Reading Reviews for Snow Flecked Eyelashes
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ... Snowflecked Eyelashes

2nd January 2011:
A truley brilliant story. I loved the theme and it was very well written. Bellatrix seemed very different. Very well portrayed.
I give it 8/10

Author's Response: I wanted to try a "normal" Bella, before she became a death Eater. I've read loads of her as a mad woman but not much before that happened to her.

I really enjoyed writing her so I'm thrilled you liked it.


 Report Review

Review #2, by lia_2390 Snowflecked Eyelashes

15th August 2009:
Oh, I love this. They're a pairing that are not written about so often and when they are, it's more crazy Bella and angsty Rodolphus which makes me love your characterisation of both of them in this fic.

It's kind of strange seeing them like this. Most people think that it was always a loveless marriage or even one-sided Rodolphus' part but this is different she actually loves him here. I would've assumed that Bella's reasons for joining Voldemort would've been much different rather than trying to keep her husband away from other women's clutches. I had to laugh at the end when you said Rodolphus had no idea what he started.

They seemed so cute in this fic and you wrote it so well for your first attempt:)

Lia.

Author's Response: I think that's why I wanted to write my own one shot about Bella & Rodolphus, because anythign I see about them is exactly the way you describe and I personally don't see them that way.

Bella completely beleived in Voldemort right fromthe beginning, she just didn't really think about activiley joining untilt he idea that she could loose something she considered hers entered her head. I felt that reflected Bella's selfish character, as I always think she was probably a little like Draco when she was growing up.

Poor Rodolphus, he had no idea what he was creating!!! lol. The Bella we all know & love!!

Thank you very much for the lovely review, I'm really glad that you enjoyed it!!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Azkaban Angel Snowflecked Eyelashes

3rd June 2009:
Hmmm...i always assumed it was Bella who started it all and went after Voldemort, but your idea was interesting. I wonder how Rodolphus felt when he realised his wife had found something she loved more than him. I expecially liked the last too parapraphs. Very ominous!

Author's Response: I shouldn't think Rodolphus was too happy about the change in Bellatrix, but he should have been careful what he wished for!! ha ha.

I think the general idea is that Bellatrix started it all, but as not much is known about Rodolphus I wanted to try it a different way and see what I could make of the character.

the last two paragraphs are my faves too, so I'm really happy you mentioned them.

Thanks for taking the time to review!!


 Report Review

Review #4, by elladora Snowflecked Eyelashes

16th March 2009:
They're a very cute couple and I loved the way you made Bellatrix. Most people make her very cruel like if she isn't a human with feelings and fears

Author's Response: I think of Bella as a hard, cold woman, but only after the DE's, I think that's what made her the way that she is and she was "normal" before hand, which I tried to show with this one shot.

I'm really pleased you liked the way I portrayed her in this.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Illuminate Snowflecked Eyelashes

5th March 2009:
This is great! Very enjoyable- I found this very, very well written.

You captured the evil in Rodolphus brilliantly and you were great with Bellatrix too. Your descriptions were also great.

Again, please request if you would like me to review anything!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I really value your opinion, so I'm pleased you enjoyed it!!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Phoenix_Flames Snowflecked Eyelashes

17th February 2009:
Hello, there! Drue from the forums!

I'm so sorry your request for a review took so long for me to get around to, but I won't bore you with my reasons and excuses.

Wow. This was a very unique a story and I have honestly never read anything like this. Generally, I'm not very fond of Bellatrix - nor do I give her a chance - because she killed Sirius. :( But wow. You made her excellent and I loved her in this.

I don't know why you are nervous about your characterizations. I thought that, and your descriptions, and emotions were the best thing.

I really don't have much constructive criticism. This was a very unique story and not cliche at all. It flew very nicely and your transitions were great.

You also write brilliantly. Your mood and style is very captivating and it draws the reader in. You have great potential as a writer and I can't wait to see what you become and how talented you become. This was excellent and I don't have much to say. It was near perfect, flawless.

I especially loved the ending:

Rodolphus Lestrange was not to know that his wife, whom he loved more than anything in the world would change into someone completely unrecognizable from the woman with the snow flecked eyelashes.

