Reading Reviews for They Did It Better
  
89 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Whoa, you know how to write bro. They Did It Better

6th December 2013:
Holy fuck this was perfect, and I hate romance.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! This really means a lot! I'm so happy you liked this xx

 Report Review

Review #2, by Rose Wilts They Did It Better

17th September 2013:
Hello there!

I could have sworn that all those years ago, when I first read this story, I left a terrible ranting review ("omg crying xoxo gr8 writing") but apparently I did not.

I just wanted to say that it's 12:55am in Australia and I am lying in bed with a lump in my throat, loving this story and wanting very much to thank you for all the wonderful things you probably have no idea you've done. I came back to hpff tonight with one soul purpose, and that was to read They Did it Better.

Honestly, this fic is just such a pleasure to read. It's so incredibly beautiful and lyrical and has a really special raw, filmic quality to it. I remember stumbling upon this story, out of all the millions on here and thinking "wow". I'm not sure I'd ever read such an honest portrayal of love and life, much less one in fan fiction. I loved your style and the beautiful, shady, cloudy imagery you evoked. I always loved writing, but honestly, this fic made me want to push myself, to write gritty, fragmented pieces like you had done.

Well, I was seventeen then. Now I'm almost twenty, about to finish my second year of a creative writing degree. I don't know, maybe this review is just as ranting as my original (imagined?) review was, but I think when you love something you should just shout it from the rooftops. This story is so touching and you really ought to be proud.

Thank you so much,
Laura x

Author's Response: Hi Laura. Sometimes things happen and they're just so amazing you almost can't believe it. This... this review means so much to me, you have no idea. I was 16 when I wrote They Did It Better - I'm 21 now, and it still affects me. I'm studying Political Science right now, which is about as far removed from writing as it can get. All because it's a "secure" choice - a job where you'll change the world and get a great income. And sometimes. Sometimes, in weak moments like these, I wish I'd had enough courage to pursue this, to take the leap like you have. Thank you so much for your words - I think all these comments and praises leave something here with me. I'll store them in my heart forever, because, dear, we might be divided by an ocean, but somehow this connects us. Do you get it? I think it's beautiful and touching that people across borders can read each other's stories and be moved by it. And it... it baffles me that I could have an effect on other people - that something out of MY imagination can touch you like it has.

So, thank you for writing this. Thank you for returning. The story will always be here for you. And be certain that I will re-read this comment, again and again, reflecting on paths not chosen. Good luck with your course, I am jealous beyond words.

Thank you.

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #3, by Anna They Did It Better

4th June 2013:
Oh man. That was like a knife to the gut, slowly being twisted. It's been a while since a fix made me Teary eyed. This was absolutely stunning. You captured THEM perfectly - all the possible pain and anguish, and ugh, Hermione, my darling Hermione. It is BEAUTIFULLY written - your words are like poetry, flowing an vivid. The emotions are piercing. It was an absolute pleasure to read this. I have to also truly commend you on your structure, it's paced so excruciatingly - when Harry starts talking about another life we know but we can't help but hope he'll choose her. Ouch. Stunning.

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much. I'm so happy you liked this oldie. thank you for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by xanver They Did It Better

18th May 2013:
This is so incredibly sad...and I can't help but to be angry with Harry throughout so much of it. :c

Author's Response: Yeah, Harry is a bit of a tool at points, isn't he? Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by hpfanficfanpollmod They Did It Better

30th April 2013:
Dear Sunflower,

I am writing to inform you that you've been nominated for the following category for the Spring-Summer 2013 Round of The HP Fanfic Fan Poll Awards (hpfanficfanpoll dot livejournal dot com):

SHIP: HARMONY (HARRY X HERMIONE)
CATEGORY: BEST LEGACY STORY for "They Did It Better"

You need not take any other action at this time, unless you would like to reject the nomination. In that case, please contact us and we'll remove the nomination and contact the person who nominated you to let them know your decision.

We have an "I've been nominated" banner on our website for you to post on your blogs/Tumblr/Twitter/Facebook pages right now, if you wish. The banner can be found here: hpfanficfanpoll dot livejournal dot com / 16826 dot html.

The nominations period is now over (it closed April 28th).

The voting period will commence on May 1, 2013 and close on June 30, 2013 (that gives two full months to read and consider the nominated fics). Our awards ceremony is open to the public to vote, and we encourage you to ask your friends/family to participate. Read the rules here, if you'd like to participate in the voting: hpfanficfanpoll dot livejournal dot com / 1530 dot html.

