Reading Reviews for Rule Breaker
  
561 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HollyHogwarts Epilogue

19th September 2014:
OH MY GOSH!!!
I can not believe that this that was the final chapter to the book.
You are a very talented writer, so i urge you to begin writing a sequel.
I absolutely adored this book, and am very happy to say that, even though i may not have liked how some of the characters ended up in the book, i will still continue to read your work and most likely reread this book. xxx

Author's Response: Hi Holly!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm really glad that you liked the story! I'm sorry for the death list. I know a lot of characters didn't get ideal endings...but war is complicated, sadly, and losses do occur. I'm so glad that you liked the novel as a whole, though, and I hope you continue to like it if you reread. Hopefully, a sequel will happen soon! I'm still letting the fact that this story is over sink in. Then, I hope to write a second novel. Maybe even a third! Who knows. :) Again, thank you for reading and reviewing. I appreciate it very much!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #2, by Kathleen Epilogue

14th September 2014:
This really did turn into a book and I'm grateful for that. It was great and not once did I consider quitting. You're so talented and this is on my top 3 fanfictions of all time. Thank you so much for this gift to the hp fanfic community

Author's Response: Hi Kathleen!

Thank you so much for reading this entire novel! I'm so glad that you liked it, and your compliments totally make me blush. I'm so, so happy that you've enjoyed this story. Thank you infinitely.

Sincerely,
Emily


 Report Review

Review #3, by Infinityx Epilogue

9th September 2014:
Hi Emily! I saw that the epilogue has been posted and just had to come read it and review.

I can't even imagine what you must be feeling right now. Five years is a long time and it's finally done. First of all, congrats! It's such a huge accomplishment. And second of all, WHAT WERE YOU THINKING? MOLLY, LUNA, XENO, THEO AND MCGONAGALL? JUST WHY. :'(

Okay, so before I overwhelm you with the extent of my emotions, I should probably get some coherent words into this review. I don't think I've reviewed any of the previous chapters but I have been following this story, and also waiting in nail-biting anticipation for the last few chapters to get posted. I was drawn to this because I saw your posts about it being a non-cliched Dramione and the plot was actually great! There were some parts where thinking about Draco and Hermione together made me skeptical but I guess that's just because of my strong adherence to canon.

You've done a brilliant job of writing this. I'm not going to be able to comment on every aspect as it would be too much in a single review (I think I'll go back and review every chapter). Your plot was incredibly intriguing and I love how you brought in the House Unity in such a believable way. To break through the stereotypes surrounding Slytherin house was a feat in itself, and I found myself falling in love with every character throughout this story.

I also am really impressed by the way you managed to tie up every loose end. I mean, I didn't even remember Theo's confusion and the conflict between him and Hermione until the part where he sacrifices himself. While that completely shattered me, it also struck me that you've done a neat job of completing this, so well done!

Also, you've written action scenes effectively and the plot itself was incredibly powerful. Looking at the entire picture now, I think it's just amazing the way you've rewritten canon in such a manner, and making it seem realistic as well. Hats off to you! :D

Now to the emotional part.
I love Draco and Hermione in this. Absolutely LOVE. Which is saying a lot because something or the other usually comes up with reference to canon and I get really skeptical. But even IF such a thing did happen, the way you characterized them both made me fall in love with these characters on their own, and not thinking of them in terms of canon. (If that makes sense)

I also hate you. You know why. I am a huge ball of quivering mass struggling to keep the tears from drenching my shirt. Not even joking. Loved the characters. Felt the angst throughout. And a bit of me died when they did as well. I can't even.

Anyway, I know this review doesn't address anything solid but I needed to leave one now because it's actually over. This is like how I felt after finishing the final book in the original series.

Well done, Emily! I am heartbroken, and sad that the story is over but so glad that I read this. If you feel like you want to gush about completing this, or join me in crying over this, feel free to leave me a PM. *hug*

Love,
Erin.

Author's Response: Hi Erin!