Beautiful. Really beautiful. It was a wonderful way to end the story. It that one simple sentence you were able to gather all the emotions throughout the story and send the reader into wonder. Great job. :) Keep up the excellent work.

Also, great title. It is extremely captivating and really drew me in.

9/10

Author's Response: I'd forgotten that she killed Sirius! I love her character but I find her difficult to write so I usuall steer clear of her. But I had the idea for this one shot so I thought I had to finally go for it.

As you're not a big fan of Bellatrix I really appreicate you giving this story a read, and I'm thrilled you enjoyed it! I don't read much on these two so I don't know how they are usually portrayed, but I'm glad you didn't find this story a cliche.

I particuarly liked the ending so it's really nice that others have enjoyed that part as well.

Thank you so much for the encouragement! I might try these two again in the future.

I really appreciate the comments! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by rachm34 Snowflecked Eyelashes

12th February 2009:
Wow, this was amazing. I absolutely loved this. I loved the plot in particularly but i have to admit my favorite part of this story was the ending.

I really enjoyed your characterizations, it's excellent being able to do different ships and have a wide varity of characters. It strengthens you as a writer and prooves that you can truly write.

I thought your descriptions were lovely, and that i have nothing to cc upon. You did a very great job!

Author's Response: My fave bit was the ending as well, so I'm glad you liked it :-)

I've never written these two before so I wasn't sure how my characterisations were going, so I'm thrilled you thought I did a good job with them!

I'm so thriled you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for taking the time to review!!


 Report Review

Review #8, by datbenik513 Snowflecked Eyelashes

12th February 2009:
Hi from the forums,

You seem to have a special aptitude for experimenting with different ships. This story of yours, this time on a fully canon-compliant pairing, is a worthwile addendum to Potterverse.

You picture Bellatrix not as the beautiful, insane, reckless woman we know. In your one-shot Bellatrix is depicted simply as a beautiful woman who is very much capable of loving, who can reach everything she wants. I just saw Helena Bonham-Carter all the time before my eyes.

I don't agree with the previous reviewer, you did not over-characterize your heroes. I think the proportions were just right, after all you were not writing an action scene, rather drawing an impressionistic picture.

I have to admit I thoroughly enjoyed your story.

10/10

Cheers,

Zoltan

Author's Response: When I spend a long time writing my fave ships Draco/Luna I sometimes fancy a change lol, so I try my had at other ships, although I very rarely attempt canon for some reason so Bella/ Rodolphus was completly new to me.

I#m really glad you thought Bellatrix was done well, I wasn't sure how people would react to a non- sadistic Bellatrix.

I mentioned previously that I think description is a matter of personal taste, & I think you just proved my point lol. I agree with your comments and I'm happy you could see what I was going for with this one shot.

Thanks very much for taking the time to review, I appreicate the feedback!!


 Report Review

Review #9, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Snowflecked Eyelashes

11th February 2009:
Wow, that was absolutely incredible! I loved the plot, but the ending was by far the best. It was so perfect, so amazing! And it was written beautifully! Bella's thoughts and fears were perfect, and I especially loved it because she's one of my favorite characters, and you really brought out her personality. Great job!

My only suggestion is to tone down the description a bit. It was little distracting how every aspect of them had to be described, and though you did it beautifully, it was a little much. It's fun to slip in little, un-needed details, like the color of her gloves, but yours was a bit overdone. Not so much as to ruin the story, though! I loved it!!! Great job!!!

~lllb

Author's Response: Thank you very much, I'm really glad you liked it, especially as Bellatrix & Rodolohus are not characters I read or write about! So it's great that you thought I did a good job with her!

I think description is a matter of personal taste. I know exactly what you mean, I sometimes skip pages of books I'm reading when the writer rambles on about the rooms
or clothes etc, other times I don't feel I get enough description.

I disagree with you on that particualr point for this particular one shot, but I can completely understand your view on it & I appreciate the comments.

Thanks so much for taking the time to read & review, I really appreciate it!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login