Reading Reviews for Faux Pas
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by shadowkitty22 Faux Pas

27th June 2009:
Yay! That was so good. Who knew that the first person to post in my Ron/Pansy ship thread would actually recommend a story that was very well written and believable. I loved every part of it. Thank you so much for writing a Ron/Pansy fic when so few do.

Author's Response: Hello! =D
I'm glad you enjoyed this! It's hard to find anyone to read Ron/Pansy I found, so I'm glad you did! And by recommendation no less, that makes me really happy!
Thank you for reading and reviewing!
xx


 Report Review

Review #2, by Jellyman Faux Pas

5th May 2009:
So first off: I love this pairing! You find hardly any on HPFF and this a real gem for the ship! It's actually quite brilliant actually :) You had everything and everyone in perfect characterisation! It was really quite spectacular. I can actually visualize this happening in a canon way (well, if the dreaded epilogue hadn't been published :P). I completely LOVED this line:

"Why are you here?" Pansy asked finally.

"Beats me." Ron scratched his head.


I giggled :) It's such a PERFECT Ron response! You write him so well. Anwyays, brilliant one-shot, definitely favoriting this :3

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you so much for this up-beat review! I'm so glad you liked this. Again, thanks so much for the compliments =D
x


 Report Review

Review #3, by dianap00 Faux Pas

20th April 2009:
Gah. That was so good. I like how they both like each other despite themselves. Ron is such a dork, I love him. He's always saying things out loud and waiting for people (read: Harry) to stop laughing at him. He's so great. Pansy is so sweet in a believable way. The fact that it all came out in a bout of drinking will be a perfect way for them to remember on anniversaries and such. -__-
To be honest, I almost like to imagine this as canon, as in, it could possible perhaps fit in before Hermione and Ron marry. I know. I know. I'm stretching it. Meh meh meh.

I love it. Well done. Everything was interesting and funny and a downright good read.
Cheers.

Author's Response: Thanks a million for the upbeat review and the lovely compliments! I'm so glad you enjoyed it this much. Feel warm and fuzzy now =D

 Report Review

Review #4, by BloomingLilyEvans Faux Pas

20th April 2009:
I really like how wonderful they are... albeit in a completely ridiculous way.
Awesome. C:

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review! =)

 Report Review

Review #5, by rachm34 Faux Pas

1st March 2009:
Hi There.
I'm here to review your story. Like finally. I feel like it's been forever since I've been on HPFF. in reality. It's only been a week. But I haven't been home to my house except to sleep for the past week. So me doing anything other than hw, was so hard for me to do. My show was in tech week then, performance weekend.

Anyway, although this is long, i would say i would have split this up into two chapters although I just sometimes have trouble concentrating with super long chapters. That's hardly anything to critisize on.

This was wonderful.I am not even a fan of this ship and i thought you wrote it so well. It was lovely,
and you are doing a great job with teverything.
I like your descriptions and the mature aspect in this

great job

Author's Response: Hi!
No worries about taking time to get to review, I know how RL can interfere rather inconveniently! :D

Thank you so much for your positive, encouraging comments. I'm really happy to read you enjoyed this.

=)


 Report Review

Review #6, by TwilightPrincess Faux Pas

26th February 2009:
I like this because it shows the classic situation of love at the office. I like that it's post-hogwarts and shows that they have grown up and out of their teenage stereotypes, but I don't know if I care for the way you 'showed' that. I liked the opening because it was in dialogue. But after that when you started talking about how she's not an annoying bitch anymore, I don't know... something about the way you phrased that whole section of catch-up didn't sit well with me. I would have liked to see that growth through the way they interact with each other, rather than read a paragraph of you telling me that they grew up.

At the end when they were in that argument, I was in it too. You wrote it very believably and I really felt like I was there. I could feel their emotion even though you didn't take time to discuss them. Good job. However, I did not feel like I was reading adults. I felt like it was back to teenagers. Some of the pieces of dialogue you had them say sounded so juvenile. I understand that when put in a situation like this, the 'adult' mindset kind of goes out the window, but I got a stronger feeling of you didn't know how to write adults having an argument. As much as it is to write boys vs girls, it is important to write adults vs children vs teenagers. Each person has to be their own, just as each age group has to be represented correctly.

As far as characterizations go, I can't say much about Pansy because I don't know much about her. But I like the way she was portrayed here. She had a sort of edge to her but softened when the idea of love came about. As for Ron, I like that he was spontaneous at the last moment and strong-headed. That was very Ronish. Overall, I think your characterizations were spot on.

This was a great read. I actually wouldn't mind seeing more. Too bad it's just a one-shot.

Ganbare! Tanoshinde ^_^

.:.Ilia.:.

Author's Response: Hi Ilia!
Thanks a million for your wonderful review! I'm really glad you liked this.
I see your point about 'showing' how they grew up rather than 'telling' - however I felt this one shot was getting long already. Maybe it was the wrong call to cut it in that area. I'll have another look at that part and see.
However, I'd like to know why you felt I didn't write their arguments as adults? I'd like you to clarify that by PM if possible over on the forums which parts you felt were juvenile. It's been well over a decade since I was a teenager, so please do enlighten me where I went wrong.
Thank you though for taking the time to review this, it is very much appreciated.

