Reading Reviews for Remorse
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by adluvshp Everything

26th May 2013:
Hey! Here for review tag.

This was surely an extraordinary and dark piece of writing, and I loved it. I think your descriptions were quite good too - they were brief yet the detail was enough to enhance the feel of the setting. Your 'plot' was amazing, I liked the idea of 'behind the veil', and of the murderer not feeling remorse and thus staying in the darkness. The idea of souls and the light was also very interesting.

You really explored a unique territory here, so kudos for that. The way you portrayed the scenario, especially the flashback with its sensitive issue, was neatly done. Nothing felt overdone or under-explained, and there was this air of mystery throughout, so I enjoyed it all in all.

Good job!
9/10
Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hello darling!

I can't believe you chose this one, haha! This is definitely one of my much, much weaker oneshots. It's dated (very dated), but I think shows my progression as an author.

I never write anything happy. Ever. So dark writing is basically all you get from me! :P I'm really glad you thought this was interesting. I've considered going back and rewriting it so that I could further explore 'behind the veil' as well as the light and the souls.

Even though this is old, I'm still glad you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for the awesome review! I really appreciate it! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by Icydevil Everything

4th July 2011:
It was simply beautiful! The plot, the story flow absolutely amazing. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I appreciate the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by HarrietHopkirk Everything

12th August 2009:
I love it. 10/10.

Damn, you can't leave short reviews like that for impact. Meh.

Author's Response: Thank you ^_^

Lol, you're too cute XD Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Miss Lily Potter Everything

24th July 2009:
Wow. Just... Wow. This was really good, and I'm not just saying that. o.o I felt bad for the soul, or whatever, but it was his fault... I'm not making any sense, but I hope you know what I mean! Good job! ♥

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! I don't even know if he was a soul or whatever, but I know what you mean :P

Thanks for taking the time to review, it is much appreciated! :]


 Report Review

Review #5, by daisychain1 Everything

22nd July 2009:
creepy and sad!

but very well written!

i love the banner - zac effron! yummm :)

just wondering perhaps if you might mind reviewing some of mine (only if you want) cause i' d love your opinion!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it!

Yes, Liam makes great banners!

Sure, I would be happy to!

Thanks for the review! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #6, by silver_and_gold Everything

22nd May 2009:
Beautiful. Gorgeous. Wonderful. Extraordinary. I would have never thought that a story without a slight hint to romance could be that interesting and to think you wrote this one-shot, without the characters we all know and love from the wizarding world, just amazes me.
Your descriptions are deep and meaningful and the way you structured your sentences and dialogue really intrigued me. Each of your sentences flow into each other really well as well. ^_^
I don't know if anyone has told you this before, but this story kind of reminds me of Stephenie Meyer's The Host. Maybe it's the mentioning of souls that alludes to that idea...hehe, got a bit off track there...
Annyywaayy, this was a great story! 10/10! :D

Author's Response: Holy wow, this has just made my day! I am so totally and completely ecstatic that you liked this :] Romance has become overrated and many of my stories focus elsewhere, so it is my hope that this showed you that romance doesn't have to be in a story ^_^

I'm glad you liked my descriptions! I have been told that this is not my best descriptive piece, so it nice to hear that a reader liked it :]

I have never read 'The Host', nor has anyone told me. That is supposed to be good, I assume, so thank you ^_^

Thank you so, so much for your amazing review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by CharmingRenagade Everything

10th May 2009:
so sad, but very good, it wad deffinatley worth reading

Author's Response: Yes, it is very sad! But I'm so glad that you thought this was worth reading! Thank you for your review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by padfoots girl Everything

10th May 2009:
Here to review, as requested. Sorry it took so long, dear! =P

I absolutely loved how this story was written. It was done just right so that you might be able to guess who the characters were, but at the same time, it could be left up to the reader (if they didn't read the story description). It really makes the reader think and try to guess who it is. I loved it. ^_^

The whole idea of what happens beyond the veil is very mysterious and no one will ever really know what exactly takes place there, but I think your idea here is terrific.

Really, this story is great, Shelby. I don't know what else to say. You wrote a wonderful piece of work here and I hope to read more from you in the future. Keep up the excellent work, dear! ^_^

Author's Response: Hello Alex! *glomp*

I'm glad that you liked this! I have to say that it is not one of my best pieces, so I'm definitely glad you liked it!

I thought of the idea for this story in, like, the middle of the night. So, your approval makes me oh so happy ^_^

Thank you so, so much for your awesome review!

Shelby


 Report Review

Review #9, by datbenik513 Everything

26th April 2009:
Dark and creepy. Sending shivers down your spine.
What's there, beyond the Veil? No living man can answer that question.
What happens to our souls, when our time ends here, on Earth? We can only guess.
One thing's sure. When our time is up, we will have to answer for our deeds.