We will tally up all votes and announce winners on or before July 10, 2013. Please check back then to see if your stories placed, or add us as a FRIEND on Livejournal so you can get emails when that list is broadcast on our blog. Banners for your nominations/placements will be available at that time, too.

Congratulations on your nomination!

Sincerely,
Melissa, The HP Fanfic Fan Poll Awards Moderator

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Soumya They Did It Better

7th March 2013:
It was BEAUTIFUL.
I loved the lake scene...
Found it hauntingly beautiful...

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Diana Moon They Did It Better

16th February 2013:
Came here from a rec of a friend. This was heartbreaking and lovely and god. Perfect in a ways. Nicely done.

Author's Response: Aw, I'm so happy somebody wanted to recommend this! Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Tom They Did It Better

10th January 2013:
Great, deep story. Though it pales in comparison to 'Can't Forget the Things You Never Said'. Keep up the awesome storytelling.

Author's Response: Hi again! Thank you so much :) I agree, I always cringe whenever I reread this piece, but I love it like an old piece of jeans. It speaks volumes of where I come from. Can't Forget the things is way better, I agree. There's also a gap of two years between the two from when they were written, so I'd hope my writing would have improved in that space of time! haha Thank you so much for reviewing, it really means a lot xx

 Report Review

Review #9, by Eve They Did It Better

5th January 2013:
My heart aches. I cannot describe how this tore me up inside. So eloquent with a sort of indulgent melancholy. Confession time -
Poor Hermione. I have so many mixed feels...
Oh Rose. I actually HATED Harry in this! Maybe if there was more of guilt or feelings portrayed on his behalf. Forgive me, but I wanted to erase all mentions of Ginny! As for your Ron...*covers face* I want to cry again.
Honestly, this is perfectly written torture. I just want to read it all over again! Somehow, I'm in denial. I'm willing myself too. (Though this time not with 'Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Hysteric on repeat)

Well done - on breaking my very being.

Author's Response: Is it horrible for me to say that this is the kind of reviews I live for? :P

Thank you so much for reviewing - I love that song. Music always helps me write, so reading this to music should be fitting.

Thank you for reviewing, my dear!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Ella They Did It Better

2nd January 2013:
Geez that was the most heartbreaking thing I ever read. Well done. This is pretty much my headcanon for the characters post-Hogwarts.

Author's Response: Aww, yes! I love Hermione/Harry, too. Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by MadiMalfoy They Did It Better

27th December 2012:
Very interesting. Definitely a different take on things! I really liked it, the flow from different stages of life made it work well. Good job :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by bridgetlynn They Did It Better

3rd December 2012:
This is lovely and painful and wonderful and awful all at once. I hope you understand what I mean - it just drags up so many emotions as it moves along.

Twisted as it may sound, I love how increasingly bitter Hermione gets as the fic moves along. Especially after she realizes that her feelings for Harry are returned. It's super realistic to the situation presented. She initially didn't make a move because she had the 'who else would I end up with?' expectations and it's not like Harry ever said anything to her (I would have smacked him if he pointed out to me that whole "i've loved you since second year" bit. 'Cause, why didn't you say something jackass?). Unfortunately, they both painted themselves into a corner by capitulating to other people's expectations over their own potential happiness. You don't marry someone if you have even one shred of doubt - and then if you go through with it...you've gone through with it and it's time to put on your big boy britches and live your life. [though this is also a stellar example as to why you don't marry your 'high school sweethart' only a year or two out of school]

I found certain places in her internal monologue that implied Ginny and Ron definitely knew what was going on - but didn't really seem to 'want to know'. Almost like, 'as long as they come home to me in the end' they're not going to make waves and lose their spouse. Ron pointedly questioning Rose's eyes (then accepting a pretty weak excuse) and Ginny not letting them alone together for example.

Seeing this from Harry's perspective would be super-interesting 'cause from Hermione's perspective he seems like the 'worse' of the two because he comes across as very happy with Ginny while keeping Hermione on the side. And in this we just see Hermione as having settled for Ron as the consolation prize. Not that adultery is okay but in this instance Hermione's situation almost makes a weird sort of sense.

Author's Response: I AM SO HAPPY THAT YOU GET THIS.

Seriously. This was exactly what I wanted to portray. Because, yes, Harry seems like the biggest douche in the world. But this is Hermione's POV! Yes, yes, YES. You've nailed it all. I've always thought JK's choice to make them marry straight out of school was a bit weak, and very very sudden. They weren't going to be alright straight away after that war. And nobody knows who they are at 18. Seriously. And marrying your childhood-sweetheart? I'm not saying that Harry and Hermione were more meant to be than Harry/Ginny, but what I'm saying is that you can't be certain of anything. And that time changes people. War changes people. And in this fic they're grasping at anything really, trying to see themselves in different lives. Growing up too early, places people in these kind of situations. They didn't know who they were at 18.