I'm sorry that it's taken me so long to reply to your review! It's actually been really hard for me to get up the emotional strength to answer reviews on the Epilogue. I'm still in shock that this is over! So, to reply: Thank you SO much for this long, beautiful, in-depth review. I love every single thing about it, and I appreciate it so much!

Thank you for reading this entire story! If you review any other chapters, I'll most definitely respond.

I'm so sorry about the death list that has so greatly traumatized you. I'm still shocked that it's happened. I almost cried when I knew who wouldn't make it through the story. :(

I'm so glad you liked the balance between action and emotion throughout the novel. Your compliments on my "rewrite of canon" have made me smile for days.

I am infinitely happy that you love Draco and Hermione in this. I'm so happy that someone who loves canon so much could latch onto the suspension of disbelief and really fall in love with these characters and this story. That is such a high, high compliment.

I understand why you hate me and totally forgive you for it. Let's be honest, /I/ kind of hate me! It was so hard to write these deaths, and I'm glad they resonated with you.

Thank you again for all your comments and compliments. They were so amazing, and I appreciate them all. Again, I'm sorry for the delay in my reply. You're the best. Thank you so, so much.

Love,
Emily


 Report Review

Review #4, by ArtyGirl Choices

2nd September 2014:
NO.

CHOOSE DRACO HERMIONE!

*pounds on glass*

Awesome so far, I'm loving it.

Author's Response: Hello there!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm really glad that you're liking the story, and I hope you continue to as you read on! I'm glad the chapter affected you so much! ;) Thanks again!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #5, by teh tarik The Sorting Hat's Warning

29th August 2014:
Hello again, Emily!

I'm here with the second of your two prize reviews. :)

Wow, what a chapter! It was very evenly paced; there were moments with tension (e.g. the opening scene with Harry and Ron and Malfoy), and calmer moments (e.g. Hermione bringing in the first years to Hagrid), and I think you maintained a great balance between these.

I think your characterisations are very believable, and true to canon. The animosity displayed between Harry and Ron and Draco all ring true. And my, my, Draco is unpleasant, isn't he? In the carriage with Hermione, especially. I think you're writing their relationship very realistically, and without rushing things. The encounter between both of them in the carriage is certainly prickly and rather hostile, and I'm gald Hermione used her Head Girl powers to defend herself. Draco drawing his wand at her seemed rather extreme, but it's great to see that Hermione can deal with this without losing her cool or retaliating in an equally hostile manner. I guess that's why she's been picked as Head Girl!

I love the Sorting Hat song that you wrote! Wow, your rhymes are wonderful, and there's a lovely rhythm to it! And the verses do have the right amount of tension and ominousness in them; after all, there is a full-blown war going on beyond the walls of Hogwarts. You're such a talented poet, by the way! I must say, the fifth stanza (the one about SLytherin house) is my favourite part of the poem!

I also love reading Sorting Ceremonies in fanfic! I think you wrote the entire Sorting scene wonderfully!

This was an absolutely fantastic chapter, Emily! I really enjoyed reading this. When I find myself with a bit more free time in the future, I'll definitely swing by again and read the rest of your fic. It'll take me some time, but I'll be back here soon enough!

Great work! And congrats (for winning the challenge, as well as completing this novel!!)!

-teh

Author's Response: Hi again, teh!

Thanks for another great review! I'm so glad that you liked the chapter and felt that it was well-balanced. Your compliments on the characterization mean so much to me! I'm so happy that you liked everyone! And that Hat song! Oh my gosh, to this day (five years later!), I'm still proud of that song! I'm so glad you liked it. Thanks again for all your comments and compliments. I'm so happy that you liked the chapter!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #6, by teh tarik A Predictable Appointment

29th August 2014:
Hello Emily!