For this poor soul, having committed an awful crime - in fact, several ones - there will be no lux tenebrae. It will not find eternal peace, ever. Non requiescat in pace.

Magnificent writing. These two words describe it all.

Author's Response: Zoltan! Thank you for reviewing! ^_^

Wow, you totally understood what I was going for. From what I can tell, you enjoyed it and I'm glad! I was nervous about this piece because I felt it wasn't my best, but your review boosts my confidence.

Thank you so, so much for your amazing review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by confusedlover Everything

10th April 2009:
very lovely.

i thought that you did an amazing job on this piece. the format was nice and your word choice complimented this in every way. i loved your whole idea about what lay beyond the Veil and i thought that you added a certain originality about this. i have to say, this is not your best piece but it is certainly worth keeping up. you honestly did a beautiful job with this. i also entered one of the challenges and think that you deserve high remarks. wonderful job. please keep writing.

Author's Response: Thank you, my dear!

I see what you mean about this not being my best piece, so I'm glad that you think I should keep it. It was just something that I whipped together. Thank you so much for your amazing review :]


 Report Review

Review #11, by emerald_moons Everything

8th April 2009:
Hey Twinsy. :)
First off, points for using Gollum's Song, it's one of my favorite songs in Lord of the Rings!
This is beautiful and wonderfully written. It flows so nicely and isn't harsh at all. I've never imagined what it's like beyond the veil, but I love your idea. The line I loved: Once more, the light spoke, "So be it. In the darkness you will remain."

Brilliant!

Author's Response: Emmy! *hugs*

I love Gollum's Song, it's amazing! I'm so very glad that you liked this! It makes me so happy to know that my sister Queen likes something that I wrote!

Thanks so much for the awesome review! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #12, by Erised Everything

6th April 2009:
Hey, WeasleyTwins! This is Erised with your requested review. I'm sorry it's taken ages :(

This fic is beautifully written!The formatting is perfect, and as for spelling and grammar, I noticed no abnormalities apart from this:
"Does remorse fill your very depths, how little they make be?" - it didn't make any sense to me. Maybe that's just me being thick :P

I love the fact that this story really is very mysterious. You've given just about enough information to be in the know, but left the reader to reach conclusions for themselves, very clever. However, I'd watch out with this - others people may understand parts where others don't, and vice versa.

I also thought you handled the sensitive issue very well indeed - it was very subtle, and not blunt or off-putting. Plus, it didn't go on forever, you simply summed it up in one sentence, which I liked.

Your description of the mangled body was also pretty gruesome, but not in an overdone way, so well done there.

The one thing that I would suggest is that more description was needed in some places, for instance what exactly the light looked like. Also, I felt that you alienated the reader a little from the man who murdered - I would have liked to have seen a little more emotion over his wife. However, these aren't major things. :)

Great work here, it was a pleasure to read!

Author's Response: Hello Erised! Don't worry, I am very patient ^_^

I'm glad that you thought it was beautifully written. That sentence was implying that the man who murdered had no soul :] It was supposed to say 'may' not 'make.'

I understand what you mean, but I decided when I wrote it not to give too much information. I decided that someone with enough intellect would draw their own conclusions and not need further explanation.

Yes, I had to be very careful about such a sensitive issue and I'm glad it came across okay.

I understand what you mean, but this is supposed to have a very mysterious air and that's why I did not describe the light further. The man who murdered is a ruthless man and emotion does not become him, so that's why I chose to write him the way I did.

Thanks for the review! :]



 Report Review

Review #13, by TwilightPrincess Everything

5th April 2009:
Before I review for real, let me just say that you should never, under any circumstances, introduce your piece as 'far from my best'. I know that you want to throw that disclaimer on there as a preface so that people understand you can do better, but that only sets them up for a low expectation. When I saw that you wrote that in the Areas of Concern section, I was expecting a mediocre piece, which you never want from a reader, do you? Do you want the reader to think this is a piece of crap before they even read it? Even if you think it's not that good, don't advertise that to the world. Let readers form their own opinion of the story. And another thing, don't ever take down your work, even if you think it's terrible. It will serve as a way to show your readers how much you've grown.

Now. With that out of the way, I think this piece is awesome. It's definitely not a run-of-the-mill work and it takes a more intellectual view to fully understand, and I really like that about it. It's straightforward but not at the same time. I don't know how to explain it. But I just think it's a really well done piece and I don't understand why you are not proud of this. especially like the way the light spoke. The language was kind of old English and I'm always a fan of that. Good job.

I loved this. Do what you want with it, but I really enjoyed it. Good job.

Ganbare! Tanoshinde ^_^

.:.Ilia.:.

