Reading Reviews for The Lord of Tang
  
142 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ProfTomMulk Destiny's Call

27th May 2014:
Tom,
Another well done chapter. The story is coming to an end, and I am enjoying how you are tying up all of the plot lines. I look forward o reading he end of this story and the new stories that you have to come.

Author's Response: Many thanks as always Prof, I have a couple of ideas on the go, but it may be some time before they are ready to post after this one is done, Plan is to re edit Essence in the mean time. Glad you enjoyed this chapter my friend. Hopefully the next one will be up soon.
Best wishes.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #2, by AriesGirl40 Destiny's Call

9th May 2014:
I really enjoyed all the surprises in this chapter. Peeves is more than he seems and the Fat Lady was his mother. Those were jems!
Thanks for letting me know that the story was up. It was so long and relaxing :)

Patty

Author's Response: Hi Patty, Many thanks as usual. As you know this chapter was at one time going to be part of Essence, but on your advice became the start of imagining this story. My thanks to you for that as well. Glad you enjoyed the bit's I added to it as well though.
Best wishes.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #3, by HogwartsAlum Destiny's Call

8th May 2014:
Ok, it took me two days to read this and essence. And although the story is good, the 10th century parts almost made me want to stop reading at times. I will miss Harry as the DADA teacher but am glad he is still going to be at the school. Hope the next chapter comes soon.

Author's Response: Many thanks for taking the trouble to comment, glad you thought the story was good, not sure why the tenth century parts might make you want to stop reading at times, I am a bit puzzled by that, but hey each to their own. Next chapter will be up as soon as possible, but it may be a while yet I'm afraid. Harry's future career may be the subject of another story in this saga, however I have a couple of other projects on the go at present, so not sure when that may be written.
Anyway, many thanks once again.
Tgfoy


 Report Review

Review #4, by JellyBean1210 Sceadugengan Summer.

22nd January 2014:
Brilliant story - I've just read both this and the first story over 2 days and am thoroughly engrossed. Love the mix of the 10th century history with the modern world, and so a different Petunia & Dudley - I always felt that they were Vernon's pawns. Look forward to the updates

Author's Response: Many thanks for reviewing JellyBean1210. I am glad you enjoyed them. Yes a different Petunia and Dudley, however I believe JKR laid he seeds of possibility that these two characters could take this route in the books.
Best wishes.
tgfoy


 Report Review

Review #5, by LightningScar Sceadugengan Summer.

14th January 2014:
Tom, OK that was fun, I love this story, Both really. I just found you and have spent the last 2 weeks after and before work reading this wonderful story. Please, Please, Please Tell me you are still writing this and will complete it. I have got to know how it ends. I am not one for founders stories but I found the history so interesting. If this story was just about that I would love it. And for me that is saying something. Your a Great Writer and I have enjoyed your stories so much. Please finish it I beg you. I hate getting this far into a story just to find out the story has been abandoned. No matter who's story it may be. Keep up the great work. Can't wait to see the next chapter.

Mark

Author's Response: Hi Mark, Many thanks for your review, glad you have enjoyed both stories (did you spot my one shots too?). Don't worry, I have written the final chapters of Lord of Tang, they are with the Beta at the moment I promise to post them as soon as possible (I hate it too when stories are left unfinished). I am also working on another story and have an idea for another following on from Essence and L.O.T though the next thing will be to re edit Essence which I have long promised to do.
Hope that sets your mind at rest.
Best wishes.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #6, by JGinny Sceadugengan Summer.

14th December 2013:
All I can say is wow.Ive just finished reading the two parts of this story and I am amazed. The quality and the depth is like an off the shelf book!You truly are an amazing writer and I cant wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Wow, many thanks JGinny, what a wonderful compliment. I am pleased you have enjoyed the saga ao far, the next two chapters are with my Beta,hopefully not long before I can post the next one.
Thanks once again, hopefully see you next chapter.
Best wishes.
Tgfoy


 Report Review

Review #7, by AriesGirl40 Sceadugengan Summer.

