Reading Reviews for Every Rose Has Its Thorn
  
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sophie <3 Something Hard to Accept

14th July 2012:
This is really good! I like it, please continue. I'm intruiged by Trudi, what happened there? Did she sleep with someone else? Did she die? I mean, rose did use the term 'grieving'.
Whatever will Ron say when he finds out? I like to think that Ron and Hermione would be disaproving, but she would get some support from one of her uncles, like say Charlie. We didn't see enough of Charlie in the books.
Very nicely written, please keep going!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Isabelle ;) Something Hard to Accept

8th January 2012:
Please update! I've fallen in love with this story, even if it's only the first two chapters!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Hermionegrangeravis Something Hard to Accept

25th July 2011:
omg please continue this!

 Report Review

Review #4, by The Dark Princess Something Hard to Accept

14th November 2010:
Very good and heart felt! I still hate Rose lol

 Report Review

Review #5, by The Dark Princess The Blot On Rose's Character

14th November 2010:
Very good! I feel so sorry for Hugo always being outshined by his sister, I think Rose is a bitch personally! I look forward to reading the next chapter

 Report Review

Review #6, by Illuminate Something Hard to Accept

3rd April 2009:
Great, still. You are consistant in this and the sibling rivalry is very believable and I love it! Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm glad you like it so far. I'm still working on the ending.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Illuminate The Blot On Rose's Character

3rd April 2009:
Great start! I love the club scene, you get the fun party atmosphere done brilliantly and I love the comical but serious way you did the reveal that the girl was actually Rose. I'm enjoying this!

Author's Response: Thank you. Yeah, that was sort of Rose's "coming out", a present to Hugo. :) But you'll see why she did it...

 Report Review

Review #8, by Leent Something Hard to Accept

30th March 2009:
So sorry it's taken so long to review the next chapter, my apologies...

As I mentioned before, I really like what you've done with this. The sibling rivalries, the twist, and the characterizations. "Her fake tears never worked on their mother." - Loved that, especially since it's Mother Hermione we're talking about here! And the boots, well, that was just fantastic.

I really like how you handled her possible 'gayness' as not being a flaw, especially because it's not. The fact that she used to tease her little brother about it, well, it all brings it full circle. Hugo here seems a bit self-obsessed at the end, though the explanation of how he used to idolize his sister gave him more depth. And that he covered for her, was something I did not expect. The dimension of his character there was great.

Another great chapter!

Author's Response: Aww, Leent, what a wonderful review! I was grinning from ear to ear while reading this, and then I re-read it. Thanks, how nice of you. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by mallk10 Something Hard to Accept

28th March 2009:
OMG i have to know what happens next im dying to know

Author's Response: Thanks, mallk10. I'm glad you like it so far. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Leent The Blot On Rose's Character

14th March 2009:
Hello! I really liked this chapter - chocked full of lovely sibling rivalry. I don't think I have read a fic yet that centers upon that so well, especially between Hugo and Rose. You have captured that so very well, and the way you've written it makes us feel rather sympathetic towards Hugo. Your descriptions of those feelings, I think, is what catapults this chapter into an interesting and valid characterization.

And, despite Rose's perfections, it was very interesting to see her flaw of constantly seeking attention even at her younger brother's expense. I will be reading on soon, but so far I think you have written a wonderful beginning chapter.

Smiles~
Leent

Author's Response: Thank you, Leent! I was all smiling while reading your review. :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by The Empress Something Hard to Accept

13th March 2009:
Oh wow, another intense chapter. Your writing is very well done, and it flows nicely. I like the interaction between Rose and Hugo. Sibling rivalry can be intense and I think you portray it well. Good work, and good luck with your writing! I think you've got a lot of potential. There's not much for me to point out, you're doing everything well, but everyone always has room for improvement. :) So keep up the good work and great job here.
9/10
~Shiloh

Author's Response: Hi again! I'll definitely work on my writing. It's hard writing only once in a while since work and real life are first priority. :( Thanks for the honest feedback, dear. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by The Empress The Blot On Rose's Character

13th March 2009:
Good writing! I feel so bad for Hugo, being overshadowed by Rose. She doesn't seem like so great a sister to have. :( You've got great descriptions, and a really good chapter length here. It flows well, and reads well. Great first chapter and great ending!
8/10
~Shiloh

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed reading it. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Erised Something Hard to Accept

10th March 2009:
Hey there! This is Erised, with your requested review.

I'd like to start with how much of a great story this is! It's exponentially well written, your vocabulary is extensive throughout the fic and your punctuation is varied. I must commend you for that, as these two things make a story SO much better.

Your characterisation of Rose and Hugo were, in my opinion, very good - I've always imagined Hugo to be a little in Rose's shadow. Your characterisations also made the sibling rivalry even more intense - Hugo was so jealous, you could almost feel it!

I also enjoyed your first few introductory paragraphs. I felt it really set the mood of the fic, whilst also setting up the rest of the story well.

I can't really think of anything bad to say about this - it was a lovely read. Well done!

Author's Response: Hi Erised! Thanks for the wonderful feedback. So many flattering words, my writer's heart melted. :) Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Phoenix_Flames Something Hard to Accept

8th March 2009:
Hello, there!

I've read and reviewed the next chapter!

Again, this was really awesome. It really is. It's coming along very nicely. It's very impressive.

Haha. Hugo is really cracking me up, even though I feel bad for him, and I can really imagine Rose and Hugo being this way. The whole Weasley family. Very typical of them. Wonderful job.