^_^


 Report Review

Review #7, by datbenik513 Faux Pas

26th February 2009:
Hi,

I've got terrible news. No matter how hard I try, I can't find anything in you one-shot I would be able to criticise :) The only negative thing I could say is the length of the story, almost 7000 words. Some might say it's too long for a one-shot, yet, I don't know how you could have separated it into multiple chapters without ruining the integrity of the story.

I loved each and every character. They are truly believable. Even the grudge Ron still holds at Malfoy and Parkinson in the beginning is very Ronnish, while Harry, as we know from the Epilogue to DH, is more forgiving. I also liked how you wove some more of our beloved canon figures into the story, even Luna and Rolf.

Maybe that's why putting Ron and Pansy together forms such a contrast with the rest of the characters. While I'm more into canon, I'm not free of sins myself and I like to experiment with other pairings. Ron/Pansy, however, is not a pairing, which would come first on my mind, but, again, you made it natural, completely believable.

Incredibly well done. A well-deserved 10. Very easily in the top three of all one-shots I've ever read at HPFF.

Cheers,

Zoltan

Author's Response: Zoltan,
Thanks a million for taking the time and reviewing! I'm very honoured that you feel my little one shot is in your top three! What a compliment to get!
As for the length of the one shot - it does frighten a lot of people, but any shorter would've taken too much away and dragging it out would've meant fillers... it's a vicious circle, really! I'm glad you enjoyed it this much though.

Thanks a million.
^_^


 Report Review

Review #8, by Phoenix_Flames Faux Pas

25th February 2009:
Hello, there! I'm here with your review!

First off, I would like to say how brilliant it was of you to introduce your story like in the summary. The way you said "noun" and everything else. It really made it more exciting. Excellent way to draw the reader in.

Next. Your story.

Oh, wow it was wonderful. Oh my gosh, I've never read this pairing before but it was bloody brilliant. It really was. You really made them connect in such a wonderful way I never thought imaginable. And your writing. Wow. Your writing just sucked me in even further.

It was so amazing. I still feel like I'm flying from your story. Pansy's a lucky girl. ;) Wow, I never thought I would say that!

But this was amazing - so unique.

I honestly have nothing but praise. This was so amazing. Completely indescribable.

10/10

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for this enthusiastic, positive review. It's truly a HUGE relief to see the pairing doesn't come across as unrealistic or fake.
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review this story!!

~Mon


 Report Review

Review #9, by Misty_Rey Faux Pas

24th February 2009:
First off, I have to applaud you for having the guts to write a Ron/Pansy. This ship has always intrigued me. I mean, if people can actually believe the notion of Hermione getting together with Draco (*rolls eyes*), why not Ron and Pansy? Anyway, with such an odd pairing, you actually successfully pulled it off. It worked because you characterized them as individuals so well that when they finally did get together, it seemed feasible. Ron was dead-on with his blunt tactlessness coupled with his compulsion to do the right thing. You didn't try too hard to make him likeable, just real and that made him a joy to read. Pansy was well-written as well. We don't really know that much about her in canon but from what little we do know, you took it and developed her into what felt like a canon respresentitive of her as an adult. Together, their chemistry was amazing without ever veering towards melodramatic. The circumstances of how they got together could have easily been cliche but you avoided that trap by making the aftermath realistic. Awkward, filled with misconstrued meanings and ending badly for both parties. The reconcilation was just as good. It wasn't unbearably sappy but once again realistic. They were both completely in-character throughout. I was relieved that you seem to hint that they would take the relationship slow and steady and acknowledged that people might react negatively. It added a degree of realism to such an odd ship. Wonderful job, this was a story I truly enjoyed. :) 10/10!

~Misty

Author's Response: Misty,
Thank you SO much for this wonderful review. I was so anxious to see how this pairing would be received and it's such a relief to read your very positive comments.

~Mon


 Report Review

Review #10, by SiriuslyCrack Faux Pas

22nd February 2009:
OHEMGEE! Mon, this was absolutely bloody brilliant! I knew you were writing a Ron/Pansy and I was totally looking forward to reading it. And if I was expecting anything in particular, this certainly isn't it. I mean, you wrote it in your own unique style and I LOVED IT! There, I said it. As much as I used to hate this ship before, I slowly grew fond of it and after reading this, it's one of my fav fanon ships. *giggles girlishly* Ah, and I loved the ending. I love it when people kiss. It's just so beautiful to imagine. And countless times I was left in awe of your sentence structure and perfect flow. The characters were pretty much canon-ish and the plot was simple (and funny :P) enough. Truly great work, Mon. You should write more out-there pairings. You pull them off well *squishglomp*

P.S. Favourite part of Ron-Pansy conversation.
“Why are you here?” Pansy asked finally.

“Beats me.” Ron scratched his head.


That is so funny and innocent and brave at the same time. And so totally Ron-like. I LOVE RON, I do!

Author's Response: Tahi!!! LOL - you made me smile with this. No, actually, you didn't. You made me laugh out happily! *squees* We *dances*

I'm SO glad you enjoyed my venturing into Ronansy territory! LOL You quoting that little bit back to me made me laugh. Taken like that it really is funny *amazed at self* LMAO

Seriously, I feel all fuzzy and warm and giggly and YAY after reading your enthusiastic review.

Thank you so so much for these encouraging, lovely comments. ILY!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login