Reading Reviews for How to tame a Marauder
3,909 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AL Return to Hogwarts

14th September 2016:
Intriguing beginning. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! So pleased you enjoyed it.
cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #2, by AbraxanUnicorn Epilogue

11th September 2016:
This is pure brilliance! Read it in just over 24hrs and got virtually nothing else done during that time as I was too desperate to get on with the story to be distracted by real life. I wish Laura hadn't met the end she had, but I see why in order to fit in with JKR's original story.
Have to say, Laura and Padfoot's dallying in the middle of this was excruciating. It took a lot of inward strength not to screech "oh for goodness sake!!" at my computer as they almost got together then didn't quite. 10/10

Author's Response: Really? Why thank you! It's not often people sit and read something this long in a binge like that so it's really lovely when people say they've done it with your story. *beams* And thank you for understanding why she had to die, as not eveyrone did. :)

As for that extremely frustrating bit in the middle, well it was enormously fun to write, though I do understand how people were throwing things at their computers. But I had a very strict story plan and The Snog couldn't happen until the end of the calendar year. So I just tortured them both for a while, hahaha. *evil grin*

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #3, by TidalDragon Return to Hogwarts

7th August 2016:
Howdy! Believe it or not, I have never read this story despite the fact it's gotten so many recommendations from so many people I trust with this things. I'm here now though and trying to rectify that situation, even though I know you're editing (or contemplating it anyway).

I want to start by saying that I think the characterizations are excellent from the off. You give Laura a distinct voice and a background that makes it easy to accept her as the narrator as well. Though I'm not sure if this was a conscious choice (I think it was...), her half-blood heritage and the details of her upbringing that you described also give you this great extra latitude to explain a lot of what you do, whereas with other characters it would feel like too much telling. On top of that, though I'm not sure if you're from there and thus have an inside track on what Scottish speech reads and sounds like, Mary's dialogue read exactly how I've imagined the accent reading based on hearing it before (and being pathetically unable to capture it in writing myself) and so I thought that deserved a special shout-out.

As an introductory chapter, there wasn't a huge amount going on here plot-wise, but unlike many such chapters from many writers, it was egregiously short nor painfully boring. Even with background and history taking center stage for much of this, your writing bridged the gap, being more prosaic than simple at times, but nevertheless constantly retaining a delightful accessibility.

The two things I did notice that I wanted to comment on from another perspective were: (1) "diffuse" about mid-chapter and (2) the number of students you selected. For the first, I wanted to know legitimately if that spelling is the one you use in the situation described (because here we use "defuse"). Likewise, I was really interested in your rationale for the nine (9) Gryffindors in Laura's year. Was it based on JKR's rather odd canon math and portrayals or something more?

In any event, I thought this was an excellent start and though I've become painfully sluggish at reviewing, I'm hoping I'll get back to read the remainder of this story soon - it deserves every accolade and recommendation it's ever gotten!

Author's Response: Hi Kevin! Thanks for the review!!

Well. Where to start. I think you've hit on why I wanted to make Laura half-blood - it does give me a lot of leeway and besides it's fun to throw in all the Muggle references. :) I'm not from the UK so Mary's accent was a mixture of guesswork and research, but I've had people from Scotland compliment me on it so I must have done something right. That said, in the new version it's toned down a bit - not all of it, but some of it. When I came back to it after 5 years even I was finding it hard to read, hahaha.

YOu are right about diffuse/defuse, and that correction has been made in the new version. Funny thing is I didn't even realise I'd done that! So thank you.

As for the 4 boys in Gryffindor, well that's covered in a later chapter but essentially I figured that, if there was an option for Peter to hang around with someone else, he would have. So, it's just them. It may not be accurate but it's my reasoning, and I haven't seen anything to contradict that - though I haven't delved into all the depths of Pottermore yet so I may have missed something.

cheers, Mel

 Report Review

Review #4, by Dinthemidwest The Sirius Black fan club

3rd August 2016:
I say fine with the Yule Ball! Good story & enjoyable chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! It's a stretch, I know, but I just couldn't make Sluggy's part work for me in the way I wanted it to. Thanks for the vote of confidence. :D
cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #5, by Mikaila Exams

27th July 2016:
Something just occured to me, I'm pretty sure J.K. Rowling said James was a seeker.

Author's Response: Ah, the first movie said he was a Seeker, but JKR actually made him a Chaser. It's easy to get confused, though. Just Google "James Potter Chaser" if you want to find the original quote.
cheers, Mel

 Report Review

Review #6, by Mikaila Detention

26th July 2016:
I love this so much! I mean it was pretty obvious Laura and Sirius were going to end up together because of the story's intro but I love the way you are developing their romance. My mom keeps on telling me to shut up because of how much I have been squealing.

Author's Response: Yeah I know, it's totally obvious. But that's to us, not to the characters. So pleased you're enjoying it though!
cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #7, by Mikaila Diagon Alley

26th July 2016:
My cousin told me J.K Rowling said there are over 1000 students at Hogwarts so I think your numbers of the new students may be off. Other than that, so far this is one of the best fanfictions I have ever read!