17th September 2013:
Hi again Tom

I see another piece to the puzzle has been found.

Funny thing about the hanging trap, I just recently watched a comedy about an English Prince who was second in line who was not a favorite. He liked the ladies a bit much. The movie began with the Prince about to be hung by the noose in the center of three. When they released the trap door he ended up on his feet. The contraption was created by a community of midgets, lol
I thought you would get a kick out of that.
I enjoyed reading your latest chapters alot.
see you on FB

Patty

Author's Response: Hi again Patty,
Good one, you might like this one too, it is recorded in the records of York Castle Prison.
There is the story of a man (flute player and thief) hung in York at Tyburn, buried as dead, later found digging himself out of the grave by a passing nobleman who took him under his wing. Apparently being hung improved the mans flute playing but eventually he reverted to crime and was hung again, this time for the last time.
Thanks as always my friend.
Tom.


 Report Review

Review #8, by ProfTomMulk Sceadugengan Summer.

17th September 2013:
Tom,
Another wonderful action packed chapter. I can see how everything is coming together in both time lines. I look forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Many thanks as always Prof, glad you enjoyed it.
Tom.


 Report Review

Review #9, by AriesGirl40 Oaths.

17th September 2013:
Sounds like the best pranks are pulled off by twins. Maybe it could be because the best magicians always use twins in their act. David Copperfield works with two sets himself. If you want a prank to go off well, get a twin :)

The workings of a value of life makes me think of Wanted Posters, Bounty hunters still work for a price on someones head. In a way, I suppose some things never change.

Going onto the next chapter now, I missed this one during my finals for College.

Patty

Author's Response: Hi Patty
Don't I know it, my dad is one of twins, I think pranking is genetically encoded in twins.
Yep it seems to be a similar thing (at least from watching Dog the Bounty Hunter).
Many thanks as usual my friend.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #10, by ProfTomMulk Oaths.

17th July 2013:
Tom
Another wonderful chapter. I am sorry it has taken me so long to review. I have been busy with work and participating in the 150th Gettysburg Reenactments.
I am enjoying how everything is coming together and I am looking forward to reading the next chapter.

Author's Response: Hi Prof,
No worries, hope the reenactments went well, I would have loved to have seen them.
Many thanks once again for your review, glad you are still enjoying it. Until next time my friend.
Best wishes.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #11, by ellennify Oaths.

23rd June 2013:
I've spent the better part of a week reading both this and the prequel. I love them. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Many thanks for your dedication and taking the time to leave your review. Glad you loved both this and Essence.
Best wishes.
tgfoy


 Report Review

Review #12, by ProfTomMulk Sceadugengan Spring.

10th April 2013:
Tom,
Another wonderful chapter. I love how this story is coming along. The attack of the Sceadugengan was interestingly portrayed. I am taking that they are what will become the Dementors.
The trip that Petuniia arrange for her Muggle Studies class, sounds like something, that the class will enjoy and learn from. Hermione meeting the spirit of her ancestor,is another piece to the puzzle that she is getting closer to solving.
I look forward to reading more when the next chapter comes out.

Author's Response: Hi Prof, Many thanks once again, glad you are still enjoying it, my friend. Hopefully see you next time.
Best wishes.
Tom.


 Report Review

Review #13, by AriesGirl40 Wild Rides and Celebrations.

9th April 2013:
Yuck! lol
A new bird for Hogwarts, glad the owl gave in.Birdies need to play nice, nice :)

Author's Response: Lol. Many thanks Patty.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #14, by ProfTomMulk Wild Rides and Celebrations.

30th January 2013:
Tom,
Another wonderful fact filled chapter. The addition of Flame was a great touch and one that I can see will be a big part to the resolution of the story. That Hermione is learning more and more about her family's past is a pleasure to find out about.
I personally had no issue with the animal sacrifices as described in the 10th century part. It was an accepted part of life especially in religious rituals.
I look forward to reading more, when ever the next chapter comes out. I hope that you had a good Birthday.