Author's Response: Ilia, I just love you to death ^_^ I completely understand what you are talking about. I was just so worried that this wasn't that good. So, thank you for being honest and telling me that :]

I'm so elated that you liked this. I just didn't know what to think about it. You have no idea how you've made my day, Ilia! It's good to know that a writer of your caliber likes something of mine :]

Thank you so, so much ^_^


 Report Review

Review #14, by FutureAggie09 Everything

2nd April 2009:
That. Was. AMAZING.
So much sadness in it... Well done!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it!

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #15, by rachm34 Everything

30th March 2009:
Ohmygosh, Hi Shelby. This was so good. It seemed so different from anything else you have ever written. I loved it, i didn't catch any mistakes so i am guessing that's a really good way to start off a review. I Loved this, your emotions hidden within this were so raw and so well portrayed to the readers. I could picture this exactly, the darkness in this was beautiful.
WoW.
i am slightly beyond amazed at this. So beautiful.

Author's Response: Hi Rach! *hugs* You really liked it? Yay! Yes, no mistakes, I'm quite proud of myself! I'm so glad that you liked it! Thank you so, so much for the awesome review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Phoenix_Flames Everything

29th March 2009:
Wow. Oh my gosh, Shelby, this was amazing! Really amazing.

It was super unique and I don't think I've ever read anything like this.

I can, actually, see this as a possibility to the veil.

Your summary was amazing and it had me wanting to read it the second I saw it. And - of course - you didn't disappoint. This was awesome!

It was sad, new, unique, and moving.

And I actually didn't see mistakes! YAY! Thanks for introducing me to your wonderful story!

9/10

Author's Response: Hi! Wow, amazing?

I'm super, super glad that you liked it! Ha, I'm totally astounded!

No mistakes? Awesomeness!

Thanks so much for the awesome, awesome review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by LuckySeven Everything

29th March 2009:
Wow! I've never read anything like that before. And, yes I responded to this review request as soon as you posted it. How sad am I? Anyway, it was really interesting! The quote at the beginning set the story off nicely. I know that you'll think I'm weird, but I actually felt chills at the part where it said "Once more, the light spoke, "So be it. In the darkness you will remain."", I guess you can say that I really got into it. My only complaint is that I wish it had been longer. :D I like your writing style, its' different from most. Well, thats about it! 10/10
Hugs,
LuckySeven

Author's Response: Haha, thanks for responding so quickly! I'm glad that you thought this was interesting! Haha, no, you're not weird! That part totally gave me chills when I was writing it! Yes, I've actually been working on making it a bit longer. Thanks so, so much for the awesome review!

Shelby


 Report Review

Review #18, by Liam R Everything

25th March 2009:
Hey hon! I'm sorry for your very delayed review, I know, I know. I've had so much going on at TGS that I totally forgot about this. I know that's no excuse, but I'm still very sorry for making you wait for such a long time.

Now, on to the story.

I have to say I had no idea who it was at first. Really. Well, when you mentioned a soul gliding through the veil, I instantly thought of Sirius, but then when the actual story came about I was completely perplexed. Then I read the story information and saw that it was Scorpius ^.^

So, if I've got this right, some guy was raping Rose, and in a fury Scorpius killed them both? That's a very interesting idea, and incredibly original. Kudos to you for managing to pull it off so well!

I loved this, Shelby. It was so well developed and brilliant, I think you've done an amazing job, well done :D

Author's Response: No, no, it's okay! I have no problem waiting, really! *hugs*

Yeah, I don't know why I did Scorpius, it just popped into my brain.

Yes, you've got it right! Wow, you thought it was a good idea? Thanks!

I'm glad that you liked it Liam, you're amazing ^_^

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Indigo Seas Everything

11th March 2009:
Ah, yes, Twinsy, that was wonderful. I've come to expect the best from you, and that certainly did not disappoint!

Yeah, maybe a little description would be nice. I'm so used to seeing such a clear, vivid setting in your stories, this fic caught me slightly off-guard. But yeah, maybe add just a tad bit more! Other than that, though, great.

Honest opinion? Fantastic. It was a little confusing at first, but once you got into it, it just flowed so nicely and drew the reader right in. So... yeah! Great, wonderful, flawless. A ten/ten!

The emotions here especially are quite powerful. I could totally picture his rage, his anger. It was really captivating. AND, might I just add that I've never, ever read a fic like this? And I'm sure in the thousands of stories here on the site there isn't one like it. Well done, Twins!

Great stuff here! I really enjoyed it. Thanks for providing a well-needed three-minutes of captivation. XD 10/10

Much love,
Rin

Author's Response: RINNN! *hugs*

Okay, yeah, I'm glad you were honest with me. I know I needed some more description, but I wanted someone else's opinion.

Confusing how? When I go back and do a major edit, I'll be sure to look over it and see if it's confusing or not.

Thanks so, so, so much for the awesome review, Rin! You're the best! ^_^


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login