Reading Reviews for On the Summer Lawn
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by GabbysCrossing The Heights of Prenthood

30th March 2010:
That was just...so sweet.
*hugs* Really brought a highlight to my day..err, night :)

If only it were longer...

Author's Response: Thank you! This was, I believe, one of my first one-shots. They tended to be more fluffy back then. :) I'm really glad you enjoyed it! And thank you so much for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by ngayonatkailanman The Heights of Prenthood

6th August 2009:
Ah! How sweet!

LOL. At 12 and 10 years old (James and Al, respectively) at King's Cross, James seems to be the one who will fly at age 4 and Al would be the worrier. You just reversed their personalities...

Author's Response: I always pictured Albus as the awkward one who tried new stuff. But hey, we both have ideas! Thanks so much for the lovely review. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Harry and Ginny The Heights of Prenthood

2nd July 2009:
great fic u have here.^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I really appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Daphne 13 The Heights of Prenthood

1st June 2009:
A delicious dose of pointless fluff!! Absotutely adored it!!!

Author's Response: Haha, that's a wonderful description! Thanks so much for your lovely review.

 Report Review

Review #5, by CharmingRenagade The Heights of Prenthood

5th May 2009:
awww, very cute, i loved it immensly, but not your best

Author's Response: Haha, thank you. I agree, it's not my best, but thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by TheDirigiblePlum The Heights of Prenthood

18th April 2009:
AW THAT WAS BRILLIANT!

I felt so sorry for Harry at the beginning! You got his dissappointment so well but also got his "get along with it" sort of thing. It was just so cute with Albus at the end, and Harry knowing that all is not lost! :D

10/10

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! Reviews like this make my day. ^.^ I really appreciate the feedback. This fic wasn't my best, but I'm glad you enjoyed it all the same. Thanks again for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Rose Wilts The Heights of Prenthood

16th April 2009:
Yay :) This one was so intensely different from 'To Define a Sister', but I loved it all the same.
You should write fluff more often, because it was still so beautiful and meaningful. I can definitely see how you got promoted my dear. Wow, I really enjoyed this. It was just so lovely!

-Laura

Author's Response: Ha ha, thanks! I think I'm more drawn to angsty stuff, but I do like my bit o' fluff as well. I'm really glad you liked it! Fluffy and. happy stuff isn't really my thing, but I'm still thrilled you found it meaningful. Thanks so much, Laura! These reviews have made my day.

- Rin


 Report Review

Review #8, by RonsGirlFriday The Heights of Prenthood

30th March 2009:
Well done! I think the theme is a very realistic one, about parents always wishing their interests and passions will automatically be passed down to their children, and feeling disappointed when they realize that their kids don't always want the same things.

Sometimes I like to think that people are born with certain passions, and I thought that was reflected a little bit in this story, with Albus wanting to fly at the age of four, and the bit about how the broom feels in Harry's hand - something just feels right to you; it's not necesarily a learned trait.

I also loved all the physical descriptions of everything, and I thought it really added a certain something to the story - the flying conditions, the comfortable feel of the broom, and how everything falls silent when Al is waiting for Harry to answer him.

Gave me a fuzzy feeling at the end. :-) 10/10

Author's Response: Wow, what a lovely review! I'm not quite sure what to say... But thank you. so much. It's very encouraging to hear that people really understood the story, and noticed the little details. ^.^ And I wasn't really sure how to end this, so I'm glad that the ending I chose came off well. Thank you so much for your absolutely lovely review(s)!
- Rin


 Report Review

Review #9, by inkscribble The Heights of Prenthood

18th March 2009:
Adorable. Very realistic too, of course Harry would want to teach his son to fly. He missed out on a normal childhood and he would want to give his children that, which includes learning his sons how to fly. I really felt for James though, him having to tell his dad who happens to be Harry Potter of all people that he doesn't want to fly. It was really cute when Albus came and didn't want anything more than flying though. Great work. (:

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm really, really glad you liked it. (And just for the record, I blame this one-shot for making me late to pep band XD.) I. don't really know what else to say! Thank you so, so much for your absolutely lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Pretty Purple Pelican The Heights of Prenthood

1st March 2009:
Very, very cute. This was a lovely moment to capture. Of course Harry would want to share flying with his sons. My only critique is something that I had a huge problem with for a long time. They address each other by name far too frequently. In real life, most people don't speak that way. It's just a little thing, but I thought I'd point it out. It was a very nice story, and a great first attempt (and success) with fluff!

