myself ;]

 Report Review

Review #8, by Blaxia Broken Strings

17th January 2010:
Great FanFic, well thought out and terribly adorable, I loved it ;) x

Author's Response: Daww :3 thank you. It's usually too sappy, stories like these, for my liking. But I wanted to try something new :P

 Report Review

Review #9, by mrsphantom Broken Strings

15th January 2010:
i really like what you did here. you clearly made your point: the difference between love and hate is both subtle and substantial at the same time. only we can choose which emotion we act upon. and besides, it's just a good story :) nicely done

Author's Response: Thank you! That's exactly the message i was trying to get across :] alot of people make stories about people that hate each other and then love each other in the end, and the reason that works so well is because (besides the fact that they are so different and polar opposite from each other) it takes the same amount of emotion to portray either. which is why they contrast so well :] thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by TheTenthWeasley Broken Strings

13th January 2010:
I knew I shouldn't have been silly and realised that it would end like that, but I seriously thought you were going to use Broken Strings as how it was interpreted in the song, but you didn't, for which I am glad.
It was very sweet, and I enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Haha, awe! No, I wouldn't break them up. They aren't THAT tragic. The song's lyrics can fit a story where they begin as a couple and completely crash down into oblivion.. I'd never destroy them before they even got together ;] it's no fun, lol. and it's not my style! I'm glad you liked this ending though, I was a bit worried about that. Since the lyrics are just so tragic. I wanted a happy ending so I hope it sufficed!

:] thx for the review


 Report Review

Review #11, by horcrux Broken Strings

11th January 2010:
That was simply amazing. One of the best Rose/Scorpious stories that I have ever read. Lovely.

Author's Response: Thank you, horcrux :}

 Report Review

Review #12, by cozitsworthit Broken Strings

11th January 2010:
Aww... man! That was intense and cute and lovely and perfect! :) Thank you so much!

Author's Response: No thank you! :]

 Report Review

Review #13, by laura lollypop Broken Strings

6th January 2010:
this is really really really rather good. i read your love and broomsticks story first and fell in love and now i have found your other ones! i think this is my favourite, but i will keep you updated hehe. i love your take on the love/hate relationship, that they challenge eachother because they are so right for one another. you are such a talented writer and i love your stuff - keep writing!!! xx
oh and btw i love this song too. and the fact that rose and scorpius' strings arent broken. phew. ;D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I like to think I'm somewhat talented when I write cutsie stuff like this :P Thank you for taking the time out to read my other fics! :] means alot! Haha, yeah, I'm pretty sure that if Scorpius and Rose's strings broke I'd go through desperate measures to glue them back baha.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Miss Hippydoggg Broken Strings

5th January 2010:
Haha :P *waiting for you to get up and get my brownie!!* Rawr ._.
Jeez. This is getting old, you and the 10 out of 10's so...
9/10 :P
I liked how you kept putting in, 'Two words. Love. Hate. One side. things like that :)
Glad that you choose your words carefully ;)

Author's Response: hahah the brownie will come :] promise!

And thank you for your nice review :D I like to choose my words carefully, especially if I'm really emotionally attached to it. I love writing pieces like these.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Amulya_HPfan Broken Strings

21st November 2009:
I liked this. It wasn't overtly fluffy, but had the right balance. You gave the realistic view on the Weasleys vs. Malfoys, but also made it complicated. And the Rose/Scorpius getting together and finally realizing what it was.was so sweet. And romantic. AAAH! I LOVE!

Author's Response: I usually worry the most about balance, and make it a bit more realistic. I find no point in JUST fluff, ya know? I'm glad you liked it so much, and the fact that I made in complicated (hopefully in the right way!). yay for romance :D thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by turquoisetime Broken Strings

19th October 2009:
You mirrored the song so perfectly . You gave it a completely new meaning - I never thought of it like this . It's perfect ! The writing is flawless and I can understand perfectly what you mean by every word :)
Great job !
I would give you a 20/10 if I could !

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! Even your rating... wow, you have just made my day! thank you :D

 Report Review

Review #17, by Fi Broken Strings

8th October 2009:
hey, i kno i always say this but it was awesome. i love it. its like the perfect story. the connection they have was always love i reckon and i think that the other students may hav figured that out too. the only thing i would critic it for would be the fact that it is only one chapter. . . .like i kno its a ne-shot and thats kinda the point, but it could hav so much potential as a story as well.