Thank you so much for your review, I love it when people get this story and see it for what it really is.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Kat They Did It Better

11th November 2012:
I love your style of writing, but I think that all the characters are OOC here.
1. Hermione isn't that cold or cynical. In the books she's a very kind person and she's nice to people, here she's simply hating on everyone, which is very unlikely for her.
2. Harry. Now I think we all know Harry would never do that do either Ron or Ginny. He loves them both, in DH he was devastated when Ron left and even though he was alone with Hermione for months they never actually did anything. If he was even remotely attracted to Hermione I think he would have made a move, and wouldn't constantly check the Marauder's Map just to see if Ginny was alright. He's too much of a good person, and he loves them too much to betray them in such manner.
3. Ginny. In the books JK makes it very clear that Ginny is not a girly girl. She's a very strong girl who probably wouldn't do half of the things she does in this fic. I couldn't imagine her going around bragging about what a gentleman Harry is when they do 'it', she didn't even cry in front of Harry when Harry broke up with her in DH, that's how strong she is. And I'm pretty sure she is a smart enough girl to figure out something was going on between Harry and Hermione.
4. Ron just looks like an idiot in this fic. He may not be a genius but he suspected Harry and Hermione were going out in the DH when they never even showed any attraction to each other, I think that he is clever enough to figure out that Hermione is cheating on him with Harry and that his own daughter isn't his.
I didn't really mean to offend you in any manner here, I'm just giving constructive criticism, and I really hope you don't take anything I've written personally. Even though the characters were OOC and I don't ship Harmony I enjoyed reading this fic, you're a talented writer :)

Author's Response: Hi there!
I don't mind critiscm at all. First off, let me tell you that a) this is fanfiction and my try at making Harry/Hermione happen in some way - that means that you'll have to stretch reality to a certain extent b) my focus in this entire piece was the writing-style, which was an experiment.

I agree with you on certain terms, I still don't agree with you on certain aspects. Ginny isn't bragging to Hermione, but confiding in her as a friend. And every girl has a soft side. Yes, she is strong, but you sometimes don't see what's right in front of you.
I could launch into a whole discussion about the characters, but I won't. The entire purpose of this piece was to demonstrate a destructive relationship: Harry and Hermione driving each other to the edge while leaving a carnage of wreckage in their wake. And it was to demonstrate the effects of war. The entire purpose was that they weren't the same anymore after the war.

That being said I agree that there are certain weak points to this story. For the pair to continue with the affair is horrible and I suppose slightly OOC for the two loyal Gryffindors. This was written nearly four years ago and I have no intention to keep on defending my choices from back then. I was younger, more inexperienced and romanticizing reality. I've grown as a writer and as a person and it feels like ages since I got the idea and it all took off.

That being said, I really appreciate your way of criticizing. People can be very harsh and rude and I really do appreciate your comments.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Anna They Did It Better

1st July 2012:
Wow, this was great. Heartbreaking. I can definitely see Harry as the family man who would put his family before the love of his life. Loved the criticism of most people's attitudes toward the Ron/Hermione ship - that it was supposedly inevitable. Personally, I see the relationship between Harry and Hermione as characterized by far more mutual respect and, frankly, compatibility. Hermione's constant cynicism makes her a tad OOC, but I suppose it is believable given the circumstances she finds herself in.

Author's Response: thank you so much for your kind and clever review. I agree whole-heartedly. I always saw Harry as someone determined to have a family no matter what. Thank you so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by lostintransit They Did It Better

22nd June 2012:
Sad but touching ... bravo

Author's Response: thank you so much for you review.

 Report Review

Review #16, by EpiskeyPM They Did It Better

18th May 2012:
Wow. Just.. wow. I simply cannot. This is too amazing for words. Hermione absolutely breaks my heart. Your writing is flawless.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

 Report Review

Review #17, by dada They Did It Better

20th April 2012:
god hermione is just the worst type of person isn't she?

harry's only slightly better. at least it seems like on some level he really does want to be with ginny.

beautiful writing though.

Author's Response: Haha, thank you I think?
I don't agree completely - not that I think infidelity is the way forward. I just think they were caught up in it all - caught up in the past. They were really lost after the war and everything just flew past them in some way. They had all these expectations to live up to and they met them. I just wanted to show how it affected them - because they weren't ready for that - not after a war. They both want to be with Ron and Ginny - Hermione nearly kills herself trying to fit into the role given to her. And in the end she grows up, and figures out that the right love wasn't Harry's - it was Ron's. The slow burn is better than a flame which will burn you alive.
wow, that was me rambling, anyways, thank you for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #18, by aswiftt They Did It Better

13th March 2012:
I love this story so much, it actually made me cry!
ive been wanting Harmony to happen since i was eight so this was actually amazing, and just how i imagine it would be.

you're such a good writer, please write more!