I'm here with the first of your two prize reviews! :D Uh, in case you don't remember, or are not sure what I'm on about, aaages ago you participated in the Crack!Ship & Rarepair Challenge and won third place, with a prize of two reviews. I am so sorry how long it has taken me to get round to reviewing! Congratulations again for winning! :)

So I've seen you promote this fic of yours very often on the forums, and I'm glad I finally got the chance to read this! I enjoy AU, and other alternative interpretations to canon events, so I think I'm going to enjoy reading about Hermione's final year at school very much. I love how you've started off the story with so much detail from Hermione's POV.

The flashback was really well-written, and I think you did a great job capturing Hermione's elation and excitement at being appointed Head Girl. And I like the idea of McGonagall creating the shared dorm for the Head Boy and Head Girl, for the sake of promoting house unity. I heard that shared dorms are a bit of a cliche in HP fic, so I think you've done great work developing this idea and making it more believable, and less of a cliche.

Haha, I guess this means Hermione will be sharing a dorm with Theodore Nott? Nott sounds like he's full of apathy. It doesn't sound like he even cares that he's Head Boy of the school. He's an interesting choice, and I can't wait to see how you'll develop things between Head Boy and Head Girl, and how they'll work together.

I love that you haven't forgotten Harry and Ron here, despite this being a Dramione. Harry and Ron telling Hermione she was becoming pompous like Percy must have been deflated her a little. Aww, poor Hermione! :P They should let her enjoy her time as Head Girl before term begins officially; pretty soon she'll be swamped with work, I think.

Oh, and Malfoy is back, I see. I love his entrance, and that snarky comment about Nott not having his charisma and whatnot. Snarky!Malfoy is always so fun to read. I can't wait to see how your Dramione ship will develop!

This was a lovely chapter, Emily! Great work. :D I'll be back for the next one!

-teh

Author's Response: Hey teh!

I'm so sorry that it's taken me so long to reply to you! I got wrapped up in school and writing the epilogue and somehow it slipped my mind. Anyhow: thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm so glad that you liked this first chapter! I was really unsure about doing a flashback, but I'm really happy that you think it worked. Shared dorms are TOTALLY a cliche! I really wanted to work with some of those cliches, though, and try to develop them into something different. I'm glad you think it seems believable. And I'm so glad you liked that Harry and Ron are in this! I really wanted to include them, even though I find them incredibly difficult to write for. Draco's entrance is my favorite part of this chapter. I really wanted him to have a ZING moment! :) Thanks again for reading and reviewing and for all your comments! I really appreciate them!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #7, by AriesGirl40 The End

5th August 2014:
Wow, an action packed ending! I loved it! You worked a long time for this. well done :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you liked it, and I really hope you like the epilogue when it's posted. This has been such a journey for me, and I'm so happy you enjoyed the story! Thanks again!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #8, by HollyHogwarts The End

4th August 2014:
Oh My God!!!
That was absolutely absolutely brilliant. It was sad that Theo and Mrs Weasley died, but we all knew that one of our favourite characters was going to die.
I am still rather curious to know as to where Draco ended up in the story, so i am hoping that it will be revealed in the epilogue.
I adore your writing skills and commend you on writing such a fantastic story. I have enjoyed it so so much.
I hope that you continue writing in the future xx

Author's Response: Hi Holly!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm so happy that you liked the chapter! The epilogue (coming soon!) will explain what's happened to all of the characters: who lived, who died, who sustained grievous injuries, etc. I really appreciate all of your compliments, and I'm really glad you liked the story. Keep an eye out for the epilogue, and I hope you'll tell me what you think of it. Thanks again! :)

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #9, by HollyHogwarts The Battle

22nd July 2014:
Oh My Goodness!!
Hell what a chapter... i cant believe that you left me hanging like that though.
Please update soon, this is by far one of my favourite stories on this sight!!
You have done a brilliant job!

Author's Response: Hello Holly!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm so happy that you like the story, and I'm so glad you've read this far. I'm going to be posting the final chapter and the epilogue soon. I can't believe it's almost over. Thank you so much for your compliments! :)

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #10, by Carissa The Battle

18th July 2014:
OH MY GOD! I just started reading this fanfic last nigh, OOMGGAH!!