Author's Response: Yes, I know JKR said that, but she has also admitted that her maths is often way off. So I take her numbers with a grain of salt, as to have over 1000 students there would clearly need to be a lot more than there are in, say, Harry's year. So I've just gone with the 10 or so per House. I"ts also much easier to keep track of them that way!!

Other than that, thank you so much for the feedbaack. It's so gratifiying to have poeple appreciate your work. Thanks!

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #8, by Nathaniel Hogsmeade under attack

15th July 2016:
Saw the authors note after I read the story, I actually think the dementor were a great dark creature to attack as it showed the power of the upcoming war and the control Voldemort had over the wizarding world.

Author's Response: Thank you! I was really quite unsure because I'd used them before, but nothing else fit the story quite as well. Thanks for the feedback!
cheers, Mel

 Report Review

Review #9, by Steff Epilogue

5th July 2016:
All the people wondering if still read the reviews and that in 2015. Well as often i just binge read the entire thing in a day and a night. The entire story is really well written no plot holes what so ever altough the ending was quite tragic. I realised that you didn't seem quite sure about your chapters or not really satisfied with them but i guess that is just something writers do always thinking their art isn't good and could use improvements, not realising that just their story as it was from a neutral perspective is a magnificent piece of art. Had me tear up at quite a few parts. All the best wishes and hopefully too many ideas to ever stop writing.

Author's Response: Hi! Yes I do still read reviews, and now I'm even responding to them! Amazing! But yeah, I had some time off from the site and have only recently come back. I"m really thrilled to hear that you come back to binge read this story as that's very flattering, but yes, there are still a nubmer of points I'm not happy with and I'm actually inthe process of reposting it on another site with those edits done. But thanks so much for the feedback, as it means I'm not wasting my time with this writing malarkey. :)

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #10, by Mello George Return to Hogwarts

30th June 2016:
The way you described the marauders was excellent!! It captured their personalities perfectly. Anyway I have only read the first chapter but it seems great so far

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I"m really glad you're enjoying it.
cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #11, by Wishing I Was Sirius Epilogue

25th April 2016:
To be honest, I had hoped that the end of Laura and Sirius would be when he went after Peter and she had moved on after the 12 years in Azkaban. This was much more heartbreaking but it makes sense as she is never mentioned in the canon. Thanks for the story as a whole

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, she had to die. AFter all, if Sirius had someone to live for he wouldn't have let the Hit Wizards take him to Azkaban without a fight, would he? So thank you for recognising that.
cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #12, by Fugacity Epilogue

8th April 2016:
This has been up for so long that I don't know if you ever read your reviews any more - but I'll leave this review anyway...

It's clear why this story is in the top 10 on the home page. It is exceptionally well written. You did a good job sticking to cannon and making it all seem real. When Mary was murdered, I was in shock. You had done such an excellent job of characterization - giving her an authentic brogue that she became a living, breathing person to me without me quite realizing it until - she died. I kept reading all the way to the end with some dread - knowing that since Sirius was alone in the cannon that Laura was too good to last, but that with the depth of their feelings that there was no way anything but death could part them; that meant that she had to die at the end.
Laura's death made it even more authentic because life is really like that. Life is messy, life is complicated, life can be wonderful, life can be tragic, life can be mundane - but a life with love is most certainly worth living.

Author's Response: Hi! Yes, I read them, but I haven't been responding to them for a while and am only now catching up. Sorry for the delay! :)

I'm so pleased you enjoyed my story so much. I put a lot of work into it and tried to sitck as closely as I could to canon (yule ball notwithstanding) so it's really lovely when people recognise that. And that's a wonderful thing to say about Mary's characterisation, that she became a real person to you, because again that was what I was hoping for. I tried with all of them to give them good and bad points, quirks, and most of all depth as they matured, and it seems like I did okay there so thank you.

And yes, Laura had to die. Thanks for recognising that, as not everyone did.

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #13, by Fugacity Return to Hogwarts

4th March 2016:
I know I've only read the first chapter, but I rather like the way you expertly captured a Scottish accent for Mary. With a name like McDonald, it would certainly make sense, but honestly few writers I've seen have done such a complete and believable job of capturing how it sounds.


Author's Response: Well thank you! I've had some differing feedback about Mary's accent but I felt that with that name she needed to be Scottish. It can be a little hard to read I acknowledge, but if yout hink I got it right I'm really thrilled. Thanks!
cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #14, by Rhianne Epilogue

25th February 2016:
I HATE YOU SO MUCH!!! I knew you would have to kill Laura to explain why she wasn't there in the Harry Potter series but I hoped that the epilogue was James and lily dieing and we just get to imagine the end.
*wipes away a tear and throws rotting vegetables at you*
An amazing story though. One of my favourites ever up there with delicate. It was so well written and I couldn't put it down. Thank you for being so amazing at writing stories xxx

Author's Response: Yes, sorry about that. Though to elicit this reaction I have to have done something right with the story, right? So pleased you liked it, even if you didn't like the ending. Thanks for the feedback!
cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #15, by siriusmarauder Epilogue

5th January 2016:
Just read it all the way through. Fairly entertaining even though I've never necessarily shipped Sirius with anyone, so kudos. I'm curious if you ever had a specific joke in mind that James and/or Sirius shared with Dumbledore at the graduation ceremony or if it was just meant to be generic.