Author's Response: Many thanks Prof, glad you are still enjoying it. I know what you mean about the animal sacrifice part, I too have no problem with it, it was a fact of life in the 10th century. From experience some people do have a difficulty with it, so the warning was precautionary.
The end of this story is drawing near, but there are a few more chapters to go, but sorry I am not giving too much away yet. :-), won't be too long until the next chapter is up though.

Yes I had a marvelous Birthday, many thanks.

Best wishes
Tom


 Report Review

Review #15, by ProfTomMulk Tigelwotta

1st October 2012:
Tom,
Another great chapter, I love where the story is heading. The battle scene while graphic, I thought captured the time frame and how groups of men fought. In this age of push button warfare, we often loose sight, that it comes down to man against man and the one who made the least mistakes would emerge victorious.
Seeing how Hermione is coming closer to her destiny, it is interesting how she is so wrapped up in finding her relations, that she forgot others might have information she can use.
I look forward to reading more. I hope that another chapter will be out before the new year.

Author's Response: Hi Prof
Glad you enjoyed it. Yes I agree, it is easy to loose sight of that.
Hope fully it won't be too long til the next chapter, it is with my beta already.
Many thanks as usual Prof.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #16, by AriesGirl40 Tigelwotta

23rd September 2012:
i have heard about the custom of leaving one alive to tell the tale. Thats just mean... :)
i have no idea why my i will not cap for me. Maybe it's time for a new keyboard? suppose i better do it before i have to do my 10 page geneology report. Might be a good idea.
Oh yeah, the story! i thought it was a pretty good addition. Finding the little chest in a place well hidden was cool. He couldn't have done it without Ginny. Hey, check that out, everything else does caps, except i. my computer is so weird. I , there it goes. had to use caps lock to get it to do it though. Yes it's late and I'm just running off at the mouth. I'll shut up now. See you on FaceBook Tom :)

Author's Response: Thanks Patty, is your computer developing a personality I wonder.
Glad you liked it, catch you on FB.
Best wishes.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #17, by BKL8008 Tigelwotta

22nd September 2012:
As always, well worth the wait. I like the whole idea of the ancestors and the origins of our heroes and famous landmarks like Azkaban prison. Masterfully done!

Author's Response: Many thanks as usual, glad you enjoyed it.
tgfoy


 Report Review

Review #18, by FriendofMolly Tigelwotta

22nd September 2012:
TG,
I was so happy to see this update. I will admit that with your warning, I was a bit apprehensive about reading the first part. I did press on and was rewarded with a victory on the side of right. Yes, the battle was a bit graphic, but what battle isn't?
The 20th century portion was filled with your usual awesomeness. I had forgotten about the bureau they found in Godrics Hollow. As you mentioned it I had the flash of memory. It sounds like Harry and Ginny will be the ones to help Hermione with her research. It sounds like she'll need the help, not only with information, but guiding her back to a bit of normality. Even Minerva told her she needs to balance her life and work. For her to say that, it must indeed be a dire situation. It looked like it was the arranged Tea with the couple, that brought things to a head. I am looking forward to what she will be discovering, and how she does. But I also look forward to some none research related story. You need to post as soon as you can. I am so loving this.
FoM

Author's Response: Many thanks for that FoM.
I am trying to err on the side of caution with the warnings and hit the balance on the battles (there are more to come) and how graphic they are, it is reassuring that you think I have it about right on this occasion. There are more things left hanging in Essence that will be resolved in this story yet to come. Many thanks once again
tg


 Report Review

Review #19, by harryhermron The Elves and Phoenix

23rd July 2012:
It is so good to see u r writing again. Let me tell u the story is getting awesome with each chapter. I just finished reading each chapter again. I can't wait for the next chapter

Author's Response: Many thanks for reviewing harryhermron, glad you are enjoying the story. I have cominted to completing stories that I start writing, I know how it feels to follow stories only to find they get abandoned so am determined that that won't happen with mine. That said Tang is a complex story so I give no promises over frequency of updates, next chapter is with my beta reader, just know I will complete this story it just may take some time.
Best wishes
tgfoy


 Report Review

Review #20, by ProfTomMulk The Elves and Phoenix

10th July 2012:
Tom,
Another wonderful chapter in an amazing story. The appearance of the Lady Frayja at the wedding was a good touch. it is apparent that Hermione is getting closer to discovering her destiny. I loved the description of The elf's drone like the perfect bass note of a bagpipe to be an interesting simile.
In the 10th century the council of war was an interesting look into what is coming up in the future chapters. I look forward to reading more. I always come away from your story with something I did not know before, and I really enjoy that aspect of this saga. Until next time. Have a good summer.