Author's Response: HI AGAIN! :)

I can't believe you went through that entire story that quickly! You'll have to check back to see chapter 49 and the epilogue when I post them! I really hope you like them and let me know what you think! Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #11, by Carissa From the Ashes

18th July 2014:
Poor Nott! :( I feel so bad for him! Though at first, I thought he was one of the DE trying to kill Draco.

Author's Response: Hi again, Carissa!

Thank you for reading and reviewing more of this story! I feel bad for Theo sometimes too. He's not the easiest to be around, though, so I definitely understand Hermione's choice. I'm glad you've been speculating on the story! I hope you continue to like it! Thanks again!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #12, by Beeezie The Battle

18th July 2014:
Aww, thank you so much for the dedication! ♥ I'm sad that both the story and the CIs are coming to an end. :( You don't happen to have another novel in the planning stages that will need graphics, do you? :P

I really enjoyed this chapter. Looking back on all of them, I can definitely see how your writing has evolved and improved over time, which is great. The adjective/adverb overuse I'd been noting in early chapters has basically vanished at this point, and the prose as a whole just has a smoother flow to it. (That's not to say your writing was bad at the start, of course! It wasn't! But it has gotten better.)

A couple little pieces of crit:

I would have liked to see a little more about Draco's relationship (or lack thereof) with Wormtail. It's not even so much that I wanted you to spend more time on it, because I agree that Hermione would not have wanted to dwell on it, but I did wish I'd gotten some indication from Draco about how Wormtail affected him, even if it was just a sneer or a kick.

I also was a little confused by Lucius and Narcissa showing up and calling Draco, 'Malfoy.' That seemed very out of character for them. I also felt like Hermione was a bit too nonchalant about their presence - after all, the mending that's happened between her and Draco certainly doesn't extend to them, and I'm not even sure that 'changed sides' is accurate as much as 'defected' is. It's not like they joined the Order, after all.

Overall, though, this was an excellent chapter. I thought that you captured the affection and love that the Malfoys clearly shared for each other perfectly, and I also loved that you didn't ignore their prejudices. Even though there wasn't time to properly address it in the moment, it's clear that they weren't pleased, and it wouldn't shock me if they did take Draco out of the fight by whatever means they had to... because that's something they would do, too.

I also thought that you captured the action elements of the chapter really well. There was a lot going on in it, but throughout the chapter, I felt like I had a very good picture in my head of what was going on, which is a pretty impressive feat given how chaotic the scenes you were describing were. It never got repetitive, either, which was excellent.

Great job, and this was a crazy cliffhanger! I hope you get the next chapter up soon!

Author's Response: Branwen! :D

You completely deserved the dedication! Your CIs give such a beautiful face to these chapters, and your fantastic reviews are really going to help me improve this! (That improvement is going to start happening like...tonight! WHOA.) As for other projects planned...I'm considering a sequel to this, actually! I don't know yet, but I feel like I could continue from where this ends. We'll see, I suppose! I'll be writing a huge, in-depth, overly-emotional blog post on HPFF after I post the epilogue to this story, so maybe I'll decide by then. :)

I'm so happy that you see how my writing has changed! I completely agree that it's gotten better! It's been five years since I started this, after all, and a lot has changed in my style, etc. I'm glad you think it's better now. When I edit the other chapters (starting like...tonight! ;) ), I hope to improve them also. Thanks!

I love your criticism, as always! I'll think how to clarify with Wormtail. As for the word "Malfoy" being shouted...I actually imagined that as one of the fighters in the hall seeing Lucius and shouting that. Huh. I'll have to clarify that as well, oops! But I will fix Hermione's reaction...and pretty much that whole scene for that matter. XD

But I am glad you liked their characterization for the most part, as well as the action-elements here. Thanks again for this fantastic review! I can't believe the end is so close...I barely even want to write it. Edits first, though, and then the end...wow.