Haha I loved this part so much:

"SHUT YOUR PIE-HOLE!”

I seriously just burst out laughing.

There weren't as many mistakes in this chapter as there were in the previous. Awesome. I can't wait for more.

Feel free to request again!

8/10

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Ohh, those stupid mistakes. I wish someone would point them out so that I can fix them. :(


 Report Review

Review #15, by Phoenix_Flames The Blot On Rose's Character

8th March 2009:
Hello there! I'm here with your review!

I'm so sorry this took me so long to get around to. Life has been miserably busy, but I'm here now!

Wow. Really wow. This was so unique! I've never read a story like this. I'm in shock, because I wouldn't have ever thought up a great story like this. I've never even considered Rose's possibility in this, yet you made it seem so real. Like this was how JK actually wanted it.

You write well. You do, but there were a few grammatical mistakes. I would suggest reading over your chapter. Nothing was major, but it just makes for a much nicer read when mistakes are out of the way.

Wonderful job. I thought it was quite ironic with Hugo and Rose. A nice little twist to the plot. I agree with Liam. Wait until they find out about Rose. ;)

This was so great.

9/10

Author's Response: Hi there! Don't worry about taking long to review. That happens to me too. :)
About the grammatical errors, I'll see what I can do. I'm trying to catch them all. Thanks for the feedback. :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Liam R Something Hard to Accept

8th March 2009:
Woah, this just gets better and better really.

So Hugo is taking his revenge on Rose for ruining his birthday, right? That's interesting. I can actually imagine that happening. A revenge fuelled teenager taking vengeance on his older sister because she ruined his day. Nice one there.

As I said before, the characterisation is great. I didn't spot many spelling and grammar, and that's always good, of course.

This story is really coming along well. Sorry for the short review, but I don't have much to say except for: this is really good, you obviously know where you're going with it, keep it up.

Yeah, that's what I have to say xD
10/10

Author's Response: Hi again! Well, not only for ruining his birthday. Rose mentioned something before Hugo got mad - she mentioned his past, and suggested to get over it. :)
I'm glad you like this chapter too despite the grammar. LOL I'll try to fix them all. It'll take time, but I'll fix them. :) Thanks LiamR! :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Liam R The Blot On Rose's Character

8th March 2009:
Hey, I'm here with your review :)

Well, woah! I mean, honestly. That was really good. A couple of spelling and grammar mistakes, but nothing really serious.

I have to say, I've seen Hermione femmeslash, Ginny femmeslash, Lily femmeslash, even Luna femmeslash, but never Rose. So you get extra brownie points for being so original! It's one of those things you never really consider, and it's brilliant.

Rose is such a cow! Hugo must hate her for that. And I really feel sorry for Hugo aswell. His birthday has been ruined and everyone thinks he's gay.

Wait until they find out about Rose ^_^

Very nice chapter :D

Author's Response: LOL You've never read a Rose-slash story before? Me neither, and this was my first story about her in Hugo's POV. :) Hope you'll read chapter 3 too. Thanks for leaving a review. :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by The_Wolven_Critic Something Hard to Accept

5th March 2009:
Haha. “Wait until I tell mum and dad you're gay!”

That will be forever inprinted in my brain. XD

Nice chapter. :D I could follow along better and it was quite good. Can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Thank you. :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by The_Wolven_Critic The Blot On Rose's Character

5th March 2009:
Woah. I've never read anything like that before.

it was kinda hard to understand at first, but I kept reading and it turned out, well, making you want to read more! I never expected that out of Rose.

Author's Response: Thank you. LOL :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by rowenaravenclaw94 Something Hard to Accept

1st March 2009:
i don't see why it's such a big deal to him... good job! 10/10! update soon!
-xoxo, rowenaravenclaw94

Author's Response: Thanks for reading chapter 2, too. But you'll see why it's such a big deal to him. :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by rowenaravenclaw94 The Blot On Rose's Character

1st March 2009:
poor hugo has to deal with his perfect sister. and then she ruins his birthday celebrations... how sucky. 10/10! good job!
-xoxo, rowenaravenclaw94

Author's Response: Yeah, that really sucks. Let's all hope Hugo forgives her. :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by harrypotterfreak1414 Something Hard to Accept

1st March 2009:
Another Great chapter! I love how you're developing the characters. I can't wait for the next one:)
~hpf14

Author's Response: Thank you, hpf14 :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by marisalovesharry Something Hard to Accept

1st March 2009:
Oh would he do that?
I know he´s hurting but would he realy?
Great story loving it
THIS IS DEFENITLY A NEW TAKE ON THINGS

Author's Response: Well, do you think Hugo would? :)
His sister opened up an old wound, and now he's all confronted with his past again. He got mad. Hope you'll enjoy the next chapter too. :) Thanks for dropping by.


 Report Review

Review #24, by marisalovesharry The Blot On Rose's Character

28th February 2009:
OH IS SHE GAY HUM WONDRER WHAT RON MY SAY PLEASE CONTINUE I LOVED IT

Author's Response: You'll see what Ron will say about it. :) Thanks for dropping by.

 Report Review

Review #25, by x.i.love.sawyer.x The Blot On Rose's Character

28th February 2009:
omg...rose is so mean. poor hugo. rose is so mean to him. gr. this is really good. continue..

Author's Response: Poor Hugo, yeah? :) Sure, I'll continue. I've already sent the next chapter to one of my betas. :) Thanks for leaving a comment. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>