Author's Response: Hey, Its okay so say things repetitively, I do it all the time. Especially if you are complimenting me, go right ahead ;] Yes, it is sadly only one chapter, but I am currently writing a novella with rose and scorpius ;D but its not the same theme, unfortunately, they don't hate each other and they aren't rivals. thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by LauraLongbottom Broken Strings

9th August 2009:
hey...i'm not really into this couple but i might read this story someday.
honestly i just wanted to tell you that the banner is really awesome :)

Author's Response: Really? You like? Me too :D I'm glad we agree on that haha. And yeah, I didn't think this pairing was good at first, but do not doubt when it comes to fanfiction! the pairing is amazing!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Mrs Roonil Waslib Broken Strings

14th July 2009:
*sigh* It took me so long to review this. It's absolutely unacceptable. I could give excuses, but it's a waste, considering how badly I want to write how much I loved this, so: *sobbing* I'm sorry!

Any how, this was great. Just amazing. First off, song that you had in mind was great. Second, I love how you wrote it. Your style is kind of like poetry, short, sweet, yet eloquent. It's great. Also, I like how you used the work mudblood to tear them apart and yet bring them together - ironic, isn't it? The ending line is cute too. This ship is coming to be my second favorite and your one-shot probably helped it's "cause." (Did that make any sense at all? )

Overall, 10/10 - I'd give a heck of a lot more, though. I loved it! I even favorite'd it! I'm going to open a new review thread and please stop by with more of your work! I promise it won't take as long. ^_^

Huggles to a wonderful author,

Mrs Roonil Waslib

Author's Response: Ah, you got the irony ;) I kind of love you for it. haha. Yes, I understand what you mean about my fic helping you love the pairing even more- it kind of gives you faith in them as a couple, yeah? Thanks so much for the rating, and don't worry about taking long to review. I've got nothing but time :P

Awe, I'll think about going over to your review thread if I have any time, thanks, love.


 Report Review

Review #20, by sreduaram Broken Strings

24th June 2009:
absoloutely adorable :) and i love the ending.

Author's Response: I really liked how I wrote the ending out too :) thanks for the review. You're adorable!

 Report Review

Review #21, by ParkerGirl Broken Strings

7th June 2009:
Stunning story!! Loved it =) PG x

Author's Response: Why thank you! Didn't think it was all that great, to be honest. But thanks for letting me know you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #22, by BittersweetSummer Broken Strings

2nd June 2009:
This is lovely.

This is my first time here on HPFF, and I'm glad that this was the first story I read.

I would give you a cyber brownie for writing this story! I love the description and... everything.

I've read MANY Scorpius/Rose stories that have a thin line between love and hate. This story stands out.

And that last line was a nice way to end things. Adds a bit of lightness to it, you know?

Overall, it's a brilliant story. I have no words to describe this. (In a good way)

:D

Author's Response: Awe, gawsh. You're killing me! Wah... don't say that... You are making me blush! I'm so glad that I had that kind of impact on you, thanks a ton! I'm so happy you enjoyed his one-shot! ^_^ Thanks for the great review!

 Report Review

Review #23, by lacewings Broken Strings

24th May 2009:
Love is dangerous =]

And this is amazing - I'm not just saying that because of the possibility of a cyber-brownie. It really is incredible. The only thing that kind of bothers me is the way that they talk to each other in the second half of the chapter. I just feel like that's not how normal people talk - there words come out to smoothly and planned. I feel like it would be a little more jumbled, there are so many emotions and thoughts tumbling out at the same time.

Otherwise, incredible. Love the ending. 9/10

Author's Response: thanks so much, & kudos for the honesty! i did want it to go smoothly though, that was the only thing i guess... i wanted it to kind of complete itself at the end, you know? because it was just a one-shot, and i didn't want readers feeling like they were missing out :) thx for the review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by twinkies Broken Strings

9th May 2009:
I think the hint about Rose loving Scorpius all along was the way she said she hated so many things about him. Usually you come up with reasons to hate someone just so you don't have to face the fact that you love that person.

I didn't really care for the story in the beginning because I had no clue what it was about. It also started off a little slow. But you describe things so well that I couldn't pull myself away.

10/10 for an awsome story. Really, it's so descriptive but it also lets you use your imagination.

Author's Response: i know! it makes me glad to know people can catch on to that fact. everytime she has a list of things she hates about him..theres always going to be an even LONGER list about the things she loves about him ^_^ i'm glad you enjoyed it, non the less caring for the story. and yes, it was a bit slow in the beginning. i wanted to write it like that on purpose, just like the song - it starts out slow and then gets good ;D

awe! that's such a compliment! thank you :) i woulld never want an audience to think they can't use their imagination. its what makes me want to write in the first place!


 Report Review

Review #25, by A Diffrent type of Flower Broken Strings

8th May 2009:
wow i loved it it was greeat. i hope you write more for this pairing. =]

Author's Response: don't worry, theres something R/S on its way ^_^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>