Thank you so much for everything.
--Emily


 Report Review

Review #13, by Carissa Christmas

17th July 2014:
*sputters* WHAT??? He can't just do that and LEAVE!!!

Author's Response: Hi Carissa!

Your review made me laugh so much! :D I'm sorry for the cliffhanger! You'll learn more about their situation in the following chapters, and I hope you like how the story progresses! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #14, by kathleen The Battle

16th July 2014:
You better not kill Draco or Hermione or I'll cry and go into a depression. Fantastic story

Author's Response: Hi again!

Thank you for reading and reviewing! You'll have to check out chapter 49 and the epilogue (chapter 50) when they're posted to figure out how this ends! ;) I hope you like it!

Thanks again!
--Emily


 Report Review

Review #15, by kathleen The Battle

14th July 2014:
This is in my top 3 fanfictions of all time! I'm glad I found this while it was near the end so I could read the whole thing at once. I'm terrible at waiting. Anyway you are very talented and I'm in love with this great(and very long) story

Author's Response: Hi Kathleen!

Thank you so much for all your compliments. I'm so happy that you like the story, and I hope you'll come back and read chapter 49 and the epilogue once they're posted. I would love to know what you think of them! Thanks again!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #16, by Dragon Dancer The Battle

13th July 2014:
Nice chapter! I got my wish, she found Draco, with a twist... she lost him. lolz. I hope he isn't one of the ones you plan on killing. I think I'd cry. And adding his parents in the mix was a nice touch, I almost forgot about them. I can't wait to see what Bellatrix does to Hermione, knowing her something evil. I'm gunna predict that maybe/hopefully Draco comes to her rescue? Just a prediction, but like Hermione I'm not very good at dividation (or is it divination, I always forget) so I can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Hello there!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you're enjoying the story! The next chapter is the last "real" chapter, and then there's the epilogue, and it's over! So you'll have to come back and see everyone's fate. ;) We'll see if your divination (there you go!) skills are accurate! Thanks again!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #17, by Kat Hogsmeade Again

12th July 2014:
What a good ending! at first I thought there was a
writing mistake because the death eater had helped
her

Author's Response: Hello there!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you liked the chapter and the plot twist!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #18, by Dragon Dancer The Siege

12th July 2014:
I have finally finished the last updated chapter. Lolz three days my life has been centered around your story, and I feel no regrets. Lolz. You are a very detailed writer and I admire that. Please let Hermione find Draco (this is me begging cause I know you know exactly how your gunna finish the book anyway.) ^_^ and most importantly please keep writing. I can't wait to see how you make Harry and Voldamort battle. And weather or not you stick to Fred dying. Even though I know it's a symbol of how war really does affect the people in it, I kind of hope you don't.

Author's Response: Hello there!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm really glad that you like the story! Your compliments made me really happy. There are only three chapters left including the epilogue, and I just recently came up with the final death list. I'm actually still quite sad about it and I haven't even written it! I hope you agree with the choices and like the new chapters when they're posted. Thanks again!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #19, by Beeezie The Siege

11th July 2014:
Well, that was complete and utter pandemonium.

I'm not very good at writing complete and utter pandemonium, but you do not suffer from the same difficulty. This chapter was fast-paced, frantic, and riveting, but I never felt confused about what was going on. You managed to fit so many interactions into a relatively small amount of words, and I can't believe I have stop here!

I loved the little interactions with this - between Hermione and Fred and George, between Hermione and Mrs. Weasley and Ginny, between Hermione and Mad-Eye, between Hermione and Snape... I really thought that you captured those relationships - and the relationships as they might be in a super stressful situation like this - well.

One minor piece of CC, though - you talk about people escaping the castle, but I don't think you explicitly say how they're getting out. I would have liked to get a bit of a clearer picture of that, as well as a better picture of how many people were left afterward to defend the castle.

Overall, though, excellent job!

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hello once again (fourth to last time, oh my gosh!)!