Author's Response: Ah, I didn't catch that, but now that it's been brought to my attention I'll go back and fix it! *headdesk* But thanks! I'm really glad that you found it sweet. Thank you so much for the review and criticism! I really appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Inti The Heights of Prenthood

21st February 2009:
Aww this is so cute. Just an adorable piece of fluff. Just recommended it in the Chain Recommendation Thread.

You have a fantastic voice as a writer, and that's something you should be proud of.

I really felt for Harry, who so wanted to share it with James. Then I felt for James, who just wasn't interested, but didn't want to offend.
Then little Al came charging out and I was like Awww.

Oh, I meant to say. Fantastic description. Not too much, not too little, just right.

Well done on a brilliant piece of writing =]

Author's Response: I saw your recommendation! Really, thank you so, so much. You've made my month.

I'm very pleased that you liked my voice as a writer. I work so hard on it, because, I believe, a voice makes the writing. Thanks so much for the compliment.

I'm so surprised that reviewers have liked this fic so much! I just spit it out one afternoon (and I blame it for making me late to band rehearsal), and put it up on the site the following evening. I'm so, so glad you enjoyed it. I'd pat myself on the back if I were even half as good a writer as you.

Thanks bundles! I can't tell you how much I appreciate it.

- Rin


 Report Review

Review #12, by WeasleyTwins The Heights of Prenthood

15th February 2009:
Hello Rin! *hugs*

Excellent tweaking of the summary! Great description, amazing. I found the dialogue even greater than the description. You used the words so elegantly, that I could clearly picture the scene.

"Like... weeding out the garden gnomes from the cabbage patch..." - This was superb! It really broke up the tension in that particular scene-there's a word for it, but I can't think of it :P

The way you use the dialogue of the piece to characterize Albus is phenomenal. I saw this pudgy little four year old with big eyes and a lop-sided grin coercing Harry into flying with him.

If I didn't know better, I would think that you're a parent the way you portray the bonding and the dialogue and everything else. Absolutely amazing. One of your best pieces, in my opinion.

Beautiful, 10/10

Shelby

Author's Response: Omigod, Twinsy, thank you so, so much. I... am at a loss for words. You don't know how much that means to me! I'm so wonderfully pleased that you liked it. I... yeah, I don't know what to say. Thanks again. You've made my day, week, month, and year. :D
Luv you so, so much!
- Rin


 Report Review

Review #13, by Lily Roselyn The Heights of Prenthood

14th February 2009:
Hiya : )

very nice job, I like the whole setting, with the cute little family, ya know...

I like it.

Cheers

Author's Response: Haha, thanks Rosie. I'm glad you liked it. And thanks for pointing those little things out to me earlier; I'll go back and fix them later. ^__^

- Rin


 Report Review

Review #14, by DeliaDee The Heights of Prenthood

14th February 2009:
Absolutely adorable. My heart fell for poor Harry. And then I felt for poor James who so didn't want to hurt his dad's feelings. And then you made everything okay again with sweet little Albus. I am a bit confused as to how James can be 10 when Al is only 4, but it's still delightful. Very good work.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! It just made my day. :)
As for the ages: *spoiler alert* In the seventh book's epilogue, it never specified their ages, other than James was older than Albus and that Albus was two years older than Lily. So, in this fic, I decided that James would be six years older than Albus, which would mean that in the epilogue, James was a 7th year while Albus was a first year. Make sense?

Wow, that was long-winded! Sorry about that. Anyway, thank you so, so much for the review. I really appreciate it. :)

- Rin


 Report Review

Review #15, by looonylovegood433 The Heights of Prenthood

14th February 2009:
cute.short and sweet

Author's Response: Haha, thanks so much for the review. ^__^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login