Author's Response: Ah, that joke was meant to be generic. I"m sure I could think of something if pressed, but it wasn't supposed to be anything in particular. To be honest I saw that sort of thing at my own university graduation and it stuck, so that was why I threw it in there.
cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #16, by Tildis Epilogue

28th December 2015:
Wow, this was so powerful. Cried like a baby, still am. Even though a suspected this was the only way to end the story from the beginning. Best fanfiction I've read so far. Keep up the good work and thanks for this exceptional and outstanding work of fiction.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yes, it was the only way to end the story, but hey, you guessed that and you still read the whole thing, so that's saying something. So pleased you enjoyed it so much!
cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #17, by LilyandJamesOTP Epilogue

14th December 2015:
I think this ruined my life.

Author's Response: Yeah, sorry about that. WEll, not really, but you know what I mean. I'm actually very flatterd to have affected you like that so thank you!
cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #18, by ME Hogsmeade under attack

5th November 2015:
Good idea,that. But I CANNOT see why you did not say that Lily had a doe and James a stag for a patronus

Author's Response: Ah, that's because Lily's Patronus, according to JKR, wasn't originally a doe. That was something that changed after she got together with James. I couldn't think of what it could be beforehand so I just left it blank for now. Thanks for picking it up though!

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #19, by misskindra Epilogue

2nd November 2015:
Thank you for this- I've accepted this story as canon! It was a bit slow at first, and I'm amazed you included the last three years of their schooling into one story- I always assume it will only be one year, so thank you for that difference. One of my favorites of the Marauders for sure!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It means a lot to me to have people accept this as their head canon, because that was what I was hoping for (and why I put all that hard work into it in the first place).
cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #20, by TAHA The Sirius Black fan club

28th October 2015:
I myself think that the addition of the Yule Ball was a really good

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I know it's a stretch but it was the only way the plot I had in mind would work. I appreciate the support :D

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #21, by Juli Epilogue

22nd September 2015:
This was an amazing story to read! I must admit, I wasn't completely interested at first, because the first chapters were a bit lacking of action for me... but as the story progressed, I found myself caught up in your writing! And Laura turned from being a not-so-interesting, kind of wallflower character into this fun and charming person! Thanks for the journey! I'm giving you a 9 because I didn't like her dying, even if it does make sense for the story, and I guess it was needed for Sirius to turn into who he was (I read the process of taming... loved that ending!) Hope you write something new soon!

Author's Response: Yes, I know the first chapters are a bit slow. Even in my tidied up version (currently being posted elsewhere) they're still a bit slow. But then again coming of age stories are often like that, in my defence. I'm glad you liked Laura's character development because that was key to the story - and I"m sorry she died, but as you understand it was kind of necessary. Thanks for the review!

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #22, by Sidney Ralph Epilogue

10th September 2015:
Amazing amazing amazing

Author's Response: Thank you! So pleased you enjoyed it!!
cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #23, by Ally Epilogue

3rd September 2015:
I am just going to make this short and sweet. I don't know how long ago you posted this story, but I only recently discovered it.

I can honestly say that this is the most beautifully written Sirius Black story I have ever read. Amazing from start to finish.

And for that I must say thank you.

Author's Response: Aw thank you! The story is a few years old now but I"m in the process of posting a tidied up version on another site. I'm glad you think it did justice to Sirius, because that was kind of the idea. And to not make me hate the end of OotP, hahaha. :D

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #24, by Miori178 Epilogue

30th July 2015:
Omg what a horrible way to end this, legit might cry. So I'm just going to envision a happy ending or something. Other than this it was a great story, wish you didn't kill her off.

Author's Response: Yes, sorry about that. But it was always going to happen, otherwise it wouldn't fit canon, would it? But yeah, sorry.

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #25, by MrHappyDreaming Epilogue

26th July 2015:
Hi :) I just found your story a few days ago and it took me four-three days to finish but I finally did.
I must say this was an amazing story. Not only the plot but your style of writing was amazing. Very consistent and you took care of every aspect so there was no plot holes. I think you're very talented and should continue to write because you're extraordinary in it.

I did get attach to all the characters and I am sad that the ending wasn't very happy.
But knowing the work of JK Rowling a did know how the story continues and I did expect Laura to die. I think this ending was more genuine and heartbreaking. If they just broke up it wouldn't give justice to their love I think :)

Anyways amazing story, very touching :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yes, it wasn't a happy ending, but then again if that was what I was looking for I wouldn't have written this story, because there are a few happy ending stories already out there - and they don't have to fit canon, do they? But for a canon compliant one, I had to have her die, because otherwise the HP stories themselves don't make sense. Having said that, I'm very pleased you got attached to my characters and that you enjoyed the story so much.

cheers Mel

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>