I'm so happy that you thought I wrote pandemonium well! I never know if I'm pulling off that fast-paced writing well. I'm really happy it worked here. I worried in this chapter about doing too much. I didn't want it to get ridiculously long, but I also didn't want to leave anything out, and there were a lot of people I kept thinking: "Oh! You should show up!" It was stressful, to be honest. XD I'm glad you liked it, though! And I'll edit to add in a better explanation of how people are fleeing! Thanks for pointing it out! :)

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #20, by Beeezie End of the Term

11th July 2014:
It's always sad to say goodbye, but this situation gives it a bit more gravity than most goodbyes, and I thought that you covered that perfectly toward the beginning of the chapter. You didn't dwell on it, but you acknowledged it, which was perfect.

It was actually really sad to hear Harry acknowledging that he and Ron might not survive the war. I do think he's wrong about how much being good at magic really helps you when it comes down to it, but at the same time, I think everyone can think of at least three or four times over the course of the series that Hermione's magical knowledge and skill kept them alive.

I was happy to see her insisting that she would join him and Ron on the quest to find the last horcrux and kill Voldemort, but I do think that it would have felt more genuine if there hadn't been a lot of instances over the course of the year where Hermione sat out of their mission in favor of Theo or Draco. I don't think you really needed to write a lot of scenes about it, but I would have liked to see more mentions of her going off with them or quick summaries about what they'd done or even just thoughts from her about balancing this with the rest of her life. As it is, there just isn't enough, so here, when she says she'll go, it doesn't have the same force that it could have.

Otherwise, though, this was a great chapter. :) I loved Professor McGonagall's brief show of affection toward Hermione - I thought that it was very much in character. Ican't wait to see what happens next.

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hello again!

Ahh...goodbyes. I'm feeling so nostalgic about this story right now. I'm so sad that it's coming to a close. I feel like I'm living these final chapters alongside Hermione, and it totally sucks. It hurts! I don't want to write what I know I have to write. I've come up with my death-list (how morbid!), and I can't even bring myself to start chapter 49 because of some of the choices I've made (I'll leave it at that.). Point is, yes, goodbyes, they're a thing. ;) I'm glad you liked how Harry and Hermione discussed his possible death. I wasn't so sure about that conversation, but I wanted someone to really verbally acknowledge his/her mortality, and Harry has always seemed morbid enough to be the one to do that. As for Hermione's insistence to accompany them on the Horcrux-hunt...I completely agree with you. I'm so bummed about agreeing with you, but I totally do. The previous chapters haven't done Hermione's dedication to their search any justice, and I can't even begin to think how to remedy that. I'll have to come up with something, though...We'll see. And finally, I'm fantastically happy that you liked McGonagall's brief moment with Hermione. She's usually so stoic, but I wanted that second of softness to show through. That was important to me. Thank you again for everything. This is so amazingly helpful.

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #21, by Beeezie Aftermath

11th July 2014:
Wow - I'd forgotten that Hermione hadn't even been able to check in and see if her parents were still alive. I actually kind of wish that had entered the storyline a bit more before now - maybe either in a conversation with Theo or Ron, or maybe even one of her Slytherin friends. While everyone else is stressing about their life circumstances, I think Hermione should have pointed out at some point that she's facing a pretty terrible and stressful situation, too.

I did love that she talked about it a little with Draco, though, and I was equally gratified to see that he responded in kind. I'm glad that breaking with Voldemort and the Dark Arts didn't also involve breaking with his family, because while I do understand that the two are closely connected, I also feel like one of Draco's major avenues toward redemption is the love he's always felt from his parents.

At first, I wasn't sure how I felt about McGonagall's party idea, but on reflection, I've decided that I really like it. Hogwarts became a battle zone in DH, but that was because of the Carrows - in HBP, which I think Rulebreaker aligns with more closely overall in terms of tone, there was certainly some of that 'school-is-not-the-real-world' sentiment.

Still loving this!