Author's Response: Hi Prof, many thanks as always for posting a review. Glad you enjoyed it and learned something too. When researching some aspects and checking things I usually end up learning things as well, some of which end up in chapters.
Hope you have a good summer too, but with luck another chapter may be up before it ends, no promises though.
Best wishes.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #21, by FriendofMolly The Elves and Phoenix

7th July 2012:
TG,
Another Wowwser of a chapter. though I expect nothing less. The Weddings at Hogwarts, how beautiful and sweet. I did get a charge out of the elf price. And the appearance of Lady Frayja was as much as a surprise as it was another demonstration of spectacular Magic.
Now for the 10th Century portion, it seems like things are coming to a dangerous head. Or it appears to be a change is coming. I do so love Phoenixes. Thank you for the rescue of the Symonite family, there has been to much bloodshed from the Dark Side.
More more more!
FoM

Author's Response: Hi Once again FoM good to hear from you as always.
Glad you enjoyed the wedding and Lady Frayja's appearance.
Yes the build up is starting though there is still plenty to happen before the battle. The last of the Symonite Family were of course seen earlier in the story.
Chapter 15 is with my Beta so it will be up once he is done with it all being well.
Best wishes to you my friend.
Tom.


 Report Review

Review #22, by AriesGirl40 The Elves and Phoenix

7th July 2012:
Beautiful weddings! I thought the passing of Winky to Harry and Ginny a special moment. Now the burning of the house, those guys are mean and dirty players. The smell wasn't right, eeewww looking for bones and teeth.I am just glad nobody was inside. Thorns in the moss, maybe that was saved for a nasty master :)
enjoyed the update, and congrats on the nomination Tom :) see you next chapter

Author's Response: Many thanks Patty. Glad you enjoyed it, yes things at the time were not always what we would think of as pleasant, diferent time, diferent attitudes. Yes could have been a thorny issue couldn't it? :-)
Best wishes.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #23, by BKL8008 The Elves and Phoenix

7th July 2012:
Well worth the wait. The weddings were quite good, and I always enjoy the descriptions of things from the past. The bit with using a Phoenix to escape was great, and the information from the Grey Lady very fitting.

Author's Response: Many thanks BKL8008, glad you enjoyed it.
All the best.
tgfoy


 Report Review

Review #24, by FriendofMolly Return and Restitution

3rd May 2012:
TG,
I just loved the irony of the 20th Century portion of this chapter. Not only did Harry lay a painful lesson on Vernon, he was able to give something to Petunia she definitely earned. As far as the mirroring of the sporting events in each Century nothing changes, but the names. Now that I've read this chapter, I'm going to hope for more postings, as I can't imagine what Gringotts has been holding. The plot definitely thickens. Please don't keep us waiting.
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks FoM, Yep the parallels over the millenium are interesting, not just in the sports. Next chapter is with my beta so hopefully not too long to wait, but no promises I'm afraid. Hopefully see you next time. Best wishes.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #25, by FriendofMolly The Loudest Cheer

3rd May 2012:
TG,
I did originally think the Arthur and Molly would be the Twins adoptive parents. They could not have a better family. Right now they just need love and stability. During the 10th Century, at least they had their fun with the games, before the arrival of the King. I am anxious to see what happens next. So I will continue. I am so glad you were able to post these chapters.
FoM

Author's Response: Yep I agree FoM, it's good to see the twins with the loving family that they need. I had fun researching the games, too. Many Thanks again my friend.
Tom


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>