Author's Response: Hahaha I know, I've been rooting for Harry and Hermione since I was little, too. Thank you so much for your kind words.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Sad. They Did It Better

12th March 2012:
I'm sad now, forever sad.

Author's Response: awww :) * hands tissues* Thank you so much for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #20, by magicinthemoonlight29 They Did It Better

10th March 2012:
Oh my God.

What a lovely, eloquent, heart-wrenching story.

I was absolutely captivated. The way you write, so smoothly and seamlessly... My heart is broken for them.

I especially love the way you painted each of the characters, especially when it came to Ginny and Hermione's relationship. I never really saw them being close.

And that last line - Hermione has her doubts. Harry has none.

Rip my chest out of my heart, why don't you! Ugh! What a gorgeous piece of work.

Also, loved the allusion to Alanna and Jonathan. I had no idea what you were talking about until I looked them up.

Lastly, the title: They Did It Better. So perfect.

I cannot tell you how much I enjoyed this story although it tore my heart in half. I love Harry and Hermione together and this story is exactly why I find them to be so tragic - That "it could have gone that way," but didn't.

Thank you so much for such a fantastic read.

Author's Response: Oh, yeah, that was what I loved to read in my childhood besides Harry Potter - Tamora Pierce. It just slipped in there without me noticing. Thank you so much for your wonderful words.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Hannah They Did It Better

18th February 2012:
This was so beautiful. I'm also not a huge fan of Harry/Hermione but this was simply perfect. I've never written a review before (I only started to read fanfic a while ago) but I just had to write one this time. Keep writing, please. This was amazing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this sweet review! :) I'm amazed how wonderful people can be and I'm honoured to have received your first review! I'll keep writing, promise :) Thank you so much for reviewing, it all means so much.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Where the wild things are. They Did It Better

19th January 2012:
No they really are both Monsters.

This fic is the classic example of all of the horrible things people will wrtie characters doing in an attempt to justify a particular ship.

At the end all I could think was that Ron should have left Harry at the bottom of the Lake.

Author's Response: I must admit that last comment made me laugh. Thank you for expressing your opinion. The thing I tried to convey was that people change and that there is more to people than just one layered, singleminded people. Everyone has a what if scenario playing in their heads. And Harry and Hermione weren't okay straight away. They rushed things, made mistakes - their love was a mistake; Hermione says it herself: their parents did it better. They get on track - because they are GOOD people. They can't do this to the people they care about. Adultery is not something I approve of - at all. But I wanted to challenge myself as a writer and demonstrate their love - which isn't a very simple and light love. It's dark, all-consuming and filled with desire. Hermione breaks because of it, and so does Harry, though we are never told his thoughts on it all. He is just trying to do the right thing and he kind of loses himself during that. Keep in mind that Hermione never lets him closer either - she doesn't let him or Ron close. She never tells him that Rose is his daughter, which could have changed a lot of things for them. I was really trying to demonstrate how actions form who we are, and how a single thing can change everything for us. It altered everything for them.

 Report Review

Review #23, by me They Did It Better

17th October 2011:
I don't know whether to sob and yell at you through my tears, or smile and congratulate you for a wonderful story...

This was truly amazingly written.

It was also amazingly depressing.

Something this fic has cemented in my mind: Love almost always stuffs things up.

I love this story :(

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing, it really means a lot.

 Report Review

Review #24, by adluvshp They Did It Better

14th August 2011:
hey there.

Wow this was a very nice one-shot. Your narrative was what made the story so captivating. I'm a huge Harmony shipper and I think you totally did them justice =)
Harry and Hermione's characterization was perfect. The scenes flowed really well.
The grammar and everything was spotless.
The entire thing had very nice touch of reality. I felt many emotions while reading this It was intense and deep, and sweet at the same time. I really liked reading this a lot. You wove this together really well.
Great work, 10/10 thumbs up!!

Cheers!
AD

Forum Name: AditiDraco95
House: SLYTHERIN

Author's Response: Thank you so much :) I really tried to make it as canon as possible and just be true to the characters, so it's great hearing you thought so too :) Thank you for reviewing !!

 Report Review

Review #25, by PhoenixofthePhlame They Did It Better

25th July 2011:
Heartwrenching. And I love it. Wonderfully written; I could reread this for days and cry every time.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>