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: I'm definitely going to work Hermione's parents into this storyline more. As I've mentioned before, I've tended to forget certain things throughout the story (since it is SO FREAKING LONG), and when I edit (soon soon soon!), I want to fix that. Thanks for pointing it out! I had a big choice to make about whether or not to make the Malfoys stay "evil," but I wanted to do something a bit different, and didn't really want Draco to have to lose them. I think Narcissa at least proved her love for her son very early in the canon series, and Lucius's "affection" came through towards the end, and I wanted to showcase that. How they'll react to how much Draco has changed...that's to be determined. But I didn't want to get rid of them completely. I felt that was a bit of a cop-out. I'm glad you like the party idea! I needed it to set up the rest of the story (WHICH IS COMING TO A CLOSE SO SOON), so I felt it was necessary. I'm glad you don't hate it! ;)

Thanks again for a fantastic review!
--Emily


 Report Review

Review #22, by Beeezie NEWTs and News

11th July 2014:
Hmm. I'm not sure about your having Hermione decide not to go to the Chamber with them. I get that Draco and NEWTs are important to her, but it seems like a huge departure from her personality to let that overwhelm the real mission. She's always been capable of making sacrifices where necessary, and especially since nothing plot-important happens as a result of her not going, I feel like you could have just as easily faded out with her going down to the Chamber with Harry and Ron as with her going to bed with Draco.

Otherwise, though, this was a solid chapter. I liked the way you depicted the NEWTs, and I also appreciated the throwback to HBP where Tonks's patronus changed because of her feelings about Remus. However, I also really liked that Hermione seemed pretty unwilling to talk to Draco about it - that felt very genuine to me.

And then, of course, EVERYTHING HAPPENED. Onto the next chapter, because WOW what a cliffhanger!

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hello (again)!

I'll think about what you mentioned with Hermione going to the Chamber. I guess I'd never really considered it, but it's something I should really decide on since the implications are quite large. But I'm glad you liked the rest of the chapter, especially the ending! :D I was happy about that, even though it was honestly a pretty last-minute choice.

Thanks again!
--Emily


 Report Review

Review #23, by kathleen December and Death Eaters

10th July 2014:
God this got REALLY good! I'm literally in love with Draco

Author's Response: Hi again!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm so happy that you like the story and Draco! :) I hope you continue to enjoy it.

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #24, by kathleen Slytherins

10th July 2014:
Yes I love when Hermione becomes friemds with the sytherins. Great story

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you like the story!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #25, by Beeezie Looming

10th July 2014:
Huh. I actually really liked the way you approached this - I feel like with this sort of fic, there's always a danger of making Hermione too much of a resource for McGonagall. Instead, though, you've put Hermione (and Draco, sometimes) and McGonagall in a position where there are things that Hermione wants to know that McGonagall can't tell her. I can't really express how important I think that is - we saw it happen over and over throughout the books, even as the trio got older, that there are some things that they're just not privy to, because they're not Dumbledore. I also liked that while the theory Hermione and Draco came up with did turn out to be right, it wasn't something that McGonagall needed explained to her - she is a very bright witch, after all!

I also really liked the way you developed Harry and Ron's reactions to Draco in this chapter. Harry had already started to thaw, but now Ron has, too. As I said before, I think that it's totally plausible that it would take Ron longer to do so than Harry, but I'm glad it's started to happen at last.

Great job!

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Education Decree #7

Author's Response: Hello there!

I'm so happy you understand Hermione's relationship to McGonagall and the people "in power." Hermione's brilliant, yes, but the adults DO still have sway over what they will and won't tell the "students." For me, that separation was really important. I don't do it enough, but I want to emphasize that Hermione and her friends, as mature and intelligent as they may be, are still only 16/17/18-years-old. They're practically children, and I think that sometimes people (myself included) can forget that. And I'm glad you liked Harry and Ron, since, as you know, they're tough for me to write. Thanks for another great review!

--Emily


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>